DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 09/03/2026, are accepted and do not introduce new matter.
Previous 112(b) rejection of claim 3 has been overcome by amendment.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (CN 210490168 U) in view of Ward (GB 2277871 A). Note: References of Cheng made in parenthesis are referencing the English copy that was previously provided by Examiner herewith; References of Wang made in parenthesis are referencing the copy provided by Examiner herewith.
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a movable cabinet (box 1, the box has a hanging part 7 used to hang the box at high places. As such it is considered movable), comprising:
a concrete main body (the body of the box is formed integral with a reinforcing net 2 in which concrete is poured into, see highlighted section of the translation provided by Examiner) comprising a plurality of walls (walls seen in Fig 1, which show the box having 5 walls, plus one door - not shown) forming an accommodating space (opening 4);
a flame retardant material layer (layer 3, wherein layer 3 is disclosed as a gypsum board that when exposed to a fire releases water vapor that extinguishes a flame, see highlighted section of the translation provided by Examiner; furthermore, Applicant’s specification discloses the flame retardant material layer as a ceramic fiber board – Par 037, wherein a gypsum board is a type of ceramic fiber board because it is made out of calcium sulfate, which is an inorganic salt, i.e. a ceramic) disposed on one or more inner surfaces of the plurality of walls in the accommodating space (as seen in Fig 1), wherein the accommodating space is configured to accommodate at least one battery system (as disclosed in the highlighted section of the translation provided by Examiner, the box 1 is used to safely store electronic components/instruments; it is known that these contain batteries of sorts. Nonetheless, Examiner notes that the material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims, as determined in MPEP 2115; therefore, the type of article the cabinet stores does not carry patentable weight over the cabinet and the apparatus of Cheng is deemed capable of storing battery systems in its accommodating space), and the flame retardant material layer is exposed to the accommodating space (as seen in Fig 1, the flame retardant material layer 3 is exposed to the accommodating space 4); and
an adhesive layer disposed between the concrete main body and the flame retardant material layer (adhesive layer disclosed in the highlighted section of the translation provided by Examiner, where it specifies that the flame retardant material layer 3 is fixed to the inner wall of box 1 with an adhesive, i.e. the adhesive layer is between 3 and 1), wherein the adhesive layer directly contacts the plurality of walls of the concrete main body and the flame retardant material layer (the adhesive is used to fix the flame retardant layer 3 to the walls of the concrete box 1, as such it is in direct contact with both 1 and 3).
However, Cheng does not teach the adhesive layer being a flame retardant adhesive layer; wherein chemical bonding is formed between the concrete main body and the flame retardant material layer through the flame retardant adhesive layer.
Ward teaches a fire resistant container that includes a fire retardant adhesive layer (intumescent adhesive layer 13, wherein intumescent materials are well-known fire retardants) in between a main body (14) and a material layer (12) (as seen in Fig 3), wherein chemical bonding is formed between the main body and the material layer through the flame retardant adhesive layer (the layer 13 is disclosed as both an adhesive layer and an intumescent layer; as such, by way of the adhesive properties there is chemical bonding between surrounding layers in order to bond the layers as intended; moreover, after exposure to fire, the intumescent material properties would expand and then harden, thus making another form of bonding. Examiner notes that the claim does not specify when the chemical bonding occurs or how, i.e. this limitation is broad)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Ward to provide a flame retardant adhesive layer in between the main body and the flame retardant material layer since the intumescent properties of the adhesive layer would ensure that any gaps are sealed by way of expansion, thus preventing flames from entering the inner space of the cabinet and further protecting the contents within the cabinet (as disclosed in page 5, par 3 of Ward). As stated above, Cheng already discloses the concrete main body and the flame retardant material layer being bonded together by an adhesive. Therefore, in combination, the flame retardant adhesive layer (13) of Ward would be placed in between the concrete main body and the flame retardant material layer of Cheng, thus reading on claim language.
Regarding claim 2, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, wherein the concrete main body and the flame retardant material layer as a whole are configured to withstand a flame having a temperature equaling or exceeding 600°C (Cheng teaches a device with the same structure and materials, as claimed in claim 1: a concrete main body and a flame retardant material layer in the form of gypsum board, i.e. a ceramic fiber board; as such they are deemed capable of performing the function of withstand a flame having a temperature equaling or exceeding 600°C).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, wherein the concrete main body is formed of an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) (as disclosed in the highlighted section of Cheng provided by Examiner, the concrete is ultra-high performance concrete).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 3, wherein the flame retardant material layer comprises a ceramic fiber board, a ceramic fiber blanket, a refractory clay, a thermally insulative refractory brick, or a combination thereof (layer 3 of Cheng is disclosed as a gypsum board, wherein a gypsum board is a type of ceramic fiber board because it is made out of calcium sulfate, which is an inorganic salt, i.e. a ceramic; wherein gypsum boards include a mixture of gypsum and cellulose fibers), and the movable cabinet is free of a metal plate, a reinforcement cage, a reinforcement assembly formed from a plurality of stirrups, or a combination thereof (Cheng does not disclose the movable cabinet including a plurality of stirrups).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, wherein the concrete main body has a thermal conductivity from about 1.6 W/m-K to about 1.8 W/m-K (Examiner notes that thermal conductivity is a mechanical characteristic that depends on the type of concrete; wherein Cheng teaches all of the claimed structural features of the concrete, as such it is deemed capable of having these characteristics; Examiner notes that claims 1 and 6 are silent with respect to any specifics regarding the composition of the concrete body, as such it is broadly claimed). However, Cheng and Ward do not teach the cabinet wherein the concrete main body having a unit structural weight from about 2300 kg/m3 to about 2700 kg/m3.
Regarding the concrete main body having a unit structural weight from about 2300 kg/m3 to about 2700 kg/m3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any suitable range of structural weight for the concrete body, including 2300 kg/m3 to 2700 kg/m3, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. As it was determined in In re Aller: "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). In the present case, Cheng discloses all the general structure of the claimed concrete body. Therefore, it would be obvious to find an optimal or workable range of structural weight for the concrete body. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for having the claimed structural weight. Finally, changes in structural weight affect the ultimate mechanical characteristics of the resulting concrete such as compression and tension ratings, i.e. these ratios are result-effective variables. Therefore, it would be obvious to try (see KSR MPEP 2141 III) different structural weights to meet any desired mechanical characteristics of the concrete body, based on intended use of the cabinet.
Regarding claim 8, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, wherein the concrete main body is integrally formed (as seen in Fig 1 of Cheng, the concrete body of box 1 is made by pouring concrete into a net 2, thus being integrally formed, as disclosed in the highlighted section in the translation provided by Examiner) (Furthermore, regarding the concrete body being integrally formed, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). Therefore, the process of making the concrete body does not have any patentable weight, since Cheng teaches all the structure of the concrete body).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, further comprising a hanger (hanging part 7) component locked to the concrete main body (as seen in Fig 5 of Chen, the main body comprises a hanging part 7).
Claims 5, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (CN 210490168 U) in view of Ward (GB 2277871 A); further in view of Orange et al (U.S. 2003/0150364).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, wherein the concrete main body has a compressive strength of exceeding 120 MPa, and the concrete main body has a maximum bending strength of exceeding 15 MPa (Cheng discloses the concrete being ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC), wherein UHPC is known to have a compressive strength greater than 120 MPa and flexural strength, i.e. a maximum bending strength, greater than 20 MPa. Moreover, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations regarding the concrete, as such it is deemed capable of reaching the claimed characteristics). However, Cheng and Ward do not explicitly teach the device wherein the concrete main body comprises from 120 kg/m3 to 180 kg/m3 of a silica fume and from 30 kg/m3 to 150 kg/m3 of quartz powder.
Orange teaches a fire-resistant ultra-high performance concrete composition (see abstract) comprising silica fume (Par 0128) and quartz powder (Par 0127), the concrete main body has a compressive strength of exceeding 120 MPa (Par 0026 discloses a compressive strength of at least 120MPa, i.e. 120Mpa or more, see Par 0119 which discloses 150MPa), and the concrete main body has a maximum bending strength of exceeding 15 MPa (Par 0026 and 0119 disclose a bending strength of at least 20MPa).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Orange to provide the concrete as ultra-high performance concrete as taught by Orange due to its improved fire resistance combined with controllable rheology and high mechanical properties (as taught by Par 0001 of Orange).
Regarding the concrete main body comprising from 120 kg/m3 to 180 kg/m3 of a silica fume and from 30 kg/m3 to 150 kg/m3 of quartz powder, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any suitable ratio of silica fume and quartz powder concentration, including the claimed ratios, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. As it was determined in In re Aller: "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). In the present case, Cheng and Orange disclose all the general structure of the claimed concrete body. Therefore, it would be obvious to find an optimal or workable ratios of silica fume and quartz powder concentration. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for having the claimed ratios. Finally, changes in ratio of silica fume and quartz powder concentration affect the ultimate mechanical characteristics of the resulting concrete, i.e. these ratios are result-effective variables. Therefore, it would be obvious to try (see KSR MPEP 2141 III) different ratios to meet any desired mechanical characteristics, based on intended use of the concrete.
Regarding claim 7, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1. However, they do not teach the device wherein the concrete main body comprises from about 30 kg/m3 to about 60 kg/m3 of a synthetic fiber, each of the plurality of walls has a thickness of equal to or less than about 5cm, and the flame retardant material layer has a thickness of equal to or less than about 5cm.
Orange teaches a fire-resistant ultra-high performance concrete composition (see abstract) comprising synthetic fibers (metal fibers disclosed in Pars 0022-0026, such as steel fibers Par 053, which is a synthetic fiber).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Orange to provide the concrete as ultra-high performance concrete as taught by Orange due to its improved fire resistance combined with controllable rheology and high mechanical properties (as taught by Par 0001 of Orange).
Regarding the concrete main body comprising from about 30 kg/m3 to about 60 kg/m3 of a synthetic fiber, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any suitable ratio of synthetic fiber concentration, including the claimed ratio, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. As it was determined in In re Aller: "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). In the present case, Cheng and Orange discloses all the general structure of the claimed concrete body. Therefore, it would be obvious to find an optimal or workable ratio synthetic fiber concentration. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for having the claimed ratio. Finally, changes in ratio of synthetic fiber concentration affect the ultimate mechanical characteristics of the resulting concrete, i.e. this ratio is a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would be obvious to try (see KSR MPEP 2141 III) different ratios to meet any desired mechanical characteristics, based on intended use of the concrete.
Regarding each of the plurality of walls having a thickness of equal to or less than about 5cm, and the flame retardant material layer has a thickness of equal to or less than about 5cm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any suitable thickness of the walls and layer, including the claimed thickness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. As it was determined in In re Aller: "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). In the present case, Cheng and Orange disclose all the general structure of the claimed concrete body and the flame retardant layer. Therefore, it would be obvious to find an optimal or workable thickness for the walls and layer. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for having the claimed thicknesses of each of these structures. Finally, changes in thickness of the concrete wall and the flame retardant layer affect the ultimate protective characteristics of the resulting cabinet, i.e. these thicknesses are result-effective variables. Therefore, it would be obvious to try (see KSR MPEP 2141 III) different wall and layer thickness to meet any desired protective characteristics, based on the type of object the cabinet is intended store.
Regarding claim 13, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1. However, they do not teach the device wherein the concrete main body comprises a silica fume, quartz powder, a synthetic fiber, or a combination thereof.
Orange teaches a fire-resistant ultra-high performance concrete composition (see abstract) comprising silica fume (Par 0128) and quartz powder (Par 0127).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Orange to provide the concrete body as ultra-high performance concrete as taught by Orange due to its improved fire resistance combined with controllable rheology and high mechanical properties (as taught by Par 0001 of Orange).
Claims 9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (CN 210490168 U) in view of Ward (GB 2277871 A); further in view of Schaefer (U.S. 2014/0054196).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1. However, they do not teach the device wherein the concrete main body further comprises a separation wall to separate the accommodating space into a plurality of sub-spaces, and the flame retardant material layer is disposed on two opposite surfaces of the separation wall.
Schaefer teaches a cabinet (104) for storing and protecting batteries from a fire (see Par 0003), wherein the cabinet has separation walls (seen in Fig 4) and wherein a protective layer (142) is disposed on both sides of the separation walls (as seen in Fig 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng and Ward to incorporate the teachings of Schaefer to provide protection of separate electronic components and their battery systems and to protect each one from all directions (as disclosed in Par 0150 of Schaefer).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, wherein the at least one battery system comprises a plurality of battery packs each comprising a plurality of battery modules (Examiner notes that the material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims, as determined in MPEP 2115; therefore, the type of article the cabinet stores does not carry patentable weight over the cabinet and the apparatus of Cheng is deemed capable of storing battery packs in its accommodating space). However they do not teach the device wherein at least one battery system is locked to an inner surface of at least one of the plurality of walls of the concrete main body.
Schaefer teaches a cabinet (105) for storing a plurality of battery systems (battery packs 201) separated by a partition wall (207) and for protecting them from a fire (see Par 0003 and 0165), wherein at least one battery system is locked to an inner surface of at least one of a plurality of walls of a main body (as seen in Fig 5, the battery packs 201 are locked to the inner surface of base wall 208 via a hood 206 and fasteners 209).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Schaefer to lock at least one of the battery system to a wall of the cabinet in order to minimize displaceability when the cabinet is moved (as disclosed at least in Par 0054 of Schaefer).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng, Ward and Schaefer teach the movable cabinet of Claim 14, wherein the at least one battery system is locked to the inner surface of at least one of the plurality of walls of the concrete main body through a locking mechanism (defined by fasteners 209 of Schaefer), and the locking mechanism is further locked to the flame retardant material layer (In combination, the lock mechanism of Schaefer would attach to the walls of box 1 of Cheng such that it closes the opening 4 and thus be locked to the flame retardant material layer 3, as can be appreciated in Fig 1 of Cheng).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (CN 210490168 U) in view of Ward (GB 2277871 A); further in view of Orange et al (U.S. 2003/0150364) and Cleveland et al (U.S. 2003/0141794).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, further comprising a door pivotally connected to a lateral edge of an opening of the concrete main body (as disclosed in the highlighted section in the translation provided by Examiner, a door is held by hinge 5 to close the opening 4). However, Cheng and Ward do not teach the door comprising a concrete layer, the concrete layer comprises a silica fume, quartz powder, a synthetic fiber, or a combination thereof, and the flame retardant material layer is further disposed on the concrete layer of the door.
Orange teaches a fire-resistant ultra-high performance concrete composition (see abstract) comprising silica fume (Par 0128) and quartz powder (Par 0127).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Orange to provide the door with concrete comprising silica fume and quartz powder as taught by Orange due to its improved fire resistance combined with controllable rheology and high mechanical properties (as taught by Par 0001 of Orange).
Cleveland teaches a fire-resistant cabinet comprising a pivoting door (14) wherein a flame retardant material layer (38c) is disposed on a layer of the door (as seen in Fig 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Cleveland to provide the door with a layer of flame retardant composition in order to protect all inner surfaces of the cabinet (as disclosed in Cleveland Par 0015-16). This would assure the battery system of Cheng is completely surrounded by the flame retardant layer.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (CN 210490168 U) in view of Ward (GB 2277871 A); further in view of Bowersock et al (U.S. 2017/0098806).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng and Ward teach the movable cabinet of Claim 1, wherein the flame retardant material layer comprises a ceramic fiber board, a ceramic fiber blanket, a thermally insulative refractory brick, or a combination thereof (layer 3 of Cheng is disclosed as a gypsum board, wherein a gypsum board is a type of ceramic fiber board because it is made out of calcium sulfate, which is an inorganic salt, i.e. a ceramic; wherein gypsum boards include a mixture of gypsum and cellulose fibers). However, they do not teach the flame retardant adhesive layer comprising a refractory clay.
Bowersock teaches passive insulation materials wherein refractory clays, such as kaolin, are used as binders, i.e. adhesives (see Par 0057).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng and Ward to incorporate the teachings of Bowersock to provide refractory clay in the flame retardant adhesive layer, since this material contains water, which at elevated temperature volatizes off in an endothermic manner (as disclosed in Par 0057 of Bowersock), thus providing further protection to the cabinet and its contents in the event of a fire.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendments filed on 09/03/2026 have resulted in the new grounds of rejection found above.
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/JUAN C BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752