DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 09/18/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18-20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonelli et al. (US 6,235,297, May 22, 2001) in view of Nijakowski (US 2016/0089323, Mar. 31, 2016) and Ueda et al. (JP 2022147656 A, Oct. 6, 2022).
Antonelli et al. disclose a cosmetic composition (abstract). The composition may be a water and oil emulsion lotion (col. 2, line 36). The water and oil emulsion may be an oil-in-water emulsion (col. 2, line 41). The water and oil emulsion may be in the form of a foundation makeup composition (col. 10, lines 54-55). The foundation makeup composition may contain 0.1-70% pigments, powders, or mixtures thereof, having particle sizes of 0.02 to 100 microns (col. 11, lines 2-6). Examples of powders include spherical silica (col. 11, line 10). The oil-in-water emulsion may comprise 20-70% water (col. 10, line 44) and 0.1-99% oil (col. 2, lines 43-44). Typically, skin care emulsions will contain ingredients which enhance the aesthetics of the formula, such as thickeners, sunscreens, sun blocks, and antioxidants (col. 2, lines 50-53).
Antonelli et al. differ from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises lauroyl lysine, nicinamide, and polyacrylate crosspolymer-6.
However, Nijakowski discloses a skin smoothing composition (abstract). The composition may be in the form of an oil-in-water emulsion (claim 14). The composition can comprise a pigment powder component (¶ [0048]). Commercially available pigment powder components include lauroyl lysine: Amihope LL available from Ajinomoto (¶ [0050]). The composition may comprise niacinamide as a skin care active (claim 11). Niacinamide helps repair and rejuvenate skin over time (¶ [0002]). The composition may comprise 0.5% niacinamide (Table 1). The composition may comprise SepiMAX Zen (INCI: polyacrylate crosspolymer-6) as a thickening agent (¶ [0039]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. The composition of Antonelli et al. comprises pigments. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated lauroyl lysine, such as Amihope LL, into the composition of Antonelli et al. since it is a known and effective pigment for cosmetic compositions as taught by Nijakowski.
Antonelli et al. disclose wherein the composition comprises ingredients which enhance the aesthetics of the formula. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated 0.5% niacinamide into the composition of Antonelli et al. since it is an ingredient which will enhance the aesthetics of the formula since it helps repair and rejuvenate the skin over time as taught by Nijakowski.
Antonelli et al. disclose wherein the composition comprises a thickener. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated SepiMAX Zen into the composition of Antonelli et al. since it is a known and effective thickener as taught by Nijakowski.
The combined teachings of Antonelli et al. and Nijakowski do not teach wherein the spherical silica has an oil absorption of from about 1 ml/100g to about 50 ml/100g.
However, Ueda et al. disclose an oil in water emulsified cosmetic comprising a hydrophilic spherical silica powder (abstract). The oil absorption of the hydrophilic spherical silica powder is not particularly limited, but is preferably 10 ml/100 g or more and 500 ml/100 g or less (page 2 of 8 of translation).
Antonelli et al. disclose wherein the composition comprises spherical silica, but does not disclose its physical properties. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the spherical silica of Antonelli et al. to have an oil absorption of 10 ml/100 g or more and 500 ml/100 g or less since this is a known and effective physical property for spherical silicas used in oil-in-water cosmetics as taught by Ueda et al.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting wherein the lauroyl lysine has a flat polygonal shape and a mean particle size of from about 20 microns to about 30 microns, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated Amihope LL into the composition of Antonelli et al. As noted by the instant specification on page 7, lines 17-20, Amihope LL has a flat hexagonal shape and a mean particle size of 20-30 microns. Therefore, since it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated Amihope LL into the composition of Antonelli et al., a composition comprising lauroyl lysine having a flat polygonal shape and a mean particle size of from about 20 microns to about 30 microns would have been obvious.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting a particle size ratio between the silica and the lauroyl lysine of from about 1:2 to about 1:20, as discussed above, Antonelli et al. discloses a particle size of 0.02 to 100 microns and it would have been obvious to have incorporated Amihope LL (mean particle size of 20-30 microns) into the composition of Antonelli et al. The claimed particle size ratios would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by one selecting a particle size of silica and a particle size of Amihope LL from these ranges and arriving at a ratio that overlaps with the claimed ratios. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting wherein the composition is free of cellulose powder and microplastic solid particulates, as shown in Example 4 of Antonelli et al., the composition does not have cellulose powder and microplastic solid particulates.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting 0% cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol, as shown in Example 4 of Antonelli et al., the composition does not have cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting about 0.1% to about 3.0% polyacrylate crosspolymer-6, Nijakowski discloses wherein SepiMAX ZEN (INCI: polyacrylate crosspolymer-6) is a thickener. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed amount of polyacrylate crosspolymer-6 through routine experimentation depending on the thickness of the composition desired. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to instant claims 18-20, as shown in Example 4 of Antonelli et al., the composition does not comprise shea butter and behenyl alcohol, thus meeting the limitation of a composition comprising up to about, 0.5%, 0.3%, and 0.1%, which includes 0%.
In regards to instant claim 28 reciting about 2% niacinamide, Nijakowski discloses wherein niacinamide helps repair and rejuvenate skin over time. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed amount niacinamide through routine experimentation depending on the level of skin repair and skin rejuvenation desired. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to instant claim 28 reciting about 2.4% polyacrylate crosspolymer-6, Nijakowski discloses wherein SepiMAX ZEN (INCI: polyacrylate crosspolymer-6) is a thickener. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed amount of polyacrylate crosspolymer-6 through routine experimentation depending on the thickness of the composition desired. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the limitations of previous claims 21, 23, 24 and 26 were not mapped.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. With regards to previous claim 21, as discussed in the previous rejection, Antonelli discloses powders having particle sizes of 0.02 to 100 microns, wherein powders include spherical silica. With regards to previous claim 23, as discussed in the previous rejection, lauroyl lysine is incorporated into the composition of Antonelli as a pigment and Antonelli discloses 0.1-70% pigment. With regards to previous claim 24, as discussed in the previous rejection, Antonelli discloses 0.1-70% powders, wherein powders include spherical silica. With regards to previous claim 26, as discussed in the previous rejection, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the spherical silica of Antonelli et al. to have an oil absorption of 10 ml/100 g or more and 500 ml/100 g or less since this is a known and effective physical property for spherical silicas used in oil-in-water cosmetics as taught by Ueda et al. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Nijakowski only teaches niacinamide and SepiMAX Zen in the context of a heavy, synthetic, skin-tightening polymer film.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Antonelli discloses wherein the composition may contain ingredients which enhance the aesthetics of the formula, such as thickeners. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that niacinamide would be suitable for Antonelli’s composition since it is an ingredient which enhances the aesthetics of a skin care composition. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that SepiMAX Zen would be suitable for Antonelli’s composition since it is a known thickener for a skin care composition. Nijakowski does not disclose wherein niacinamide and SepiMAX Zen are only effective in a polymer film composition. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of incorporating niacinamide and SepiMAX Zen into Antonelli’s composition. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Ueda explicitly teaches that the silica concentration must be kept at or above a 5% threshold.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. The composition being modified is that of Antonelli, not Ueda, and Antonelli discloses wherein the composition may comprise 0.1-70% silica. As such, since Antonelli does not teach away from the claimed range, the claimed range is obvious and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 18-20 and 28 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614