DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim status
Claims 1-11 are canceled.
Claims 12-14 are newly added.
Claims 12-14 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yupeng Jia (US 2018/0152978 A1), hereinafter Jia” in view of (US 2016/0373915 A1), hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 12, Jia teaches, a method for terminal device comprising:
sending, to a control device in a network, a Registration Request message including a first eDRX (Extended Idle Mode DRX) parameter (Jia: [0015] “UE shall request the use of eDRX during an attachment procedure or tracking area update (TAU) procedure by including desired eDRX parameters in the attach request or the TAU request.”; attachment request and TAU request are types of registration message);
receiving, from the control device, a Registration Accept message including a new GUTI (Globally Unique Temporary UE Identity) assigned for the terminal and a second eDRX parameter ([0016] “In some scenarios, the eDRX parameters provided by the network to the UE (referred to herein as the network eDRX parameters) in an attachment or TAU acceptance response are different from the eDRX parameters requested by the UE in the attach/TAU request (referred to herein as the UE eDRX parameters).”; “TAU acceptance response” is the Registration Accept message of the claim; second eDRX parameter is implied by the eDRX parameter provided being different from the one requested by the UE);
Jia however fails to teach receiving, from the control device, a Registration Accept message including, a new GUTI (Globally Unique Temporary UE Identity) assigned for the terminal.
Kim in the same field of endeavor teaches the claim element, (Kim: [0469] “the TAU ACCEPT message includes a new TAI list suitable for the current position of the UE. Furthermore, the TAU ACCEPT message may include a corresponding GUTI if the MME allocates a new GUTI to the UE.”).
Kim also teaches, sending a Complete message to the control device (Kim: [0471] The UE which has received the TAU ACCEPT message sends a TAU COMPLETE message to the MME through the eNB for an acknowledgement response at step S2605.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Kim with that of Jia and come up with the claimed invention, wherein the new GUTI is assigned based on updating the first eDRX parameter to the second eDRX parameter, based on and motivated by the following:
Teaching by Jia discloses update of eDRX parameter in TAU Acceptance Response message and teaching by Kim discloses provision of a second GUTI in a TAU Accept Message (which is the same as Jia’s TAU Acceptance Response Message). Both updates are provided based on TAU request message. Kim’s disclosure of TAU Request message includes a GUTI, as disclosed in [0465] “ UE includes a GUTI and the last visited TAI in the TAU REQUEST message and sends the TAU REQUEST message. MME may assign a new GUTI as disclosed above, if it decides that new TAI list related to location update requires a new GUTI for seamless handover and location update without exposing user equipment’s permanent identity (GUTI is abbreviation for Globally Unique Temporary UE Identity).
Claim 13 is for a terminal device implementing method of claim 12. Claim is change in category with respect to claim 12. Presence of memory and process is implied. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 12.
Claim 14 is for method complimentary to method of claim 12. Claim elements are discussed above in claim 12. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-9504012-B1 teaches Extended Discontinuous Reception Mechanism in a wireless network.
/INTEKHAAB A SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462