Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 10 December 2025.
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
The arguments in response to the drawing objection(s) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are found persuasive. The drawing objection(s) are withdrawn.
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are found moot in light of the new rejection below.
A new rejection is included in this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
A. "load transmission mechanism, " first introduced in claim 2:
the transfer load mechanism is configured to transmit the axial load acting on the outer propeller shaft to the bearing 48 and comprises the step portion 51and the rear stopper 52 on the outer peripheral side of the front-end-side portion of the outer propeller shaft 4; or an equivalent thereof (see FIG. 4).
B. “bearing support mechanism,” first introduced in claim 2:
the bearing support mechanism supports the first bearing and prevents the first bearing from being displaced in the front direction and may comprise a stopper 54 and a spacer 53, or an equivalent thereof (see FIG. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogino (JP H07323892), hereafter referred to as Ogino.
Examiner note: see tertiary Non-Patent Literature reference “What’s the Difference Between Bearings?” from machinedesign.com dated August 26, 2015, for evidence that tapered roller bearings have a higher thrust (synonymous with axial) load capacity than a straight roller bearing.
Regarding Claim 1, Ogino discloses the following:
An outboard motor for a contra-rotating propeller type, comprising:
an outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4) extending in a front-rear direction and having a tubular shape, to whose rear portion a first propeller (2; FIG. 1) is mounted;
an inner propeller shaft (5) extending in the front-rear direction and disposed at an inner peripheral side of the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4), to whose rear portion a second propeller (3) is mounted;
a rear driven gear (12) disposed at a rear side of a drive gear (29) coupled to a lower end side of a drive shaft (27) extending in an up-down direction, configured to mesh with the drive gear (29), and coupled to a front end side of the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4);
a front driven gear (11) disposed at a front side of the drive gear (29), configured to mesh with the drive gear (29), and coupled to a front end side of the inner propeller shaft (5); and
a case (4; FIG. 4) covering a front portion of the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4), a front portion of the inner propeller shaft (5), the drive gear (29), the rear driven gear (12), and the front driven gear (11),
wherein a first bearing (18) rotatably supporting the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4) on the case (4; FIG. 4) and configured to receive an axial load acting on the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4) in a front direction from the first bearing toward the rear driven gear (see [0056] last sentence) is provided at an outer peripheral side of the front portion of the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Ogino discloses the following:
The outboard motor according to claim 1,
wherein the first bearing (18) is disposed between the front portion of the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4) and the case (4; FIG. 4), wherein a load transmission mechanism (6b, FIG. 2) configured to transmit the axial load acting on the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4) in the front direction to the first bearing (18) is provided at the outer peripheral side of the front portion of the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4), and
wherein a bearing support mechanism (36; FIG. 2; [0056]) supporting the first bearing (18) so that the first bearing (18) is not displaced in the front direction with respect to the case (4; FIG. 4) is provided at the case (4; FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Ogino discloses the following:
The outboard motor according to claim 1,
wherein the first bearing (18) is disposed at an outer peripheral side of the rear driven gear (12) or at a rear side of the rear driven gear (12).
Regarding Claim 4, Ogino discloses the following:
The outboard motor according to claim 1,
wherein a second bearing (20) rotatably supporting the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4) on the case (4; FIG. 4) is provided at an outer peripheral side of the outer propeller shaft (6; FIG. 1-2, 4) and at a rear side of the first bearing (18).
Regarding Claim 5, Ogino discloses the following:
The outboard motor according to claim 4,
wherein the first bearing (18) has a larger load capacity (it is noted the first bearing is shown in FIG. 2 to be a tapered roller bearing explicitly described as receiving thrust front the outer shaft in [0056] while the second bearing is described as a needled bearing in [0034]; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the first bearing inherently has a higher load capacity in the axial direction) while the in an axial direction than the second bearing (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NPL, “Double Row Tapered Bearing - TDO Bearings _ American Roller Bearing - wayback capture 18 August 2019”, hereafter referred to as Double Row, and NPL, “Double-Row Tapered Roller Bearings - NSK Bearings for Metal Making - Wayback machine 25 Oct 2021,” hereafter referred to as NSK.
Regarding Claim 6, Ogino discloses the following:
The outboard motor according to claim 1,
Ogino does not disclose the following:
wherein the first bearing is disposed at a rear side of a third bearing so as to be adjacent to the third bearing, the third bearing rotatably supporting the rear driven gear on the case.
However Double Row and NSK teaches the following:
double row taper bearings are well known in the art (Page 1, Double Row; Page 2, NSK).
Ogino as modified by Double Row and NSK results in the following limitation(s):
wherein the first bearing (right side bearing of the double row tapered bearing) is disposed at a rear side of a third bearing (left side bearing of the double row tapered bearing) so as to be adjacent to the third bearing (left side bearing of the double row tapered bearing), the third bearing (left side bearing of the double row tapered bearing) rotatably supporting the rear driven gear (12) on the case (4; FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the single row taper bearing as disclosed by Ogino, with the double row taper bearing, as taught by Double Row, with the reasonable expectation of providing a bearing that can accommodate axial loads in both directions (see NSK, Page 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Ogino as modified by Double Row and NSK teaches the following:
The outboard motor according to claim 6,
wherein the third bearing (left side bearing of the double row tapered bearing) is configured to receive an axial load acting on the third bearing (left side bearing of the double row tapered bearing) in a rear direction from the rear driven gear (12).
Conclusion
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745