DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 12/18/2025, claim 1 has been amended, and new claims 23 and 24 are added. Claims 5 and 11 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12-24 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 24 recites, inter alia, “wherein the first pressure relief device … is configured to automatically close when pressure in the first steam supply path drops below the predetermined set positive pressure; and wherein the first pressure relief device is configured to open at a predetermined set negative pressure, and is configured to close when pressure in the second steam supply path rises above the predetermined set negative pressure” As set forth above, these limitations are not supported in the originally filed specification. Specification states, in ¶ 0062, the first pressure relief device 64 opens at a predetermined set positive pressure, but it is silent regarding the automatic closure when pressure in the first steam supply path drops below the predetermined set positive pressure. Specification states, in ¶ 0065-66, the negative pressure relief device 65 is provided in the steam dispensing path 56. Thus, the path 56 is controlled by the second pressure relief device 65, not by the first pressure relief device 64. Specification is silent regarding the negative pressure control by the first pressure relief device.
Therefore, the recitation is considered to be New Matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 5,613,271), in view of Hutchinson (US 6,647,204, cited on 08/01/2023 IDS) and Chung et al. (KR 100662390B1, hereinafter Chung).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas discloses, in fig. 1, a surface cleaning apparatus (col. 3:65-66, all-purpose vacuum cleaner) comprising:
a hand-carried body adapted to be hand carried by a user (col. 4:1-4, the vacuum has a handle 5 adapted to be hand carried by a user), the hand-carried body comprising:
a main housing (housing 1);
a supply tank disposed on the main housing (col. 4:8-9, the housing 1 comprises a water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank]);
a liquid supply pump (col. 4:66-5:2, water delivered by a pressure pump [corresponds to the recited liquid supply pump] is sprayed by nozzles 112);
a steam supply pump (col. 4:11-12, a feed pump 105 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump] supply water to a steam generator 104);
a heater (steam generator 104);
a steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater (col. 4:11-14, a fluid path between the water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the steam generator 104 [corresponds to the recited heater]. The steam generator is supplied by a feed pump 105 to draw water from the water tank 102, thus there is the path between them); and
a liquid supply path between the supply tank and the liquid supply pump (a fluid path between the water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the pressure pump [corresponds to the recited liquid supply pump] described in col. 4:66-5:2. The water is delivered by the pump and sprayed from the nozzle, thus there is the path from the water tank 102 to the pressure pump);
a flexible hose mounted to the hand-carried body and comprising a first conduit in fluid communication with the liquid supply pump and a second conduit in fluid communication with the steam supply pump (col. 4:40-45, a tubular sleeve 12 [corresponds to the recited flexible hose] is mounted to the housing 1 and comprises a water line 28 [corresponds to the recited first conduit] and a steam line 14 [corresponds to the recited second conduit]);
a hand-held cleaning tool mounted to an end of the flexible hose and comprising a liquid distributor to deliver liquid cleaning fluid and a steam distributor to deliver steam (figs. 1 and 2A and col. 5:3-8, 5:28-30, a hand-held cleaning tool mounted to an end of the tubular sleeve comprises a sole plate 15. The sole plate 15 sprays water through a nozzle 112 [corresponds to the recited liquid distributor] and delivers steam through a steam plenum 113 [corresponds to the recited steam distributor]), but does not disclose a first pressure relief device in the steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater to limit the pressure in the steam supply path, wherein the first pressure relief device is fluidly downstream of the supply tank and fluidly upstream of the heater; wherein the first pressure relief device is configured to open at a predetermined set pressure.
Hutchinson teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a first pressure relief device in the steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater to limit the pressure in the steam supply path, wherein the first pressure relief device is configured to open at a predetermined set pressure (fig. 23 and col. 15:49-16:4, 16:30-44, flow to the steam generator 10 including a high pressure against a check valve 34 is regulated by a pressure gauge 194 and a flow control valve 196 [correspond to the recited first pressure relief device]. The gauge 194 and valve 196 are disposed in a steam supply path between a water tank 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and a heater 10. They control pressure to the steam generating heat chamber 10. The opening of a valve for controlling of fluid in a fluid path means the valve opens at a predetermined pressure. Fluid flow pressure and rate are closely related so that the flow rate control is equivalent to the flow pressure control), wherein the first pressure relief device fluidly downstream of the supply tank and fluidly upstream of the heater (fig. 23, the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 are disposed at downstream of the water tank 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and upstream of the heater 10. The pressure gauge 194/valve 196 change fluid pressure to the heater 10, thus they are disposed at the upstream of the heater 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to provide the first pressure relief device as taught by Hutchinson so that very accurate volume flow of water can be provided to the steam generator (Hutchinson, col. 15:53-59).
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson does not disclose explicitly the first pressure relief device is configured to automatically close when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set pressure.
Chung teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the first pressure relief device is configured to automatically close when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set pressure (Chung English translation, p. 5:31-6:3, Chung discloses a floor cleaning device utilizing steam. The cleaner comprises a pressure sensor which monitors steam pressure in a pipe connected to a steam generator. When a pressure is greater than or equal to a predetermined pressure, a controller opens an opening and closing member [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] and closes the opening and closing member when the pressure is less than or equal to the predetermined pressure. Chung teaches closing and opening of the pressure relief device depending on the measured steam pressure. While the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 of Hutchinson already teaches relieving the high pressure in the steam supply path, although Chung’s sensor measures the steam pressure, not liquid pressure, the controlling of the opening and closing member of Chung can be combined to teach opening and closing of the pressure relief device compared with the predetermined set pressure. Examiner notes Chung does not disclose explicitly that the member closes automatically. However, the specification of the instant application does not disclose the first pressure relief device closes automatically, either. Yet both the Chung reference and the instant application do not disclose the opening and closing member and the first pressure relief device close by manual operation of a user. Therefore, the closing of the opening and closing member is achieved automatically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson to provide the closing the first pressure relief device with respect to the predetermined set pressure as taught by Chung in order to maintain proper pressure in the steam generating device so that it prevents the device from damaging the surface its cleaning and/or to keep the pressure from fully escaping the system.
Regarding claim 2, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, comprising a vacuum motor mounted within the main housing (Thomas, col. 4:15-18, the housing 1 of the cleaning apparatus comprises a motor 107 for inducing suction) and a recovery tank disposed on the main housing (Thomas, col. 7:41-44, sucked water is delivered to a collecting container [corresponds to the recited recovery tank]) wherein: the flexible hose comprises a third conduit in fluid communication with the recovery tank; and the hand-held cleaning tool comprises an extraction nozzle to recover soiled cleaning fluid from the surface to be cleaned (Thomas, col. 4:32-40, 7:41-44, an end of a suction hose 8 comprises a suction nozzle 11 for suctioning water from a surface of a floor).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first pressure relief device is fluidly downstream of the steam supply pump and fluidly upstream of the heater (Hutchinson, fig. 23, the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] is disposed at downstream of a piston pump 42 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump] and at upstream of the steam generating heat chamber 10 [corresponds to the recited heater]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to dispose the first pressure relief device as recited as taught by Hutchinson so that very accurate volume flow of water can be provided to the steam generator (Hutchinson, col. 15:53-59).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, comprising a pressure control device to cut off power to the steam supply pump at a predetermined control pressure (Hutchinson, col. 8:65-9:3 and 12:53-60, electronic control system 22 [corresponds to the recited pressure control device] monitors pressure in steam generating heat chamber 10. The pressure is kept within a range of 50 to 150 psi via pressure control valve 48. If parameters monitored by the control system 22 exceeds any limit, the system shuts down to prevent any dangerous runaway condition. Thus, if the pressure exceeds the limit, the control system 22 turns off power to the piston pump 30 which includes the piston pump 42 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to dispose the pressure control device as taught by Hutchinson so that it can shut down a system to prevent any dangerous runaway condition (Hutchinson, col. 12:58-60).
Regarding claim 8, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose explicitly the predetermined control pressure is less than the predetermined set pressure.
The predetermined control pressure is the pressure of the steam supply pump and the predetermined set pressure is the pressure at the first pressure relief device. As shown in Hutchinson, fig. 23, the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] is disposed at downstream of the piston pump 42 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump]. In order to protect the fluid supply path, one would set a first/preceding pressure check point to have a lower predetermined pressure and set a second/subsequent pressure check point to have a higher predetermined pressure so that any high pressure can be relieved at the first pressure check point. If the first pressure check point fails, however, the second pressure check point may relieve the high pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the predetermined control pressure to be less than the predetermined set pressure in order to protect the fluid supply path and prevent it from damage due to very high pressure.
Regarding claim 10, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, comprising a temperature switch to control power to the steam supply pump, wherein the temperature switch senses temperature at the heater and powers the steam supply pump at a predetermined minimum temperature (Hutchinson, fig. 12 and col. 12:23-25, 12:40-43, and 12:53-60, the control system 22 monitors condition of the heater, and provide an adjustable heater wattage control 20. The control system 22 monitors temperature of the heater 15 in the steam generating heat chamber 10. The temperature of the heater is controlled between 60 and 1500o F, and the steam temperature is controlled between 212 and 350o F. If the temperature exceeds the limit, the system will be shut down; col. 8:65-67, the control system 22 provides power supply to a drive motor of the piston pump 30 from on/off switch 46 [corresponds to the recited temperature switch]. Therefore, the control system 22 can power the pump upon detection of the specified temperature at the steam generating heat chamber. For example, if the heater temperature drops below 60o F, the pump may not be powered and the pumped is powered to provide water to the steam generating heat chamber when the temperature is at 60o F or above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to provide the temperature switch for controlling the steam supply pump as taught by Hutchinson so that it can shut down a system to prevent any dangerous runaway condition (Hutchinson, col. 12:58-60).
Regarding claim 14, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, comprising a user interface on the main housing, the user interface comprising: a power button to activate and de-active at least one electrical component of the surface cleaning apparatus (Thomas fig. 1 and col. 4:22-24, an on-off switch 109 turns on or off a turbine); a mode selector to select one of a plurality of cleaning modes (Thomas, fig. 3 and col. 5:62-6:16, a user can operate a manual switch 30 on a control panel 29 to control coupling of steam or pressurized water wherein the control panel 29 is provided on the housing 1).
Assuming arguendo, that the manual switch 30 is not used for selecting a cleaning mode, Thomas further teaches a switch box 33 at a handle 9. The electrical lines are connected between the switch box 33 and the control panel 29, thus the control panel 29 on the housing is associated with the cleaning mode selection. Because Thomas discloses the control means for selecting the different operation states on the handle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the model selector of Thomas to provide it on the main housing for a user to select different cleaning operations conveniently since it has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 18, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, comprising a second pressure relief device in a second steam supply path between the heater and the hand-held cleaning tool to limit the pressure in the second steam supply path (Thomas, col. 2:65-67, the steam flow from the steam generator [corresponds to the recited heater] can be set by a manually-adjustable valve [corresponds to the recited second pressure relief device] between the steam generator 104 and the hand-held cleaning tool), but does not disclose explicitly the first pressure relief device is configured to open at a first set pressure and the second pressure relief device is configured to open at a second set pressure, different than the first set pressure.
However, Hutchinson teaches the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] and the pressure control valve 200 [corresponds to the recited second pressure relief device] allow precise control of the output from the steam generator 10. While the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 is used for adjusting flow to the steam generator 10 and the pressure control valve 200 is used for minimizing temperature drop of super-heated steam from the steam generator 10 (Hutchinson, col. 16:6-10 and 16:32-34), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the different set pressures in order to perform different functions within the fluid supply path.
Claims 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson and Chung, as applied to claims 2 and 1 above respectively, and in further view of Sales (US 5,469,598).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose a bypass line diverting cleaning fluid from the steam supply path to the recovery tank, wherein the first pressure relief device normally closes the bypass line, and wherein the first pressure relief device opens the bypass line at the predetermined set pressure.
Hutchison similarly teaches a bypass line diverting steam from the steam supply path to the reservoir 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the bypass line is regulated by the pressure gauge 194 and the flow control valve 196 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] (fig. 23).
Sales teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus, a bypass line diverting cleaning fluid from the steam supply path to the recovery tank, wherein the first pressure relief device normally closes the bypass line, and wherein the first pressure relief device opens the bypass line at the predetermined set pressure (fig. 2 and col. 4:53-62, a bypass conduit 63 connects a fluid path to a dirty water collection 125 [corresponds to the recited recovery tank] for cleaning fluid to flow. A pressure control valve 64 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] opens to relieve water from a conduit 57 of the supply path into the collection apparatus if the pressure in the conduit 57 reaches a preselected pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the bypass line as taught by Sales in order to protect the fluid supply path from over pressurization. Thomas teaches the bypass line connected from the steam supply path, and Hutchinson teaches the bypass line connected after the steam supply path, but to the recovery tank. Therefore, Thomas and Hutchinson can be combined to teach the bypass line from the steam supply path to the recovery tank.
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Sales teaches the first pressure relief device automatically closes the bypass line when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set pressure.
As discussed in claim 1 above, Chung teaches when a pressure in the steam supply path is greater than or equal to a predetermined pressure, a controller opens an opening and closing member [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] and closes the opening and closing member when the pressure is less than or equal to the predetermined pressure (Chung English translation, p. 5:31-6:3). While Sales disclose opening the pressure control valve for maintain the pressure in conduit below a preselected pressure, it does not mention the closing of the valve. Thus, the control of the opening and closing member of Chung can be combined with the pressure control valve of Sales to teach automatic closing of the first pressure relief device.
Regarding claim 21, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the surface cleaning apparatus comprises a recovery tank and a bypass line diverting cleaning fluid from the steam supply path to the recovery tank, wherein the first pressure relief device normally closes the bypass line, and wherein the first pressure relief device opens the bypass line at the predetermined set pressure.
Hutchison similarly teaches a bypass line diverting steam from the steam supply path to the reservoir 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the bypass line is regulated by the pressure gauge 194 and the flow control valve 196 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] (fig. 23).
Sales teaches, in the analogous surface cleaning apparatus, the surface cleaning apparatus comprises a recovery tank and a bypass line diverting cleaning fluid from the steam supply path to the recovery tank, wherein the first pressure relief device normally closes the bypass line, and wherein the first pressure relief device opens the bypass line at the predetermined set pressure (fig. 2 and col. 4:53-62, a bypass conduit 63 connects a fluid path to a dirty water collection 125 [corresponds to the recited recovery tank] for cleaning fluid to flow. A pressure control valve 64 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] opens to relieve water from a conduit 57 of the supply path into the collection apparatus if the pressure in the conduit 57 reaches a preselected pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the bypass line as taught by Sales in order to protect the fluid supply path from over pressurization. Thomas teaches the bypass line connected from the steam supply path, and Hutchinson teaches the bypass line connected after the steam supply path, but to the recovery tank. Therefore, Thomas and Hutchinson can be combined to teach the bypass line from the steam supply path to the recovery tank.
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Sales teaches the first pressure relief device automatically closes the bypass line when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set pressure.
As discussed in claims 1 and 3 above, Chung teaches when a pressure in the steam supply path is greater than or equal to a predetermined pressure, a controller opens an opening and closing member [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] and closes the opening and closing member when the pressure is less than or equal to the predetermined pressure (Chung English translation, p. 5:31-6:3). While Sales disclose opening the pressure control valve for maintain the pressure in conduit below a preselected pressure, it does not mention the closing of the valve. Thus, the control of the opening and closing member of Chung can be combined with the pressure control valve of Sales to teach automatic closing of the first pressure relief device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson and Chung, as applied to claim 6, and in further view of Cebrian (ES 2306547A1).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose the pressure control device detects pressure fluidly downstream of the steam supply pump and fluidly upstream of at least one of: the heater; and the first pressure relief device.
Cebrian teaches, in an analogous steam generating device field of endeavor, the pressure control device detects pressure fluidly downstream of the steam supply pump and fluidly upstream of at least one of: the heater; and the first pressure relief device (fig. 3 and Cebrian English translation abstract, water in a steam generating appliance travels through a tank 11, a pump 15 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump], and a steam boiler 10 [corresponds to the recited heater]; p. 5:8-10, a flow control controls the flow of water provided by the pump 15 automatically. The fluid flow rate/velocity and pressure within a channel are closely related, and the fluid flow rate control causes the fluid pressure control. Therefore, the flow control would detect the flow velocity/pressure and control the flow at downstream of the pump 15 and upstream of the steam boiler 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the pressure control device at the recited position as taught by Cebrian in order to make sure that the steam boiler has a proper level of water for steam generation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson and Chung, as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Qin et al. (CN 110410769A, hereinafter Qin).
Regarding claim 9, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose explicitly the pressure control device is a normally-closed pressure switch.
Qin teaches, in a steam device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the pressure control device is a normally-closed pressure switch (Qin English translation, p. 7:9-12, in a pressure control device of a steam device, a pressure switch is normally closed pressure switch).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the normally-closed pressure switch as taught by Qin in order to ensure the safety of the device in case of incontrollable heating (Qin English translation, p. 7:14-33).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson and Chung, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of McAllister et al. (US 4,821,364, hereinafter McAllister), Kotchenko (RU 199120U1), and Lee (US 2020/0260930).
Regarding claim 12, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a liquid dispensing valve to control the flow of cleaning liquid to the liquid distributor and a trigger controlling the liquid dispensing valve.
McAllister teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a liquid dispensing valve to control the flow of cleaning liquid to the liquid distributor (col. 2:23-33, a vacuum cleaning apparatus sprays cleaning fluid through a nozzle [corresponds to the recited liquid distributor]. A fluid control valve 10 [corresponds to the recited liquid dispensing valve] controls the flow of the cleaning liquid to the nozzle) and a trigger controlling the liquid dispensing valve (col. 2:67-3:5, finger pressure causes a trigger mechanism 12 to actuate the fluid control valve 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the liquid dispensing valve and the trigger as taught by McAllister so that a user may apply the cleaning liquid upon demand (col. 2:31-32).
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and McAllister does not disclose a steam dispensing valve to control the flow of steam to the steam distributor.
Kotchenko teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a steam dispensing valve to control the flow of steam to the steam distributor (Kotchenko English translation, p. 2:10-13, a steam cleaner may comprise a valve for releasing steam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and McAllister to provide the steam dispensing valve as taught by Kotchenko in order to utilize steam for effective floor cleaning.
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, McAllister, and Kotchenko does not disclose a trigger controlling the steam dispensing valve, wherein depressing the trigger opens both the liquid dispensing valve and the steam dispensing valve.
Lee teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a trigger controlling the steam dispensing valve, wherein depressing the trigger opens both the liquid dispensing valve and the steam dispensing valve (¶ 0056, a vacuum device has a spray feature. It can spray water or steam selectively, or a combination of both the water and steam. Manual operation of a valve handle 22 [corresponds to the recited trigger] actuates a valve 21 to dispense the water and steam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, McAllister, and Kotchenko to provide the trigger for controlling the liquid and steam dispensing valves as taught by Lee in order to perform wet cleaning and sanitizing steam cleaning together for complete cleaning of a floor surface.
Regarding claim 13, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, McAllister, Kotchenko, and Lee teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 12, comprising a wand connecting the hand-held cleaning tool to the flexible hose (Thomas, fig. 1, a wand 10 connects the cleaning tool to the hose 8; McAllister, fig. 2, a nozzle handle 34 [corresponds to the recited wand] connects a spray head 30 [corresponds to the recited hand-held cleaning tool] to a hose 33), wherein the trigger, the liquid dispensing valve, and the steam dispensing valve are located on the wand (McAllister, fig. 2 and col. 3:8-10, a nozzle handle 34 [corresponds to the recited wand] contains a valve 10 for spraying liquid and a trigger mechanism 12; Kotchenko English translation, fig. 1 and p. 2:10-13, the steam cleaner has a flexible hose with nozzles for dispensing steam. A valve on a hose handle [corresponds to the recited wand] is used for releasing steam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, McAllister, Kotchenko, and Lee to provide the trigger, the liquid dispensing valve, and the steam dispensing valve on the wand for easy and efficient fluid spraying operation by a user.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson and Chung, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Goldsmith (US 4,385,413).
Regarding claim 15, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 14, comprising:
a power source (Hutchinson, col. 12:33-34, an AC power switch turn on power to the overall system, thus the cleaner utilizes the AC electricity as a power source); and
a heater switch to control a supply of power from the power source to the heater, wherein selection of the power button selectively closes the heater switch to power the heater dependent on the selected cleaning mode (Hutchinson, col. 16:35-38, an on/off power switch controls power supply to the steam generator heater 10 so it can selectively supply the power), but does not disclose explicitly a pump switch to control a supply of power from the power source to the liquid supply pump, wherein selection of the power button selectively closes the pump switch to power the liquid supply pump dependent on the selected cleaning mode.
Thomas discloses the liquid supply pump (pressure pump) (Thomas, col. 4:66-5:2), but does not disclose a pump switch. On the other hand, Hutchinson discloses an on/off switch 46 which controls power supply to a driver motor of the pump 30 which includes the piston pump 42 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump] (Hutchinson, col. 8:65-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to provide the liquid supply pump as taught by Hutchison in order to selectively control the liquid application for effective wet cleaning of a floor surface.
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung still does not disclose a vacuum motor switch to control a supply of power from the power source to a vacuum motor, wherein selection of the power button closes the vacuum motor switch to power the vacuum motor.
Goldsmith teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a vacuum motor switch to control a supply of power from the power source to a vacuum motor, wherein selection of the power button closes the vacuum motor switch to power the vacuum motor (col. 5:55-57, a steam cleaner comprises vacuum motor switches for powering a vacuum motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the vacuum motor switch as taught by Goldsmith so that a user can turn on and off, or pause and resume the cleaning operation as needed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson, Chung, and Goldsmith, as applied to claim 15 above, and in further view of Lee.
Regarding claim 16, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Goldsmith discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 15, but does not disclose the plurality of cleaning modes comprise a liquid/steam cleaning mode, a liquid cleaning mode, and a steam cleaning mode; selection of the power button in the liquid/steam cleaning mode closes the pump switch to power the liquid supply pump and closes the heater switch to power the heater; selection of the power button in the liquid cleaning mode closes the pump switch to power the liquid supply pump and does not close the heater switch; and selection of the power button in the steam cleaning mode closes the heater switch to power the heater and does not close the pump switch.
However, Hutchinson teaches the power button and the heater switch (Hutchinson, col. 16:35-38) and Thomas as modified by Hutchinson teaches the pump switch as discussed in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Lee teaches, in the analogous surface cleaning field of endeavor, the plurality of cleaning modes comprise a liquid/steam cleaning mode, a liquid cleaning mode, and a steam cleaning mode; selection of the power button in the liquid/steam cleaning mode closes the pump switch to power the liquid supply pump and closes the heater switch to power the heater; selection of the power button in the liquid cleaning mode closes the pump switch to power the liquid supply pump and does not close the heater switch; and selection of the power button in the steam cleaning mode closes the heater switch to power the heater and does not close the pump switch (¶ 0056, a vacuum device sprays between water and steam selectively or a combination of both water and steam onto a floor surface. Therefore, Lee teaches a surface cleaning apparatus can select different modes of applying liquid, steam, or both).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the selection of cleaning modes as taught by Lee so that a user may perform wet cleaning and sanitizing steam cleaning with one cleaning device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson and Chung, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Moyher, Jr. et al. (US 9,615,703, cited on 12/14/2022 IDS, hereinafter Moyher).
Regarding claim 17, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the heater, the liquid supply pump, and the steam supply pump are positioned below the carry handle (Thomas, fig. 1, the steam generator 104 [corresponds to the recited heater] and the feed pump 105 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump] are positioned below the handle 5; Hutchinson, figs. 3 and 25, the steam generating heat chamber 10 [corresponds to the recited heater] and the piston pump 42 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump] form a steam generating system and they in positioned within the housing 302 and below a carrying handle 311 of the cleaning system 300), but does not disclose a main housing comprising a base adapted to rest directly on a floor surface; a partition extending upwardly from the base; and a carry handle on an upper portion of the partition; wherein the supply tank is removably mounted to the main housing on a first side of the partition and a recovery tank is removably mounted to the main housing on a second side of the partition.
Moyher teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a main housing comprising a base adapted to rest directly on a floor surface (figs. 1 and 3, a main housing assembly 12 comprises a base housing 30 which can be rested directly on a floor surface); a partition extending upwardly from the base (see annotated Moyher fig. 3 below); and a carry handle on an upper portion of the partition (fig. 3, a carry handle 34 is disposed at upper portion of the partition); wherein the supply tank is removably mounted to the main housing on a first side of the partition and a recovery tank is removably mounted to the main housing on a second side of the partition (fig. 3, a supply tank 92 and a recovery tank 114 are removably mounted to the main housing on each side of the partition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the base, the partition, the removable supply tank and recovery tank as taught by Moyher so that cleaner can be easily carried to a location of cleaning and cleaning water and dirty water can be easily replaced.
Annotated Moyher Figure 3
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson and Chung, as applied to claim 18 above, and in further view of Bjork et al. (US 2013/0228079, hereinafter Bjork).
Regarding claim 19, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung discloses the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the first pressure relief device opens at a positive pressure (Hutchinson, fig. 23 and col. 15:49-59, the gauge 194/valve 196 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] regulates pressure against the high pressure at the check valve 34. In a fluid flow system, the pressure along the flow direction is positive pressure so that fluid flows out of the system. Thus, the gauge 194/valve 196 disposed within in the fluid flow system opens at positive pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the positive pressure relief device in order to allow fluid to flow properly within a fluid path.
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung does not teach the second pressure relief device opens at a negative pressure.
Bjork teaches, in a fluid flow system field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the second pressure relief device opens at a negative pressure (¶ 0044, in a food steamer which comprises fluid passages, when a steam generator 3 stops following the operation, condensation of steam in a boiler creates a negative pressure in the boiler. A one-way valve 23 [corresponds to the recited second pressure relief device] opens to allow air to flow into the boiler to relieve the negative pressure generated therein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the negative pressure relief device as taught by Bjork in order to prevent a boiler from being damaged due to the negative pressure generated in the boiler (Bjork, ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Bjork teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 19, wherein the second pressure relief device opens to the ambient environment at a predetermined pressure (Bjork, ¶ 0043, the one-way valve 23 [corresponds to the recited second pressure relief device] communicates with the atmospheric air outside the steam generator 3. It is predetermined to open when the negative pressure is generated in the boiler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the pressure relief device to open to the ambient environment as taught by Bjork in order to prevent the boiler from being damaged due to the negative pressure generated in the boiler (Bjork, ¶ 0044).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Hutchinson, Chung, and Sales, as applied to claim 21 above, and in further view of Cebrian (ES 2306547A1).
Regarding claim 22, Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Sales teaches the surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 21, comprising a pressure control device to cut off power to the steam supply pump at a predetermined control pressure (Hutchinson, col. 8:65-9:3 and 12:53-60, as discussed in the rejection of claim 6 above, electronic control system 22 [corresponds to the recited pressure control device] monitors pressure in steam generating heat chamber 10. The pressure is kept within a range of 50 to 150 psi via pressure control valve 48. If the pressure exceeds the limit, the control system 22 turns off power to the piston pump 30 which includes the piston pump 42 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to dispose the pressure control device as taught by Hutchinson so that it can shut down a system to prevent any dangerous runaway condition (Hutchinson, col. 12:58-60).
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Sales does not disclose explicitly the predetermined control pressure is less than the predetermined set pressure.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 8 above, the predetermined control pressure is the pressure of the steam supply pump and the predetermined set pressure is the pressure at the first pressure relief device. As shown in Hutchinson, fig. 23, the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] is disposed at downstream of the piston pump 42 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump]. In order to protect the fluid supply path, one would set a first/preceding pressure check point to have a lower predetermined pressure and set a second/subsequent pressure check point to have a higher predetermined pressure so that any high pressure can be relieved at the first pressure check point. If the first pressure check point fails, however, the second pressure check point may relieve the high pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson and Chung to provide the predetermined control pressure to be less than the predetermined set pressure in order to protect the fluid supply path and prevent it from damage due to very high pressure.
Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Sales still does not disclose the pressure control device detects pressure fluidly downstream of the steam supply pump and fluidly upstream of at least one of: the heater; and the first pressure relief device.
Cebrian teaches, in an analogous steam generating device field of endeavor, the pressure control device detects pressure fluidly downstream of the steam supply pump and fluidly upstream of at least one of: the heater; and the first pressure relief device (fig. 3 and Cebrian English translation abstract, as discussed in the rejection of claim 7 above, water in a steam generating appliance travels through a tank 11, a pump 15 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump], and a steam boiler 10 [corresponds to the recited heater]; p. 5:8-10, a flow control controls the flow of water provided by the pump 15 automatically. The fluid flow rate/velocity and pressure within a channel are closely related, and the fluid flow rate control causes the fluid pressure control. Therefore, the flow control would detect the flow velocity/pressure and control the flow at downstream of the pump 15 and upstream of the steam boiler 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Hutchinson, Chung, and Sales to provide the pressure control device at the recited position as taught by Cebrian in order to make sure that the steam boiler has a proper level of water for steam generation.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 5,613,271), in view of Kotchenko (RU 199120U1), Hutchinson (US 6,647,204, cited on 08/01/2023 IDS), Chung et al. (KR 100662390B1, hereinafter Chung), and Wu (CN 112006628A).
Regarding claim 23, Thomas discloses, in fig. 1, a surface cleaning apparatus (col. 3:65-66, all-purpose vacuum cleaner) comprising:
a hand-carried body adapted to be hand carried by a user (col. 4:1-4, the vacuum has a handle 5 adapted to be hand carried by a user), the hand-carried body comprising:
a main housing (housing 1);
a supply tank disposed on the main housing (col. 4:8-9, the housing 1 comprises a water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank]);
a liquid supply pump (col. 4:66-5:2, water delivered by a pressure pump [corresponds to the recited liquid supply pump] is sprayed by nozzles 112);
a steam supply pump (col. 4:11-12, a feed pump 105 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump] supply water to a steam generator 104);
a heater (steam generator 104);
a steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater (col. 4:11-14, a fluid path between the water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the steam generator 104 [corresponds to the recited heater]. The steam generator is supplied by a feed pump 105 to draw water from the water tank 102, thus there is the path between them); and
a liquid supply path between the supply tank and the liquid supply pump (a fluid path between the water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the pressure pump [corresponds to the recited liquid supply pump] described in col. 4:66-5:2. The water is delivered by the pump and sprayed from the nozzle, thus there is the path from the water tank 102 to the pressure pump);
a flexible hose mounted to the hand-carried body and comprising a first conduit in fluid communication with the liquid supply pump and a second conduit in fluid communication with the steam supply pump (col. 4:40-45, a tubular sleeve 12 [corresponds to the recited flexible hose] is mounted to the housing 1 and comprises a water line 28 [corresponds to the recited first conduit] and a steam line 14 [corresponds to the recited second conduit]);
a hand-held cleaning tool mounted to an end of the flexible hose and comprising a liquid distributor to deliver liquid cleaning fluid and a steam distributor to deliver steam (figs. 1 and 2A and col. 5:3-8, 5:28-30, a hand-held cleaning tool mounted to an end of the tubular sleeve comprises a sole plate 15. The sole plate 15 sprays water through a nozzle 112 [corresponds to the recited liquid distributor] and delivers steam through a steam plenum 113 [corresponds to the recited steam distributor]), but does not disclose a steam dispensing valve to control the flow of steam to the steam distributor, wherein the steam dispensing valve is configured to open to permit the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor and is configured to close to stop the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor.
Kotchenko teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a steam dispensing valve to control the flow of steam to the steam distributor (Kotchenko English translation, p. 2:10-13, a steam cleaner may comprise a valve for releasing steam), wherein the steam dispensing valve is configured to open to permit the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor and is configured to close to stop the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor (Kotchenko English translation, p. 3:22-27 and fig. 2, a solenoid valve 9 [corresponds to the steam dispensing valve] permits and blocks the steam flow from a boiler 5/heating element 6 [corresponds to the recited heater] to a distribution nozzle 11 [corresponds to the recited steam distributor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to provide the steam dispensing valve as taught by Kotchenko in order to utilize steam for effective floor cleaning.
Thomas as modified by Kotchenko does not disclose a first pressure relief device in the steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater to limit the pressure in the steam supply path, wherein the first pressure relief device is fluidly downstream of the supply tank and fluidly upstream of the heater, wherein the first pressure relief device configured to open at a predetermined set pressure.
Hutchinson teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a first pressure relief device in the steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater to limit the pressure in the steam supply path, wherein the first pressure relief device configured to open at a predetermined set pressure (fig. 23 and col. 15:49-16:4, 16:30-44, flow to the steam generator 10 is regulated by a pressure gauge 194 and a flow control valve 196 [correspond to the recited first pressure relief device]. The gauge 194 and valve 196 are disposed in a steam supply path between a water tank 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and a heater 10. They control pressure to the steam generating heat chamber 10. The opening of a valve for controlling of fluid in a fluid path means the valve opens at a predetermined pressure. Fluid flow pressure and rate are closely related so that the flow rate control is equivalent to the flow pressure control), wherein the first pressure relief device fluidly downstream of the supply tank and fluidly upstream of the heater (fig. 23, the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 are disposed at downstream of the water tank 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and upstream of the heater 10. The pressure gauge 194/valve 196 change fluid pressure to the heater 10, thus they are disposed at the upstream of the heater 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Kotchenko to provide the first pressure relief device as taught by Hutchinson so that very accurate volume flow of water can be provided to the steam generator (Hutchinson, col. 15:53-59).
Thomas as modified by Kotchenko and Hutchinson does not disclose explicitly the first pressure relief device is configured to automatically close when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set pressure.
Chung teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the first pressure relief device is configured to automatically close when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set pressure (Chung English translation, p. 5:31-6:3, Chung discloses a floor cleaning device utilizing steam. The cleaner comprises a pressure sensor which monitors steam pressure in a pipe connected to a steam generator. When a pressure is greater than or equal to a predetermined pressure, a controller opens an opening and closing member [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] and closes the opening and closing member when the pressure is less than or equal to the predetermined pressure. Chung teaches closing and opening of the pressure relief device depending on the measured steam pressure. While the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 of Hutchinson adjust pressure in the steam supply path, although Chung’s sensor measures the steam pressure, not liquid pressure, the controlling of the opening and closing member of Chung can be combined to teach opening and closing of the pressure relief device compared with the predetermined set pressure. Examiner notes Chung does not disclose explicitly that the member closes automatically. However, the specification of the instant application does not disclose the first pressure relief device closes automatically, either. Yet both the Chung reference and the instant application do not disclose the opening and closing member and the first pressure relief device close by manual operation of a user. Therefore, the closing of the opening and closing member is achieved automatically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Kotchenko and Hutchinson to provide the closing the first pressure relief device with respect to the predetermined set pressure as taught by Chung in order to maintain proper pressure in the steam generating device so that it prevents the device from damaging the surface its cleaning and/or to keep the pressure from fully escaping the system.
Thomas as modified by Kotchenko, Hutchinson, and Chung does not disclose the predetermined set pressure is a pressure reached when the heater is activated and the steam dispensing valve is closed. Specification of the instant application explains, in ¶ 0063, when the steam valve 60 remains closed for a period of time and when the heater 26 is activated, pressure will build in the fluid delivery system 14, and when the pressure reaches the set pressure, the pressure relief device 64 opens. In other words, the pressure in the system may not reach the set pressure.
It is obvious that if a heater is activated and a valve is closed, pressure in a system will surely rise and the pressure may reach a set pressure. Nevertheless, Wu teaches, in an analogous steam generation device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the predetermined set pressure is a pressure reached when the heater is activated and the steam dispensing valve is closed (Wu English translation, p. 12:28-37, when a valve is closed and a heating piece opens, water is heated to form steam and pressure in a chamber increases. When the pressure is greater than a predetermined pressure, a relief valve opens. Wu teaches the recited condition will result in increased pressure. As specification of the instant application states the increased pressure may reach a set pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Kotchenko, Hutchinson, and Chung to provide a condition of increased pressure as taught by Wu. The increased pressure can be relieved when the pressure reaches the predetermined pressure value. Wu teaches the predetermined pressure can be realized under the recited condition.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 5,613,271), in view of Hutchinson (US 6,647,204, cited on 08/01/2023 IDS), Chung et al. (KR 100662390B1, hereinafter Chung), Kotchenko (RU 199120U1), and Torisawa (JP 2013198699A).
Regarding claim 24, Thomas discloses, in fig. 1, a surface cleaning apparatus (col. 3:65-66, all-purpose vacuum cleaner) comprising:
a hand-carried body adapted to be hand carried by a user (col. 4:1-4, the vacuum has a handle 5 adapted to be hand carried by a user), the hand-carried body comprising:
a main housing (housing 1);
a supply tank disposed on the main housing (col. 4:8-9, the housing 1 comprises a water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank]);
a liquid supply pump (col. 4:66-5:2, water delivered by a pressure pump [corresponds to the recited liquid supply pump] is sprayed by nozzles 112);
a steam supply pump (col. 4:11-12, a feed pump 105 [corresponds to the recited steam supply pump] supply water to a steam generator 104);
a heater (steam generator 104);
a first steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater (col. 4:11-14, a fluid path between the water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the steam generator 104 [corresponds to the recited heater]. The steam generator is supplied by a feed pump 105 to draw water from the water tank 102, thus there is the path between them); and
a liquid supply path between the supply tank and the liquid supply pump (a fluid path between the water tank 102 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and the pressure pump [corresponds to the recited liquid supply pump] described in col. 4:66-5:2. The water is delivered by the pump and sprayed from the nozzle, thus there is the path from the water tank 102 to the pressure pump);
a flexible hose mounted to the hand-carried body and comprising a first conduit in fluid communication with the liquid supply pump and a second conduit in fluid communication with the steam supply pump (col. 4:40-45, a tubular sleeve 12 [corresponds to the recited flexible hose] is mounted to the housing 1 and comprises a water line 28 [corresponds to the recited first conduit] and a steam line 14 [corresponds to the recited second conduit]);
a hand-held cleaning tool mounted to an end of the flexible hose and comprising a liquid distributor to deliver liquid cleaning fluid and a steam distributor to deliver steam (figs. 1 and 2A and col. 5:3-8, 5:28-30, a hand-held cleaning tool mounted to an end of the tubular sleeve comprises a sole plate 15. The sole plate 15 sprays water through a nozzle 112 [corresponds to the recited liquid distributor] and delivers steam through a steam plenum 113 [corresponds to the recited steam distributor]),
a second steam supply path between the heater and the hand-held cleaning tool (col. 2:65-67, the steam flow from the steam generator [corresponds to the recited heater] can be set by a manually-adjustable valve [corresponds to the recited second pressure relief device] between the steam generator 104 and the hand-held cleaning tool),
a second pressure relief device in the second steam supply path between the heater and the hand-held cleaning tool to limit the pressure in the second steam supply path (col. 2:65-67, the steam flow from the steam generator [corresponds to the recited heater] can be set by a manually-adjustable valve [corresponds to the recited second pressure relief device] between the steam generator 104 and the hand-held cleaning tool), but does not disclose a steam dispensing valve to control the flow of steam to the steam distributor, wherein the steam dispensing valve is configured to open to permit the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor and is configured to close to stop the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor.
Kotchenko teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a steam dispensing valve to control the flow of steam to the steam distributor (Kotchenko English translation, p. 2:10-13, a steam cleaner may comprise a valve for releasing steam), wherein the steam dispensing valve is configured to open to permit the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor and is configured to close to stop the flow of steam from the heater to the steam distributor (Kotchenko English translation, p. 3:22-27 and fig. 2, a solenoid valve 9 [corresponds to the steam dispensing valve] permits and blocks the steam flow from a boiler 5/heating element 6 [corresponds to the recited heater] to a distribution nozzle 11 [corresponds to the recited steam distributor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas to provide the steam dispensing valve as taught by Kotchenko in order to utilize steam for effective floor cleaning.
Thomas as modified by Kotchenko does not disclose a first pressure relief device in the steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater to limit the pressure in the steam supply path, wherein the first pressure relief device is fluidly downstream of the supply tank and fluidly upstream of the heater, wherein the second pressure relief device is fluidly downstream of the heater and fluidly upstream of the flexible hose, and wherein the first pressure relief device configured to open at a predetermined set positive pressure.
Hutchinson teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a first pressure relief device in the steam supply path between the supply tank and the heater to limit the pressure in the steam supply path, wherein the first pressure relief device configured to open at a predetermined set positive pressure (fig. 23 and col. 15:49-16:4, 16:30-44, flow to the steam generator 10 is regulated by a pressure gauge 194 and a flow control valve 196 [correspond to the recited first pressure relief device]. The gauge 194 and valve 196 are disposed in a steam supply path between a water tank 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and a heater 10. They control pressure to the steam generating heat chamber 10. The opening of a valve for controlling of fluid in a fluid path means the valve opens at a predetermined pressure. Flow between the water tank 26 and the heater 10 would be positive pressure because no ambient air is drawn in the path between the water tank 26 and the heater 10. Fluid flow pressure and rate are closely related so that the flow rate control is equivalent to the flow pressure control), wherein the first pressure relief device fluidly downstream of the supply tank and fluidly upstream of the heater (fig. 23, the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 are disposed at downstream of the water tank 26 [corresponds to the recited supply tank] and upstream of the heater 10. The pressure gauge 194/valve 196 change fluid pressure to the heater 10, thus they are disposed at the upstream of the heater 10), and wherein the second pressure relief device is fluidly downstream of the heater and fluidly upstream of the flexible hose (fig. 23, a variable pressure control valve 200 [corresponds to the recited second pressure relief device] is disposed at downstream of the heater 10 and at upstream of a steam applicator 207 which would be coupled to a flexible hose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Kotchenko to provide the first pressure relief device and the second pressure relief device as taught by Hutchinson so that very accurate volume flow of water can be provided to the steam generator and steam output can be controlled precisely (Hutchinson, col. 15:53-59 and 16:8-10).
Thomas as modified by Kotchenko and Hutchinson does not disclose explicitly the first pressure relief device is configured to automatically close when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set positive pressure.
Chung teaches, in an analogous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the first pressure relief device is configured to automatically close when pressure in the steam supply path drops below the predetermined set positive pressure (Chung English translation, p. 5:31-6:3, Chung discloses a floor cleaning device utilizing steam. The cleaner comprises a pressure sensor which monitors steam pressure in a pipe connected to a steam generator. When a pressure is greater than or equal to a predetermined pressure, a controller opens an opening and closing member [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] and closes the opening and closing member when the pressure is less than or equal to the predetermined pressure. Chung teaches closing and opening of the pressure relief device depending on the measured steam pressure. The pressure in a steam generating system not connected to ambient air is positive pressure. While the pressure gauge 194/valve 196 of Hutchinson adjust pressure in the steam supply path, although Chung’s sensor measures the steam pressure, not liquid pressure, the controlling of the opening and closing member of Chung can be combined to teach opening and closing of the pressure relief device compared with the predetermined set pressure. Examiner notes Chung does not disclose explicitly that the member closes automatically. However, the specification of the instant application does not disclose the first pressure relief device closes automatically, either. Yet both the Chung reference and the instant application do not disclose the opening and closing member and the first pressure relief device close by manual operation of a user. Therefore, the closing of the opening and closing member is achieved automatically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Kotchenko and Hutchinson to provide the closing the first pressure relief device with respect to the predetermined set pressure as taught by Chung in order to maintain proper pressure in the steam generating device so that it prevents the device from damaging the surface its cleaning and/or to keep the pressure from fully escaping the system.
Thomas as modified by Kotchenko, Hutchinson, and Chung does not disclose the first pressure relief device is configured to open at a predetermined set negative pressure, and is configured to close when pressure in the second steam supply path rises above the predetermined set negative pressure.
As discussed in 112(a) rejection above, specification of the instant application does not present the first pressure relief device 64 opens and closes in response to negative pressure. The negative pressure exists in the steam dispensing path 56 and the second pressure relief device 65 is a corresponding device for controlling pressure in the path 56.
Nevertheless, Torisawa teaches in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the first pressure relief device is configured to open at a predetermined set negative pressure, and is configured to close when pressure in the second steam supply path rises above the predetermined set negative pressure (Torisawa English translation, p. 10:8-11, a valve body 53 [corresponds to the recited first pressure relief device] opens and closes a tank chamber 43 corresponding to negative pressure of a brush chamber 42. The valve should open and close at predetermined set pressures. Torisawa teaches a valve can be configured to open and close according to the set negative pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Thomas as modified by Kotchenko, Hutchinson, and Chung to provide the pressure relief device as taught by Torisawa for effective fluid flow within the cleaning apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Thomas, Hutchinson, and Chung do not teach or suggest a surface cleaning apparatus having the recited first pressure relief device. Applicant asserts Chung does not disclose a pressure relief device within the supply path between the supply tank and the heater because a control device just opens and closes a member 5200 depending on a measured steam pressure. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chung is cited to teach a pressure relief device is configured to open and close automatically at predetermined set pressures. Regarding the issues of the Applicant’s argument, Hutchinson already teaches the gauge/valve 194/196 are used for relieving high pressure (col. 15:53-55) in the supply path between the supply tank and the heater (fig. 23). Chung teaches the member 5200 opens when measured steam pressure is greater than or equal to a predetermined set pressure, and closes when the measured steam pressure is less than or equal to a predetermined set pressure. Examiner notes that fluid includes liquid and gas. While Chung discloses the steam/gas pressure sensor, a liquid pressure sensor works in the same principle as the gas pressure sensor. Therefore, the Chung’s member 5200 can be combined with the pressure relief device of Hutchinson to teach the automatic opening and closing of the device at the predetermined set pressures in order to relieve high pressure in the supply path.
Applicant also argues that Chung’s system stops steam generation when the member 5200 is closed. However, Examiner does not cite the whole system of Chung. Examiner cites only the pressure relief member which is responsive to the pressure and which can be disposed in the system of Hutchinson.
Applicant also argues Hutchinson’s gauge/valve 194/196 are not disposed fluidly downstream of the steam supply pump and fluidly upstream of the heater. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Although the flow control valve 196 and gauge 194 are disposed on a branch between the tank 26 and the heater 10, its location is clearly the downstream of the tank and the upstream of the heater.
Applicant argues Thomas and Hutchinson do not teach or suggest the recited second pressure relief device. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Thomas discloses a valve between the steam generator 104 and the hand-held cleaning tool. Hutchinson also discloses the variable pressure control valve 200 between the heater 10 and the steam applicator 207. Hutchinson do not disclose that the valve 196 and the valve 200 open at the same pressure. Because they are disposed before and after the heater 10, they can be configured to operate at different predetermined pressures.
Applicant argues the gauge/valve 194/196 of Hutchinson is not a pressure relief device, and only the valve 198 is the pressure relief valve in Hutchinson. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A valve does not have to be named as a pressure relief valve to be the recited pressure relief device. When a valve opens in a pressurized path, the valve is the pressure relief device.
Applicant further argues Sales does not teach or suggest the recited bypass line and the first pressure relief device that is normally closed but opens at the predetermined set pressure. Although Sales discloses a system that is different from the system of Hutchinson, Sales teaches the bypass line can be disposed from the steam supply path to the recovery tank, and a pressure control valve opens to release pressure in a conduit. Once again, Sales teaches opening valve releases pressure (col. 4:58-62).
Applicant argues Hutchinson does not teach or suggest a pressure control device cuts off power to the steam supply pump at a predetermined control pressure. Applicant argues the control system 22 of Hutchinson does not cut off the power of the piston pump 42, but only monitors the pressure. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specification of the instant application states that the pressure control device cuts off power to the steam supply pump at a predetermined control pressure (¶ 0008). No additional explanation is given. It may mean stopping operation of the pump temporarily until pressure returns to a predetermined range, or it may mean the control device turns off power and the pump would not be operable at all until a user manually resets it. It would be reasonable to interpret that the control device maintains the pressure within the predetermined range so that it turns on or off the pump based on pressure condition.
Hutchinson’s control system 22 monitors pressure in the heater 10, and shuts down the system if monitored parameters exceed predetermined limits (col. 12:58-60). If the pressure of the heater 10 reaches a predetermined control pressure, the control system would operate to reduce the pressure. Hutchinson discloses power is supplied between a pump 30 including the piston pump 42 and the control system 22. Thus, the control system 22 could control the operation of the piston pump 42 in order to maintain pressure within a predetermine range.
Applicant argues Cebrian does not teach or suggest the pressure control device detects pressure fluidly downstream of the steam supply pump and fluidly upstream of the heater. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Cebrian teaches a flow control controls the flow of water provided by the pump 15 automatically. A fluid path is connected from the pump 15 to the boiler 10 (fig. 3). The water provided by the pump flows at downstream of the pump. Thus, the controlled water also flows at upstream of the heater. Thus, Cebrian teaches the recited pressure detection.
Applicant argues the Examiner’s reasoning regarding the predetermined control pressure is less than the predetermined set pressure recited in claim 22 is at odds because it would beat the motivation to combine Thomas with Hutchinson that the Hutchinson’s gauge/valve 194/196 provides very accurate volume flow of water to the steam generator when the set pressure of the gauge/valve is higher than the set pressure of the piston pump 42. The set pressure of the gauge/valve is only relatively high pressure compared with the set pressure of the piston pump. The relatively high set pressure of gauge/valve still can promote the very accurate volume flow of water.
For the reasons above, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723