DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 1 recites “(wherein R901 to R907 are independently…..different from each other)”. The claim as written is indefinite and unclear. Applicants have failed to address the claims to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention. The primary purpose of this requirement of definiteness of claim language is to ensure that the scope of the claims is clear so the public is informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent. The claims recite the parentheses, which does not present the limitations in a clear manner. It is not clear Applicants intend the language recited inside the parentheses to be required in the claimed invention.
Claims 21, and 22 each recite the word “substantially”, which is considered vague and indefinite. The term “substantially” in claims 21 and 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially “is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if respective recited components are present or not. Clarification and/or correction are required.
Claims 2-23 depends on claim 1; therefore, the claims are also indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Appropriate correction is required
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 21 recites “wherein the second layer substantially does not comprises the compound having the structure represented by the formula (1B) within a molecular thereof, the compound having the structure represented by the formula (1C) within a molecular thereof, and the compound having the structure represented by the formula (1D) within a molecular thereof”, which does not further limit independent claim 1 which recites “does not comprises the compound having the structure represented by the formula (1B) within a molecular thereof, the compound having the structure represented by the formula (1C) within a molecular thereof, and the compound having the structure represented by the formula (1D) within a molecular thereof”. The limitation of claim 21 broadens the scope of independent claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 and 29-36 of copending Application No. 18/081,365 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending application ‘365 have claims drawn to an organic electroluminescence device comprising a cathode, an anode, and one or two or more organic layers arranged between the cathode and the anode, wherein at least one layer of the one or two or more organic layers comprising a “first component” and a “second component”, “the first component” is a compound represented by formula (1), which is obvious variant of formula (1) of copending application ‘365 and a “second component” that is selected from the group consisting of an alkali metal, an alkali metal compound, an alkaline earth metal, an alkaline earth metal compound, a rare earth metal an organic metal complex ( see claim 30 of copending application ‘365). Both the instant claims and copending application ‘365 recite open claim language, comprising”; therefore, other components may be included in their respective inventions.
The present claims indicated above also cover the electronic apparatus which overlap the claims of copending application ‘365, and thus , render the present claims prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US 2017/0244044 A1) in view of Arakane et al. (US 2008/0193796 A1) and in further view of Vargas (US 2010/0253210 A1).
Regarding claims 1-12 and 17-23, Ikeda teaches organic electroluminescent devices comprising an electron transport layer between a light emitting layer and a cathode (see abstract). The electron transport layer comprises a combination of two compounds (see abstract).
The “first” component may contain an anthracene (formula IV), pyrene, phenanthrene, or chrysene (of aryls in formula V) (see par. 28-29); however, it is not seen where specific compounds of instant formula 1 are taught for the electron transport layer per instant claim 1 composition.
In analogous art, Arakane et al. teaches electron transport material may include anthracene derivatives (see Arakane par. 29), pyrene derivatives (see par. 44), or further aryl derivatives (see par. 47) as well as compounds like above Ikeda formula I (see par. 50). Hydrocarbon compounds taught by Arakane et al. as electron-transport material meets the requirements of instant formula (1). Arakane et al. material formulas discussed above (Arakane par. 29-49 and 71-108) meet the limitations of instant claims 2-12. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used known electron transport material such as aromatic hydrocarbon compounds taught by Arakane et al. in combination with electron transport material as taught by Ikeda et al. because one would expect the Arakane et al. material to be useful for the same purpose as taught. It is obvious to combine material useful for the same purpose.
Ikeda and Arakane are relied upon as set forth above.
It is not seen where a metal-containing material as recited in claims 1 and 17 is added to an electron transport layer of Ikeda et al.; however, Vargas teaches, in analogous art, alkali metal or alkali metal compound may be part of an electron-transport layer (see claim 16 and par. 339). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place an alkali metal or alkali metal compound as taught by Vargas in an electron transport layer of a device according to Ikeda modified by Arakane, because the material is taught for the purpose of electron transportation. One would expect to achieve an operational device including materials rendered obvious by Ikeda, Arakane, and Vargas with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Further regards to claim 18, a mixture of an electron-transporting material as taught by Ikeda et al. and a material as taught by Arakane et al. would be expected to provide an electron transporting function to an electron transport layer in any mixed ratio as they are both useful for the same purpose. A mixed ratio would include the recited 30-70% by mass first component.
Further regards to claim 19, the device layers are taught by Ikeda et al. (see par. 150-196).
Further regards to claims 20-22, the Ikeda et al. electron transport region may be configured multilayered (see par. 181-187).
Further regards to claim 23, the Ikeda et al. device structures may be used within electronic devices (see par. 196).
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to have combined compounds of the reference as described above where the composition for a device layer of a light emitting device would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve an operational device comprising materials within the disclosures of Ikeda et al. and Arakane et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US 2017/0244044 A1) in view of Arakane et al. (US 2008/0193796 A1) and in further view of Vargas (US 2010/0253210 A1), and in further view of Scheurich et al. (US 2012/0142855 A1).
Ikeda and Arakane are relied upon as set forth above.
While anthracene hydrocarbon derivatives are taught in Arakane (see par. 79) having Ar1 or Ar2 groups as “substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 50 nucleus carbon atoms” (see par. 80), it is not seen where a benzofluorene is specifically taught as one of the aryl groups, although the group is within the recited carbon number range. In analogous art, Scheurich et al. teaches an aromatic ring system of 5 to 40 aromatic ring atoms specifically includes “benzofluorene” group (see par. 28, 36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a benzofluorene group as an aryl group upon an anthracene group of Arakane, because the group is within the general range of aryl groups taught as suitable by Arakane for forming an anthracene electron transport compound. One would expect to achieve an operational device including materials rendered obvious by Ikeda, Arakane, and Scheurich with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
With further respect to claim 15, Arakane teaches A1 and A2 groups as aromatic ring groups (see par. 79).
With further respect to claim 16, the Arakane anthracene core (par. 79) reads upon the instant Ar601A group.
Conclusion
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737