DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 December 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 1 of claims 2-7 “The control method for a piezoelectric motor according to claim” should be changed to “The control method for the piezoelectric motor according to claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the elliptical motion" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 8-9, the underline limitations of claims 1 and 8-9 are not understood because they appear to be run-on sentences.
1. A control method for a piezoelectric motor having a vibrating portion including a piezoelectric element and a transmitting portion transmitting vibration of the vibrating portion to a driven member, and synthesizing longitudinal vibration and flexural vibration by energization of the piezoelectric element to vibrate the vibrating portion and elliptically move the transmitting portion and moving the driven member by the elliptical motion, comprising changing an orbit of the elliptical motion according to a load received by the transmitting portion.
8. A piezoelectric motor comprising: a driven member; a piezoelectric actuator having a vibrating portion including a piezoelectric element and a transmitting portion transmitting vibration of the vibrating portion to the driven member and synthesizing longitudinal vibration and flexural vibration by energization of the piezoelectric element to vibrate the vibrating portion and elliptically move the transmitting portion and moving the driven member by the elliptical motion; and a controller controlling driving of the piezoelectric actuator, wherein the controller changes an orbit of the elliptical motion according to a load received by the transmitting portion.
9. A robot comprising: a piezoelectric motor; and a movable unit driven by driving of the piezoelectric motor, wherein the piezoelectric motor has a driven member, a piezoelectric actuator having a vibrating portion including a piezoelectric element and a transmitting portion transmitting vibration of the vibrating portion to the driven member and synthesizing longitudinal vibration and flexural vibration by energization of the piezoelectric element to vibrate the vibrating portion and elliptically move the transmitting portion and moving the driven member by the elliptical motion, and a controller controlling driving of the piezoelectric actuator, and the controller changes an orbit of the elliptical motion according to a load received by the transmitting portion.
When a grammar checker flags a phrase as "running", it means it has identified a run-on sentence - a sentence where two or more independent clauses (complete thoughts) are joined together without proper punctuation or conjunctions, creating a grammatically incorrect sentence that can be confusing to understand.
Claim 3 and 5-7 are rejected because they depend upon claims 1 and 2, therefore inherit the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend upon.
Regarding claim 4, the underline limitation of claim 4 appears to be lack of sufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and in the specification. It is not understood the elliptical ratio and the load are compared to. In the other words, it is unclear whether the elliptical ratio is set to be smaller than what value when the load is larger than what value. It appears confusing whether the limitation should be “the elliptical ratio is set to decrease as the load increases.”
4. The control method for a piezoelectric motor according to claim 1, wherein when a ratio of a short axis radius to a long axis radius of the elliptical motion is an elliptical ratio, the elliptical ratio is set to be smaller as the load is larger.
For the above reason, the underlined limitation of claim 4 is deemed to be invalid for failing to clearly define the boundaries of the claimed limitation and to present the scope of the invention with reasonable certainty.
Examiner’s note:
Because of the issues with 35 U.S.C. 112(b), related claim limitations will be examined with broadest reasonable interpretation (see MPEP §2111) in order to advance prosecution on the merits. Therefore, the prior art is being applied to the claims as best understood by the examiner.
For the independent claims 1 and 8-9 the following recitation is considered as “the combination of the longitudinal and flexural vibrations moves the transmitting portion and the driven member.”
For the claim 4, the claim limitation is interpreted as any adjustment to radius related to the load.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20200036302).
Regarding independent claim 1, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses a control method for a piezoelectric motor (1) having a vibrating portion (41) including a piezoelectric element (6) and a transmitting portion (44) transmitting vibration of the vibrating portion (41) to a driven member (2), and synthesizing longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41) by energization of the piezoelectric element (6) to vibrate the vibrating portion (41) and elliptically move the transmitting portion (44) and moving the driven member (2) by the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion), comprising changing (clockwise and counterclockwise) an orbit of the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion) according to a load received by the transmitting portion (44).
Regarding claim 2, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses the piezoelectric motor (1) has a load detection unit (9) detecting the load (an encoder 9 detecting a rotation amount of the rotor 2), and the orbit of the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion) is changed based on a detection result of the load detection unit (9).
Regarding claim 3, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses the load detection unit (9) has a load detection piezoelectric element (6) placed in a beam portion coupled to the vibrating portion (41), and the load is detected based on output of the load detection piezoelectric element (6).
Regarding claim 4, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses when a ratio of a short axis radius to a long axis radius of the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion) is an elliptical ratio, the elliptical ratio is set to be smaller as the load is larger ([0057] the radius varies by parts of the outer circumferential surface 21, and the separation distance D between the outer circumferential surface 21 and the protruding part 44 in a range from the point A1″ to the point A1′ in the arrow A1 varies by parts in the circumferential direction of the outer circumferential surface 21 in accordance with the variation in the radius. [0058] the control device 7 controls the amplitude of the alternating voltage V2 to be applied to the piezoelectric element 6C so that the variation in the separation distance D becomes as small as possible in the entire circumference of the outer circumferential surface 21. Thus, the variation in the separation distance D is suppressed, [0059] Then, the control device 7 controls the amplitude of the alternating voltages V1, V3 so that the rotor 2 is at a target position at each time point to control the drive speed of the rotor 2. Thus, it is possible to suppress the displacement).
Regarding claim 5, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses the orbit of the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion) is changed by changing of a phase difference between the longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and the flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41).
Regarding claim 6, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses the piezoelectric element (6) has a longitudinal vibration piezoelectric element (6) for longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and a flexural vibration piezoelectric element (6) for flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41), and the phase difference ([0064]) between the longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and the flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41) is changed by changing of a phase difference ([0064]) between a first drive signal (the signal output from the piezoelectric elements 6F, 6G) applied to the longitudinal vibration piezoelectric element (6) and a second drive signal (the signal output from the piezoelectric elements 6F, 6G) applied to the flexural vibration piezoelectric element (6).
Regarding claim 7, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses the piezoelectric element (6) has a longitudinal vibration piezoelectric element (6) for longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and a flexural vibration piezoelectric element (6) for flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41), and the phase difference ([0064]) between the longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and the flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41) is changed by changing of frequencies ([0064] It should be noted that by varying the frequency of the alternating voltage V2, it is possible to vary the phase difference between the alternating voltage V2 and the pickup voltage Vpu.) of a first drive signal (the signal output from the piezoelectric elements 6F, 6G) applied to the longitudinal vibration piezoelectric element (6) and a second drive signal (the signal output from the piezoelectric elements 6F, 6G) applied to the flexural vibration piezoelectric element (6).
Regarding independent claim 8, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses a piezoelectric motor (1) comprising: a driven member (2); a piezoelectric actuator having a vibrating portion (41) including a piezoelectric element (6) and a transmitting portion (44) transmitting vibration of the vibrating portion (41) to the driven member (2) and synthesizing longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41) by energization of the piezoelectric element (6) to vibrate the vibrating portion (41) and elliptically move the transmitting portion (44) and moving the driven member (2) by the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion); and a controller (7) controlling driving of the piezoelectric actuator, wherein the controller (7) changes (clockwise and counterclockwise) an orbit of the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion) according to a load received by the transmitting portion (44).
Regarding independent claim 9, Saito (e. g. see FIG. 1, FIG. 8, FIG. 9) discloses a robot comprising: a piezoelectric motor (1); and a movable unit driven by driving of the piezoelectric motor (1), wherein the piezoelectric motor (1) has a driven member (2), a piezoelectric actuator having a vibrating portion (41) including a piezoelectric element (6) and a transmitting portion (44) transmitting vibration of the vibrating portion (41) to the driven member (2) and synthesizing longitudinal vibration ([0034] The piezoelectric element 6C is disposed along the longitudinal direction (the Y-axis direction) of the vibrating body 41 in a central part of the vibrating body 41…. there are arranged the piezoelectric elements 6D, 6E along the longitudinal direction of the vibrating body 41) and flexural vibration ([0027] In such a piezoelectric motor 1, when making the piezoelectric drive device 3 perform a flexural vibration, the rotor 2 rotates around the central axis O parallel to the X axis. [0032] flexurally vibrates into an S-shape by bending in the Z-axis direction (the second direction) while extending and contracting in the Y-axis direction (the first direction). [0033] the vibrating body has driving piezoelectric elements 6A through 6E for flexurally vibrating the vibrating body 41) by energization of the piezoelectric element (6) to vibrate the vibrating portion (41) and elliptically move the transmitting portion (44) and moving the driven member (2) by the elliptical motion, and a controller (7) controlling driving of the piezoelectric actuator, and the controller (7) changes (clockwise and counterclockwise) an orbit of the elliptical motion ([0046] rotational motion) according to a load received by the transmitting portion (44).
Examiner’s Note:
In this Office Action, Examiner has cited particular figures, column numbers, paragraph numbers, and line numbers of the prior arts applied in the rejections. However, other figures and passages of the same prior arts may anticipate the claim limitations as well. Therefore, Applicants are respectfully requested to consider the prior arts in their entirety as potentially teaching claimed invention.
For amendment purpose, Applicants are very much appreciated for indicating the portion(s) of the specification which dictates the structure(s) relied on for proper interpretation as well as for verification and determination of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Applicants’ indication of the specific figures and items of figures which represent features of the invention disclosed in the amended claims, is also expected.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art(s) is/are provided and made of record by the Examiner as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon, the examiner requests that the reference(s) be considered in any subsequent amendments, as the reference(s) is also representative of the teachings of the art and may apply to the specific limitations of any newly amended claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arakawa (U.S. Patent No. 11031884) discloses a control device for a vibration actuator, a method of controlling a vibration actuator, a robot, an electronic component conveyance apparatus, a printer, a projector, and a vibration device each superior in robustness and capable of performing effective drive. The drive signal control section applies the drive signal to each of the resonator bodies, the transmission part of each of the resonator bodies rotationally vibrates (elliptically vibrates). The vibrating part makes a quadratic flexural action in the width direction while making a longitudinal vibration in which the vibrating part extending and contracting in the longitudinal direction.
Murakami (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20140009846) discloses the speed control method for a vibration type motor. The vibration-type motor controller increases and decreases the driving speed of the vibration-type motor. The diameter of an elliptical orbit which is depicted by a mass point on a surface of the vibrating body is increased as the frequency is closer to the resonance frequency. Therefore, the elliptical orbit can be modified by controlling the relationship between the frequency and the speed.
Shibatani (U.S. Patent No. 6661154) discloses a truss-type driving apparatus, the amplitude of each displacement member and the phase difference therebetween are detected, and by adjusting the amplitudes or the phases of the impressed voltages to drive the displacement members based on the results of such detection, the elliptical locus drawn by the synthesizing member of the truss-type driving apparatus during driving is adjusted such that the desired driving characteristics are obtained. FIGS. 8(a) and 8(b) of Shibatani show the elliptical loci of the synthesizing member, the configuration (or size) of the elliptical locus changes depending on the load.
Shamoto (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20020119021) discloses a method of controlling an elliptical vibrator and its vibrations in two directions (flexural and longitudinal) being synthesized by an elliptical vibratory processing apparatus for causing elliptical vibrations and transmission.
Contact Information
20 February 2025
/EMILY P PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837