DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed on 12/14/2022.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0365893 A1 and Kim hereinafter) in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0093187 A1 and Park hereinafter).
As to Claim 1, 19 and 20, Kim in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-11 disclose a computing system/method comprising:
at least one memory (410);
one or more hardware processing units (400) coupled to the at least one memory (see [0054] – [0055]); and
receiving temperature information for a plurality of battery racks (110), respective battery racks of the plurality of racks comprising a plurality of battery cells (unit cells included in the battery module 120) and being associated with one or more battery rack fans (P) (see [0066] – [0067] and [0075] – [0076]);
ranking at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks by comparing a first temperature parameter for a given battery rack of the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks with a second temperature parameter calculated from at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks, the second temperature parameter being determined at least in part from temperature information from a battery rack of the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks other than the given battery rack (see the flowchart of Fig.10: S1010-S1040 and Fig.11: S1110-S1140); and
setting at least a portion of the one or more battery rack fans to an active state based at least in part on the ranking (see Fig.10: S1050 and Fig.11: S1150)
Although a computing system is thought as shown above (see also [0107] – [0116]), it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
one or more computer readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the computing system to perform operations
Nonethless, Park in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-5 disclose that when implemented in at least partially in software, the BMSs, controllers, and other processing features may include, for example, a memory or other storage device for storing code or instructions to be executed, for example, by a computer, processor, microprocessor, controller, or other signal processing device. The computer, processor, microprocessor, controller, or other signal processing device may be those described herein or one in addition to the elements described herein (see [0092])
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant applications for one or more computer readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions as thought by Park within the teachings of Kim in order to perform a vast range of tasks/operations that provides functionality and automate processes.
As to Claim 2, Kim in view of Park disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the ranking comprises comparing an average temperature for a given battery rack of the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks with an average battery rack temperature calculated for the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks (see [0108] and [0113]).
As to Claim 3, Kim in view of Park disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the ranking comprises determining a range between a hottest cell of a given battery rack and a coldest cell of a given battery rack (checking the temperature information for each of plural battery groups – see the flowchart of Fig.10: S1010-S1040 and Fig.11: S1110-S1140).
As to Claim 4, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 3, wherein the ranking is determined at least in part based on a standard deviation of cell temperatures of a given battery rack and a battery racking having a greatest standard deviation of cell temperatures (see [0072]).
As to Claim 5, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, wherein the ranking comprises determining a difference between an average temperature for a given battery rack and a defined target battery cell temperature (checking the temperature information for each of plural battery groups – see the flowchart of Fig.10: S1010-S1040 and Fig.11: S1110-S1140 and see also [0072]).
As to Claim 6, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, wherein the ranking comprises two or more parameters selected from (1) comparing an average temperature for a given battery rack of the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks with an average battery rack temperature calculated for the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks, (2) determining a range between a hottest cell of a given battery rack and a coldest cell of a given battery rack, or (3) determining a difference between an average temperature for a given battery rack and a defined target battery cell temperature; the operations further comprising: calculating an overall ranking using a weighted combination of the two or more parameters (checking the temperature information for each of plural battery groups – see the flowchart of Fig.10: S1010-S1040 and Fig.11: S1110-S1140).
As to Claim 7, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 6, wherein the ranking comprises a weighted combination of parameters determined by: (1) comparing an average temperature for a given battery rack of the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks with an average battery rack temperature calculated for the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks (2) determining a range between a hottest cell of a given battery rack and a coldest cell of a given battery rack; and (3) determining a difference between an average temperature for a given battery rack and a defined target battery cell temperature (checking the temperature information for each of plural battery groups – see the flowchart of Fig.10: S1010-S1050 and Fig.11: S1110-S1150 and see also [0072]).
As to Claim 8, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, wherein the ranking comprises two or more parameters selected from (1) comparing an average temperature for a given battery rack of the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks with an average battery rack temperature calculated for the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks, (2) determining a range between a hottest cell of a given battery rack and a coldest cell of a given battery rack, or (3) determining a quotient at least in part of a standard deviation of cell temperatures of a given battery rack and a battery racking having a greatest standard deviation of cell temperatures, the operations further comprising: calculating an overall ranking using a weighted combination of the two or more parameters (checking the temperature information for each of plural battery groups – see the flowchart of Fig.10: S1010-S1050 and Fig.11: S1110-S1150 and see also [0072]).
As to Claim 9, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 8, wherein the ranking comprises a weighted combination of parameters determined by: (1) comparing an average temperature for a given battery rack of the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks with an average battery rack temperature calculated for the at least a portion of the plurality of battery racks (2) determining a range between a hottest cell of a given battery rack and a coldest cell of a given battery rack; and (3) determining a quotient at least in part of a standard deviation of cell temperatures of a given battery rack and a battery racking having a greatest standard deviation of cell temperatures (checking the temperature information for each of plural battery groups – see the flowchart of Fig.10: S1010-S1050 and Fig.11: S1110-S1150 and see also [0072]).
As to Claim 10, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery racks are located within an energy storage unit (1) comprising one or more HVAC (130) units (see [0063]).
As to Claim 11, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 10, wherein different sets of ranking algorithms are used for at least two operational modes of the one or more HVAC units, the at least two operational modes of the one or more HVAC units comprising a cooling mode, a heating mode, and an idling mode (see [0073] – [0074]).
As to Claim 12, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, wherein the ranking and the setting are performed according to a defined interval (see [0083]).
As to Claim 13, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, wherein, for battery rack fans of the one or more battery of rack fans switching between an ON state and OFF state or between an OFF state and an ON state, applying a fan delay period to a corresponding battery rack, wherein, at least absent an override condition, battery rack fan states are not switched until an expiration of the fan delay period (see [0100] – [0106]).
As to Claim 14, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, wherein the at least a second temperature parameter is adjusted by a defined dead band value (see [0100] – [0106]).
As to Claim 15, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, the operations further comprising: measuring at least one battery cell temperature of at least one battery cell of a battery rack of the plurality of battery racks; determining a temperature based at least in part on the at least one battery cell temperature; comparing the temperature with a threshold; determining that the temperature exceeds the threshold; and based at least in part on the determining that the temperature exceeds the threshold, overriding an operational state of at least one HVAC unit in fluid communication with the plurality of battery racks (see [0063] and [0073] – [0074]).
As to Claim 16, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 15, wherein the temperature is calculated as an average cell temperature of measured cell temperature of battery cells of the plurality of battery racks (see [0100] – [0106]).
As to Claim 17, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 1, the operations further comprising: measuring at least one battery cell temperature of at least one battery cell of a battery rack of the plurality of battery racks; determining a temperature based at least in part on the at least one battery cell temperature; and adjusting a heating or cooling setpoint of at least one HVAC unit in fluid communication with the plurality of battery racks based at least in part on the temperature (see [0073] – [0074]).
As to Claim 18, Kim in view of Park the computing system of claim 17, wherein the temperature is calculated as an average cell temperature of measured cell temperature of battery cells of the plurality of battery racks (see [0073] – [0074] and [0100] – [0106]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 10,998,587 B2: An electric vehicle may include a battery system with a plurality of battery packs electrically connected together. Each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs may include a plurality of battery cells. The electric vehicle may also include a cooling system configured to cool the plurality of battery packs. The electric vehicle may further include a control system configured to selectively operate the cooling system such that at least one battery pack of the plurality of battery packs is maintained at a temperature different from another battery pack of the plurality of battery packs – see [Abstract]).
/GABRIEL AGARED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846