DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,554,033. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the elements of the application claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 are to be found in patent claim(s) 1, 6-7 (as the application claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 fully encompass patent claim(s) 1, 6-7). The difference between the application claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 and the patent claim(s) 1, 6-7 lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim(s) 1, 6-7 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim(s) 1-2, 8-9. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ 2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 is/are anticipated by claim(s) 1, 6-7 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim(s) 1, 6-7 of the patent.
Claim within current application
Claim within 11,554,033
1
1 (column 18, lines 1-9)
2
1 (column 17, lines 38-45)
3
4
5
6
7
8
6
9
7
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3, 5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 3, line 3: “the delivery shaft” should be –the delivery shaft (249)-- (in order to maintain consistent claim terminology).
Within claim 5, lines 2-3: the tubular body” should be replaced with --the self-expanding tubular body-- (in order to maintain consistent claim terminology).
Within claim 6, line 2: “(L1)” should be replaced with --(L2)-- (in order to abbreviations consistent with claim 2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Within claim 2, lines 1: Applicant claims, “a self-expanding tubular body”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, what Applicant considers to be the scope of the claim. The scope of the claim is determined by the preamble – which is to the delivery system alone; however, the aforementioned claim requirement positively recites the self-expanding tubular body which according the specification is configured to be delivered by the delivery system. As such, it is unclear, if Applicant is trying to claim the delivery system alone (in which case configured to language could be added to claim 2) OR if Applicant if trying to claim a medical system which includes both a delivery system and the self-expanded tubular body (in which case an amendment to the preamble of the claims could be made). Claim(s) 3-9, which depend from claim 2, inherit all the problems associated with claim 2.
Within claim 3, line 4: Applicant claims, “the removable sheath (230,241) is split by pulling on the pull handle (232)”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, what Applicant considers to be the scope of the claim. The scope of the claim is determined by the preamble – which is to the delivery system alone; however, the aforementioned claim requirement is positively reciting the splitting of the removable sheath which is a method of use claim requirement. As such, it is unclear, if Applicant is trying to claim the product or the method of using the product. Claim(s) 4-5, which depend from claim 3, inherit all the problems associate with claim 3.
Within claim 4, lines 2-4: Applicant claims, “whereby inflation of the integrated balloon (15, 245) after removal of the removable sheath (230, 241) enables further radial expansion of the stented tubular length portion (L')”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, what Applicant considers to be the scope of the claim. The scope of the claim is determined by the preamble – which is to the delivery system alone; however, the aforementioned claim requirement is positively reciting the inflation and further radial expansion which are method of use claim requirements. As such, it is unclear, if Applicant is trying to claim the product or the method of using the product. Claim(s) 5, which depend from claim 4, inherit all the problems associate with claim 4.
Within claim 5, line 1 (and claim 6, line 1; and claim 7, line 1; and claim 8, line 1; and claim 9, line 1): Applicant claims, “the tubular medical device of claim”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, what Applicant considers to be the scope of the claim – the preamble oof previous claim(s) 1-4 is to the delivery system alone; however, in the aforementioned claim requirement the preamble is to the tubular medical device (which is distinct from the delivery system); as such, it is unclear, what the scope of claim(s )6-9 are.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the maximum potential expanded dimension" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pryor (US 2007/0244540 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Pryor discloses a delivery system (stent delivery system 200), as can be seen in figs. 2-4 (paragraph [0024]), comprising:
a) an operator handle (220) (handle 212), including a splitter mechanism (224) (keel 216) (paragraph [0028]);
b) a delivery shaft (249) (strain relief 232) extending from the operator handle (220) (handle 212) (paragraph [0032]);
c) a pull handle (232) (sheath knob 224) at the operator handle (220) (handle 212) (paragraph [0039]); and
d) straps (233) (two subsections of sheath 206, proximal to keel 216, on either side of slit 304 in fig. 3) extending from the pull handle (232) (sheath knob 224) (paragraph [0035]).
With respect to claim 2:
Further including a self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) that includes a stented tubular length portion (L') (a proximal subsection of stent 202) that includes self-expanding stents (individual wires/ rings making up the proximal subsection of stent 202), and a crimped tubular length portion (L’) (a distal subsection of stent 202), the crimped tubular length portion (L’) (a distal subsection of stent 202) being secured to the stented tubular length portion (L') (a proximal subsection of stent 202) (paragraph [0025]). (PLEASE NOTE: Applicant has not claimed any structural differences between the stented tubular length portion and the crimped tubular length portion; as such, Examiner is subdividing the stent (202), as disclosed by Pryor, such that a portion thereof is considered the stented tubular length portion – this portion will be made up of some self-expanding structure which Examiner is considering to be the “stents” thereof; the remaining portion of the stent (202), as disclosed by Pryor, is considered by Examiner to be the a crimped tubular length portion which is crimped prior to the deployment process) (paragraph [0030]).
With respect to claim 3:
Further including a removable sheath (230, 241) (subsection of sheath 206 distal to keel 216) radially constricting the stented tubular length portion (L') (proximal subsection of stent 202) that extends through the operator handle (handle 212), wherein the delivery shaft (strain relief 232) extends to (surrounds) the removable sheath (230,241) (subsection of sheath 206 distal to keel 216), whereby the removable sheath (230,241) (subsection of sheath 206 distal to keel 216) is configured to be split (at the breakaway 302) by pulling on the pull handle (232) (sheath knob 224) (paragraphs [0035, 0039-0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pryor (US 2007/0244540 A1) in view of Pelton (US 2003/0191520 A1).
Pryor discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed above. However, Pryor does not disclose the delivery system (stent delivery system 200) to further including an integrated balloon (15, 245) within the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202), such that inflation of the integrated balloon (15, 245) after removal of the removable sheath (230, 241) (subsection of sheath 206 distal to keel 216) enables further radial expansion of the stented tubular length portion (L') (a proximal subsection of stent 202) of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) (as required by claim 4).
Pelton teaches a self-expanding prosthesis (stent 10), as can be seen in fig. 1, delivered by a delivery system including both an integrated balloon (balloon 20) and a removable sheath (delivery sheath 16) (paragraph [0033]), such that inflation of the integrated balloon (15, 245) (balloon 20) after removal of the removable sheath (230, 241) (delivery sheath 16) enables further radial expansion of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 10) to improve seating within the artery wall (paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the integrated balloon (balloon 20), as taught by Pelton, within the delivery system (stent delivery system 200), as disclosed by Pryor, such that the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) (and sub-portions thereof) may be further radially expanded after being allowed to self-expand after removal of the sheath to improve seating within the artery wall, as taught by Pelton.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pryor (US 2007/0244540 A1) in view of Case et al. (US 2005/0228472 A1).
Pryor discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed above. However, Pryor is silent with respect to the structure of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) – specifically, that the stented tubular length portion (L') (proximal subsection of stent 202) of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) includes: an internal valve/ introducer seal (as required by claims 6-7).
Case et al. teaches a prosthesis (medical device 700), as can be seen in fig. 7, for the treatment of incompetent venous valve (paragraph [0080]) using a self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (frame 704) with the stented tubular length portion (L') (a proximal subsection of stent graft prosthesis) including an internal valve/ introducer seal (valve members) (valve members maybe positioned at any point along the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (frame 704)) (paragraphs [0082-0083, 0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the internal valve/ introducer seal (valve members), as taught by Case et al., within the stented tubular length portion (L') (proximal subsection of stent 202) of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202), as disclosed by Pryor, such that the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) may additionally be used to treat vessels/ aneurysms at points where there are incompetent venous valves (so that the prosthesis can be mimic the native anatomy which includes a valve in that region). (PLEASE NOTE: With respect to claim 7: Applicant has failed to claim any structure defining the “introducer seal”, as such the internal valve, as taught by Case et al., is considered an “introducer seal” as currently claimed.)
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pryor (US 2007/0244540 A1) in view of McDonald et al. (US 2014/0121761 A1).
Pryor discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed above. However, Pryor is silent with respect to the structure of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) – specifically, that the stented tubular length portion (L') (proximal subsection of stent 202) of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202) includes: saddle-shaped ring stents (244), each of which has peak (252) and valley portions (253) (as required by claim 8) nor a lining of a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (as required by claim 9).
McDonald et al. teaches a stent graft prosthesis for the treatment of vascular aneurysms (paragraphs [abstract, 0049]) using a self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent graft prosthesis) with the stented tubular length portion (L') (proximal subsection of stent graft prosthesis) including saddle-shaped ring stents (244) (saddle shaped rings within the proximal subsection of stent graft prosthesis), each of which has peak (252) and valley portions (253) and a lining of a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (PTFE) (paragraphs [0027-0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the structure of the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent graft prosthesis) (including all the portions/ substructures thereof – including the saddle shaped rings therein and the inclusion of a PTFE graft), as taught by McDonald et al., for the self-expanding tubular body (31, 243) (stent 202), as disclosed by Pryor, as both structures are used for the same purpose (to treat vascular aneurysms); as such, the structures would be obvious substitutes for each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Examiner can find no references alone nor in combination which render obvious:
With respect to claim 5:
A delivery system (as required by claim(s) 1-4) wherein the integrated balloon (which is configured to be used to further expand an already at least partially self-expanded tubular body) is undersized in relation to a maximum potential expanded dimension of the self-expanding tubular body.
Conclusion
/REBECCA S PRESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3774