DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uehara (PG Pub 20200018794).
Considering claim , Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches a piezoelectric system comprising: a piezoelectric resonator comprising a piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0031) and a pair of electrodes (11 + 12 + paragraph 0076) configured to transmit signals emitted by the piezoelectric element and generated by a mechanical deformation of the piezoelectric element (paragraphs 0025-0026); a detector (30 + paragraph 0027) configured to detect at least two signals of the signals generated by the deformation of the piezoelectric element, the at least two signals being detected at different instants (paragraph 0043); a control unit (50 + paragraph 0032) configured to compared the at least two signals and, on the basis of the comparison, determine a compares active impedance value as a function of a predetermined law; and an active impedance unit (80 + paragraph 0026) configured to generate an active impedance based on the complex active impedance value determined by the control unit, the active impedance being connected to the pair of electrodes (paragraph 0041), wherein the active impedance comprises a capacitance of negative value, an absolute value of the capacitance of negative value being less than an absolute value of an intrinsic capacitance Cp of the piezoelectric element (CA1 + paragraph 0074 + It has been held that where the structure recited in a reference is the same as the claimed structure, claimed properties and functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433)).
Considering claim 2, Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches wherein the system comprises a memory unit (60 + paragraph 0030) configured to save the at least two signals.
Considering claim 3, Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches wherein the active impedance comprises a resistance (RA4 + paragraph 0074) and/or an inductance and/or a capacitance.
Considering claim 5, Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches wherein the active impedance unit comprises an operational amplifier (74 + paragraph 0050).
Considering claim 6, Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches wherein the control unit (50 + paragraph 0032) is configured to increase a capacitance value of the active impedance when a first signal of the at least two signals is greater thana second signal of the at least two signals, and reduced a capacitance value of the impedance when the first signal is less than the second signals, wherein the first signal is detected at a first instant and the second signal is detected at a second instant, the first instant preceding the second instant (paragraph 0074).
Considering claim 7, Uehara teaches wherein the detector is configured to wait for a predetermined time between the detection of the first signal and the detection of the second signal (paragraphs 0043-0045).
Considering claim 8, Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches an adjustment method for adjusting piezoelectric signals of a piezoelectric resonator comprising a piezoelectric element (10 + paragraph 0031) and a pair of electrodes (11 + 12 + paragraph 0076) configured to transmit piezoelectric signals emitted by the piezoelectric element and generated by a mechanical deformation of the piezoelectric element, the method comprising: detecting a first signal of the piezoelectric signals emitted (30 + paragraphs 0043-0045) by the piezoelectric element at an instant t; detecting a second signal of the piezoelectric signals emitted by the piezoelectric element at an instant t +1, t being different from t + 1 (30 + paragraphs 0043-0045); comparing the first signal and the second signal (paragraphs 0043-0045); determining a complex active impedance value on the basis of the comparison (92 + paragraph 0043) and as a function of a predetermined law and generating an active impedance connected to the pair of electrodes, the active impedance being based on the complex active impedance value ((80 + paragraph 0026), the active impedance comprising a capacitance of negative value, an absolute value of the capacitance of negative value being less than an absolute value of an intrinsic capacitance Cp of the piezoelectric element (CA1 + paragraph 0074 + It has been held that where the structure recited in a reference is the same as the claimed structure, claimed properties and functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433)).
Considering claim 9, Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches wherein the method is repeated successively several times and each time the method is repeated, the first signal becomes the second signal (paragraphs 0043-0045 + limitation is the goal of the invention).
Considering claim 10, Uehara (Figures 2 + 9) teaches wherein the method is repeated at least three times and the first signal the second signal and a third signal are detected successively, the method comprising: stopping the method for a predetermined period when the initial signal is substantially equal to the third signal (paragraphs 0043-0045 + limitation is the goal of the invention).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the applicant’s that Uehara does not teach the active impedance comprises a capacitance of negative value, an absolute value of the capacitance of negative value being less than an absolute value of an intrinsic capacitance Cp of the piezoelectric element the examiner argues that the limitation is just a functional limitation since the active impedance is claimed as “configured to”. Therefore, it the limitation has not been given patentable weight.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837