DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 03/03/2026 have been entered. However, they overcome the rejection previously set forth in Final Office Action filed 12/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US-20210280941-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Rahmathullah’
Regarding Claim 1,
Rahmathullah teaches a battery system comprising: a battery pack comprising a battery housing (Rahmathullah, housing, 200, Fig. 9) and a plurality of battery cells accommodated within the battery housing (Rahmathullah, “A battery housing has a plurality of housing sidewalls defining an enclosure”, see Abstract); and a cover element covering an outer side of the battery housing (Rahmathullah, housing sidewall, 231, Fig. 9), wherein the battery housing has a housing exit at where a venting gas stream exhausted by one or more of the battery cells during a thermal runaway exits the battery housing(Rahmathullah, valve assembly 100, Fig. 9)(Rathmathullah, “Integrating the physical barrier 214 a in the structure of the housing 200 advantageously reduces the likelihood that the physical barrier 214 a would be detached from the rest of the housing 200 when the system is under stress, such as under a thermal runaway event.”, see [0023]), wherein the cover element covers the housing exit, the cover element forming a venting channel together with the outer side of the battery housing such that the venting gas stream exiting the housing exit (Rathmullah, “The release valve 150 a is generally configured to allow gases from inside the housing 200 a to escape to the outside environment 14 a when the environment inside the housing 200 a undergoes a relative pressure spike”, see [0027]) is received and guided by the venting channel along the outer side of the battery housing to a channel exit of the venting channel (Rahmathullah, “The valve assembly 100 has a valve body 110 defining an airflow pathway 12 between the enclosure 232 and the outside environment 14. In some embodiments the airflow pathway 12 allows constant gaseous communication between the enclosure 232 and the outside environment 14. In some embodiments the airflow pathway 12 defines selective communication between the enclosure and the outside environment 14. In various embodiments the enclosure 232 is isolated from the outside environment 14 except through the airflow pathway 12”, see [0021]) the channel exit being formed by the cover element, and wherein the venting channel comprises a rampart member protruding away from the channel exit and towards the outer side of the battery housing, the rampart member at least partially extending around a periphery of the channel exit (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 2,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the channel exit in the cover element is laterally offset with respect to the housing exit of the battery housing (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 3,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the rampart member is configured to partially extend around a periphery of the channel exit such that at least a portion of the venting gas stream coming from the housing exit is guided around or above the rampart member before reaching the channel exit (Rathmathullah, “ The valve body 110 a is configured to define an airflow pathway 12 a from the valve opening 210 a of the housing 200 a to the outside environment 14 a. The valve body 110 a defines a cavity 124 a, a first end 102 a, a second end 104 a, and a mating structure 116 a.”, see [0031]).
Regarding Claim 5,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the battery system further comprises a burst membrane covering the housing exit of the battery housing, and wherein the burst membrane is configured to burst when a pressure inside the battery housing reaches a burst pressure (Rathmathullah, “In the current example, the release valve 150 a has a film 140 a that is coupled to the valve body 110 a. Under normal pressure conditions, the film 140 a is generally, although not necessarily perfectly, planar. Upon a pressure spike within the housing 200 a above a threshold T, the pressure expands the film 140 a towards a puncturing member 115 a extending downwardly from the end cap 114 a until the puncturing member 115 a punctures the film 140 a”, see [0028]).
Regarding Claim 6,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 5, wherein the burst membrane is sealed directly to the battery housing (Rathmathullah, film, 140a, see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 6, wherein the burst membrane is self-adhesive (Rathmathullah, “ The film 140 a can be coupled to the mounting surface 122 a with adhesive disposed adjacent to its outer perimeter 142 a to form a seal between the film 140 a and the mounting surface 122 a”, see [0033])(The examiner interprets self-adhesive to mean that the film does not need tape or extra films based on [0041] of the instant application).
Regarding Claim 8,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 5, wherein the burst membrane is gas-permeable such that gas may transmit the burst membrane even when the pressure inside the battery housing is below the burst pressure (Rathmathullah, “ In the current example, the film 140 a can be a venting material that is generally configured allow gases to passively vent through the airflow pathway 12 a under normal pressure conditions.”, see [0030]).
Regarding Claim 9,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 5, wherein the burst membrane is configured to bulge outwardly when the pressure inside the battery housing reaches the burst pressure, and wherein the cover element comprises a burst pin arranged to pierce the burst membrane when it bulges outwardly (Rathmathullah, “In the current example, the release valve 150 a has a film 140 a that is coupled to the valve body 110 a. Under normal pressure conditions, the film 140 a is generally, although not necessarily perfectly, planar. Upon a pressure spike within the housing 200 a above a threshold T, the pressure expands the film 140 a towards a puncturing member 115 a extending downwardly from the end cap 114 a until the puncturing member 115 a punctures the film 140 a,”see [0028]).
Regarding Claim 10,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the cover element is sealed directly to the outer side of the battery housing (Rathmathullah, seal, 130a, see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 11,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the battery system further comprises a sealing member extending around a periphery of the channel exit at the outer side of the battery housing to seal the channel exit (Rathmathullah, second seal, 132c, see Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 13,
Rahmathullah teaches a cover element configured to be attached to an outer side of a battery housing (Rahmathullah,housing sidewall, 231, Fig. 9), the cover element configured to form a venting channel with the outer side of the battery housing for receiving and guiding a venting gas stream exiting a housing exit of the battery housing along the outer side of the battery housing towards a channel exit of the cover element venting channel (Rathmathullah, “Integrating the physical barrier 214 a in the structure of the housing 200 advantageously reduces the likelihood that the physical barrier 214 a would be detached from the rest of the housing 200 when the system is under stress, such as under a thermal runaway event.”, see [0023]), the channel exit beinq formed by the cover element (Rathmathullah, example system, 10, Fig. 1) , wherein the venting channel comprises a rampart member protruding away from the channel exit and towards the outer side of the battery housing, the rampart member at least partially extending around a periphery of the channel exit (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 14,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the rampart member is configured to partially extend around a periphery of the channel exit such that at least a portion of the venting gas stream coming from the housing exit is guided around and above the rampart member before reaching the channel exit (Rathmathullah, “ The valve body 110 a is configured to define an airflow pathway 12 a from the valve opening 210 a of the housing 200 a to the outside environment 14 a. The valve body 110 a defines a cavity 124 a, a first end 102 a, a second end 104 a, and a mating structure 116 a.”, see [0031]).
Regarding Claim 15,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the rampart member has an opening, and is configured to partially extend around a periphery of the channel exit such that at least a portion of the venting gas stream coming from the housing exit is guided around the rampart member through the opening before reaching the channel exit (Rathmathullah, “ The valve body 110 a is configured to define an airflow pathway 12 a from the valve opening 210 a of the housing 200 a to the outside environment 14 a. The valve body 110 a defines a cavity 124 a, a first end 102 a, a second end 104 a, and a mating structure 116 a.”, see [0031]).
Regarding Claim 16,
Rahmathullah teaches the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the battery housing has a guide channel configured to guide the venting gas stream from the one or more of the battery cells through the housing exit, and wherein the housing exit is arranged at an end of the guide channel to discharge the venting gas stream in a direction towards an area of the cover element spaced apart from the channel exit and the rampart member (see annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20210280941-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Rahmathullah’, in view of (US-20180138565-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’
Regarding Claim 4,
Rahmathullah does not teach wherein the battery system further comprises a cooling plate forming the outer side of the battery housing, the cooling plate facing the cover element.
Lee teaches wherein the battery system further comprises a cooling plate forming the outer side of the battery housing (Lee, cooling plate, 200, Fig. 3) , the cooling plate facing the cover element.
Lee teaches that the cooling plate allows for the protection of the battery cell from moisture and vibration and allows for improved cooling performance (Lee, “The cooling plate 200 may be placed below the cell assembly 100. Therefore, the cooling plate 200 may protect the cell assembly 100 from physical or chemical factors such as vibration or moisture”, see [0054]) (Lee, ‘’ In addition, since heat generated from each of the pouch-type secondary cells 110 is directly conducted to the cooling plate 200, cooling performance may be improved.”, see [0059])
Rahmathullah and Lee are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries and battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pack as taught in Rahmathullah with the cooling plate as taught in Lee in order to improve the cooling performance and protect the battery cell.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20210280941-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Rahmathullah’, in view of (US-20160093857-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘DeKeuster’
Regarding Claim 12,
Rahmathullah does not teach an electric vehicle comprising the battery system according to claim 1.
DeKeuster teaches an electric vehicle comprising the battery system (Dekeuster, “As technology continues to evolve, there is a need to provide improved power sources, particularly battery modules, for such vehicles. For example, battery modules may be subject to releases of pressurized gases from electrochemical cells to prevent issues related to accumulated pressure in certain types of batteries. It is now recognized that improved techniques for venting gases from lithium-ion batteries may be desirable to avoid issues associated with accumulation of gases and associated pressure.”, see [0008]).
Dekeuster teaches for electric vehicles in particular there is a need for gas release due to their wide adoption (Dekeuster, “As technology continues to evolve, there is a need to provide improved power sources, particularly battery modules, for such vehicles. For example, battery modules may be subject to releases of pressurized gases from electrochemical cells to prevent issues related to accumulated pressure in certain types of batteries. It is now recognized that improved techniques for venting gases from lithium-ion batteries may be desirable to avoid issues associated with accumulation of gases and associated pressure.”, see [0008]).
Rahmathullah and Dekeuster are analogous as they are both of the same field of gases releases for battery systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the battery system as taught in Rahmathullah to the vehicle as taught in DeKeuster in order to solve many of the gas related issues present in EV vehicles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered.
On pg. 8, of the applicants’ arguments, the applicant argues:
“Additionally, as can be seen in the Examiner-annotated FIG. 7 of Lomax provided at page 3 of the Office action (reproduced below), any alleged rampart member is formed by the outer surface of the enclosure 60 (alleged "battery housing"), and, as a result, protrudes in a direction away from an outer surface of any alleged battery housing, and not "towards the outer side of the battery housing" as now recited in claim 1, and as now similarly recited in claim 13.”
This is convincing. The examiner has added to the record (US-20210280941-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Rahmathullah’ and (US-20160093857-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘DeKeuster’, which teach a gas release which is orientated to the claims as written.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752