DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 1 recites “medium-low-temperature”, the term “medium-low-temperature” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “medium-low-temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of what can be considered as “medium-low-temperature”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Next, claim 1 recites “high-temperature”, the term “high-temperature” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term ““high-temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of what can be considered as “high temperature”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thirdly, claim 1 (D) recites “the atmosphere”, one of ordinary skill in the art is uncertain whether such recited “the atmosphere” referring back to either (B) and/or (C) recited nitrogen atmosphere or referring to a different atmosphere, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of such claimed “the atmosphere”. Fourthly, claim 1 recites “high-purity aluminum nitride”, the term “high-purity aluminum nitride” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of what can be considered as “high-purity aluminum nitride”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. All claim 1’s depending claims are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN106187203) (For applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been used hereof for citations) in view of UNIV SICHUAN (CN111470481) (For applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been used hereof for citations) and Muneoka (US20130171451).
Hu et al teaches a process of producing aluminum powder comprising: (a) evenly mixing aluminum (metal) powder and carbon powder in an inert gas, and then heating and reacting to generate a powdered aluminum carbide intermediate product, wherein
the reaction temperature is set to 600°C-1300°C, and the reaction time is set to 1h-8h;
(b) placing the intermediate product aluminum carbide in a nitrogen source (ammonia gas) and then heating the reaction to obtain the desired aluminum nitride powder, wherein the reaction temperature is set at 600°C to 1300°C and the reaction time is set at 1h to 10h, so that nitrogen can penetrate into the interior of the intermediate product aluminum carbide to eventually generate the desired aluminum nitride (claim 1, para. [0009]-[0010], [0035], examples, Fig. 1, 3-4).
Regarding claim 1, Hu et al. does not expressly teach the inert gas in step (a) including nitrogen, or decarbonizing aluminum nitride powder.
However, since Hu et al expressly teaches inert gas can be argon and nitrogen atmosphere used to obtain desired aluminum nitride powder.
UNIV SICHUAN teaches argon, nitrogen and helium are well-known inert gas for protecting aluminum nitride material.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine nitrogen as shown by UNIV SICHUAN into Hu et al. disclosed inert gas atmosphere because combining such known inert elements of nitrogen and argon for providing a protective atmosphere would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine such argon and nitrogen reacting atmosphere as shown by Hu et al. for help producing desired aluminum nitride because selection of any order of adding ingredients or prior art process steps is prima facie obvious (See MPEP § 2144.04 IV).
Since Hu et al. already teaches a process making aluminum nitride from aluminum metal powder, therefore, producing an aluminum nitride based on aluminum metal powder is expected. Hu et al. in view of UNIV SICHUAN teaches a substantially the same reacting aluminum metal powder and carbon powder in a substantially the same atmosphere containing nitrogen, therefore, substantially the same forming partially nitrided aluminum nitride is expected. Hu et al also teaches/suggests a same or substantially the same reacting partially nitrided aluminum nitride in the presence of same or substantially the same nitrogen atmosphere, therefore, same or substantially the same removing intermediate aluminum carbide phase and form a fully nitrided aluminum nitride powder as that of instantly claimed is expected.
Muneoka teaches using a decarbonizing step to remove excess carbon powder from the obtained aluminum nitride powder product in an oxidizing atmosphere under temperature usually 500 to 900 °C, preferably, 600 to 750°C, specifically 700°C for 12 hours (para. [0053], [0054], [0074]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such decarbonizing step as shown by Muneoka to modify the aluminum nitride producing step of Hu et al. because by doing so can help remove excess carbon powder (original reactant) from the obtained aluminum nitride thus obtain a final product with high purity level as suggested by Muneoka (para. [0053]). Furthermore, adopting such well-known decarbonizing technique for help to improve a known alumium nitride product for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 2, Hu et al. further teaches the average particle size of the added aluminum powder is less than 15 microns and its purity is greater than 98% (claim 2), specifically, the average particle size of the aluminum powder is 12 microns and the purity is 99% (para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 3, Hu et al. further teaches the carbon powder having an average particle size of less than 30 microns and its purity is greater than 99% (claim 3, para . [0014]). Hu et al does not expressly teach carbon powder being selected from graphite, carbon black and activated carbon or having a BET specific surface area of 0.1-500 m2/g.
Muneoka further teaches carbon powder used for producing aluminum nitride can be carbon black, graphite and carbon powder having a BET specific surface area of 0.1-500 m2/g (para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known graphite powder or carbon black powder with a BET specific surface area of 0.1-500 m2/g to practice the carbo powder of Hu et al. because adopting such known technique of carbon black or graphite powder with such BET specific area to a known method of making aluminum nitride for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 4, Hu et al further teaches mixing aluminum powder and carbon powder evenly (para. [0035], examples) since no solvent or liquid being used, therefore, Hu suggests a dry mixing.
Regarding claim 5, Hu et al. further teaches the mixing mass ratio between carbon powder to aluminum powder being 2.25-3:1-2, specifically aluminum to carbon weight ratio being about 1.1:1, wherein such ratio close enough to that of instantly claimed range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP § 2144.05 I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a same weight ratio of aluminum powder to carbon powder as that of instantly claimed via routine experimentation (See MPEP § 2144.05 II) for help obtaining a desired aluminum nitride product.
Regarding claim 6-7 and 9-10, Hu et al already teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 8, Hu et al teaches reaction temperature in step (b) is set at 600°C to 1500°C and the reaction time is set at 1h to 10h (claim 5-6, para. [0010], [0016]-[0018], examples).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8 of co-pending application 18/531,729 in view of Hu et al. (CN106187203) and UNIV SICHUAN (CN111470481). Co-pending application’729 teaches a substantially the same method of forming aluminum nitride, except heating a mixed aluminum (metal) powder and carbon powder in a nitrogen atmosphere under medium low temperature obtaining partially nitrided aluminum nitride with aluminum carbide intermediate. Hu et al in view of UNIV SICHUAN teaches such limitations. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known technique of heating a mixed aluminum (metal) powder and carbon powder in a nitrogen atmosphere obtaining partially nitrided aluminum nitride with aluminum carbide intermediate of Hu et al. view of UNIV SICHUAN because adopting such known technique to a known method of making aluminum nitride for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732