DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed 24 July 2026 wherein Claims 1, 5, and 17 are amended, Claims 6 and 11 were previously cancelled, no claims are newly added, and Claims 17 – 20 are previously withdrawn. Therefore, Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 10, and 12 – 21 are currently pending.
The Applicant’s amendment to the Claims dated 26 June 2026 has overcome each Claim Objection set forth in the Final Rejection dated 14 May 2026. Therefore, each Claim Objection set forth in the Final Rejection dated 14 May 2026 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 – 9, filed 26 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) 1 and its respective dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hawkins et al. (US 2010/0256487 A1) and Balbierz (US 5,814,021 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 5, 7 – 10, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al. (US 2010/0256487 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Hawkins”) and Balbierz (US 5,814,021 A).
With regard to claim 1, Hawkins discloses (see Figure 4) a medical fluid extension set system (1) (see [0037]) comprising:
a tubing (50) (see [0037]) having a first end (see the end coupled to the catheter hub connector or luer 53) and a second end (see the end coupled to the hub 49 in Figure 1);
a fluid coupling device (53) (see [0037]) coupled to the first end of the tubing (see Figure 1 and [0037]); and
a tubing anchor (23) (see [0049]) comprising an anchor body (see at Figure 4).
However Hawkins is silent with regards to the anchor body having a first end, a second end, a first sidewall, a second sidewall, a top end, a bottom end, and a tubing passage extending through the first and second ends of the tubing anchor and defining a longitudinal axis of the anchor body, the tubing passage having a cross-sectional diameter that is approximately equal to or greater than a diameter defined by an outer surface of the tubing such that the anchor body is configured to encircle the tubing along the tubing passage, each of the top end and the bottom end of the anchor body having an outer surface forming a convex surface along the longitudinal axis and between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, the tubing anchor coupled to the tubing, between the first and second ends of the tubing, with the tubing extending through the tubing passage.
Nonetheless Balbierz, which is within the analogous art of adjustable securing wings for tubing (see abstract and title), teaches the tubing anchor (110) (see Col. 4, lines 17 – 40) comprising an anchor body (see at 110 in Fig. 2) having a first end, a second end, a first sidewall, a second sidewall, a top end, a bottom end, and a tubing passage extending through the first and second ends of the tubing anchor and defining a longitudinal axis of the anchor body (see Examiner annotated Fig. 2 below hereinafter referred to as “Fig. A” and see Examiner annotated Fig. 7 below hereinafter referred to as “Fig. B”), the tubing passage having a cross-sectional diameter that is approximately equal to or greater than a diameter defined by an outer surface of the tubing such that the anchor body is configured to encircle the tubing along the passage (see Figure 4, Col. 2, lines 13 – 29, Col. 4, lines 17 – 40, Col. 4, lines 51 – 64, Col. 5, lines 28 – 57, and Col. 6, lines 9 – 14), each of the top end and the bottom end of the anchor body having an outer surface forming a convex surface along the longitudinal axis and between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (see Fig. B below at 110 and 140 which shows the top end and bottom end of the anchor body having an outer surface forming a convex surface along the longitudinal axis and between the first and second sidewalls), the tubing anchor coupled to the tubing (see Figs. 3, 5, and 7), between the first and second ends of the tubing (see Fig. 2 where the first end is near 120 and the second end is near 100), with the tubing extending through the tubing passage (see Fig. B below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to replace or substitute the fixation tab 23 of the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins for the tubing anchor 110 taught by Balbierz. The tubing anchor of Balbierz teaches a tubing anchor comprising an anchor body having a first end, a second end, a first sidewall, a second sidewall, a top end, a bottom end, and a tubing passage extending through the first and second ends of the tubing anchor and defining a longitudinal axis of the anchor body, the tubing passage having a cross-sectional diameter that is approximately equal to or greater than a diameter defined by an outer surface of the tubing such that the anchor body is configured to encircle the tubing along the tubing passage, each of the top end and the bottom end of the anchor body having an outer surface forming a convex surface along the longitudinal axis and between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, the tubing anchor coupled to the tubing, between the first and second ends of the tubing, with the tubing extending through the tubing passage.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution or replacement because Balbierz teaches an adjustable anchoring device that retains a catheter/tubing at a desired location on the patient such that further movement of the catheter/tubing is prevented. See Col. 2, lines 44 – 67, Col. 3, line 66 – Col. 4, line 40, and Col. 7, lines 28 – 57 of Balbierz. The anchoring device of Balbierz is beneficial because it allows a user to adjust the location of the anchoring device to a variety of locations along the tubing. Adjusting the location that the tubing is secured to the patient allows for the tubing to be limited in movement at that specific fixation site.
The medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins modified in view of a teaching of Balbierz will hereinafter be referred to as the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz.
With regard to claim 3, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and Hawkins further teaches the medical fluid extension set system further comprising a catheter (7) (see [0037]) coupled to the second end (see the end coupled to the hub 49 in Figure 1) of the tubing (50)(see [0037]).
With regard to claim 4, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz further teaches wherein the tubing anchor is coupled to the tubing such that movement of the tubing anchor along a length of the tubing between the first and second ends of the tubing is resisted (see the rejection of Claim 1 above; the tubing anchor 110 of Balbierz replaces the fixation tabs 23 of Hawkins; the tubing anchor 110 of Balbierz is coupled to the tubing 50 of Hawkins such that movement of the tubing anchor along a length of the tubing between the first and second ends of the tubing is resisted as described within Col. 2, lines 13 – 29, Col. 4, lines 17 – 41, and Col. 6, lines 9 – 14 of Balbierz).
With regard to claim 5, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz further teaches the medical fluid extension set system further comprising an adhesive layer that extends along the outer surface of the tubing anchor (see the rejection of Claim 1 above; see Col. 4, lines 17 – 40 “the securing member 110 may be sutured or taped to the patient’s skin” of Balbierz; here the adhesive layer is the tape that extends along the outer surface of the tubing anchor 110 of Balbierz).
With regard to claim 7, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz further teaches wherein the tubing anchor comprises a width between the first and second sidewalls, and wherein the width of the tubing anchor decreases in a direction from the first end of the tubing anchor toward the second end of the tubing anchor (see the rejection of Claim 1 above; Figure A above shows a width between the annotated first and second sidewalls decreasing in a direction from the first end of the tubing anchor toward the second end of the tubing anchor).
With regard to claim 8, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 7, and the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz further teaches wherein the tubing extends through the tubing anchor such that the second end of the tubing anchor is oriented toward the fluid coupling device (see the rejection of Claim 1 above; the tubing anchor 110 of Balbierz replaces the fixation tab 23 of Hawkins at the same location of the fixation tab 23; therefore the tubing 50 of Hawkins extends through the tubing anchor 110 of Balbierz such that the second end of the tubing anchor is oriented toward the fluid coupling device 53).
With regard to claim 9, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz further teaches wherein the first sidewall comprises a front portion and a rear portion, and the front and rear portions of the first sidewall extend away from the longitudinal axis and intersect at an apex of the first sidewall, and wherein the second sidewall comprises a front portion and a rear portion, and the front and rear portions of the second sidewall extend away from the longitudinal axis and intersect at an apex of the second sidewall (see the rejection of Claim 1 above; Figure A above teaches the first sidewall comprising a front portion and a rear portion, and the front and rear portions of the first sidewall extend away from the longitudinal axis and intersect at an apex of the first sidewall at the annotated “First sidewall”, and wherein the second sidewall comprises a front portion and a rear portion, and the front and rear portions of the second sidewall extend away from the longitudinal axis and intersect at an apex of the second sidewall at the annotated “Second sidewall”).
With regard to claim 10, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 9, and the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz further teaches wherein a width of the tubing anchor between the apices of the first and second sidewalls, is greater than a height of the tubing anchor between the top and bottom ends (see the rejection of Claim 1 above; see Figure A above wherein the width of the tubing anchor between the apices of the first and second sidewalls is located between the annotated “First sidewall” and “Second sidewall” and see Figure B which shows the width being greater than a height of the tubing anchor between the annotated top and bottom ends).
With regard to claim 21, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 9, and the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz further teaches wherein a portion of the anchor body proximal to an apex of the first sidewall or the second sidewall comprises a height that is less than a height of the anchor body along the longitudinal axis (see the rejection of Claim 1 above; see Figure A above which shows the apex of the first sidewall at the annotated “First sidewall” and the apex of the second sidewall at the annotated “Second sidewall”; see Figure B above which shows the height at the apex of either the first or second sidewall being less than a height of the anchor body along the longitudinal axis).
Claim(s) 2, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins and Balbierz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kakinoki (US 2019/0184152 A1).
Kakinoki is cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 4 December 2025.
With regard to claim 2, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Hawkins is silent with regards to wherein the fluid coupling device comprising a first valve assembly and a second valve assembly, and wherein the first and second valve assemblies are removably coupled together to form a fluid flow path through the tubing and the fluid coupling device.
Nonetheless Kakinoki, which is within the analogous art of male and female connectors for medical devices (see abstract), teaches (Figs. 1 – 8) the fluid coupling device (1a, 2a) (see [0037]) comprising a first valve assembly (1a) and a second valve assembly (2a), and wherein the first and second valve assemblies are removably coupled together to form a fluid flow path through the tubing and the fluid coupling device (see Figs. 4 – 5, [0024] – [0025], and [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the fluid coupling device of the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz in view of a teaching of Kakinoki such that the fluid coupling device comprises a first valve assembly and a second valve assembly, and wherein the first and second valve assemblies are removably coupled together to form a fluid flow path through the tubing and the fluid coupling device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Kakinoki teaches that this fluid coupling device allows for the attaching and detaching of the male connector or female connector to form a route (infusion line) while simultaneously protecting a medical operator from a powerful drug such as an anticancer agent from adhering to a finger and the like of the medical operator (see [0003] and [0004] of Kakinoki). In other words, the fluid connector of Kakinoki is beneficial because it protects a medical operator from spilling dangerous medicament when attaching or detaching an IV drip bag with the extension set.
With regard to claim 15, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Hawkins is silent with regards to wherein the fluid coupling device comprises:
a first valve assembly comprising:
a housing having a first end, a second end, wherein the second end of the housing is opposite to the first end of the housing, and an inner surface forming a cavity that extends through the second end of the housing toward the first end of the housing;
a post having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion, wherein the distal end portion of the post extends within the cavity in a direction from the first end of the housing toward the second end of the housing;
a fluid passage that extends through the first end of the housing and the post; and
a compressible valve positioned in the cavity, the compressible valve having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion, wherein the proximal end portion comprises a resilient member having an inner surface forming a recess, and wherein the distal end portion comprises a head having a slit that extends through the head to the recess;
a second valve assembly comprising:
a body having a first end, a second end, wherein the second end of the body is opposite to the first end of the body, an inner surface forming a bore that extends through the second end of the body toward the first end of the body, and a fluid passage that extends through the first end of the body to the bore; and
a valve plug positioned in the bore, the valve plug having a first end, a second end, and a slit that extends through the first and second ends of the valve plug.
Nonetheless, Kakinoki which is within the analogous art of male and female connectors for medical devices (see abstract), teaches (Figs. 1 – 8) the fluid coupling device (1a, 2a) (see [0037]) comprises:
a first valve assembly (1a) comprising:
a housing (10a) (see [0042]) having a first end (see at 43 in Fig. 2), a second end (19a) (see [0044]), wherein the second end of the housing is opposite to the first end of the housing (see Fig. 2), and an inner surface forming a cavity (11) (see [0038]) that extends through the second end of the housing toward the first end of the housing (see Fig. 2);
a post (46) (see [0048]) having a proximal end portion (see near 41 in Fig. 2) and a distal end portion (44) (see [0048]), wherein the distal end portion of the post extends within the cavity in a direction from the first end of the housing toward the second end of the housing (see Fig. 2);
a fluid passage (41) (see [0040]) that extends through the first end of the housing and the post (see Fig. 2); and
a compressible valve (50a) (see [0038] and [0050]) positioned in the cavity (see Fig. 2), the compressible valve having a proximal end portion (see at 56 in Fig. 2) and a distal end portion (see at 57 in Fig. 2), wherein the proximal end portion comprises a resilient member (56) (see [0050]) having an inner surface forming a recess (see at 56 in Fig. 2), and wherein the distal end portion comprises a head (57) (see [0050]) having a slit (51) (see [0050]) that extends through the head to the recess (see Fig. 2);
a second valve assembly (2a) comprising:
a body (60a) (see [0039]) having a first end (see the end near 66 in Fig. 2), a second end (see the end near 71 in Fig. 2), wherein the second end of the body is opposite to the first end of the body (see Fig. 2), an inner surface forming a bore (61) (see [0039]) that extends through the second end of the body toward the first end of the body, and a fluid passage (66) (see [0039]) that extends through the first end of the body to the bore (see Fig. 2); and
a valve plug (70) (see [0039]) positioned in the bore (see Fig. 2), the valve plug having a first end (see the end opposite 71 in Fig. 2), a second end (see at 71 in Fig. 2), and a slit (71) (see [0055]) that extends through the first and second ends of the valve plug (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the fluid coupling device of the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz in view of a teaching of Kakinoki such that the fluid coupling device comprises: a first valve assembly comprising: a housing having a first end, a second end, wherein the second end of the housing is opposite to the first end of the housing, and an inner surface forming a cavity that extends through the second end of the housing toward the first end of the housing; a post having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion, wherein the distal end portion of the post extends within the cavity in a direction from the first end of the housing toward the second end of the housing; a fluid passage that extends through the first end of the housing and the post; and a compressible valve positioned in the cavity, the compressible valve having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion, wherein the proximal end portion comprises a resilient member having an inner surface forming a recess, and wherein the distal end portion comprises a head having a slit that extends through the head to the recess; a second valve assembly comprising: a body having a first end, a second end, wherein the second end of the body is opposite to the first end of the body, an inner surface forming a bore that extends through the second end of the body toward the first end of the body, and a fluid passage that extends through the first end of the body to the bore; and a valve plug positioned in the bore, the valve plug having a first end, a second end, and a slit that extends through the first and second ends of the valve plug.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Kakinoki teaches that this fluid coupling device allows for the attaching and detaching of the male connector or female connector to form a route (infusion line) while simultaneously protecting a medical operator from a powerful drug such as an anticancer agent from adhering to a finger and the like of the medical operator (see [0003] and [0004] of Kakinoki). In other words, the fluid connector of Kakinoki is beneficial because it protects a medical operator from spilling dangerous medicament when attaching or detaching an IV drip bag with the extension set.
The medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz modified in view of a teaching of Kakinoki will hereinafter be referred to as the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins, Balbierz, and Kakinoki.
With regard to claim 16, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins, Balbierz, and Kakinoki teaches the claimed invention of claim 15, however Hawkins is silent with regards to when the first and second valve assemblies are separated from each other, the compressible valve is in a first position with a distal end of the head aligned with the second end of the housing and the distal end portion of the post positioned within the recess, and when the first and second valve assemblies are coupled together, the second end of the body is positioned within the cavity of the housing such that the compressible valve is in a second position with the head biased toward the first end of the housing and the distal end portion of the post extending through the slit of the head of the compressible valve and through the slit of the valve plug, such that the fluid passage of the first valve assembly is fluidly coupled with the fluid passage of the second valve assembly.
Nonetheless, Kakinoki which is within the analogous art of male and female connectors for medical devices (see abstract), further teaches (Figs. 1 – 8) when the first and second valve assemblies (1a, 2a) are separated from each other (see Fig. 2), the compressible valve (50a) (see [0038] and [0050]) is in a first position with a distal end of the head (57) (see [0050]) aligned with the second end of the housing (19a) (see [0044]) and the distal end portion (44) (see [0048]) of the post (46) (see [0048]) positioned within the recess (see at 56 in Fig. 2), and when the first and second valve assemblies are coupled together (see Fig .4), the second end (see the end near 71 in Fig. 2) of the body (60a) (see [0039]) is positioned within the cavity (11) (see [0038]) of the housing such that the compressible valve is in a second position with the head biased toward the first end of the housing (see Fig. 5) and the distal end portion of the post extending through the slit of the head of the compressible valve and through the slit of the valve plug (see Fig. 5), such that the fluid passage of the first valve assembly is fluidly coupled with the fluid passage of the second valve assembly (see Fig. 5, [0025], [0059], and [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the fluid coupling device of the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins, Balbierz, and Kakinoki in view of a further teaching of Kakinoki such that when the first and second valve assemblies are separated from each other, the compressible valve is in a first position with a distal end of the head aligned with the second end of the housing and the distal end portion of the post positioned within the recess, and when the first and second valve assemblies are coupled together, the second end of the body is positioned within the cavity of the housing such that the compressible valve is in a second position with the head biased toward the first end of the housing and the distal end portion of the post extending through the slit of the head of the compressible valve and through the slit of the valve plug, such that the fluid passage of the first valve assembly is fluidly coupled with the fluid passage of the second valve assembly.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Kakinoki teaches that this fluid coupling device allows for the attaching and detaching of the male connector or female connector to form a route (infusion line) while simultaneously protecting a medical operator from a powerful drug such as an anticancer agent from adhering to a finger and the like of the medical operator (see [0003] and [0004] of Kakinoki). In other words, the fluid connector of Kakinoki is beneficial because it protects a medical operator from spilling dangerous medicament when attaching or detaching an IV drip bag with the extension set.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins and Balbierz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burkholz et al. (US 2019/0321599 A1)(hereinafter referred to as “Burkholz”).
Burkholz is cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 4 December 2025.
With regard to claim 12, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and Hawkins further teaches wherein a fluid connector (49) is coupled to the second end (see the end coupled to the hub 49 in Figure 1) of the tubing (50).
However, Hawkins is silent with regards to a portion of the fluid connector is coupled to the tubing anchor.
Nonetheless Burkholz, which is within the analogous art of catheter systems (see abstract and title), teaches wherein a fluid connector (34) (see [0041]) is coupled to the second end (26) of the tubing (24) (see Fig. 1B and [0049]), and a portion of the fluid connector is coupled to the tubing anchor (54) (see Figs. 1D – 1H and [0055] “the stabilization feature 54 may be disposed on the connector 30 or the connector 34”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the location of the fluid connector and tubing anchor of the medical fluid extension set of Hawkins and Balbierz in view of a teaching of Burkholz such that a portion of the fluid connector is coupled to the tubing anchor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Burkholz teaches that this coupling stabilizes the fluid connector to the patient (see [0054] – [0055] of Burkholz).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins and Balbierz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuchs (US 4,161,177 A).
Fuchs is cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 4 December 2025.
With regard to claim 13, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, however Hawkins is silent with regards to wherein the fluid coupling device is pivotably coupled to the tubing anchor.
Nonetheless Fuchs, which is within the analogous art of (see abstract and title), teaches (see Figs. 1 – 2) wherein the fluid coupling device (2) is pivotably coupled (3) (see Col. 3, lines 26 – 32) to the tubing anchor (7,7’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the fluid coupling device of the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz in view of a teaching of Fuchs such that the fluid coupling device is pivotably coupled to the tubing anchor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Fuchs teaches pivotably coupling the fluid coupling device and the tubing anchor together is beneficial because any forces applied to the fluid coupling device will not act immediately on the tubing or other components of the medical fluid extension set but only upon the fluid coupling device and the hinge (see Col. 2, lines 20 – 45 of Fuchs). Preventing the force from acting on the tubing or other components of the medical fluid extension set will reduce the likelihood of detachment of components.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bierman and Balbierz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bierman (US 5,800,402 A) and Eby (US 3,046,984 A).
Bierman and Eby are cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 4 December 2025.
With regard to claim 14, the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, however Hawkins is silent with regards to further comprising another tubing having a first end coupled to the fluid coupling device, and another tubing anchor coupled to the another tubing, wherein the fluid coupling device is fluidly coupled between the tubing anchor and the another tubing anchor.
Nonetheless, Bierman which is within the analogous art of further teaches (Figs. 1 – 9) the medical fluid extension set system further comprising another tubing (20) (see Col. 4, lines 51 – 65) having a first end coupled to the fluid coupling device (42) (see Col. 6, lines 11 – 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz in view of a teaching of Bierman such that the medical fluid extension set system further comprises another tubing having a first end coupled to the fluid coupling device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Bierman teaches that the fluid supply tube 20 couples a fluid supply container 16 to the fluid coupling device 42 thereby allowing for fluid to be supplied to the patient. See Figure 1, Figure 2 and Col. 4, lines 51 – 65 of Bierman. Here, the fluid supply tube 20 and the fluid supply container 16 of Bierman would be coupled with the catheter hub connectors or luer 53 of Hawkins. Thereby allowing fluid from the fluid supply container to flow through the medical fluid extension set system to the patient.
The medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins and Balbierz modified in view of a teaching of Bierman will hereinafter be referred to as the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins, Balbierz, and Bierman.
However, Hawkins, Balbierz, and Bierman are silent with regards to another tubing anchor coupled to the another tubing, wherein the fluid coupling device is fluidly coupled between the tubing anchor and the another tubing anchor.
Nonetheless Eby, which is within the analogous art of anchoring devices (see abstract), teaches another tubing anchor (4) coupled to the another tubing (see at 36, 38 in Fig. 1) (see Col. 2, lines 22 – 53), wherein the fluid coupling device (6) is fluidly coupled between the tubing anchor (2) and the another tubing anchor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the medical fluid extension set system of Hawkins, Balbierz, and Bierman in view of a teaching of Eby such that the medical fluid extension set system further comprises another tubing anchor coupled to the another tubing, wherein the fluid coupling device is fluidly coupled between the tubing anchor and the another tubing anchor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Eby teaches another tubing anchor that anchors the tubing from the fluid container to the fluid coupling device (see Col. 1, lines 6 – 35 and Col. 2, lines 22 – 53). Here, incorporating the additional tubing anchor as taught by Eby for the fluid supply tube 20 of the medical fluid extension set of Bierman is beneficial because it will secure the fluid supply tube to the patient such that movement by the patient does not cause the fluid supply tube 20 from being disconnected from the connector 42.
Conclusion
/ROBERT F ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 09/08/2026