Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2023/0106643 A1) in view of Alexander et al. (US 2019/0079293 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tang teaches a sensor, comprising:
a receiver ([0008] a photodetector to generate an electrical signal in response to detecting a return signal);
output couplers ([0042] grating couplers… for emitting a plurality of optical beams);
a transmitter configured to emit a beam ([0008] an optical source to generate an optical beam); and
a guide configured to receive the beam emitted by the transmitter and guide the beam toward the output couplers ([0008] a waveguide to direct the optical beam through the photonics chip… optical coupler to transmit the optical beam from the waveguide to a target); and
wherein the receiver is configured to receive the beam emitted from one or more of the output couplers ([0008] a photodetector to generate an electrical signal in response to detecting a return signal).
Tang is not relied upon as teaching that each output coupler may be selectively placed, based on a control signal, in an out-coupling state that emits the beam from the respective output coupler and an internal reflective state that confines the beam to the guide.
However, Alexander teaches that each output coupler may be selectively placed, based on a control signal, in an out-coupling state that emits the beam from the respective output coupler ([0069] In FIG. 4, modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470 has been modulated by controller 430 to have different refractive indices and therefore light signals 451, 452, and 453 which are incident on liquid crystal in-coupler 470 at the same angle but at different location are out-coupled towards a user on paths with different angles. Independently modulating the regions of liquid crystal in-coupler 420 and/or liquid crystal out-coupler 470 enables more freedom in image creation both spatially and temporally) and an internal reflective state that confines the beam to the guide ([0070] By modulating a region of the liquid crystal out-coupler to be opaque, a light signal or multiple light signals when incident on the opaque region will reflect back into the volume of optically transparent material and propagate further down the waveguide before being out-coupled).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to improve control over beam emission locations, reduce optical losses, and allow dynamic reconfiguration of sensing regions. This would have yielded the predictable result of output couplers with a control signal adjusted refractive index.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Tang is not relied upon as teaching that the output couplers include:
a first output coupler at a first baseline distance from the receiver; and
a second output coupler at a second baseline distance from the receiver, wherein the second baseline distance is greater than the first baseline distance.
However, Alexander teaches that the output couplers include:
a first output coupler at a first baseline distance from the receiver; and
a second output coupler at a second baseline distance from the receiver, wherein the second baseline distance is greater than the first baseline distance ([0069] Liquid crystal in-coupler 420 has three independently modulatable regions. Each of light signals 451, 452, and 453 are incident on a respective one of modulatable regions 421, 422, and 423 of liquid crystal in-coupler 420… ach of light signals 451, 452, and 453 are incident on a respective one of modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470. Examiner Note: Fig 4, reproduced below, shows the in-coupler 420 (receiver) and the output couplers (471, 472, and 473). 471 is a closer baseline distance to 420 than 472).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to improve control over beam emission locations, reduce optical losses, and allow dynamic reconfiguration of sensing regions. This would have yielded the predictable result of reduced noise and increased control.
Regarding Claim 3, Tang is not relied upon as teaching that output couplers include:
a first output coupler providing a first depth range; and
a second output coupler providing a second depth range that differs from the first depth range.
However, Alexander teaches that output couplers include:
a first output coupler providing a first depth range; and
a second output coupler providing a second depth range that differs from the first depth range ([0069] In FIG. 4, modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470 has been modulated by controller 430 to have different refractive indices and therefore light signals 451, 452, and 453 which are incident on liquid crystal in-coupler 470 at the same angle but at different location are out-coupled towards a user on paths with different angles Examiner Note: paths with different angles correspond to different perception depths).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to provide multiple depth ranges. This would have yielded the predictable result of data with larger scope and increased resolution of the surrounding environment.
Regarding Claim 4, Tang is not relied upon as teaching that the first depth range overlaps a portion of the second depth range.
However, Alexander teaches that the first depth range overlaps a portion of the second depth range ([0070] In the case of a liquid crystal out-coupler with multiple independently modulatable regions, the region where the incidence first occurs will be modulated to opaque while the region where the second incidence occurs will be modulated to be transmissive (depending on the size of the regions, the regions of first and second incidence may be the same region or different regions)).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the depth range of output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to improve resolution and accuracy. This would have yielded the predictable result of enabling data comparisons between image captures and improved alignment of side-by-side regions.
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Tang is not relied upon as teaching that the output couplers include:
a first output coupler providing a first field of view; and
a second output coupler providing a second field of view that differs from the first field of view.
However, Alexander teaches that the output couplers include:
a first output coupler providing a first field of view; and
a second output coupler providing a second field of view that differs from the first field of view ([0069] In FIG. 4, modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470 has been modulated by controller 430 to have different refractive indices and therefore light signals 451, 452, and 453 which are incident on liquid crystal in-coupler 470 at the same angle but at different location are out-coupled towards a user on paths with different angles Examiner Note: paths with different angles correspond to different fields of view).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to provide multiple fields of view. This would have yielded the predictable result of gathering information about a larger scene.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Tang is not relied upon as teaching a first optical structure between the transmitter and a first output coupler of the output couplers; and a second optical structure between the transmitter and a second output coupler of the output couplers.
However, Alexander teaches a first optical structure between the transmitter and a first output coupler of the output; and
a second optical structure between the transmitter and a second output coupler of the output couplers ([0088] with a projector 882, a liquid crystal in coupler 820 with modulatable regions 821, 822, and 823 and a liquid crystal out-coupler 870 with multiple modulatable regions 871, 872, and 873 Examiner Note: See Fig. 8, reproduced below, 821 is between the projector and the corresponding output coupler 871, same with 822 and 872).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical structures of Tang to be at the locations of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to improve waveguide control. This would have yielded the predictable result of optimization of wave paths inside the guide.
Regarding Claim 8, Tang teaches that the first optical structure and the second optical structure each include a lens, a diffractive optical element, a collimator, a polarizing filter, a wavelength filter, or a diffuser ([0024] The free space optics 115 may also include one or more optical components such as taps, wavelength division multiplexers (WDM), splitters/combiners, polarization beam splitters (PBS), collimators, couplers, or the like).
Regarding Claims 9 and 16, Tang teaches optical structures over the output couplers ([0024] The free space optics 115 may also include one or more optical components such as taps, wavelength division multiplexers (WDM), splitters/combiners, polarization beam splitters (PBS), collimators, couplers, or the like); and
wherein a first output coupler emits the beam through a first optical structure ([0038] The optical beam 304 may be directed to an optical coupler 306 that is configured to couple the optical beam 304 to a polarization beam splitter (PBS) 307).
Tang is not relied upon as teaching that a first output coupler emits the beam in response to the first output coupler being placed in the out-coupling state.
However, Alexander teaches that a first output coupler emits the beam in response to the first output coupler being placed in the out-coupling state ([0017] When the out-coupler is a liquid crystal out-coupler communicatively coupled to the controller, the method may further include: modulating a refractive index of the liquid crystal out-coupler to a third refractive index by the controller; and out-coupling a first set of light signals by the liquid crystal out-coupler, wherein an output path of the first set of light signals is dependent on the refractive index of the liquid crystal out-coupler).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have yielded the predictable result of the output coupler emitting the beam in response to the first output coupler being placed in the out-coupling state.
Regarding Claim 10, Tang teaches that each optical structure includes a lens, a diffractive optical element, a collimator, a polarizing filter, a wavelength filter, or a diffuser ([0024] The free space optics 115 may also include one or more optical components such as taps, wavelength division multiplexers (WDM), splitters/combiners, polarization beam splitters (PBS), collimators, couplers, or the like).
Regarding Claim 11, Tang teaches a computing device, comprising:
a receiver ([0008] a photodetector to generate an electrical signal in response to detecting a return signal);
output couplers ([0042] grating couplers… for emitting a plurality of optical beams);
a transmitter configured to emit a beam ([0008] an optical source to generate an optical beam);
a guide configured to receive the beam emitted by the transmitter and guide the beam toward the output couplers ([0008] a waveguide to direct the optical beam through the photonics chip… optical coupler to transmit the optical beam from the waveguide to a target); and
wherein the receiver is configured to receive the beam emitted from one or more of the output couplers ([0008] a photodetector to generate an electrical signal in response to detecting a return signal).
Tang is not relied upon as teaching a storage device comprising instructions; a processor configured to execute the instructions and generate control signals based on execution of the instructions; and that each output coupler may be selectively placed, based on a control signal, in an out-coupling state that emits the beam from the respective output coupler and an internal reflective state that confines the beam to the guide.
However, Alexander teaches a storage device comprising instructions ([0046] The processor may be communicatively coupled to a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium… may execute data and/or instruction from the non-transitory processor readable storage medium to modulate controller 130);
a processor configured to execute the instructions and generate control signals based on execution of the instructions ([0046] controller 130 has output a signal to modulate liquid crystal in-coupler 120a to a first refractive index… Controller 130 may be communicatively coupled to a processor… which modulates the output of signals from controller 130…. The processor may execute data and/or instruction); and
that each output coupler may be selectively placed, based on a control signal, in an out-coupling state that emits the beam from the respective output coupler ([0069] In FIG. 4, modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470 has been modulated by controller 430 to have different refractive indices and therefore light signals 451, 452, and 453 which are incident on liquid crystal in-coupler 470 at the same angle but at different location are out-coupled towards a user on paths with different angles. Independently modulating the regions of liquid crystal in-coupler 420 and/or liquid crystal out-coupler 470 enables more freedom in image creation both spatially and temporally) and an internal reflective state that confines the beam to the guide ([0070] By modulating a region of the liquid crystal out-coupler to be opaque, a light signal or multiple light signals when incident on the opaque region will reflect back into the volume of optically transparent material and propagate further down the waveguide before being out-coupled).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to improve control over beam emission locations, reduce optical losses, and allow dynamic reconfiguration of sensing regions. This would have yielded the predictable result of output couplers with a control signal adjusted refractive index.
Regarding Claim 13, Tang is not relied upon as teaching teaches that the output couplers include:
a first output coupler providing a first depth range; and
a second output coupler providing a second depth range that differs from the first depth range; and
wherein the first depth range overlaps a portion of the second depth range.
However, Alexander teaches that the output couplers include:
a first output coupler providing a first depth range; and
a second output coupler providing a second depth range that differs from the first depth range ([0069] In FIG. 4, modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470 has been modulated by controller 430 to have different refractive indices and therefore light signals 451, 452, and 453 which are incident on liquid crystal in-coupler 470 at the same angle but at different location are out-coupled towards a user on paths with different angles Examiner Note: paths with different angles correspond to different perception depths); and
wherein the first depth range overlaps a portion of the second depth range ([0070] In the case of a liquid crystal out-coupler with multiple independently modulatable regions, the region where the incidence first occurs will be modulated to opaque while the region where the second incidence occurs will be modulated to be transmissive (depending on the size of the regions, the regions of first and second incidence may be the same region or different regions)).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to provide multiple depth ranges and improve resolution and accuracy. This would have yielded the predictable result of data with larger scope and increased resolution of the surrounding environment and enabling data comparisons between image captures and improved alignment of side-by-side regions.
Regarding Claim 17, Tang teaches a method comprising:
receiving first data for the first depth range ([0034] The analog signals from the optical receivers 104 are converted to digital signals by the signal conditioning unit 107);
receiving second data for the second depth range ([0034] The analog signals from the optical receivers 104 are converted to digital signals by the signal conditioning unit 107); and
generating 3D scan data based on the first data for the first depth range and the second data for the second depth range ([0034] The signal processing unit 112 can then generate 3D point cloud data… as the optical scanner 102 scans additional points).
Tang is not relied upon as teaching emitting a beam from a first output coupler associated with a first depth range; and emitting the beam from a second output coupler associated with a second depth range, wherein the second depth range overlaps a portion of the first depth range.
However, Alexander teaches emitting a beam from a first output coupler associated with a first depth range; and
emitting the beam from a second output coupler associated with a second depth range ([0069] In FIG. 4, modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470 has been modulated by controller 430 to have different refractive indices and therefore light signals 451, 452, and 453 which are incident on liquid crystal in-coupler 470 at the same angle but at different location are out-coupled towards a user on paths with different angles Examiner Note: paths with different angles correspond to different perception depths), wherein the second depth range overlaps a portion of the first depth range ([0070] In the case of a liquid crystal out-coupler with multiple independently modulatable regions, the region where the incidence first occurs will be modulated to opaque while the region where the second incidence occurs will be modulated to be transmissive (depending on the size of the regions, the regions of first and second incidence may be the same region or different regions)).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to provide multiple depth ranges and improve resolution and accuracy. This would have yielded the predictable result of data with larger scope and increased resolution of the surrounding environment and enabling data comparisons between image captures and improved alignment of side-by-side regions.
Regarding Claim 19, Tang is not relied upon as teaching that the emitting the beam from the first output coupler occurs prior to the emitting the beam from the second output coupler.
However, Alexander teaches that the emitting the beam from the first output coupler occurs prior to the emitting the beam from the second output coupler ([0070] In the case of a liquid crystal out-coupler with multiple independently modulatable regions, the region where the incidence first occurs will be modulated to opaque while the region where the second incidence occurs will be modulated to be transmissive (depending on the size of the regions, the regions of first and second incidence may be the same region or different regions).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the beam timing of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have yielded the predictable result of emitting the beam from the first output coupler occurs prior to the emitting the beam from the second output coupler.
Regarding Claim 20, Tang teaches receiving the beam from the first output coupler comprises receiving the beam with a receiver; and
receiving the beam from the second output coupler comprises receiving the beam with the receiver ([0051]-[0052] In one example, the grating coupler 632 provides a two-dimensional optical beam output array from the front of the photonics chip 610. For example, the two-dimensional output array 636 may be a lattice of output beams. The two-dimensional output array 636 may be output around and between the electronic chips disposed on the front of the photonics chip 610… The optical beam is then reflected from one or more targets and returned to the photonics chip 610.).
Tang is not relied upon as teaching that the receiver is a first baseline distance from the first output coupler; and that the receiver is a second baseline distance from the second output coupler.
However, Alexander teaches that the receiver is a first baseline distance from the first output coupler; and that the receiver is a second baseline distance from the second output coupler ([0069] Liquid crystal in-coupler 420 has three independently modulatable regions. Each of light signals 451, 452, and 453 are incident on a respective one of modulatable regions 421, 422, and 423 of liquid crystal in-coupler 420… ach of light signals 451, 452, and 453 are incident on a respective one of modulatable regions 471, 472, and 473 of liquid crystal out-coupler 470. Examiner Note: Fig 4, reproduced above, shows the output couplers at different locations, implying they must be different baseline distances from the receiver (first and second baseline difference)).
Tang and Alexander are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Alexander with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to improve control over beam emission locations, reduce optical losses, and allow dynamic reconfiguration of sensing regions. This would have yielded the predictable result of reduced noise and increased control.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2023/0106643 A1) and Alexander et al. (US 2019/0079293 A1) in further view of Travers et al. (US 2014/0300966 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Tang is not relied upon as teaching that the first output coupler comprises a first diffractive grating comprising first repeated grating structures having a first period; and
the second output coupler comprises a second diffractive grating comprising grating structures having a second period that differs from the first period.
However, Travers teaches that the first output coupler comprises a first diffractive grating comprising first repeated grating structures having a first period; and
the second output coupler comprises a second diffractive grating comprising grating structures having a second period that differs from the first period ([0008] a plurality of transformable diffractive optics having different effective periods. [0013] The transformable diffractive optics preferably include transformable grating structures paired with mating grating structures).
Tang and Travers are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of waveguide-based optical beam emission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output couplers of Tang to include the features of Travers with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to broaden the spectral bandwidth. This would have yielded the predictable result of output couplers with diffractive gratings with distinct periods.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2023/0106643 A1) and Alexander et al. (US 2019/0079293 A1) in further view of Smits (US 2018/0108733 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Tang is not relied upon as teaching that generating the 3D scan data comprises interpolating data for an overlap portion of 3D scan data based on data from the first data and data from the second data that correspond to the overlap portion.
However, Smits teaches that generating the 3D scan data comprises interpolating data for an overlap portion of 3D scan data based on data from the first data and data from the second data that correspond to the overlap portion ([0250] Sub-pixel resolution is possible by linear interpolation… After observing a series of image points… the system can by linear (or other) interpolation estimate the underlying true 2D scan trajectories, as well as the 3D manifold surface trajectory.... Thus, contour lines observed can be fitted in 3D space).
Tang and Smits are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of 3D scan data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the 3D scan data of Tang to be processed by the method of Smits with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated in doing so to improve processing of overlapping regions using the known method of interpolation. This would have yielded the predictable result of generating information about the overlap region.
Conclusion
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645