DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations “rotating vane”, and “feeding port” in claim 1, “an inwardly convex extrusion rib” in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term "a upper surface" is read as "an upper surface".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:
The term “large diameter feed pipe” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The phrase “characterized in that one of an end faces of the screw is a feeding end” is not defined. In particular, the term “characterized in that one of an end” is unclear because the limitation is silent with regard to what the term “that one” is referred to. The term “that one” can be referred to anything causing the claim to be indefinite.
The term “its” in line 2 is unclear because the limitation is silent with regard to what the term “it” is referred to. The term “its” can be referred to anything causing the claim to be indefinite.
The claim recites the terms “rotating vane” which is not disclosed in the specification and shown in the drawings; Hence, it is unclear whether the rotating vane is the rotating blade or not.
The term “a feeding pipe” in the last line of claim 1 is unclear whether if “a feeding pipe” is the same as “a large diameter feed pipe” in the first line of claim.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the term “feed inlet”. Since the term “a/the feeding port” in claim 1 is not shown in the drawings, it is unclear whether if the feed inlet in claim 2 is the same as the feeding port in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 4-5, 7-8, 10, each of the claim recites the phrase “a large-diameter feeding pipe”. It is unclear whether if a large-diameter feeding pipe in each of claims 4-5, 7-8 and 10 is the same as large diameter feed pipe in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the terms “a small top” and “a large bottom” are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “large” and “small” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the end face" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the terms “close to the rotating blade”, “section far away”, “the enlarged section”, “smooth section”, “flat key” are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “close”, “far”, “enlarged”, “smooth” and “flat” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “the orientation on the end face is the same” is indefinite. Since claim 8 recites the term “the end face” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, it is unclear the orientation on the end face is the same as which limitation.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites the term “feed pipe” in line 4. It is unclear whether if the feed pipe in line 4 is the same as large diameter feed pipe in line 1.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the portion" in 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the inlet" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It should be noted that based on the ambiguity and obscurity of the claim language, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as best as can be understood and applied prior art accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11-13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Chou (US 20140053741 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses, a juice extractor assembly (see juicer in Fig. 1) of a large diameter feed pipe (see annotated feed pipe in Fig. 1), comprising a screw (see screw/rotating head 4 in Fig. 1), characterized in that one of an end faces of the screw is a feeding end (see annotated feeding end in Fig. 1), and the screw (4) on its feeding end (see annotated Fig. 1), be connected with rotating vane (as best understood, rotating vane is construed as rotating blade), be covered with a cover (see upper case 5 in Fig. 1) that cooperates with a juice extractor body (see separator 2 in Fig. 1) on a rotating blade (see conical cutter 510 in Fig. 1), the cover (5) on horizontal and vertical direction all completely cover the rotating blade (see Fig. 18), the cover (5) is provided with a feeding port (see material entrance/ feed inlet 540 in Fig. 1), and the feeding port (540) is connected with a feeding pipe (see annotated feed pipe in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of large diameter feed pipe according to claim 1, Chou further discloses, characterized in that, a feed inlet (540) is exposed in both horizontal and vertical directions of the cover out of the rotating blade (see Fig. 1), a transition position (see annotated Fig. 18) between the feed inlet (540) and the cover (5) is provided with an inwardly convex extrusion rib (see annotated Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 3, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of large diameter feed pipe according to claim 1, Chou further discloses, characterized in that, the cover (5) is integrated with the feed pipe (see Fig. 1), and a feed pipe ratio to a largest diameter of the cover is greater than a quarter (see Fig. 18, wherein the diameter of the feed inlet 540 is slightly smaller than the diameter of the upper case 5).
Regarding claim 4, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of a large-diameter feed pipe according to claim 1, Chou further discloses, characterized in that, the cover (5) is a round platform with a small top and a large bottom (see annotated Fig. 18), and the cover is provided with a vertical groove (see annotated Fig. 18) uniformly distributed on an inner wall circumference of the cover (see annotated Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 5, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of a large-diameter feed pipe according to claim 1, Chou further discloses, characterized in that, the rotating blade (510) is inclined to the rotation direction of the screw (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 6, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of large diameter feed pipe according to claim 5, Chou further discloses, characterized in that, the rotating blade (510) is provided with an acute cutting angle θ (see horizontal blade 512 in Fig. 1) on an edge of an upper end in the direction of rotation of the screw (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of a large-diameter feed pipe according to claim 5, Chou further discloses, characterized in that, the rotating blade (510) is set at a bottom position in contact with the screw (see Fig. 18) and gradually increases from a top to bottom thickening zone (see Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 8, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of a large-diameter feed pipe according to claim 5, characterized in that, the rotating blade (510) is provided with a groove (see annotated Fig. 18) on the end face connected to the screw (see Fig. 18), a screw rod (see transmission rod 430 in Fig. 18) is provided with a protrusion (see Fig. 18) matching with the groove (see Fig. 18) on an end surface in contact with the rotating blade (see Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 11, Chou discloses, a juice extractor assembly (see juicer in Fig. 1) of a large diameter feed pipe (see annotated feed pipe in Fig. 1), comprising a screw (see screw/rotating head 4 in Fig. 1); a rotating blade (see conical cutter 510 in Fig. 1) connected to the screw (see Fig. 1); and a cover (see upper case 5 in Fig. 1) having a feed inlet (see material entrance/ feed inlet 540 in Fig. 1) and a feed pipe (see annotated feed pipe in Fig. 1), a plurality of vertical grooves and extruding ribs (see annotated Fig. 18), the cover (5) configured to cooperate with the rotating blade (see Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 12, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 11, Chou further discloses, wherein the feed pipe is co-formed with the cover (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 11, Chou further discloses, wherein a ratio of a diameter of the cover to a diameter of the feed pipe is greater than 1:4 (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 15, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 11, Chou further discloses, wherein the rotating blade (510) is inclined in the same rotational direction of the screw (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 16, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 11, Chou further discloses, wherein the rotating blade (510) is disposed at an acute angle relative to the screw (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 17, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 11, Chou further discloses, wherein the rotating blade (510) includes a groove (see annotated Fig. 18), and the screw (4) includes a protrusion (see the top part of the transmission rod 430 in Fig. 18), the groove configured to receive the protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 18, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 11, Chou further discloses, wherein the screw (4) includes a feeding zone (see annotated Fig. 10) and a squeezing zone (see annotated Fig. 10), the feeding zone including pushing ribs (see spiral sheets 410 in Fig. 10 and Fig. 12) and the squeezing zone including a plurality of spiral ribs (see annotated Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 20, Chou discloses, a juice extractor assembly (see juicer in Fig. 1) of a large diameter feed pipe (see annotated feed pipe in Fig. 1), comprising: a cover (see upper case 5 in Fig. 1) including a feed pipe (see annotated feed pipe in Fig. 1) and a feed inlet (see material entrance/ feed inlet 540 in Fig. 1), the inlet having a plurality of vertical grooves and extruding ribs (see annotated Fig. 18), a screw (4) including a feeding zone (see annotated Fig. 10) having pushing ribs (see spiral sheets 410 in Fig. 10 and Fig. 12) and a squeezing zone (see annotated Fig. 10) having a plurality of spiral ribs (see annotated Fig. 10), the pushing ribs (410) configured to push food into the squeezing zone (see Fig. 10), and the plurality of spiral ribs configured to squeeze juice from the food (see Fig. 10); a rotating blade (510) disposed within the cover and connected to the screw (see Fig. 18); and a driving shaft (see rod 430) configured to receive the screw and the rotating blade (see Fig. 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Wang (CN 104970678 A and see PDF translation attached).
Regarding claim 14, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 13. Chou further discloses, the portion of the feed inlet (see Fig. 18).
However, Chou does not explicitly disclose, wherein the portion of the feed inlet includes a plurality of vertical grooves uniformly distributed around a circumference of the portion.
Nonetheless, Wang teaches, wherein the portion (see inner surface 440 in Fig. 4a) of the feed inlet (see static grinding wheel 400 in Fig. 2) includes a plurality of vertical grooves (see third discharge chutes 442 adjacent the crush ribs 441 in Fig. 4a) uniformly distributed around a circumference of the portion (see Fig. 4a, wherein inner surface 440 is formed with a plurality of crush ribs 441 and adjacent the crush ribs 441 are provided with third discharge chute for crushed food out of 442 as disclosed in the specification of Wang).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the portion of the feed inlet of Chou wherein the portion of the feed inlet includes a plurality of vertical grooves uniformly distributed around a circumference of the portion as taught/suggested by Wang in order to guide the crushed food out of the portion of the feed inlet (disclosed in the specification of Wang “the static grinding wheel 400 of cone structure inner surface 440 is formed with a plurality of crush ribs 441. The crush ribs 441 and the crushing tool 551 between in clearance fit for crushing food space is left; adjacent the crush ribs 441 are provided with third discharge chute for crushed food out of 442, the food channel 410 in the wall 471 is further formed with a guide rib 470 on the static grinding wheel set 400 in the crush ribs 441 and movable grinding wheel 500 set on the crushing knife 551 to form first grinding region A (see FIG. 1). the first grinding area A for food crushing and grinding for the first time”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Pfeiffer (DE 4428014 C2 and see PDF translation attached).
Regarding claim 19, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of claim 11, Chou further discloses, wherein the screw (4) and the rotating blade (510) are secured to a driving shaft (see rod 430 in Fig. 18) with a tool fixing part (see annotated Fig. 18) connected to the driving shaft (see Fig. 18).
However, Chou does not explicitly disclose, a tool fixing screw threadedly connected to the driving shaft.
Nonetheless, Pfeiffer teaches, a tool fixing screw (see small nut 78) threadedly (see thread 80) connected to the driving shaft (see drive shaft stub 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the tool fixing part of Chou wherein the tool fixing screw threadedly connected to the driving shaft as taught/suggested by Pfeiffer in order to obtain the rotation lock between the shaft and the rotating blade so as securing the screw and the rotating blade when operating (disclosed in the specification of Pfeiffer “The cutting disc 34 , the plate-shaped part 48 , which has the bottom 44 and the peripheral wall 46 of the storage space 42 and the lower grinding disc 50 , and the container 62 are by means of a small nut 78 , which is screwed onto a thread 80 of the drive shaft stub 40 from above is clamped on this. The rotation lock between the drive shaft stub 40 and the counted on parts 34, 48, 62 takes place either by friction or by means of a known positive connection, not shown in the figure”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, Chou discloses, the juice extractor assembly of large diameter feed pipe according to claim 8, Chou further discloses, characterized in that, the screw (4) is enlarged in one direction (see Fig. 10), and the enlarged section (see annotated Fig. 10) close to the rotating blade is a feeding area (see annotated Fig. 10), and a smooth section far away from the rotating blade is a squeezing zone (see annotated Fig. 10), and the squeezing zone (see annotated Fig. 10) is provided with a plurality of spiral ribs (see annotated Fig. 10), and on the feeding zone, a spiral pusher bar (see a spiral sheet 410 in Fig. 10) is provided. Chou further discloses, wherein the screw (4) and the rotating blade (510) are secured to a driving shaft (see rod 430 in Fig. 18) with a tool fixing part (see annotated Fig. 18) connected to the driving shaft (see Fig. 18).
Chou does not explicitly disclose, a drive shaft is provided in a middle of the screw rod, and the drive shaft is connected with the rotating blade by a flat key, and the drive shaft and the rotating blade are connected by a tool fixing screw, the tool fixing screw buckles the rotating blade and is threadedly connected with the drive shaft, an upper surface of the tool fixing screw is set, there are two centrally symmetrical screw holes.
Pfeiffer teaches, a tool fixing screw (see small nut 78) threadedly (see thread 80) connected to the driving shaft (see drive shaft stub 40).
Sun (US 20210212498 A1) teaches, the first auxiliary feeding device 36 further includes: a sealing cover 366 mounted on one end of the first drive shaft 364 protruding from the first through hole 3622, the first dial 362 can be installed through the first through hole 3622 on the end of the first drive shaft 364 protruding from the first mounting hole 3222 and passed through the first dial 362, to improve the installation reliability between first dial 362 and the first drive shaft 364, by setting the sealing cover 366, the upper end of the first drive shaft 364 can be limited to the upper side of the first dial 362, so that the first drive shaft 364 can be prevented from slipping out of the first through hole 3622, which can further improve the connection reliability between the first dial 362 and the first drive shaft 364 (see Fig. 8 and para 0226 and 0227).
However, the modification of Pfeiffer and/or Sun to make “a drive shaft is provided in a middle of the screw rod, and the drive shaft is connected with the rotating blade by a flat key, and the drive shaft and the rotating blade are connected by a tool fixing screw, the tool fixing screw buckles the rotating blade and is threadedly connected with the drive shaft, an upper surface of the tool fixing screw is set, there are two centrally symmetrical screw holes” to reach the claimed invention would be unreasonable and based on hindsight since there is no suggestion or motivation in the references to indicate obviousness in such extensive changes to Chou. No additional evidence was found to reasonably render a case of obviousness against the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is also allowable as being dependent upon claim 9 and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761