DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated March 5, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of the applicant remarks, filed March 3, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. US20190334343A1, as further detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US20170093187A1 in view of Kim et al. US20190334343A1.
Regarding claim 1. Park discloses a battery bank power system (FIG. 2) comprising:
a plurality of battery bank systems (221/223), each of the plurality of battery bank systems (221) comprising a battery management system (rack BMS 211) and a plurality of battery racks (213), each of the battery racks comprising a plurality of battery modules (at least two batteries within 221) and each of the plurality of battery bank systems (221) being electrically connectable to an inverter bus (300);
a single inverter (103) that is electrically coupled between the inverter bus (300) and a power grid (30) and is configured to provide an inverter current from the plurality of battery bank systems to the power grid (¶31 - The energy storage system 100 may supply electricity stored in the battery system 200 to the grid 30 ) in a discharging operation or to receive the inverter current from the power grid to the plurality of battery bank systems in a charging operation (¶31 - may store electricity supplied from the grid 30 in the battery system 200); and
a battery system controller (105) that is communicatively coupled to the battery management system of each of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶41-42 – overall control unit 105 monitors the state of charge of the battery system 200 and controls the charging discharging operations of the battery racks) and is configured to:
receive, from each of the plurality of battery bank systems, voltage values (¶50 – BMSs monitors states of the batteries, such as voltage and transmits the data to the control unit 105);
Park does not explicitly disclose to determine, based on the received voltage values from each of the plurality of battery bank systems, a threshold voltage amplitude; and control the plurality of battery bank systems using the threshold voltage amplitude based on the received voltage values from each of the plurality of battery bank systems.
Kim discloses to determine, based on the received voltage values from each of the plurality of battery bank systems, a threshold voltage amplitude (¶34-35 rack voltage is determined; ¶43 – connection to rack is disconnected when a voltage is too high; ¶47 – connection to rack is disconnected when an imbalance occurs in the battery rack because a battery within the is below a voltage from the other battery trays); and
control the plurality of battery bank systems using the threshold voltage amplitude based on the received voltage values from each of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶47 – connection to rack is disconnected when an imbalance occurs in the battery rack because a battery within the is below a voltage from the other battery trays).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the control of Kim to the battery system of Park in order to prevent too large of a current/voltage to flow which poses significant safety risks (¶7).
Regarding claim 16. Park discloses a battery bank power system (FIG. 2) comprising:
a plurality of battery bank systems (221/223), each of the plurality of battery bank systems (221/223) comprising a battery management system (rack BMS 211) and a plurality of battery racks (213), each of the battery racks comprising a plurality of battery modules (at least two batteries within 221) and each of the plurality of battery bank systems (221/223) being electrically connectable to an inverter bus (300);
a single inverter (103) that is electrically coupled between the inverter bus (300) and a power grid (30) and is configured to provide an inverter current from the plurality of battery bank systems to the power grid (¶31 - The energy storage system 100 may supply electricity stored in the battery system 200 to the grid 30 ) in a discharging operation or to receive the inverter current from the power grid to the plurality of battery bank systems in a charging operation (¶31 - may store electricity supplied from the grid 30 in the battery system 200); and
a battery system controller (105) that is communicatively coupled to the battery management system of each of the battery bank systems to selectively control the plurality of battery bank systems (¶41-42 – overall control unit 105 monitors the state of charge of the battery system 200 and controls the charging discharging operations of the battery racks).
Park does not explicitly teach contactors, and a battery system controller that is communicatively coupled to the battery management system of each of the plurality of battery bank systems to selectively control the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems based on a threshold voltage amplitude determined based on voltage values received from each of the plurality of battery bank systems
Kim discloses contactors (¶39 – master BMS is communicatively coupled rack BMS 130 using a switching hub),
a battery system controller that is communicatively coupled to the battery management system of each of the plurality of battery bank systems to selectively control the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶39 – master BMS is communicatively coupled rack BMS 130 using a switching hub) based on a threshold voltage amplitude determined based on voltage values received from each of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶47 – connection to rack is disconnected when an imbalance occurs in the battery rack because a battery within the is below a voltage from the other battery trays).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the control of Kim to the battery system of Park in order to prevent too large of a current/voltage to flow which poses significant safety risks (¶7).
Claims 2-5, 9, 12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US20170093187A1 in view of Kim et al. US20190334343A1 and further in view of Beaston et al. US20180123357A1.
Regarding claim 2. Park does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of battery bank systems comprises contactors that are activated by the battery system controller to electrically connect the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems to the inverter bus and is deactivated by the battery system controller to electrically disconnect the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems from the inverter bus.
Beaston discloses that each of the battery bank systems comprises contactors (834/828) that are activated by the battery system controller (within battery system controller 702) to electrically connect the respective one of the battery bank systems to the inverter bus and is deactivated by the battery system controller to electrically disconnect the respective one of the battery bank systems from the inverter bus (¶144 – contactor is used to make or break a connection in current that connects battery packs; relays are used to control the operation of the inverter).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to each of the battery bank systems of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Regarding claim 3. Park discloses that the battery management system of each of the respective plurality of battery bank systems (211) is configured to monitor a voltage associated with the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶50 – the rack BMSs 211 monitors the states of the batteries such as voltage), wherein the battery system controller is configured to receive the voltage associated with each of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶50 – data transmitted to overall control unit 105)
Park does not explicitly teach to selectively control activation and deactivation of the contactors that electrically connect each of the plurality of battery bank systems based on a threshold amplitude associated with relative voltage of each of the plurality of battery bank systems.
Beaston teaches to selectively control activation and deactivation of the contactors that electrically connect each of the battery bank systems based on a threshold amplitude associated with relative voltage of each of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶227 – when over-charge prevention procedure is implemented, I turns on a grid connected inverter and discharges the battery cells until all cells are at or below a state-of -charge level and voltage level).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to the each of the plurality of battery bank systems of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Regarding claim 4. Park does not explicitly teach that the battery system controller is configured to prohibit activation of the contactors of a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of a predetermined threshold amplitude relative to at least one other battery bank system of the plurality of battery bank systems communicatively coupled ot the battery system controller during the charging operation or the discharging operation.
Beaston discloses that the battery system controller is configured to prohibit activation of the contactors of a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of a predetermined threshold amplitude relative to at least one other battery bank system of the plurality of battery bank systems communicatively coupled to the battery system controller during the charging operation or the discharging operation (¶158 – if the CPU determines that the unit is operating properly, then the contactor is closed; ¶160 – charging continues until a stop criteria is met i.e. – maximum voltage is reached; ¶161 – opening the contactor 834 decouples the charger from the battery packs).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to each of the battery bank systems of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Regarding claim 5 and claim 18. Park does not explicitly teach that the battery system controller is configured to selectively activate the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in a sequence in response to the voltage of at least one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the predetermined threshold amplitude relative to at least the one other battery bank system of the plurality of battery bank systems communicatively coupled to the battery system controller at a beginning of the charging operation or the discharging operation.
Beaston discloses that the battery system controller is configured to selectively activate the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in a sequence in response to the voltage of at least one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the predetermined threshold amplitude relative to at least the one other battery bank system of the plurality of battery bank systems communicatively coupled to the battery system controller (¶160 – the charging will occur until a stop criteria is met, such as reaching a maximum voltage value)
Although Beaston does not explicitly state that the selection occurs at a beginning of the charging operation or the discharging operation, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand that if a module does not meet the charging criteria, the contactor will not be activated in order to avoid overcharging.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to the system of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Regarding claim 9. Park discloses that the battery system controller (105) is configured to monitor a bank voltage, a bank current , and a bank state-of-charge (SOC) associated with each of the battery bank systems (¶50 – rack BMSs 211 monitors SOC, voltage and current of the batteries and transmits the data to the overall control unit 105),
Park does not explicitly teach to deactivate the contactors of a respective one of the battery bank systems in response to detecting that one of the bank voltage, the bank current, and the bank SOC of the respective has exceeded a threshold limit.
Kim teaches to deactivate the contactors of a respective one of the battery bank systems in response to detecting that one of the bank voltage, the bank current, and the bank SOC of the respective has exceeded a threshold limit (¶43 – rack BMS disconnects the connection between the battery rack and the grid due to a voltage being too high, thus, exceeding a threshold).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the control of Kim to the battery system of Park in order to prevent too large of a current/voltage to flow which poses significant safety risks (¶7).
Regarding claim 12. Park discloses a method for controlling a battery bank power system (200), the method comprising:
monitoring a voltage (¶50 - The rack BMSs 211 may monitor states of the batteries 213 such as SOC, voltage, or current, and may transmit data obtained by the monitoring to the overall control unit 105) of each of a plurality of battery bank systems (210) via a respective battery management system (211), each of the plurality of battery bank systems (221/223) and a plurality of battery racks (221/223), each of the plurality of battery racks (221/223) comprising a plurality of battery modules (213) and each of the battery bank systems (221/223) being electrically connectable to an inverter bus (300) associated with a single inverter (103);
providing the voltage of each of the plurality of battery bank systems from the battery management system of each of the respective plurality of battery bank systems to a battery system controller (105) via a network (¶41-42 – overall control unit 105 monitors the state of charge of the battery system 200 and controls the charging discharging operations of the battery racks)
Park does not explicitly teach that the battery bank system includes contactors connectable to an inverter bus and generating, based on monitored voltages of the plurality of battery bank systems, a threshold voltage amplitude; selectively controlling the contactors that electrically connect with each of the plurality of battery bank systems to the single inverter based on a relative amplitude of the voltage of each of the plurality of battery bank systems to provide an inverter current from the battery bank systems to a power grid in a discharging operation or to receive the inverter current from the power grid to the plurality of battery bank systems in a charging operation.
Kim discloses generating, based on monitored voltages of the plurality of battery bank systems, a threshold voltage amplitude (¶34-35 rack voltage is determined; ¶43 – connection to rack is disconnected when a voltage is too high; ¶47 – connection to rack is disconnected when an imbalance occurs in the battery rack because a battery within the is below a voltage from the other battery trays).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the control of Kim to the battery system of Park in order to prevent too large of a current/voltage to flow which poses significant safety risks (¶7).
Kim does not explicitly teach selectively controlling the contactors that electrically connect with each of the plurality of battery bank systems to the single inverter based on a relative amplitude of the voltage of each of the plurality of battery bank systems to provide an inverter current from the battery bank systems to a power grid in a discharging operation or to receive the inverter current from the power grid to the plurality of battery bank systems in a charging operation.
Beaston discloses that the battery system includes contactors (834/828) connectable to an inverter bus and selectively controlling the contactors that electrically connect with each of the plurality of battery bank systems to the single inverter based on a relative amplitude of the voltage of each of the plurality of battery bank systems (¶227 – when over-charge prevention procedure is implemented, I turns on a grid connected inverter and discharges the battery cells until all cells are at or below a state-of -charge level and voltage level) to provide an inverter current from the battery bank systems (¶135 bidirectional inverter discharges the battery unit) to a power grid (202/220/230) in a discharging operation (¶135 bidirectional inverter discharges the battery unit) or to receive the inverter current from the power grid to the battery bank systems in a charging operation (¶135 bidirectional inverter).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to the system of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Regarding claim 17. Park does not explicitly discloses that the battery system controller is configured to prohibit activation of the contactors of a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the threshold voltage amplitude relative to at least one other battery bank system during the charging operation or the discharging operation.
Beaston disclose that the battery system controller is configured to prohibit activation of the contactors of a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the threshold voltage amplitude relative to at least one other battery bank system during the charging operation or the discharging operation (¶158 – if the CPU determines that the unit is operating properly, then the contactor is closed; ¶160 – charging continues until a stop criteria is met i.e. – maximum voltage is reached; ¶161 – opening the contactor 834 decouples the charger from the battery packs).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to the system of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Claims 6-8, 13-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US20170093187A1 in view of Kim et al. US20190334343A1 and Beaston et al. US20180123357A1 in further view of Books et al. US20210226267A1.
Regarding claim 6 and claim 19. Parks does not explicitly disclose that the sequence comprises activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from lowest voltage to highest voltage during the charging operation, and activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from highest voltage to lowest voltage during the discharging operation.
Books discloses that the sequence comprises activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from lowest voltage to highest voltage during the charging operation (FIG. 6; ¶51-53- the battery having the lowest voltage is charged then sequentially adding the other packs), and activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from highest voltage to lowest voltage during the discharging operation (FIG. 10; ¶61-62 – discharging begins with packs having the highest voltage then activating the contactor for the pack with the lowest voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to provide the balanced charging/discharging of Books to the system of Park and Beaston in order to prevent exceeding the system limits which may cause shut down or damage (Books; ¶2).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 20. Park does not explicitly teach that the battery system controller is configured to activate a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being within the threshold amplitude of the preceding one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence.
Books discloses that the battery system controller is configured to activate a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being within the threshold amplitude of the preceding one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence (¶52- as the voltage approaches the voltage of the next battery pack, the next battery pack also begins to charge in response to the measured voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to provide the balanced charging/discharging of Books to the system of Park and Beaston in order to prevent exceeding the system limits which may cause shut down or damage (Books; ¶2).
Regarding claim 8. Although Beaston discloses using a system controller to control the inverter, Park and Beaston do not explicitly disclose that the battery system controller is configured to reduce the inverter current provided to or from the inverter to approximately zero before activation or deactivation of the contactors of each of battery bank systems.
Book discloses that the battery system controller is configured to reduce the inverter current provided to or from the inverter to approximately zero before activation or deactivation of the contactors of each of battery bank systems (¶52 - As the charging current approaches zero, the bus voltage approaches the open circuit voltage of battery pack #4a. When the charging current is low and the bus voltage of the battery pack #4a is within a predetermined range of or substantially equal to the voltage of the battery pack #6a, the two packs are connected and the battery pack #6a begins to charge in addition to the battery pack #4a).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to provide the balanced charging/discharging of Books to the system of Beaston in order to prevent exceeding the system limits which may cause shut down or damage (Books; ¶2).
Regarding claim 13. Park does not explicitly disclose selectively controlling the contactors that electrically connect each of the plurality of battery bank systems to the single inverter comprises prohibiting activation of the contactors of a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the generated threshold voltage amplitude relative to at least one other battery bank system during the charging operation or the discharging operation.
Beaston discloses selectively controlling the contactors that electrically connect each of the plurality of battery bank systems to the single inverter comprises prohibiting activation of the contactors of a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the generated threshold voltage amplitude (¶160 – the charging will occur until a stop criteria is met, such as reaching a maximum voltage value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to the system of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Beaston does not explicitly disclose relative to at least one other battery bank system during the charging operation or the discharging operation.
Books discloses that the prohibition is relative to at least one other battery bank system during the charging operation or the discharging operation (¶52- as the voltage approaches the voltage of the next battery pack, the next battery pack also begins to charge in response to the measured voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to provide the balanced charging/discharging of Books to the system of Beaston in order to prevent exceeding the system limits which may cause shut down or damage (Books; ¶2).
Regarding claim 14. Park does not explicitly disclose selectively controlling the contactors that electrically connect each of the plurality of battery bank systems to the single inverter comprises selectively activating the contactors of each of plurality of battery bank systems in a sequence in response to the voltage of at least one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the generated threshold voltage amplitude at a beginning of the charging operation or the discharging operation, wherein the sequence comprises activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from lowest voltage to highest voltage during the charging operation, and activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from highest voltage to lowest voltage during the discharging operation.
Beaston discloses selectively controlling the contactors that electrically connect each of the plurality of battery bank systems to the single inverter comprises selectively activating the contactors of each of plurality of battery bank systems in a sequence in response to the voltage of at least one of the plurality of battery bank systems being outside of the generated threshold voltage amplitude e (¶160 – the charging will occur until a stop criteria is met, such as reaching a maximum voltage value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a contactor, as taught by Beaston, to the system of Park in order to provide control of power to and from the inverter which allows for accurate control of power throughout the system.
Although Beaston does not explicitly state that the selection occurs at a beginning of the charging operation or the discharging operation, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand that if a module does not meet the charging criteria, the contactor will not be activated in order to avoid overcharging.
Beaston does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequence comprises activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from lowest voltage to highest voltage during the charging operation, and activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from highest voltage to lowest voltage during the discharging operation.
Books discloses that wherein the sequence comprises activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from lowest voltage to highest voltage during the charging operation (FIG. 6; ¶51-53- the battery having the lowest voltage is charged then sequentially adding the other packs), and activation of the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems in order from highest voltage to lowest voltage during the discharging operation(FIG. 10; ¶61-62 – discharging begins with packs having the highest voltage then activating the contactor for the pack with the lowest voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to provide the balanced charging/discharging of Books to the system of Park and Beaston in order to prevent exceeding the system limits which may cause shut down or damage (Books; ¶2).
Regarding claim 15. Park and Beaston does not explicitly discloses that selectively activating the contactors of each of the plurality of battery bank systems comprises activating a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being within a threshold amplitude associated with relative voltage of the preceding one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence.
Books discloses that activating a respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence in response to the voltage of the respective one of the plurality of battery bank systems being within a threshold amplitude of the preceding one of the plurality of battery bank systems in the sequence (¶52- as the voltage approaches the voltage of the next battery pack, the next battery pack also begins to charge in response to the measured voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to provide the balanced charging/discharging of Books to the system of Park and Beaston in order to prevent exceeding the system limits which may cause shut down or damage (Books; ¶2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US20170093187A1 in view of Kim US20190334343A1 and Beaston et al. US20180123357A1 in further view of Okada et al. US20230006453A1.
Regarding claim 10. Park and Beaston does not explicitly disclose that the battery system controller is configured to continuously set a limit for the inverter current provided to and received by the inverter, the limit being approximately equal to a lowest amplitude of a maximum threshold limit of the bank current of the battery bank systems multiplied by a quantity of the battery bank systems having activated contactors.
Okada discloses that the battery system controller is configured to continuously set a limit for the inverter current provided to and received by the inverter (PDU 7), the limit being approximately equal to a lowest amplitude of a maximum threshold limit of the bank current of the battery bank systems multiplied by a quantity of the battery bank systems having activated contactors (¶114 – the upper limit power acquisition unit multiplies the smallest upper limit power of the upper limit power of the respective batteries by the number of batteries connected in parallel).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to set a current limit, as taught by Okada, to the system of Park and Beaston in order to slow the deterioration of the power device (Okada; ¶10).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US20170093187A1 in view of Kim US20190334343A1 in further view of Danilovic US20190006885A1
Regarding claim 11. Park and Beaston do not explicitly disclose that the battery system controller is configured to reduce the inverter current provided to or from the inverter to approximately zero in response to detecting a fault associated with the battery management system associated with each of the battery bank systems or a communication disconnect between the battery system controller and the battery management system associated with each of the battery bank systems.
Danilovic discloses that the battery system controller is configured to reduce the inverter current provided to or from the inverter to approximately zero in response to detecting a fault associated with the battery management system associated with each of the battery bank systems (¶118- inverter includes protection/control circuit and is configured to shut down the inverter in response to a fault by isolating the inverter from a power source to stop current flow)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to stop the charging of the system of Park and Beaston, as taught by Danilovic, in order to prevent dangerous operating conditions and possible damage (Danilovic; ¶3).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al. US20220302707A1 discloses controlling the amplitude of the voltage using the switching element.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859