DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 21-26, 30-33 are subject to examination.
Claims 3-5, 8-20 are cancelled. Claims 27-29 withdrawn.
Note: In prior office action, claims 8-16, 27-29 were withdrawn. Claims 8-16 were cancelled dated 3/24/26. Hence, claims 27-29 depend upon cancelled claim 8, and contain incorrect identifier. Claims 27-29 depend upon cancelled claim 8. Hence, claims 27-29 should have same identifier “cancelled” as the cancelled claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 21-26, 30-33, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, contains
“a microphone configured to detect sound signals”
“determine an identity of the caregiver based on the detected sound signals”
Claim 21 contains
“a microphone configured to detect sound signals”
“determine an identity of the caregiver based on the phonetic information identified by the controller in the sound signals”
The specification does not implement for any/all sound signals is detected by the microphone, same identity is determined. The specification does not implement for sound signals that is detected by the microphone of, for example, other users; the same identity is determined.
The specification does not implement that the same identity is determined each time the sound signals is detected by the microphone.
The specification does not implement for sound signals that are not from users, for example, other sounds picked up by the microphone, and that is detected by the microphone; the same identity is determined. The specification does not implement for sound signals is detected by the microphone of other users, the same identity is determined.
The caregiver is a user and all the users use the same microphone, as the claimed microphone is not only meant for the identity (caregiver). The claimed sound signals are from all the users and the events.
Claim 31 claims,
wherein the directory is queried by the controller to determine the authorization level, wherein the controller authorizes one or more communication functions of the communication device the caregiver is permitted to initiate in response to the authorization level.
The communication functions include every function that a device would perform. The specification does not limit what the communication functions are limited to. The specification does not implement for such unlimited functions, in combination of: the directory is queried by the controller to determine the authorization level, wherein the controller authorizes one or more communication functions of the communication device the caregiver is permitted to initiate in response to the authorization level.
The claimed authorization level is subject to all the authorization levels including insufficient authorization level, etc. The specification does not implement for any authorization level that is not assigned to the caregiver also: authorizes one or more communication functions of the communication device the caregiver is permitted to initiate in response to the authorization level.
Claim 32 claims,
wherein the controller authorizes the transmission of the communication function to a second communication device selected based on a qualification of a compatible caregiver assigned to the second communication device indicated to the controller that the compatible caregiver is qualified to respond to the voice command.
The communication functions include every function that a device would perform. The specification does not limit what the communication functions are limited to. The specification does not implement for such unlimited functions, in combination of: wherein the controller authorizes the transmission of the communication function to a second communication device selected based on a qualification of a compatible caregiver assigned to the second communication device indicated to the controller that the compatible caregiver is qualified to respond to the voice command.
Claims 2, 6, 7, 22-26, 30-33 depend upon claims 1 and 2 and hence subject to the same rejections.
The term , “authorization level”, in claims 1, 21, 30, 31, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite.
There is only one caregiver and one authorization level in the claim. The same authorization level is for all the users. Also, authorization level is subject to both for restriction and authorization for everyone. There is no particular authorization level among different authorization levels assigned to the caregiver that is distinct. The Regardless of the what the level is, the caregiver is authorized for everything. Regardless of the what the level is, all the users are authorized for everything. The claimed authorization level fails to particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter, as the same authorization level is applicable for all the users. The authorization “level” do not enable authorizing the caregiver differently as compared to other users. The authorization level also does not limit on what all is authorized and what not.
The term, “compatible”, in claims 6, 32, 33, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. It doesn’t differentiate which devices are considered “compatible devices” versus which devices are “not compatible devices”. It doesn’t differentiate which devices are considered “compatible caregivers” versus which devices are “not compatible caregivers”.
Claims 2, 6, 7, 22-26, 30-33 depend upon claims 1 and 2 and hence subject to the same rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Amended claims, dated 3/24/26, 1, 2, 6, 7, 21-26, 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 21-26, 30-33 are drawn to an apparatus which is a statutory category of invention (Step 1: YES).
Independent claim 1, recites
.
The recited limitations, as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover certain methods of organizing human activity by managing interactions from a caregiver for care in the facility. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers fundamental economic principles or practices and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (caregiver) and users to whom the caregiver provides care, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong One: YES).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims are abstract but for the inclusion of the additional elements including “communication device”, “care facility”, “housing”, “display”, “microphone”, “speaker”, “controller” “directory” are additional elements that are recited at a high level of generality (e.g., that the process, determine, identifies, is performed by the controller/device is no more than a statement that software instructions are executed to perform the claimed limitations). They amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See: MPEP 2106.05(f). The claimed “communication device”, “care facility”, “housing”, “display”, “microphone”, “speaker”, “controller” “directory” are generic.
Hence, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, using the additional elements to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic component cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are configured to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Said additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. The healthcare industry generically uses “communication device”, “care facility”, “housing”, “display”, “microphone”, “speaker”, “controller” “directory” for caring a patient.
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination, the claims simply use the additional elements to implement the concept described above in the identification of abstract idea with identify of caregiver (user) using sound signals and obtain information from directory/store for the caregiver/user, conventional activity (for verifying a user) specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment.
Hence, the claims as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 2, 6, 7, 25, 26, 30, and 31 when analyzed as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and/or as an ordered combination, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of their parent claims above, and therefore rejected for at least the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above, and incorporated herein.
Independent claim 21, recites
The recited limitations, as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover certain methods of organizing human activity by managing interactions from a caregiver for care in the facility. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers fundamental economic principles or practices and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (caregiver) and users to whom the caregiver provides care, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong One: YES).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims are abstract but for the inclusion of the additional elements including “communication device”, “care facility”, “housing”, “display”, “microphone”, “speaker”, “controller” “directory” are additional elements that are recited at a high level of generality (e.g., that the identify phonetic information, process, determine, identifies, detect voice command, is performed by the controller/device is no more than a statement that software instructions are executed to perform the claimed limitations). They amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See: MPEP 2106.05(f). The claimed “communication device”, “care facility”, “housing”, “display”, “microphone”, “speaker”, “controller” “directory” are generic.
Hence, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, using the additional elements to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic component cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are configured to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (including verifying the caregiver using the voice command). See MPEP 2106.05(d). Said additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. The healthcare industry generically uses “communication device”, “care facility”, “housing”, “display”, “microphone”, “speaker”, “controller” “directory” for verifying a caregiver for caring a patient.
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination, the claims simply use the additional elements to implement the concept described above in the identification of abstract idea with identify of caregiver (user) using sound signals, user command of the user and obtain information from directory/store for the caregiver/user, conventional activity (for verifying a user) specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment.
Hence, the claims as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 21-24, 32, 33, when analyzed as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and/or as an ordered combination, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of their parent claims above, and therefore rejected for at least the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above, and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild et al., 20210020020 in view of Hughes et al., 20220207635 and DUBIELCZYK et al., WO 2017162675 A1.
Referring to claim 1 Rothschild substantially discloses a communication device for use in a care facility, comprising: a housing configured to be worn on a caregiver, a display disposed on the housing;
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria. The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event.
devices for mobile personal emergency response services. A wearable device may receive a model from a second device. The model may include an event criterion. The wearable device may determine data indicative of an event associated with a user. The wearable device may determine, based on a comparison of the data to the model, an occurrence of the event. The wearable device may initiate, based on the occurrence of the event, a communication session with a third device, abstract
[0034] a band of the wearable device may refer to a strap or other mechanism used to hold the device or body of a watch or other wearable device to a user's body (e.g., arm, wrist, etc.).
[0038] the device having a display may be detachable from the watch band. For example, the device may be inserted into an interior of the band. The band may fully or partially cover a display of the device. [0023] the watch device's power supply and/or communication hardware may be housed in the watch band/. For example, one or more batteries and/or antennae may be stored in the band of the watch device, thereby allowing the face of the watch device to store other hardware, and allowing the power supply to be increased. a combination of one or more power sources, antennas, and/or sensors may be incorporated into a watch band of a watch device (or band of another device securing the device to a person). one or more sensors capable of integrating into a link band or various types of strap bands. Such a configuration may allow for a smaller device (e.g., watch face) or other hardware within the watch device.
a microphone configured to detect sound signals; a speaker configured to convert an electromagnetic wave input into a sound wave output, caregivers
[0045] The device body 204 may include a microphone 212 or other sound detection device (e.g., capable of voice detection), speakers 214 or other audio/video output device, a system-on-chip 216 or other processing circuitry/hardware, one or more sensors 218 (e.g., temperature sensors, accelerometers, magnetometers, gyroscopes, biometric sensors, etc.), and one or more transceivers 220 (e.g., to communicate wirelessly with other devices and biomedical sensors)
[0065] The one or more devices 308 may be devices used by emergency call centers, medical professionals, family members, caregivers, or the like, such as, but not limited to, mobile, desktop, and/or cloud computing devices, such as servers. When an emergency notification via the one or more communications 304 is received by the computing devices 308, the one or more devices 308 may request confirmation (e.g., using the one or more communications 304) from the person 102 (e.g., a user of the one or more devices 310) that the detected event occurred (e.g., a voice confirmation indicating that the person 102 fell, is injured, is having an emergency, etc.). The one or more devices 308 may receive a confirmation (e.g., a voice confirmation, text confirmation, or the like), using the one or more communications 304, and computing devices 308 may contact and/or dispatch medical professionals, ambulance or the like based on the notification/alert and associated data to provide services for the person 102 who has fallen and/or is having an emergency health event.
and a controller communication with the display, the microphone, and the speaker, wherein the controller is configured to process the sound signals
[0092] [0090] The machine / wearable device may include a hardware processor 902 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof), a main memory 904 and a static memory 906, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink (e.g., bus) 908. The machine 900 may further include a power management device 932, a graphics display device 910, an alphanumeric input device 912 (e.g., a keyboard), and a user interface (UI) navigation device 914 (e.g., a mouse). In an example, the graphics display device 910, alphanumeric input device 912, and UI navigation device 914 may be a touch screen display. The machine 900 may additionally include a storage device (i.e., drive unit) 916, a signal generation device 918 (e.g., an emitter, a speaker), an event assessment device 919 (e.g., similar to the event management module 312 of FIG. 3 and/or to the event/user management module 322 of FIG. 3), a network interface device/transceiver 920 coupled to antenna(s) 930, and one or more sensors 928, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor, a compass, an accelerometer, or other sensor. The machine 900 may include an output controller 934, such as a serial (e.g., universal serial bus (USB), parallel, or other wired or wireless (e.g., infrared (IR), near field communication (NFC), etc.) connection to communicate with or control one or more peripheral devices (e.g., a printer, a card reader, etc.)).
Rothschild does not disclose, which Hughes discloses, determine an identity of the user based on the detected sound signals, wherein the controller further identifies information of the user in a directory based on the identity of the user (
[0101] In some embodiments, the controller 170 may include a security system. This system may restrict unauthorized detainees from accessing, actuating, or disabling controller 170. For example, an authorized user may be required to enter a password in the user interface 725 to access functions within the device, and access will only be provided if the entered password matches a password previously stored within the controller. In another implementation, measurement of a biometric parameter such as an authorized user's voice or an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory 735, and access to the functions of the controller 170 is only provided if the measured biometric parameter matches the previously stored biometric parameter within a predetermined error range. Further, the security system 750 may comprise an authentication port for a mechanical tool such as a key, and will only allow the controller 170 to operate if a proper key is engaged in the authentication port. In an alternate embodiment, the security system 750 broadcasts a signal such as an RFID interrogation signal, and will only allow activation if a proper RFID interrogation response is received-in this way, detention officials wearing the proper RFID tag (such as integrated within a badge) would automatically be authorized to use the controller 170, but persons not having a proper RFID tag would be unable to use the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known the identity of the user. The identity of the user would enable knowing which individual is allowed to provide a care for a person. Rather an unknown person, the identified person (an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory) would carry out the authorized tasks after authorized by the controller (para 101).
Rothschild, Hughes does not disclose, which DUBIELCZYK discloses, authorization level
( Medical personnel data also may include voice data such as a medical personnel's voice signature, speech patterns, known voice input answers, specific phrases, and other voice data relating to an audio or voice input. In some embodiments, the medical personnel's voice data may be used to, among other things, identify and authenticate the medical personnel designated to monitor, diagnose or treat a patient. Furthermore, medical personnel data also may include information about the medical personnel's field of expertise, names of patients admitted under each physician, authorized nurses for each room, department, or floor within the health facility, and data relating to the medical personnel's accessing patient or medical personnel information or data, 5th para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known authorization level of the user. The authorization level of the user would enable knowing which individual is allowed to provide a care for a person. Rather an unknown person, the authorization level person would carry out the authorized tasks after authorized by the controller (para 5th page 5).
Claim(s) 30, 31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK, NISHIKAWA et al., WO 2015033523 A1 and Gilbert et al., 20120271651.
Referring to claim 30, Rothschild discloses the user being caregiver as rejected above.
Rothschild, DUBIELCZYK and Hughes does not disclose which NISHIKAWA discloses wherein the controller authenticates the user by processing the detected sound signals and identifying phonetic characteristics of the detected sound signals,
( communication processing for restricting or authenticating users by the voice interaction system. This sequence is started when the user speaks a voice indicating some instruction to the device 400 by voice, 1st para page 16,
Next, the speech recognizing unit 710 collates speech data with a specific character by collating to which character string data of the language model stored in the acoustic / language model DB 600 is the arrangement of the extracted phoneme data. Conversion into column data (S1802). 6th para, page16,
The speech synthesis unit 760 performs speech synthesis processing in S1545. The voice synthesis process is a process for converting a response sentence into voice data. Specifically, the speech synthesizer 760 converts the character string data of the response sentence into speech data using information on the phoneme / language model registered in the phoneme / language model DB 600. 4th last para, page 19,
Thereby, the user can recognize that his speech is accepted by the voice interaction system. 4th para, page 21
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that "Phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals" refers to the process of analyzing raw acoustic data to identify the discrete speech sounds, or phonemes, that make up spoken language. This process is foundational to speech recognition technology and is a core component of acoustic phonetics, the study of the physical properties of speech sounds. This would enable knowing of an instruction which would allow a user to provide a care for a person. (para 19, 23).
Rothschild, DUBIELCZYK, NISHIKAWA and Hughes does not disclose which Gilbert discloses wherein the phonetic characteristics are determined by the controller to correspond to the identity of the user identified in a directory (
(claim 6,
The caregiver information may include, for example, the hired caregiver's name, identifier, and/or voice print (i.e., in some embodiments having voice recognition/pattern matching capabilities), a care recipient's name and/or identifier, the care recipient's home telephone number, address, and/or other location information, and/or the name and contact information of the care recipient's family or other party responsible for the hiring of the caregiver. In some embodiments, the caregiver information may include a caregiver work schedule and may be stored on a regular, periodic basis, such as for example, weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly. The caregiver information may also include whether the caregiver provides live-in (i.e., 24 hour/day) or hourly (i.e., less than 24 hour/day) care services to the care recipient. In the case of hourly care services, the caregiver's weekly schedule may be included in the caregiver setup information. The caregiver information may be received entirely or partially from the caregiver, the care recipient, or the care recipient's family or other party responsible for the hiring of the caregiver. The caregiver information may be received at the hardware processor in a manner and/or format such that, in some embodiments, the hardware processor is operative to automatically store the setup information in one or more databases of one or more storage devices. For example, caregiver information may be uploaded to the hardware processor via direct electronic access by a service provider, caregiver, care recipient, care recipient's family or other responsible party. Alternatively or additionally, for example, a caregiver may use an interactive voice response system of the service to input a voice print and other setup information, which is then automatically stored in an appropriate database. In some embodiments, a service provider may cause the hardware processor to store the setup information. In other embodiments, the hardware processor may automatically store one or more portions of the received caregiver information, while the service provider may cause the hardware processor to store other portions of the setup information, para 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known identified identity of the caregiver. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that information for an identity of an individual would enable individual choice implemented, para 31.
Referring to claim 31, claim 1 citations disclose, wherein the directory is queried by the controller to determine the information, and caregiver. NISHIKAWA discloses, wherein the controller authenticates the user by processing the detected sound signals and identifying phonetic characteristics of the detected sound signals (
communication processing for restricting or authenticating users by the voice interaction system. This sequence is started when the user speaks a voice indicating some instruction to the device 400 by voice. 1st para page 16)
Next, the speech recognizing unit 710 collates speech data with a specific character by collating to which character string data of the language model stored in the acoustic / language model DB 600 is the arrangement of the extracted phoneme data. Conversion into column data (S1802). 6th para, page16,
The speech synthesis unit 760 performs speech synthesis processing in S1545. The voice synthesis process is a process for converting a response sentence into voice data. Specifically, the speech synthesizer 760 converts the character string data of the response sentence into speech data using information on the phoneme / language model registered in the phoneme / language model DB 600. 4th last para, page 19,
Thereby, the user can recognize that his speech is accepted by the voice interaction system. 4th para, page 21
DUBIELCZYK discloses authorization level
Medical personnel data also may include voice data such as a medical personnel's voice signature, speech patterns, known voice input answers, specific phrases, and other voice data relating to an audio or voice input. In some embodiments, the medical personnel's voice data may be used to, among other things, identify and authenticate the medical personnel designated to monitor, diagnose or treat a patient. Furthermore, medical personnel data also may include information about the medical personnel's field of expertise, names of patients admitted under each physician, authorized nurses for each room, department, or floor within the health facility, and data relating to the medical personnel's accessing patient or medical personnel information or data, 5th para, page 5
Claim(s) 2, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK and SMITH et al., EP 3664049 A1 and PAN et al., CN 109273009 A.
Referring to claim(s) 2, Rothschild, DUBIELCZYK and Hughes do not disclose, which SMITH discloses, wherein the identity of the caregiver is associated with a caregiver badge identification and the communication device is configured to authorize access to an area based on the caregiver badge identification (
Generally, caregiver locating tags or badges are worn by caregivers in a healthcare facility so that other components of a real time locating system (RTLS) can determine the locations of the caregivers within the healthcare facility. The terms "tag(s)" and "badge(s)" are used interchangeably herein. The caregiver locating badge may permit the caregiver to have access to designated areas of the healthcare facility while preventing access to other caregivers who are not authorized to have access to the designated areas. Based on communication with the caregiver locating badge, the RTLS is able to determine that the caregiver has entered a patient's room, for example. Thus, signals from some caregiver badges are used to track the caregiver's whereabouts within a healthcare facility, 2nd para, page 2, last para, page 6,
Referring to Fig. 4, another embodiment of a caregiver badge 80 is illustrated. While the caregiver badge 80 has the function of communicating with the positioning system 24, it should be noted that the caregiver badge 80 may have additional functionality that enables the caregiver 20 to access areas of the healthcare facility 10., 2nd last para, page 6,
Accordingly, the caregiver 20 can carry or wear both ID tag 86 and caregiver badge 80 together as a single unit., last para, page 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known authorize access. The allowed user would be able to access a room. Unauthorized users would not be able to access the room and hence the user being an authorized user would be able to obtain services on the other side of the door / in the room of the patient, 2nd para, page 2, last para, page 6.
Rothschild, DUBIELCZYK, Hughes and SMITH do not disclose, which PAN discloses, barrier or door control
( when the preset vocal print characteristic and the target acoustic fingerprint feature matching is successful, the access control device according to preset vocal print characteristic identification, inquiring the user corresponding to the user identification corresponding to the user authority level. access control device transmits the query to the user authority level and the preset access control condition are compared. When the user authority level meets the preset access control condition, the access control device corresponding to the generated command to the electromagnetic lock to open the electromagnetic lock to open the entrance guard system (5th para, page 8)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known authorize access. The allowed user would be able to operate a barrier or door control. Unauthorized users would not be able to operate the barrier or the door and hence the user being an authorized user would be able to obtain services on the other side of the door or the barrier, 5th para, page 8.
Claim(s) 6, 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK, SUN, WO 2020252959 A1 and YANG CN 213365675 U.
Referring to claim 6, Rothschild discloses, initiate a request in response to the sound signals, wherein the request is communicated to a second communication device
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), a wellness anomaly (e.g. a spike in heartrate), a panic button push or touch, and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated into text and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation or may rely on another device for translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria (e.g., exceed or fall below threshold values). The alerts may be presented using the wearable device 200 and/or may include alerting other devices regarding the status of the user or the wearable device 200 (e.g., an alert indicating that an event, such as a fall or biomedical event, has occurred). The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event (e.g., the falling event of FIG. 1).
This disclosure describes systems, methods, and devices for mobile personal emergency response services. A wearable device may receive a model from a second device. The model may include an event criterion. The wearable device may determine data indicative of an event associated with a user. The wearable device may determine, based on a comparison of the data to the model, an occurrence of the event. The wearable device may initiate, based on the occurrence of the event, a communication session with a third device, abstract
Rothschild, DUBIELCZYK and Hughes does not disclose which SUN discloses,
wherein the controller selects a second communication device from two or more compatible communication devices in response to identifying the second communication device is assigned to a compatible to respond to the request (
The first walkie-talkie sends a request on a common channel, the request includes a target address, a bridge address, and communication parameters, the target address is preset as the identification code of the second walkie-talkie, and the bridge address is preset as the third walkie-talkie The identification code of, the communication parameter includes a preset channel; abstract,
the target address is preset as the identification code of the second walkie-talkie, and the bridge address is preset as the third walkie-talkie, 5th para, page 2
It should be noted that the common channel refers to a channel including all walkie-talkies, and all walkie-talkies will be in the common channel. The bridge communication request refers to the request sent when it needs to communicate with other walkie-talkies. The bridge communication request includes at least the target address, bridge address and communication parameters. Exemplarily, when the first walkie-talkie wants to establish communication with the second walkie-talkie, but the distance between the first walkie-talkie and the second walkie-talkie exceeds the communicable range, then a bridge communication request can be sent to find the third walkie-talkie as the first one. The bridging medium between the one-way radio and the second two-way radio. 2nd last para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known selection of the device among devices. The selected user such as second or third user, etc., would provide a care for a person. The determination of who would provide service by users would enable carrying out the user’s needed requirement (2nd last para, page 5).
Rothschild, SUN, DUBIELCZYK and Hughes does not disclose which YANG discloses, caregiver qualified (
the nurse on duty can use the interphone for the doctor to call the doctor with the walkie talkie, which is convenient to find the doctor on duty (as compared to other doctors and nurses that are not on duty at the time). 4th para, page 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known caregiver based on qualification. The allowed caregiver such as a doctor, a nurse, etc., would provide a care for a person. The determination of who would provide service among a caregiver, such as a doctors, duty doctor(s) replacement at the time of duty, a nurse, would enable carrying out the user’s needed medical requirement (4th para, page 2).
Referring to claim 7, YANG discloses wherein the qualification of the compatible caregiver is identified by the controller in response to a certification or training or clearance of the compatible caregiver assigned to the second communication device (the nurse on duty can use the interphone for the doctor to call the doctor with the walkie talkie, which is convenient to find the doctor on duty (as compared to other doctors and nurses that are not on duty at the time, each doctor, nurse is assigned handheld device). 4th para, page 2
Claim(s) 25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK and Kazerani et al., 20190073468.
Referring to claim 25, Rothschild discloses the user being caregiver as rejected above.
Rothschild, DUBIELCZYK and Hughes does not disclose which Kazerani discloses wherein the identity of the caregiver is determined using phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals (
[0019] The user mobile devices include any portable electronic device with network connectivity and can include smartphones, tablets, laptop computers, Internet-of-Thing (IoT) device, smartwatches, and other wearable electronic devices. The access control system (1) authorizes permissions of different users to access different resources, (2) authorizes intent of different users to access the different resources, (3) tracks successfully completed authorizations for different users to different resources, (4) grants a particular user access to a particular resource in response to successfully authorizing access permissions and intent to access of the particular user to the particular resource.
[0023] wherein the requestor can be any of the user's mobile device. The exchanged messaging can indirectly or directly identify the user. For example, the request may include an audio from the user. Phonetic matching may then be used to identify the user. Direct identification of the user involves receiving messaging with the user name, identifier, access credentials, or identification token.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that "Phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals" refers to the process of analyzing raw acoustic data to identify the discrete speech sounds, or phonemes, that make up spoken language. This process is foundational to speech recognition technology and is a core component of acoustic phonetics, the study of the physical properties of speech sounds. This would enable knowing of an instruction which would allow a caregiver to provide a care for a person. (para 19, 23).
Claim(s) 26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK and Fountaine, 20210196209.
Referring to claim 26, Rothschild discloses the user being caregiver as rejected above.
Rothschild, Hughes, DUBIELCZYK does not disclose which Fountaine discloses wherein the identity of the user is authenticated (the system is configured to authenticate the caregiver, claim 6) using a voice recognition of the detected sound signals (
The sensing pod further includes a speaker of the sensing pod (optionally to generate the verbal status query), a processor of the sensing pod, a memory of the sensing pod and a wireless transmitter-receiver for communicative coupling with the assistance device over the network to transmit the sound signal. The system may further include a mobile device, a wearable device, para 16,
[0050] The immediate environment 102 may depend on a microphone sensitivity and/or a voice recognition capability of the assistance device 200 and/or voice recognition capability of services accessible through the assistance device 200.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known authenticating of the caregiver. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that authenticating a user is the process of a system verifying a user's claimed identity through the use of credentials. The goal is to confirm the user is who they say they are before granting them access to the person who needs care. This would enable a trusted caregiver to provide a care for a person. (para 16, 50).
Claim(s) 21, 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK and Kazerani.
Referring to claim 21 Rothschild substantially discloses a communication device for use in a care facility, comprising: a housing configured to be worn on a caregiver, a display disposed on the housing; detect a voice command by processing the sound signals
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria. The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event.
devices for mobile personal emergency response services. A wearable device may receive a model from a second device. The model may include an event criterion. The wearable device may determine data indicative of an event associated with a user. The wearable device may determine, based on a comparison of the data to the model, an occurrence of the event. The wearable device may initiate, based on the occurrence of the event, a communication session with a third device, abstract
[0034] a band of the wearable device may refer to a strap or other mechanism used to hold the device or body of a watch or other wearable device to a user's body (e.g., arm, wrist, etc.).
[0038] the device having a display may be detachable from the watch band. For example, the device may be inserted into an interior of the band. The band may fully or partially cover a display of the device. [0023] the watch device's power supply and/or communication hardware may be housed in the watch band/. For example, one or more batteries and/or antennae may be stored in the band of the watch device, thereby allowing the face of the watch device to store other hardware, and allowing the power supply to be increased. a combination of one or more power sources, antennas, and/or sensors may be incorporated into a watch band of a watch device (or band of another device securing the device to a person). one or more sensors capable of integrating into a link band or various types of strap bands. Such a configuration may allow for a smaller device (e.g., watch face) or other hardware within the watch device.
a microphone configured to detect sound signals; a speaker configured to convert an electromagnetic wave input into a sound wave output
[0045] The device body 204 may include a microphone 212 or other sound detection device (e.g., capable of voice detection), speakers 214 or other audio/video output device, a system-on-chip 216 or other processing circuitry/hardware, one or more sensors 218 (e.g., temperature sensors, accelerometers, magnetometers, gyroscopes, biometric sensors, etc.), and one or more transceivers 220 (e.g., to communicate wirelessly with other devices and biomedical sensors)
[0065] The one or more devices 308 may be devices used by emergency call centers, medical professionals, family members, caregivers, or the like, such as, but not limited to, mobile, desktop, and/or cloud computing devices, such as servers. When an emergency notification via the one or more communications 304 is received by the computing devices 308, the one or more devices 308 may request confirmation (e.g., using the one or more communications 304) from the person 102 (e.g., a user of the one or more devices 310) that the detected event occurred (e.g., a voice confirmation indicating that the person 102 fell, is injured, is having an emergency, etc.). The one or more devices 308 may receive a confirmation (e.g., a voice confirmation, text confirmation, or the like), using the one or more communications 304, and computing devices 308 may contact and/or dispatch medical professionals, ambulance or the like based on the notification/alert and associated data to provide services for the person 102 who has fallen and/or is having an emergency health event.
and a controller communication with the display, the microphone, and the speaker, wherein the controller is configured to
[0092] [0090] The machine / wearable device may include a hardware processor 902 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof), a main memory 904 and a static memory 906, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink (e.g., bus) 908. The machine 900 may further include a power management device 932, a graphics display device 910, an alphanumeric input device 912 (e.g., a keyboard), and a user interface (UI) navigation device 914 (e.g., a mouse). In an example, the graphics display device 910, alphanumeric input device 912, and UI navigation device 914 may be a touch screen display. The machine 900 may additionally include a storage device (i.e., drive unit) 916, a signal generation device 918 (e.g., an emitter, a speaker), an event assessment device 919 (e.g., similar to the event management module 312 of FIG. 3 and/or to the event/user management module 322 of FIG. 3), a network interface device/transceiver 920 coupled to antenna(s) 930, and one or more sensors 928, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor, a compass, an accelerometer, or other sensor. The machine 900 may include an output controller 934, such as a serial (e.g., universal serial bus (USB), parallel, or other wired or wireless (e.g., infrared (IR), near field communication (NFC), etc.) connection to communicate with or control one or more peripheral devices (e.g., a printer, a card reader, etc.)).
Rothschild does not disclose which Hughes discloses identified by the controller in the sound signals; identify an information of the caregiver based on the identity of the caregiver accessed by the controller in a directory;; and authorize a transmission of a communication function, the transmission including an instruction determined by the controller from the voice command, wherein the communication function is authorized by the controller in response to the controller determining the caregiver is authorized to initiate the instruction based on the information (
[0101] In some embodiments, the controller 170 may include a security system. This system may restrict unauthorized detainees from accessing, actuating, or disabling controller 170. For example, an authorized user may be required to enter a password in the user interface 725 to access functions within the device, and access will only be provided if the entered password matches a password previously stored within the controller. In another implementation, measurement of a biometric parameter such as an authorized user's voice or an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory 735, and access to the functions of the controller 170 is only provided if the measured biometric parameter matches the previously stored biometric parameter within a predetermined error range. Further, the security system 750 may comprise an authentication port for a mechanical tool such as a key, and will only allow the controller 170 to operate if a proper key is engaged in the authentication port. In an alternate embodiment, the security system 750 broadcasts a signal such as an RFID interrogation signal, and will only allow activation if a proper RFID interrogation response is received-in this way, detention officials wearing the proper RFID tag (such as integrated within a badge) would automatically be authorized to use the controller 170, but persons not having a proper RFID tag would be unable to use the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known the identity of the user. The identity of the user would enable knowing which individual is allowed to provide a care for a person. Rather an unknown person, the identified person (an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory) would carry out the authorized tasks after authorized by the controller (para 101).
Rothschild, and Hughes does not disclose which Kazerani discloses identify phonetic information by processing the sound signals, based on phonetic information recognized in the sound signals (
[0019] The user mobile devices include any portable electronic device with network connectivity and can include smartphones, tablets, laptop computers, Internet-of-Thing (IoT) device, smartwatches, and other wearable electronic devices. The access control system (1) authorizes permissions of different users to access different resources, (2) authorizes intent of different users to access the different resources, (3) tracks successfully completed authorizations for different users to different resources, (4) grants a particular user access to a particular resource in response to successfully authorizing access permissions and intent to access of the particular user to the particular resource.
[0023] wherein the requestor can be any of the user's mobile device. The exchanged messaging can indirectly or directly identify the user. For example, the request may include an audio from the user. Phonetic matching may then be used to identify the user. Direct identification of the user involves receiving messaging with the user name, identifier, access credentials, or identification token.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that "Phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals" refers to the process of analyzing raw acoustic data to identify the discrete speech sounds, or phonemes, that make up spoken language. This process is foundational to speech recognition technology and is a core component of acoustic phonetics, the study of the physical properties of speech sounds. This would enable knowing of an instruction which would allow a caregiver to provide a care for a person. (para 19, 23).
Rothschild, Kazerani and Hughes does not disclose which DUBIELCZYK discloses authorization level (
Medical personnel data also may include voice data such as a medical personnel's voice signature, speech patterns, known voice input answers, specific phrases, and other voice data relating to an audio or voice input. In some embodiments, the medical personnel's voice data may be used to, among other things, identify and authenticate the medical personnel designated to monitor, diagnose or treat a patient. Furthermore, medical personnel data also may include information about the medical personnel's field of expertise, names of patients admitted under each physician, authorized nurses for each room, department, or floor within the health facility, and data relating to the medical personnel's accessing patient or medical personnel information or data, 5th para, page 5.
Referring to claim 22, Rothschild discloses, wherein the instruction comprises an alert, a call, a request, a remote control, or an access control instruction initiated based on the voice command detected by the communication device (
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria. The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event.
Referring to claim 24, Rothschild discloses, wherein the instruction from the controller communicates the alert to a plurality of compatible communication devices in response to the compatible communication devices being assigned to caregivers qualified to respond to the alert (
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria. The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event.
devices for mobile personal emergency response services. A wearable device may receive a model from a second device. The model may include an event criterion. The wearable device may determine data indicative of an event associated with a user. The wearable device may determine, based on a comparison of the data to the model, an occurrence of the event. The wearable device may initiate, based on the occurrence of the event, a communication session with a third device, abstract
[0034] a band of the wearable device may refer to a strap or other mechanism used to hold the device or body of a watch or other wearable device to a user's body (e.g., arm, wrist, etc.).
[0038] the device having a display may be detachable from the watch band. For example, the device may be inserted into an interior of the band. The band may fully or partially cover a display of the device. [0023] the watch device's power supply and/or communication hardware may be housed in the watch band/. For example, one or more batteries and/or antennae may be stored in the band of the watch device, thereby allowing the face of the watch device to store other hardware, and allowing the power supply to be increased. a combination of one or more power sources, antennas, and/or sensors may be incorporated into a watch band of a watch device (or band of another device securing the device to a person). one or more sensors capable of integrating into a link band or various types of strap bands. Such a configuration may allow for a smaller device (e.g., watch face) or other hardware within the watch device.
0045] The device body 204 may include a microphone 212 or other sound detection device (e.g., capable of voice detection), speakers 214 or other audio/video output device, a system-on-chip 216 or other processing circuitry/hardware, one or more sensors 218 (e.g., temperature sensors, accelerometers, magnetometers, gyroscopes, biometric sensors, etc.), and one or more transceivers 220 (e.g., to communicate wirelessly with other devices and biomedical sensors)
[0065] The one or more devices 308 may be devices used by emergency call centers, medical professionals, family members, caregivers, or the like, such as, but not limited to, mobile, desktop, and/or cloud computing devices, such as servers. When an emergency notification via the one or more communications 304 is received by the computing devices 308, the one or more devices 308 may request confirmation (e.g., using the one or more communications 304) from the person 102 (e.g., a user of the one or more devices 310) that the detected event occurred (e.g., a voice confirmation indicating that the person 102 fell, is injured, is having an emergency, etc.). The one or more devices 308 may receive a confirmation (e.g., a voice confirmation, text confirmation, or the like), using the one or more communications 304, and computing devices 308 may contact and/or dispatch medical professionals, ambulance or the like based on the notification/alert and associated data to provide services for the person 102 who has fallen and/or is having an emergency health event.
Claim(s) 23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK and Kazerani and Raven 20220287657.
Referring to claim 23, Rothschild discloses, wherein the instruction is communicated by the controller to compatible communication device located in a region of a facility identifying the associated wearer of the compatible communication device (
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria. The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event.
Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK and Kazerani does not disclose which Raven discloses, associated wearers are available resources (
[0026] Also embedded within the Caregiver Wearables is an RFID chip registered to the specific badge holder that contains UUID (Universally Unique Identifier) that works/tracks with backend client care and employee management software.
[0027] The Caregiver Wearable tracks the activities of the caregiver while the caregiver is on duty. This can include an automatic time clock for the caregiver which ensures the timeliness of scheduled care.
[0022] The Caregiver Wearables are smart wearable employee/caregiver identification devices. The Caregiver Wearable should perform a number of functions including tracking the caregiver, uniquely identify the wearable and the caregiver, time management of the caregiver, time spent with patient, resources spent on patient, drugs administered, and other patient/caregiver related information.
[0012] a communication network of the Wearables and to define geographical boundaries to define permitted areas of movement for both patient and caregiver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known resources. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that resources are needed for taking care of a person. The Caregiver Wearable would enable knowing how many caregivers are available to assist the persons who need assistance. The person would be assigned a caregiver based on the availability of the caregivers at the time of the person making a request. The time management would enable utilizing the resources in an efficient manner, para 22.
Claim(s) 32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK, Kazerani and DiBello et al, 20190149584.
Referring to claim 32, The claim 21 citations disclose, voice command, based on a qualification of a compatible caregiver assigned to the second communication device indicated to the controller that the compatible caregiver is qualified to respond to the command. Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK and Kazerani does not disclose which DiBello discloses, wherein the controller authorizes the transmission of the communication function to a second communication device selected (para 152, 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known authorizing the communication to the device. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that without the communication device allowed to receive information, a receiver would not be able to obtain what the sender wants to inform. The verification of the information from the sender would enable authorized users to communicate information to other devices for necessary actions implemented by the receiver based on the communicated information, para 152, 49.
Claim(s) 33, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK, Kazerani, YANG, DiBello and Gilbert et al., 20120271651.
Referring to claim 33, Rothschild in view of Hughes, DiBello, DUBIELCZYK, Kazerani does not disclose which Gilbert discloses, from a directory associating caregiver identifications (claim 6,
The caregiver information may include, for example, the hired caregiver's name, identifier, and/or voice print (i.e., in some embodiments having voice recognition/pattern matching capabilities), a care recipient's name and/or identifier, the care recipient's home telephone number, address, and/or other location information, and/or the name and contact information of the care recipient's family or other party responsible for the hiring of the caregiver. In some embodiments, the caregiver information may include a caregiver work schedule and may be stored on a regular, periodic basis, such as for example, weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly. The caregiver information may also include whether the caregiver provides live-in (i.e., 24 hour/day) or hourly (i.e., less than 24 hour/day) care services to the care recipient. In the case of hourly care services, the caregiver's weekly schedule may be included in the caregiver setup information. The caregiver information may be received entirely or partially from the caregiver, the care recipient, or the care recipient's family or other party responsible for the hiring of the caregiver. The caregiver information may be received at the hardware processor in a manner and/or format such that, in some embodiments, the hardware processor is operative to automatically store the setup information in one or more databases of one or more storage devices. For example, caregiver information may be uploaded to the hardware processor via direct electronic access by a service provider, caregiver, care recipient, care recipient's family or other responsible party. Alternatively or additionally, for example, a caregiver may use an interactive voice response system of the service to input a voice print and other setup information, which is then automatically stored in an appropriate database. In some embodiments, a service provider may cause the hardware processor to store the setup information. In other embodiments, the hardware processor may automatically store one or more portions of the received caregiver information, while the service provider may cause the hardware processor to store other portions of the setup information, para 31.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known storage of user identifications. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that without information associated with the user is available the user cannot be identified/verified/authorized. The storage would enable storing information that is specific for each individual. Upon verification of the user’s information the user would be identified as valid if the information provided by the user matches with the available information. This would enable communication using the user’s device, para 31.
Rothschild in view of Hughes, DUBIELCZYK, Kazerani, DiBello and Gilbert does not disclose which YANG discloses, based on a qualification of a compatible caregiver, caregiver is determined with a certification or training (
the nurse on duty can use the interphone for the doctor to call the doctor with the walkie talkie, which is convenient to find the doctor on duty (as compared to other doctors and nurses that are not on duty at the time). 4th para, page 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known caregiver based on qualification. The allowed caregiver such as a doctor, a nurse, etc., would provide a care for a person. The determination of who would provide service among a caregiver, such as a doctors, duty doctor(s) replacement at the time of duty, a nurse, would enable carrying out the user’s needed medical requirement (4th para, page 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments dated 3/24/26 with respect to amended claim(s) dated 3/24/26 have been considered. It is noted that the Applicant has amended the claims in response to the prior office action. Accordingly, the above rejections in this office action (over prior rejections) are applied in order to address the claim amendments, and also the arguments that are made in view of the amended claims.
In response to the amendments to the claims the rejections are updated accordingly. Please see above updated rejections.
Rothschild substantially discloses a communication device for use in a care facility, comprising: a housing configured to be worn on a caregiver, a display disposed on the housing;
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria. The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event.
devices for mobile personal emergency response services. A wearable device may receive a model from a second device. The model may include an event criterion. The wearable device may determine data indicative of an event associated with a user. The wearable device may determine, based on a comparison of the data to the model, an occurrence of the event. The wearable device may initiate, based on the occurrence of the event, a communication session with a third device, abstract
[0034] a band of the wearable device may refer to a strap or other mechanism used to hold the device or body of a watch or other wearable device to a user's body (e.g., arm, wrist, etc.).
[0038] the device having a display may be detachable from the watch band. For example, the device may be inserted into an interior of the band. The band may fully or partially cover a display of the device. [0023] the watch device's power supply and/or communication hardware may be housed in the watch band/. For example, one or more batteries and/or antennae may be stored in the band of the watch device, thereby allowing the face of the watch device to store other hardware, and allowing the power supply to be increased. a combination of one or more power sources, antennas, and/or sensors may be incorporated into a watch band of a watch device (or band of another device securing the device to a person). one or more sensors capable of integrating into a link band or various types of strap bands. Such a configuration may allow for a smaller device (e.g., watch face) or other hardware within the watch device.
a microphone configured to detect sound signals; a speaker configured to convert an electromagnetic wave input into a sound wave output, caregivers
[0045] The device body 204 may include a microphone 212 or other sound detection device (e.g., capable of voice detection), speakers 214 or other audio/video output device, a system-on-chip 216 or other processing circuitry/hardware, one or more sensors 218 (e.g., temperature sensors, accelerometers, magnetometers, gyroscopes, biometric sensors, etc.), and one or more transceivers 220 (e.g., to communicate wirelessly with other devices and biomedical sensors)
[0065] The one or more devices 308 may be devices used by emergency call centers, medical professionals, family members, caregivers, or the like, such as, but not limited to, mobile, desktop, and/or cloud computing devices, such as servers. When an emergency notification via the one or more communications 304 is received by the computing devices 308, the one or more devices 308 may request confirmation (e.g., using the one or more communications 304) from the person 102 (e.g., a user of the one or more devices 310) that the detected event occurred (e.g., a voice confirmation indicating that the person 102 fell, is injured, is having an emergency, etc.). The one or more devices 308 may receive a confirmation (e.g., a voice confirmation, text confirmation, or the like), using the one or more communications 304, and computing devices 308 may contact and/or dispatch medical professionals, ambulance or the like based on the notification/alert and associated data to provide services for the person 102 who has fallen and/or is having an emergency health event.
and a controller communication with the display, the microphone, and the speaker, wherein the controller is configured to process the sound signals
[0092] [0090] The machine / wearable device may include a hardware processor 902 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof), a main memory 904 and a static memory 906, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink (e.g., bus) 908. The machine 900 may further include a power management device 932, a graphics display device 910, an alphanumeric input device 912 (e.g., a keyboard), and a user interface (UI) navigation device 914 (e.g., a mouse). In an example, the graphics display device 910, alphanumeric input device 912, and UI navigation device 914 may be a touch screen display. The machine 900 may additionally include a storage device (i.e., drive unit) 916, a signal generation device 918 (e.g., an emitter, a speaker), an event assessment device 919 (e.g., similar to the event management module 312 of FIG. 3 and/or to the event/user management module 322 of FIG. 3), a network interface device/transceiver 920 coupled to antenna(s) 930, and one or more sensors 928, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor, a compass, an accelerometer, or other sensor. The machine 900 may include an output controller 934, such as a serial (e.g., universal serial bus (USB), parallel, or other wired or wireless (e.g., infrared (IR), near field communication (NFC), etc.) connection to communicate with or control one or more peripheral devices (e.g., a printer, a card reader, etc.)).
Rothschild does not disclose, which Hughes discloses, determine an identity of the user based on the detected sound signals, wherein the controller further identifies information of the user in a directory based on the identity of the user (
[0101] In some embodiments, the controller 170 may include a security system. This system may restrict unauthorized detainees from accessing, actuating, or disabling controller 170. For example, an authorized user may be required to enter a password in the user interface 725 to access functions within the device, and access will only be provided if the entered password matches a password previously stored within the controller. In another implementation, measurement of a biometric parameter such as an authorized user's voice or an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory 735, and access to the functions of the controller 170 is only provided if the measured biometric parameter matches the previously stored biometric parameter within a predetermined error range. Further, the security system 750 may comprise an authentication port for a mechanical tool such as a key, and will only allow the controller 170 to operate if a proper key is engaged in the authentication port. In an alternate embodiment, the security system 750 broadcasts a signal such as an RFID interrogation signal, and will only allow activation if a proper RFID interrogation response is received-in this way, detention officials wearing the proper RFID tag (such as integrated within a badge) would automatically be authorized to use the controller 170, but persons not having a proper RFID tag would be unable to use the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known the identity of the user. The identity of the user would enable knowing which individual is allowed to provide a care for a person. Rather an unknown person, the identified person (an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory) would carry out the authorized tasks after authorized by the controller (para 101).
Rothschild, Hughes does not disclose, which DUBIELCZYK discloses, authorization level
( Medical personnel data also may include voice data such as a medical personnel's voice signature, speech patterns, known voice input answers, specific phrases, and other voice data relating to an audio or voice input. In some embodiments, the medical personnel's voice data may be used to, among other things, identify and authenticate the medical personnel designated to monitor, diagnose or treat a patient. Furthermore, medical personnel data also may include information about the medical personnel's field of expertise, names of patients admitted under each physician, authorized nurses for each room, department, or floor within the health facility, and data relating to the medical personnel's accessing patient or medical personnel information or data, 5th para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known authorization level of the user. The authorization level of the user would enable knowing which individual is allowed to provide a care for a person. Rather an unknown person, the authorization level person would carry out the authorized tasks after authorized by the controller (para 5th page 5).
Referring to claim 21 Rothschild substantially discloses a communication device for use in a care facility, comprising: a housing configured to be worn on a caregiver, a display disposed on the housing; detect a voice command by processing the sound signals
[0046] The wearable device 200 may detect a fall of a user, a voice command (e.g., a “call 911” command, phone call command, text command, reminder/calendar entry command), and other events. Voice commands may be sent or translated and sent. The wearable device 200 may perform the translation. The speakers 214 may play audio alerts or voices (e.g., voice calls, etc.). For example, the wearable device 200 may be capable of two-way communications between the wearable device 200 and other device (e.g., an emergency service phone or computer). The one or more sensors 218 may detect, using device location (e.g., global navigation satellite system data or more localized data using Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ultrasound, etc.), that the wearable device 200 has passed a geographic boundary (e.g., a geo fencing), and the wearable device 200 may send alerts when location, orientation, or biomedical data meet criteria. The one or more sensors 218 may detect motion data and/or biometric data that the wearable device 200 may analyze to detect the occurrence of an event.
devices for mobile personal emergency response services. A wearable device may receive a model from a second device. The model may include an event criterion. The wearable device may determine data indicative of an event associated with a user. The wearable device may determine, based on a comparison of the data to the model, an occurrence of the event. The wearable device may initiate, based on the occurrence of the event, a communication session with a third device, abstract
[0034] a band of the wearable device may refer to a strap or other mechanism used to hold the device or body of a watch or other wearable device to a user's body (e.g., arm, wrist, etc.).
[0038] the device having a display may be detachable from the watch band. For example, the device may be inserted into an interior of the band. The band may fully or partially cover a display of the device. [0023] the watch device's power supply and/or communication hardware may be housed in the watch band/. For example, one or more batteries and/or antennae may be stored in the band of the watch device, thereby allowing the face of the watch device to store other hardware, and allowing the power supply to be increased. a combination of one or more power sources, antennas, and/or sensors may be incorporated into a watch band of a watch device (or band of another device securing the device to a person). one or more sensors capable of integrating into a link band or various types of strap bands. Such a configuration may allow for a smaller device (e.g., watch face) or other hardware within the watch device.
a microphone configured to detect sound signals; a speaker configured to convert an electromagnetic wave input into a sound wave output
[0045] The device body 204 may include a microphone 212 or other sound detection device (e.g., capable of voice detection), speakers 214 or other audio/video output device, a system-on-chip 216 or other processing circuitry/hardware, one or more sensors 218 (e.g., temperature sensors, accelerometers, magnetometers, gyroscopes, biometric sensors, etc.), and one or more transceivers 220 (e.g., to communicate wirelessly with other devices and biomedical sensors)
[0065] The one or more devices 308 may be devices used by emergency call centers, medical professionals, family members, caregivers, or the like, such as, but not limited to, mobile, desktop, and/or cloud computing devices, such as servers. When an emergency notification via the one or more communications 304 is received by the computing devices 308, the one or more devices 308 may request confirmation (e.g., using the one or more communications 304) from the person 102 (e.g., a user of the one or more devices 310) that the detected event occurred (e.g., a voice confirmation indicating that the person 102 fell, is injured, is having an emergency, etc.). The one or more devices 308 may receive a confirmation (e.g., a voice confirmation, text confirmation, or the like), using the one or more communications 304, and computing devices 308 may contact and/or dispatch medical professionals, ambulance or the like based on the notification/alert and associated data to provide services for the person 102 who has fallen and/or is having an emergency health event.
and a controller communication with the display, the microphone, and the speaker, wherein the controller is configured to
[0092] [0090] The machine / wearable device may include a hardware processor 902 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof), a main memory 904 and a static memory 906, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink (e.g., bus) 908. The machine 900 may further include a power management device 932, a graphics display device 910, an alphanumeric input device 912 (e.g., a keyboard), and a user interface (UI) navigation device 914 (e.g., a mouse). In an example, the graphics display device 910, alphanumeric input device 912, and UI navigation device 914 may be a touch screen display. The machine 900 may additionally include a storage device (i.e., drive unit) 916, a signal generation device 918 (e.g., an emitter, a speaker), an event assessment device 919 (e.g., similar to the event management module 312 of FIG. 3 and/or to the event/user management module 322 of FIG. 3), a network interface device/transceiver 920 coupled to antenna(s) 930, and one or more sensors 928, such as a global positioning system (GPS) sensor, a compass, an accelerometer, or other sensor. The machine 900 may include an output controller 934, such as a serial (e.g., universal serial bus (USB), parallel, or other wired or wireless (e.g., infrared (IR), near field communication (NFC), etc.) connection to communicate with or control one or more peripheral devices (e.g., a printer, a card reader, etc.)).
Rothschild does not disclose which Hughes discloses identified by the controller in the sound signals; identify an information of the caregiver based on the identity of the caregiver accessed by the controller in a directory;; and authorize a transmission of a communication function, the transmission including an instruction determined by the controller from the voice command, wherein the communication function is authorized by the controller in response to the controller determining the caregiver is authorized to initiate the instruction based on the information (
[0101] In some embodiments, the controller 170 may include a security system. This system may restrict unauthorized detainees from accessing, actuating, or disabling controller 170. For example, an authorized user may be required to enter a password in the user interface 725 to access functions within the device, and access will only be provided if the entered password matches a password previously stored within the controller. In another implementation, measurement of a biometric parameter such as an authorized user's voice or an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory 735, and access to the functions of the controller 170 is only provided if the measured biometric parameter matches the previously stored biometric parameter within a predetermined error range. Further, the security system 750 may comprise an authentication port for a mechanical tool such as a key, and will only allow the controller 170 to operate if a proper key is engaged in the authentication port. In an alternate embodiment, the security system 750 broadcasts a signal such as an RFID interrogation signal, and will only allow activation if a proper RFID interrogation response is received-in this way, detention officials wearing the proper RFID tag (such as integrated within a badge) would automatically be authorized to use the controller 170, but persons not having a proper RFID tag would be unable to use the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known the identity of the user. The identity of the user would enable knowing which individual is allowed to provide a care for a person. Rather an unknown person, the identified person (an authorized user's fingerprint is compared to an exemplar biometric measurement previously stored within the controller's memory) would carry out the authorized tasks after authorized by the controller (para 101).
Rothschild, and Hughes does not disclose which Kazerani discloses identify phonetic information by processing the sound signals, based on phonetic information recognized in the sound signals (
[0019] The user mobile devices include any portable electronic device with network connectivity and can include smartphones, tablets, laptop computers, Internet-of-Thing (IoT) device, smartwatches, and other wearable electronic devices. The access control system (1) authorizes permissions of different users to access different resources, (2) authorizes intent of different users to access the different resources, (3) tracks successfully completed authorizations for different users to different resources, (4) grants a particular user access to a particular resource in response to successfully authorizing access permissions and intent to access of the particular user to the particular resource.
[0023] wherein the requestor can be any of the user's mobile device. The exchanged messaging can indirectly or directly identify the user. For example, the request may include an audio from the user. Phonetic matching may then be used to identify the user. Direct identification of the user involves receiving messaging with the user name, identifier, access credentials, or identification token.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Rothschild to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that "Phonetic information identified from the detected sound signals" refers to the process of analyzing raw acoustic data to identify the discrete speech sounds, or phonemes, that make up spoken language. This process is foundational to speech recognition technology and is a core component of acoustic phonetics, the study of the physical properties of speech sounds. This would enable knowing of an instruction which would allow a caregiver to provide a care for a person. (para 19, 23).
Rothschild, Kazerani and Hughes does not disclose which DUBIELCZYK discloses authorization level (
Medical personnel data also may include voice data such as a medical personnel's voice signature, speech patterns, known voice input answers, specific phrases, and other voice data relating to an audio or voice input. In some embodiments, the medical personnel's voice data may be used to, among other things, identify and authenticate the medical personnel designated to monitor, diagnose or treat a patient. Furthermore, medical personnel data also may include information about the medical personnel's field of expertise, names of patients admitted under each physician, authorized nurses for each room, department, or floor within the health facility, and data relating to the medical personnel's accessing patient or medical personnel information or data, 5th para, page 5.
Conclusion
Pertinent references:
Intelligent Voice Routing Method And Device
CN 112687270 A
In this embodiment, for step 201, the intelligent voice routing device obtains voice print information of the user voice instruction, judging whether the user voice instruction of voice print information is consistent with the preset voice print information; after that, for step 202, if the voice print information of the user voice instruction is consistent with the preset voiceprint information, executing user voice instruction.
In this embodiment, for step 501, the intelligent voice routing device in response to the registration instruction of the user, obtaining the registered audio of the user and extracting the voice print information of the user, for example, prompting the user to use normal voice tone and fast emotional voice tone and so on for multiple reading, to collect the voice feature of the user;
after that, for step 502, the intelligent voice routing device stores the voice print information of the user as preset voice print information with authority level.
Al-Ali et al., 12114974 discloses
If the (patient) wearable device is worn by a caregiver, the caregiver can use the wearable device for communications with other caregivers (for example, to share critical, real-time information about patients, update changes in patient status, and/or the like), replacing the need for specialized communication tools, for example, Vocera®, Spok®, etc.
Maisano et al., 11393319 :
(48) Accordingly, the caregiver device 40 of certain embodiments or implementations of the present invention may include any mobile device or mobile terminal such as, but not limited to a mobile phone, smartphone, tablet computer, etc. (e.g., APPLE® iPHONE®, ANDROID® based phone, etc.), and/or any laptop or mobile computers, desktop computers, etc.
(9) In additional embodiments, a management system or dashboard may be included in order to manage and track a plurality of wearable devices and a plurality of caregiver devices that may be associated with a particular facility.
(10) More in particular, the wearable device may be configured to engage in two-way voice calling with a paired caregiver device or application, for example, via the selection of a button or a sequence of buttons on the wearable device. In some cases, the wearable device will first try to connect with one or more caregiver(s) or caregiver device(s).
This allows the caregiver device 40 to always be capable of communication as disclosed in connection with the various embodiments described herein, such as, two-way voice calling with the wearable device 10 or emergency services, SMS communications, communicating or receiving notifications,
(49) With reference now to FIGS. 4A, 4B and 4C, an exemplary wearable device 10 as disclosed in accordance with at least one embodiment is illustrated. As shown, the device 10 includes a main body 20 and one or more straps or attachment mechanisms 22. The device 10, and in many cases, the body 20 thereof also includes a display screen, referenced as 23, upon which the user interface of a device application is displayed. In many embodiments, the display screen 23 is a touchscreen such that user interaction can be performed by using a finger or a stylus.
It should also be noted that one wearable device 10 may pair with or link to one or a plurality of caregiver devices 40. Similarly, one caregiver device 40 can pair with or link to one or a plurality of wearable devices 40.
(73) Another feature of at least one embodiment of the present invention is the ability to create or define a geofence 210 and associate that geofence 210 with a wearable device 10. In particular, a geofence 210 is a virtual perimeter of a real-world geographic location.
More in particular, the system 100 of at least one embodiment may assign each wearable device 10 to a group (e.g., “Floor 1 West”) and may assign each caretaker device 40 or application 45 to a group
(94) FIG. 7C illustrates a device user module, referenced as 310 which manages and tracks information associated with each of the wearable devices 10 and the users thereof that are associated with the particular facility. Within this module, devices or users are added and tracked, for example, by entering the device ID 202. Other information may also be entered, stored and managed, such as the user's name 320, a room number 321, notes 322, group 323, emergency contact information 324, etc. The room number 321 indicates where the user is staying within the facility.
4. The system as recited in claim 1 wherein said wearable device comprises a geofence defined via said caregiver device, wherein when said location module of said wearable device determines that said wearable device is located
Claim 15
wherein said wearable device and said caregiver device are paired to one another, said wearable device comprising a communication module and a location module, said communication module of said wearable device being configured to initiate and receive voice communications with said caregiver device
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496