DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II (claims 13-29) in the reply filed on 11/30/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are “directed to alternative embodiments of an interrelated game play device” and thus part of “one distinct invention”. This is not found persuasive. Examiner concedes Inventions I-IV are related; however, related inventions can still be distinct when they satisfy the distinctiveness analysis required by MPEP § 806.05(e) (with respect to inventions (I-II) and III) and MPEP § 806.05(j) (with respect to inventions III and IV; and with respect to inventions I and II). Notably, applicant does not specifically address examiner’s analysis of how the inventions are related and distinct as set forth in the Restriction Requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations use the word “means” and is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “means for securing” in claim 13. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
This application also includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” but is nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for securing the cylindrical container” in claims 14 and 28 and “latch means for securing the rear wall”. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “means for securing” in claim 13 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure fails to properly delineate the permitted components corresponding to the “means for securing” in claim 13, simply indicating pins may be used. Therefore, claims 13-29 are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation therein of “a guide channel … for receiving one or more sports balls” is unclear and indefinite. Applicant’s specification teaches that the guide channels are used to receive a ball receiving tray. A person ordinary skill in the art cannot properly ascertain whether a guide channel, which is structured to receive a tray, can itself receive one or more sports balls. Applicant should provide clarity to this discrepancy.
Claims 17, 26-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 recites the limitation "the guide channel". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 26-27 and 29 are rejected based on their respective dependency to 17.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “firm plastic material or other durable material” in claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examining purposes, the scope will be construed broadly in view of applicant’s specification as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 13-15 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brayton (US Pub. No. 2006/01894040).
With respect to claim 13, Brayton teaches a device comprising: a cylindrical container 70 having a body, a first end and a second end, the first end forming a first semi-circular opening of the body, the second end forming a second semi-circular opening of the body, the cylindrical container having a first extended side and a second extended side; and means for securing the cylindrical container to an outdoor surface, the securing means coupled to the cylindrical container (securing means comprising 72-73, 81-82 and 91-92)(Fig.’s 1-3; paragraphs [0020], [0024]). Per MPEP 2111, the Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the “broadest reasonable interpretation” standard: The Patent and Trademark Office (“PTO”) determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction “in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art.” In the instant case, applicant’s specification construes a cylindrical body without a closed opening at either end as a container – i.e. See Fig. 4 and corresponding disclosure – paragraph [0009]. As such, the cylindrical body 70 of Brayton is also construed as a “container” as it is configured to contain a golf ball in similar manner to applicants’ cylindrical container despite having two openings at opposing ends. Lastly, per MPEP 2114 - a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). If a prior art structure is inherently capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it shifts the burden to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Here, the structure provided by Brayton is capable of being used as claimed. The securing means includes golf tees, which are known to be insertable into an outdoor surface.
With respect to claim 14, Brayton teaches wherein the means for securing the cylindrical container comprises a plurality of base plates 72, 73, a first base plate extending along the first extended side, a second base plate extending along the second extended side, each base plate of the plurality of base plates having an opening 81, 82 for receiving a tethering pin 91, 92 for securing the device and each of the plurality of base plates 72, 73 to an outdoor surface )(Fig.’s 1-3; paragraphs [0020], [0024]). See also MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber.
With respect to claim 15, Brayton teaches wherein the cylindrical container 70 includes an opening 81, 82 on an outer surface for receiving a tethering pin 91, 92 for securing the cylindrical container 70 to an outdoor surface (Fig.’s 1-3; paragraphs [0020], [0024]). See also MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber.
With respect to claim 28, Brayton wherein the means for securing the cylindrical container comprises a plurality of external mounts 72, 73, a first external mount 72 coupled to the first extended side and a second mount 73 coupled to the second extended side, each mount having an opening 81, 82 for receiving a tethering pin 91, 92 to position the cylindrical container 70 on the outdoor surface (Fig.’s 1-3; paragraphs [0020], [0024]). See also MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brayton (US Pub. No. 2006/0189404) in view of Nixey (US Pat. No. 5,954,590).
With respect to claim 18, Brayton fails to expressly teach a rear wall as claimed. However, analogous art reference Nixey teaches the following to be known in the art: wherein a container further comprises a rear wall, the rear wall including an opening (i.e. an opening in addition to a cylindrical opening) for receiving a finger for clearing a received game ball (Fig.’s 1-3). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a rear wall opening to the container of Brayton. The rationale to combine is to offer different sized openings to accommodate different putting skill levels. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the container could easily be constructed to function as intended in upright and upside-down orientations like Nixey.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 19-22, 24-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711