Detailed Action
The following action is in response to the communication(s) received on 12/12/2025.
As of the claims filed 12/12/2025:
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 13, 14, and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 5, and 13 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
The amendments to the Specification have overcome the objection regarding new matter. Thus, the objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant asserts that the claims do not recite “means” or “step” and thus should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Examiner respectfully submits that, although the claims do not recite “means” or “step”, they are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (e.g., modules) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier (See MPEP 2181(I); “3-prong analysis”).
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b):
The amended limitations have overcome the indefiniteness regarding “…are at least partially decorrelated” and how the modules “are trained”. Thus, this rejection has been withdrawn for these claims and their dependent claims.
The amendments to claims 9 and 17 have overcome the new matter rejection. Thus, the new matter rejections have been withdrawn.
However, claims 9 and 17 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as they still do not recite descriptions for the variables.
The amendments have overcome the eligibility rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Thus, the rejection has been withdrawn
Regarding the prior art rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
Applicant asserts that Peng does not teach the independent feature sets in the correlation loss in claims 1, 5, and 13. (p.13 ¶3-4) Examiner respectfully submits that the feature set being independent is not recited in the claims; rather, the claims merely require that it is related to the first and second feature sets, which is taught by Peng (Peng, fig.1 middle; fci and fds correspond to the first and second intermediate data sets, respectively; the data used to generate fci corresponds to the first feature set; the data used to generate fds corresponds to the second feature set).
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-6, 13, and 14: “A dual neck autoencoder module for…”
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 13: “an encoder module…”
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 13: “a decoder module…”
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 13, 14, and 19: “first bottleneck module…”
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 13, 14, and 19: “second bottleneck module…”
Claims 6, 10, 14, and 18: “training module…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In addition, Claims 9 and 17 recite a function with undefined variables. It is unclear regarding the scope of the variables:
Thus, claims 9 and 17 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng et al., "Domain Agnostic Learning with Disentangled Representations" (hereinafter Peng).
Regarding Claim 1, Peng teaches: A dual neck autoencoder module for reducing adversarial attack transferability, the dual neck autoencoder module comprising: an encoder module configured to receive input data and at least partially compress said input data; (Peng, fig.1/fig 1 left,
[p.3 left ¶3] The feature generator G maps the input image to a feature vector fG, which has many highly entangled factors.) (Note: the DADA architecture corresponds to the dual neck autoencoder module; G corresponds to the encoder module; mapping the input into the feature vector fG corresponds to compressing the input data)
a decoder module; (Peng, fig.1 right,
) (Note: the top and bottom reconstructors collectively correspond to the decoder module)
and a first bottleneck module and a second bottleneck module coupled, in parallel, between the encoder module and the decoder module, the first bottleneck module configured to partially decompress a first feature set of the input data to produce a first intermediate data set and the second bottleneck module configured to partially decompress a second feature set of the input data to produce a second intermediate data set…(Peng, fig.1 middle,
) (Note: fci and fds correspond to the first and second intermediate data sets, respectively; the data used to generate fci corresponds to the first feature set; the data used to generate fds corresponds to the second feature set; the part of D that makes fci corresponds to the first bottleneck module; the part of D that makes fds corresponds to the second bottleneck module)
…that is at least partially decorrelated based, at least in part, on a correlation loss (Peng, p.3 bottom right, “In the second step, we fix the class identifier and train the disentangler D to fool the class identifier by generating class-irrelevant features fci. This can be achieved by minimizing the negative entropy of the predicted class distribution:
where the first term and the second term indicate minimizing the entropy on the source domain and on heterogeneous target, respectively. The above adversarial training process forces the corresponding disentangler to extract class-irrelevant features.
Domain Disentanglement To tackle the domain agnostic learning task, disentangling class-irrelevant features is not enough, as it fails to align the source domain with the target. To achieve better alignment, we further propose to disentangle the learned features into domain-specific and domain-invariant and to thus align the source with the target domain in the domain-invariant latent space. This is achieved by exploiting adversarial domain classification in the resulting latent space. Specifically, we leverage a domain identifier DI, which takes the disentangled feature (fdi or fds ) as input and outputs the domain label lf (source or target). The objective function of the domain identifier is as follows:
Then the disentangler is trained to fool the domain identifier DI to extract domain-invariant features”) (Note: the measure of domain invariancy in the disentangler corresponds to the correlation loss)
the decoder module configured to decompress the first and second intermediate data sets to generate a first estimate based, at least in part, on the first intermediate data set from the first bottleneck module, (Peng, fig.1 right,
) (Note: the top right f^G corresponds to the first estimate; fci corresponds to the first intermediate data set)
and a second estimate based, at least in part, on the second intermediate data set from the second bottleneck module,
(Peng, fig.1 right,
) (Note: the bottom right f^G corresponds to the second estimate; fds corresponds to the second intermediate data set)
wherein the first estimate and the second estimate correspond to restructured data sets.
(Peng,fig.1 right,
) (Note: both f^G are produced by the reconstructor, thus corresponding to restructured data sets)
Regarding Claim 2, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 1. Peng further teaches: The dual neck autoencoder module of claim 1, wherein the encoder module, the decoder module, the first bottleneck module and the second bottleneck module are trained using training data provided to the dual neck autoencoder, the training comprising minimizing a cost function that comprises a correlation loss function, the correlation loss function related to the first feature set produced by the first bottleneck module, and the second feature set produced by the second bottleneck module. (Peng, fig.1 leftmost “input”, p.3 right,
[eq.2]
[eq.3]
[eq.4]
[Algorithm 1, lines 4-6; 9; 15]
) (Note: D being updated by Eq 1-4 corresponds to the cost function which comprises a correlation loss function; Eq 1 contains fG, which contains the first feature set and the second feature set)
Regarding Claim 3, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 1. Peng further teaches: The dual neck autoencoder module of claim 1, wherein each module comprises an artificial neural network. (Peng, p.2 left ¶2, We implement a neural network to estimate the mutual information between the disentangled feature distributions…)
Regarding Claim 4, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 2. Peng further teaches: The dual neck autoencoder module of claim 2, wherein the cost function comprises a first mean square error associated with the first bottleneck module, and a second mean square error associated with the second bottleneck module. (Peng, p.3 right,
) (Note: each part of the disentangled representations corresponds to each mean square errors associated with the first and second bottleneck modules)
Regarding Claim 5, Peng teaches: A method for reducing adversarial attack transferability, the method comprising: receiving, by a dual neck autoencoder module, input data, the dual neck autoencoder module comprising an encoder module configured to at least partially decompress said input data, (Peng, fig.1/fig 1 left,
[p.3 left ¶3] The feature generator G maps the input image to a feature vector fG, which has many highly entangled factors.) (Note: the DADA architecture corresponds to the dual neck autoencoder module; G corresponds to the encoder module; mapping the input into the feature vector fG corresponds to compressing the input data)a decoder module, (Peng, fig.1 right,
) (Note: the top and bottom reconstructors collectively correspond to the decoder module)
and a first bottleneck module and a second bottleneck module coupled, in parallel, between the encoder module and the decoder module, wherein the first bottleneck module partially decompresses a first feature set of the input data to produce a first intermediate data set and the second bottleneck module partially decompresses a second feature set of the input data to produce a second intermediate data set… (Peng, fig.1 middle,
) (Note: fci and fds correspond to the first and second intermediate data sets, respectively; the data used to generate fci corresponds to the first feature set; the data used to generate fds corresponds to the second feature set; the part of D that makes fci corresponds to the first bottleneck module; the part of D that makes fds corresponds to the second bottleneck module)
…that is at least partially decorrelated based, at least in part, on a correlation loss; (Peng, p.3 bottom right, “In the second step, we fix the class identifier and train the disentangler D to fool the class identifier by generating class-irrelevant features fci. This can be achieved by minimizing the negative entropy of the predicted class distribution:
where the first term and the second term indicate minimizing the entropy on the source domain and on heterogeneous target, respectively. The above adversarial training process forces the corresponding disentangler to extract class-irrelevant features.
Domain Disentanglement To tackle the domain agnostic learning task, disentangling class-irrelevant features is not enough, as it fails to align the source domain with the target. To achieve better alignment, we further propose to disentangle the learned features into domain-specific and domain-invariant and to thus align the source with the target domain in the domain-invariant latent space. This is achieved by exploiting adversarial domain classification in the resulting latent space. Specifically, we leverage a domain identifier DI, which takes the disentangled feature (fdi or fds ) as input and outputs the domain label lf (source or target). The objective function of the domain identifier is as follows:
Then the disentangler is trained to fool the domain identifier DI to extract domain-invariant features”) (Note: the measure of domain invariancy in the disentangler corresponds to the correlation loss)
and generating, by the decoder module, a first estimate based, at least in part, on a first intermediate data set from the first bottleneck module, (Peng, fig.1 right,
) (Note: the top right f^G corresponds to the first estimate; fci corresponds to the first intermediate data set)
and a second estimate based, at least in part, on a second intermediate data set from the second bottleneck module, (Peng, fig.1 right,
) (Note: the bottom right f^G corresponds to the second estimate; fds corresponds to the second intermediate data set)
wherein the first estimate and the second estimate correspond to restructured data sets . (Peng,fig.1 right,
) (Note: both f^G are produced by the reconstructor, thus corresponding to restructured data sets)
Regarding Claim 6, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 5. Peng further teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising training, by a training module, the dual neck autoencoder module, the training comprising minimizing a cost function that comprises a correlation loss function, the correlation loss function related to the first feature set produced by the first bottleneck module, and the second feature set produced by the second bottleneck module. (Peng, p.3 right,
[eq.2]
[eq.3]
[eq.4]
[Algorithm 1, lines 4-6; 9; 15]
) (Note: Algorithm 1 corresponds to the training modules; D being updated by Eq 1-4 corresponds to the cost function which comprises a correlation loss function; Eq 1 contains fG, which contains the first data set and the second feature set)
Regarding Claim 7, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 5. Peng further teaches: The method of claim 5, further comprising determining an output, by a classifier module, based, at least in part, on the first estimate and based, at least in part, on the second estimate. (Peng, fig.1 right,
(Note The class identifier corresponds to the classifier module)
[p.3, bottom right, eq. (2)]
[Algorithm 1, line 5, line 17]
(Note: C being updated while not converged and using G and D corresponds to being based on the first estimate and the second estimate.)
Regarding Claim 8, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 5. Peng further teaches: The method of claim 5, wherein each module comprises an artificial neural network. (Peng, p.2 left ¶2, We implement a neural network to estimate the mutual information between the disentangled feature distributions…)
Regarding Claim 10, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 6. Peng further teaches: The method of claim 6, further comprising generating, by the training module, training data based, at least in part, on a surrogate adversarial model. (Peng, p.3 bottom left, “Adversarial training via a domain identifier aligns the source domain and the heterogeneous target domain in the fdi space”;
[Fig. 1]
) (Note: the source domain and heterogeneous target domain in the fdi space corresponds to the surrogate adversarial model)
Regarding Claim 11, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 6. Peng further teaches:
The method of claim 6, wherein the cost function comprises a first mean square error associated with the first bottleneck module, and a second mean square error associated with the second bottleneck module. (Peng, p.3 right,
) (Note: each part of the disentangled representations corresponds to each mean square error associated with the first and second bottleneck modules)
Regarding Claim 12, Peng respectively teaches and incorporates the claimed limitations and rejections of Claim 7. Peng further teaches: The method of claim 7, wherein the training comprises optimizing a classification based objective. (Peng, Algorithm 1, line 5, “Update…C by Eq.2”; [p.3, bottom right, Eq.2]
) (Note: eq.2 corresponds to a classification-based objective)
Independent Claim 13 recites A dual neck autoencoder system for reducing adversarial attack transferability, the system comprising: a computing device comprising a processor, a memory, an input/output circuitry, and a data store; (Peng, p.5 left 1st ¶, “We employ the popular neural networks (e.g. LeNet, AlexNet, or ResNet) as our feature generator G. The detailed training procedure is presented in Algorithm 1.” Note: training a neural network requires a computing device comprising a processor, memory, i/o circuitry, and a data store.) to perform precisely the methods of Claim 5. Thus, Claim 13 is rejected for reasons set forth in Claim 5.
Claim(s) 14-20, dependent on Claim 13, also recite the device configured to perform precisely the methods of Claim(s) 6-12 respectively, and thus are rejected for reasons set forth in these claim(s).
Conclusion
Claim 9 and 17 have been searched, but no prior art which teaches the limitations recited therein has been uncovered.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122