DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 01/20/2026:
Claims 11-21 are pending.
Claims 22-30 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 1-10 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Schott et al. (US3799510), and further in view of Lehner (US3354504), Rauwendaal (US4798473), and Schmidt et al. (US5217655).
Regarding claim 11, Schott teaches a method for additive manufacturing using a plastic
material (col 5 line 64-65), the method comprising:
transferring the plastic material to a feed zone portion of a housing of an extruder system, the feed zone portion being designed as a funnel (hopper 26; Figure 2) and formed by a first material having a first thermal conductivity (col 6 line 1-9; the hopper is made of a material that will have a first thermal conductivity),
actively cooling (actively cooling is being interpreted as cooling while material passes
through the funnel) the plastic material while transferring the plastic material to the feed zone portion (col 4 line 28-37) such that the composite material is cooled as it passes through the funnel (Given that the initial portion of the screw 60a is cooled by flowing cooling liquid through inner pipes 98, 73 and 92 (col 4 line 27-34 and Figure 3), that the feeder portion
corresponds to barrel portion 56a, and to the hopper and screw portions immediately
thereabove (col 7 line 45-50), and that a cooling effect of water pumped through the feeder
portion prevents material from conglomerating (col 6 line 18-24), one would conclude that the
initial portion of the screw 60a located inside the hopper provides a cooling effect to material
located within the hopper);
passing the plastic material through a separating zone portion (initial barrel portion 56a; Figure 2) of the housing, the separating zone portion being formed of a second material having a second thermal conductivity less than the first thermal conductivity (col 5 line 53-55);
passing the plastic material through a plasticating and homogenizing zone portion of the
housing (a first conveying portion 56b, a vent portion 56c, and a second conveying portion 56d;
Figure 2), the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion being formed of a third material having a third thermal conductivity greater than the second thermal conductivity and the separating zone portion separating the feed zone thermally from the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion (col 5 line 53-63);
actively heating the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion while passing the plastic material through the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion (col 4 line 1-4); and
passing the plastic material through a discharge zone portion of the housing (output 40, die 42, and opening 46; Figure 1) for depositing the plastic material on a platform (col 2 line 58-60),
wherein a mechanical drive of the extruder system, for passing the plastic material
through separating zone portion and the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion, includes a screw (screw 60; Figure 2) arranged in the housing and extending through the funnel of the feed zone portion, the separating zone portion, and the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion (see screw 60 extending through funnel, separating zone, and plasticating and homogenizing zone in Figure 2),
wherein a shaft diameter of the screw is greater in the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion than in the feed zone portion and than in the separating zone portion (col 7 line 15-26), and wherein the screw is formed conically (see conical shape of screw in barrel portion 56b).
However, Schott teaches the material within the feed zone portion is cooled by the screw within the feed zone portion and fails to teach the feed zone portion of a housing is actively cooled such that the plastic material is cooled by the feed zone portion of the housing as it passes therethrough.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to extruders, Lehner teaches the screw is actively cooled (col 3 line 36-40) and the feed zone portion of the housing is actively cooled (col 3 line 40-43) such that the plastic material is cooled by the feed zone portion of the housing as it passes therethrough (col 3 line 68-70). Cooling the feed zone portion of a housing reduces frictional resistance of the plastic material on the inside wall of the feed zone portion of a housing as it is cooled (col 3 line 68-70).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the feed zone portion of a housing of Schott be actively cooled such that the plastic material is cooled by the feed zone portion of the housing as it passes therethrough, as taught by Lehr, for the benefit of reducing the frictional resistance of the plastic material on the inside wall of the feed zone portion of a housing as it is cooled.
However, Schott modified with Lehr fails to teach the screw increases uniformly from the feed zone to an end of the plasticating and homogenizing zone.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to extruders, Rauwendaal teaches the screw
increases uniformly from the feed zone portion to an end of the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion (col 2 line 5-10). Uniformly increasing the screw diameter from the feed zone to an end of the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion reduces screw induced power consumption and heat generation to ensure that greater plastic extrusion efficiencies are realized (col 5 line 56- col 6 line 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the screw of Schott modified with Lehr such that its diameter is uniformly increased from the feed zone portion to an end of the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion, as taught by Rauwendaal. Uniformly increasing the screw diameter from the feed zone portion to an end of the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion has a known benefit of reducing screw induced power consumption and heat generation to ensure greater plastic extrusion efficiencies. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success of modifying the screw of Schott such that its diameter is uniformly increased from the feed zone portion to an end of the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion, since both Schott and Rauwendaal are directed to extruding polyethylene (see col 4 line 38-42 of Schott and Abstract of Rauwendaal).
However, Schott modified with Lehr and Rauwendaal fails to teach the plastic material is a composite material. Schott teaches the extrusion of scrap or waste plastics such as polyethylene and polystyrene, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art of extruding
scrap or waste plastics to determine what compositions of scrap or waste plastics can be
extruded.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to extruding waste plastic material, Schmidt teaches the plastic material being extruded is a composite material (col 3 line 17-33).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plastic material of Schott modified with Lehr and Rauwendaal be a composite material, as taught by Schmidt, to achieve the predictable result of extruding scrap or waste polymeric composites. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success for the polymeric composite of Schmidt to be extruded by the
extruder of Schott modified with Lehr and Rauwendaal, since both Schott and Schmidt extrude
polyethylene and polystyrene materials (see col 3 line 17-33 of Schmidt), and the materials of
Schott and Schmidt are processed at overlapping temperatures (Schott teaches processing
temperatures between 350 °F and 375 °F in col 4 line 1-4 and Schmidt teaches processing
temperatures between about 320 °F and 400 °F in col 4 line 44-56).
Regarding claim 12, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. Further, Schott teaches wherein passing the material through the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion includes compressing the material such that air enclosed in the composite material is forced out (col 7 line 63- col 8 line 2).
Regarding claim 13, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. Further, Schott teaches wherein actively heating the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion involves heating the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion such that the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion reaches at least 176 °C and above (col 4 line 38-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the temperature of plasticating
and homogenizing zone portion to reach at least 200°C to achieve the formation of a polymer melt by routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05. II). One of ordinary skill would look to optimizing the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion temperature based on the material that is being extruded to form the polymer melt.
Regarding claim 14, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the extruder claim 11. Further, Schott teaches wherein a shaft of the screw in the separating zone portion includes a material with a poor thermal conductivity (see pipe 98 carrying cooling liquid in hollow portion 62 of the shaft in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. Further, Schott teaches wherein the screw extends through at least 50 percent of the funnel (see screw 60 extending through hopper 26 in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. Further, Schott teaches wherein the screw extends completely through the funnel (see screw 60 extending through hopper 26 in Figure 2).
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schott et al. (US3799510), Lehner (US3354504), Rauwendaal (US4798473), and Schmidt et al. (US5217655).
and further in view of Kim et al. (US20160200024).
Regarding claim 15, Schott modified with Lehner, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. However, Schott fails to teach wherein the first material of the housing in the feed zone portion and the third material forming the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion includes aluminum.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an extruder, Kim teaches wherein the
material of the housing in the feed zone portion and in the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion includes aluminum ([0029] upper and lower housing portions 22, 24 may be constructed of 6061 aluminum alloy). Aluminum is a light weight, high strength material ([0029] which is advantageous because of its light weight and strength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the material of the housing in the
feed zone portion and in the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion of Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt include aluminum, as taught by Kim, since one of ordinary skill would be motivated to have the feed zone portion and the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion consist of materials with relatively good thermal conductivity so that heat can be efficiently transferred to the material. Further, aluminum is an ideal material because of its light weight and high strength.
Regarding claim 16, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. However, Schott fails to teach wherein the second material forming the separating zone portion includes a heat-resistant plastic or ceramic.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an extruder, Kim teaches wherein the material of the separating zone of the housing includes a heat-resistant plastic or ceramic
([0029] the thermal insulation flange 26 may be constructed, for example, of polyether ether
ketone (PEEK) and further the examiner notes that ceramic is only claimed in the alternative
and need not be taught by the references). The heat-resistant plastic or ceramic provides a
sharp thermal gradient in the extruder that allows for the extruder components to be small and
delicate ([0028] Unlike conventional industrial screw-drive extruders, the novel screw-drive
extruder 100 is configured to provide a sharp thermal gradient… the extruder components are
constructed to be small and delicate relative to conventional industrial screw-drive extruders).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the material of the separating zone portion of Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt include a heat-resistant plastic or ceramic, as taught by Kim, since one of ordinary skill would look to a material with relatively low thermal conductivity to prevent heat from reaching the separation zone portion which, as Schott notes, thermally isolates the feed zone portion from the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion. Further, heat-resistant plastic or ceramic material in the separating zone portion has a known benefit of providing a sharp thermal gradient in the extruder.
Regarding claim 17, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. However, Schott fails to teach wherein the second material forming the separating zone portion includes a polyetherether ketone or a polysulfone.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an extruder, Kim teaches wherein the
material of the separating zone portion of the housing consists of a polyetherether ketone ([0029] the thermal insulation flange 26 may be constructed, for example, of polyether ether ketone (PEEK)). The polyetherether ketone or of polysulfone provides a sharp thermal gradient in the extruder that allows for the extruder components to be small and delicate ([0028] Unlike
conventional industrial screw-drive extruders, the novel screw-drive extruder 100 is configured
to provide a sharp thermal gradient… the extruder components are constructed to be small and
delicate relative to conventional industrial screw-drive extruders).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the material of the separating zone of Schott
modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt include a polyetherether ketone since one of ordinary skill would look to a material with relatively low thermal conductivity to prevent heat from reaching the separation zone portion which, as Schott notes, thermally isolates the feed zone portion from the plasticating and homogenizing zone portion. Further, polyetherether ketone has a known benefit of providing a sharp thermal gradient in the extruder that allows for the extruder components to be small and delicate.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schott et al.
(US3799510), Lehner (US3354504), Rauwendaal (US4798473) and Schmidt et al. (US5217655), and further in view of Roelf et al. (US3148412).
Regarding claim 18, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. While Schott teaches the extruder system comprises a tube for transporting the material from the mechanical drive to a heated portion of the housing (col 3 line 45-48), Schott fails to teach the tub is a flexible tube.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an extruder, Roelf teaches an extruder that comprises a flexible tube for transporting material to a heated portion of the housing (The
flexible tube’s small, predetermined diameter permits accurate control over the volume flow
rate of the dispensing material (col 63-68). The flexible tube allows for its movements as the
extruder is operated (col 4 line 70-75)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the tube of Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt be a flexible tube, as taught by Roelf. A flexible tube has a known benefit of providing flexibility in the movement of the tube transporting the material from the mechanical drive to a heated portion of the housing.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schott et al.
(US3799510), Lehner (US3354504), Rauwendaal (US4798473) and Schmidt et al. (US5217655), and further in view of Batchelder et al. (US5764521) and Vasquez et al. (US20150251347).
Regarding claim 21, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt teaches the method of claim 11. However, Schott fails to teach wherein the discharge zone portion includes an exchangeable nozzle.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an extruder, Batchelder teaches the nozzle is
an exchangeable nozzle (removable nozzle 338; see 338 in Figure 3). The extruder configuration
in Figure 3 provides high pressure, quick pressure agility, and pressure uniformity in the
extruder (col 5 line 1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the nozzle of Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, and Schmidt be an exchangeable nozzle, as taught by Batchelder, for the benefit of having an extruder with high pressure, quick pressure agility, and pressure uniformity. Further, an exchangeable nozzle falls under making a claimed structure separable, where it would be obvious to make the nozzle exchangeable if it were considered desirable to obtain high pressure and quick pressure agility within the extruder (see MPEP 2144.04 V C).
However, Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, Schmidt, and Batchelder fails to teach the exchangeable nozzle is made of an abrasion-resistant material.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an extruder, Vasquez teaches the nozzle is
made of an abrasion-resistant material ([0003] the extrudable materials are abrasive and wear
the die materials. It is common to use hardened steel for the die components so that the dies
have a longer life and can process more material). Constructing the nozzle with an abrasion-
resistant material prolongs nozzle service life, especially when the extrudable materials are
abrasive.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the nozzle of Schott modified with Lehr, Rauwendaal, Schmidt, and Batchelder be made of an abrasion-resistant material, as taught by Vasquez, for the benefit of prolong the nozzle service life.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743