CTNF 18/081,420 CTNF 85226 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-18 and 20 in the reply filed on 1-6-26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not serious burden to search multiple species . This is not found persuasive because searching multiple species involves searching different subclasses and applying different prior art references . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. 08-05 AIA Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1-6-26 . Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “slitting a periphery portion the sheet” should read “slitting a periphery of the sheet” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the electrode material comprises made of only recycling material” should read “wherein the electrode material comprises only recycling material” or wherein the electrode material is made of only recycling material” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 4, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 4 and 8, the claim recites the limitation “a fibril type binder”. It’s not clear what’s included and excluded by the term “fibril type”. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 14 recites the limitation " the analysis method " in line 2 of the claim . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (English abstract of CN114434840) in view of Roh et al. (WO2021/165282) . Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a method for recycling a dry electrode film (abstract), the method comprising: Obtaining waste materials to be recycled by crushing waste electrodes; Preparing an electrode material comprising the collected recycling material; and manufacturing an electrode film using the electrode material (fig. 1, abstract, claim 1).’ Wang et al. does not teach collecting a recycling material that satisfy a preset powder flow index among the waste materials. However, Roh et al. teaches a method for preparing a positive electrode active material, said powderous positive electrode active material has a flow index of from 0.10 to 0.30 (see fig. 6, abstract, claim 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to collect a recycling material that satisfy a preset powder flow index among the waste materials since Roh et al. teaches that flowability is a result effective variable that affects the production rate or throughput or production rate of the electrode material (see page 2, line 7-page 3, line 18). Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. discloses wherein the method further comprises: Calendaring or pressurizing a new raw material to form a sheet; and Slitting a periphery portion of the sheet to produce an electrode film and a waste electrode, which is performed before pulverizing the waste electrode to obtain waste materials (abstract, claim 1, fig. 1). Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. discloses wherein the new raw material comprises an electrode active material, a conducive material, and a binder (para 43). Regarding claim 4 and 8, Wang et al. does not teach wherein the binder comprises a fibril type binder. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a fibril type binder since there’s no evidence that the shape of the binder produces unexpected results. Regarding claim 5 and 9, Wang et al. discloses wherein the binder is selected from those including PTFE, which are essentially made of PTFE, or that PTFE is not necessarily used (inherent since this claim limitation is broad and includes all binders). Regarding claim 6 and 10, Wang et al. discloses wherein the electrode active material, the conductive material, and the binder are mixed without a liquid medium or a dispersion medium (abstract). Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. discloses wherein the recycled waste material comprises an electrode active material, a conductive material, and a binder since the recycled waste material are made from dry blend powder which includes electrode active material, a conductive material, and a binder (see fig, 1, abstract, claim 1, para 43). Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. discloses wherein obtaining of waste materials to be recycled by pulverizing the waste electrode, the pulverization of the waste electrode is performed by using at least one selected from the group consisting of a roll mill, a ball mill, a jet mill, a planetary mill, and an attrition mill (para 50). Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. does not teach wherein in the obtaining of waste materials, the waste electrode is pulverized for a duration equal to or shorter than 40 minutes at a speed in a range of 1,000 to 6,000 rpm. However, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pulverization time and speed in order to optimize the size of the powder. Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. does not teach in the obtaining of waste materials, wherein the waste electrode is pulverized for 10 to 40 minutes at speed in a range of 1,000 to 6,000 rpm. However, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pulverization time and speed in order to optimize the size of the powder. Regarding claim 14, Roh et al. teaches wherein the powder flow index is measured under a condition in which an external force is in a range of 0 to 15 kPa according to the analysis method of ASTM D6128 (tables 2-10). Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. as modified does not teach wherein the preset powder flow index is in a range of “A±0.02” when the powder flow index value of the new raw material is measured as “A”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the preset powder flow index Roh et al. teaches that flowability is a result effective variable that affects the production rate or throughput or production rate of the electrode material (see page 2, line 7-page 3, line 18). Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. as modified does not teach wherein when the preset powder flow index is not satisfied after pulverizing the waste material, the recycling material is collected by measuring the powder flow index. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to collect the recycling material by measuring the powder flow index since Roh et al. teaches measuring the power flow index (see fig. 1 and section 1.3). Regarding claim 17, Wang et al. discloses wherein the manufacturing of an electrode film from the electrode material comprises: Calendaring or pressurizing the electrode material to form a sheet-shaped product; and manufacturing an electrode film by slitting a periphery portion of the sheet-shaped product (abstract, claim 1, fig. 1). Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. discloses wherein the electrode film has a thickness in a range of 50 to 800 micron (para 24, 69) and a density in a range of 10 to 60 mg/cm 2 (see para 118-123) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of Roh et al . as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (20220200075) . Regarding claim 18, Wang et al. does not teach wherein the electrode material comprises made of only recycling material. However, Lim et al. teaches a method for recycling electrode scarps, and method for manufacturing electrode by using the reusable particles alone without composition adjustment, or in combination with a same slurry as a slurry used to form the active material layer to fabricate another electrode (see claim 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use only the recycling material or a mix of new and recycling material since Lim et al. teaches that both can be used to form another electrode. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to XUE H LIU whose telephone number is (571)270-5522. The examiner can normally be reached 1PM - 10PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christina Johnson can be reached at 5702721176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /X.H.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/081,420 Page 2 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/081,420 Page 3 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/081,420 Page 4 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/081,420 Page 5 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/081,420 Page 6 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/081,420 Page 7 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/081,420 Page 8 Art Unit: 1742