DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 3 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3 March 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 March 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7 June 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5 April 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 July 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nara et al. (WO2018/131486, from the IDS filed 7 June 2023, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Nara”).
As to Claim 1: Nara teaches a thermally conductive resin composition (Abstract) and specifically teaches the use of an organosilicone resin as a matrix material and thermally conductive filler particles [0013]. Nara further teaches the thermally conductive filler can be DAW-45S which has a particle size of 45 microns and a sphericity of 0.85 [0053,0076].
As to Claim 2: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that the matric material is an organopolysiloxane having vinyl groups [0072].
As to Claim 3: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that the thermally conductive filler is made of aluminum oxide [0076].
As to Claim 4: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that the thermally conductive filler can be DAW-45S which has a specific surface area of 0.4m2/g [0076].
As to Claim 5: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches an example containing 85 % by weight of the thermally conductive filler (Table 1, Example 7 [0051]).
As to Claim 6: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that an example wherein the matrix material is included in an amount of 15% based on the total weight (Table 1, Example 7).
As to Claim 7: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that thermally conductive resin material has a thermal conductivity of 7 W/mK (Table 1, Example 7).
As to Claim 8: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that the thermally conductive filler can further include graphite which is an electrically conductive filler [0052].
As to Claim 9: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that the matric material is an organopolysiloxane having vinyl groups [0072]. Nara further teaches that the thermally conductive filler is made of aluminum oxide [0076]. Nara further teaches that the thermally conductive filler can be DAW-45S which has a specific surface area of 0.4m2/g [0076]. Nara further teaches an example containing 85 % by weight of the thermally conductive filler, the matrix material is included in an amount of 15% based on the total weight and has a thermal conductivity of 7 W/mK (Table 1, Example 7).
As to Claim 10: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). The instant claims are considered to be drawn to an intended use of the material and as Nara teaches the same composition it is considered to be capable of use as a thermally conductive gasket or thermally conductive pad. Additionally, Nara teaches that the composition can be a sheet which reads as a thermally conductive pad.
As to Claim 11: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 1 (supra). Nara further teaches that the amount of alkyloxysilane component (C) is controlled in order to control the viscosity and make it harder for the filler material to settle (i.e., decrease migration of materials) [0050].
As to Claim 12: Nara teaches the thermal interface material of claim 11 (supra). Nara does not expressly teach the filler particles are configured to adsorb grease from the matrix material thereby reducing or preventing the occurrence of oil leakage from the thermal interface material. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Nara. However, Nara teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, the specific surface area is selected to a specific range (recited in claim 4) in order adsorb excess grease and prevent oil bleeding (Instant Specification [0061]). Nara teaches that the thermally conductive filler can be DAW-45S which has a specific surface area of 0.4m2/g [0076]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the filler particles are configured to adsorb grease from the matrix material thereby reducing or preventing the occurrence of oil leakage from the thermal interface material, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0372359, hereinafter referred to as “Iwata”. Iwata teaches a thermally conductive silicone composition comprising an organopolysiloxane and aluminum oxide having an average sphericity of 0.8 or more and a particle size of 7-60 microns (Abstract).
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767