DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-26, in the reply filed on 15 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, and 11-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (“A Crown Ether-Containing Copolyimide Membrane with Improved Fee Volume for CO2 Separation” Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research, Vol 58, Issue 31, July 2019).
Regarding claims 1-3, 10-16; Wu et al. teaches a cyclic crown ether-based copolyimide having the formula below [Scheme 1].
The cyclic crown ether-based copolyimide reads on the claimed polymer wherein X and Y are C1 alkylene substituted with R4, wherein R4 is a C1 alkyl substituted R6, wherein R6 is a halo (claim 10-11); A is a phenylene (claim 2-3); j, k, m, and n are 0 (claim 12); the sum of p and q is 4 (claim 13), wherein each p and q is 2 (instant claim 14-15); s and t are 0 (claim 16). The Examiner makes note that the claim language of the independent claim requires a polymer “comprising”, thus may contain additional linking groups within said polymer.
Regarding claim 17-22; it is noted that the substituent R4 on the phenyl ring is optional (required in an amount of 0-4), thus not explicitly required by the claim language; p and q are 2 (the same).
Regarding claims 23-25; Wu et al. teaches the molar ratios of x:y are 3:1, 1:1, and 1:3 [Table 1].
Regarding claim 26; in the instance the molar ratio of x:y is 1:3 [Table 1], it is the Examiner’s position that the polymer required by claim 1 comprises at least about 80 wt% of a total amount of the structural unit of Formula I and II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang et al. (CN 113321807), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1-16; Zhuang et al. teaches a crown ether-containing copolymerized polyimide prepared from a dianhydride R1, selected from 4,4'-(hexafluoroisopropylene) diphthalic anhydride (6FDA), triptycene-2,3,6,7-tetracarboxylic dianhydride (TTD), which can be used in a combination of at least two [029]; R2 is selected from 9,9-bis(4-aminophenyl)fluorene (BMF) or 2,6-diaminotoluene (DAP) [031], and R3 is selected from trans-bis(aminobenzo)-18-crown-6 [033].
The crown ether-containing copolymerized polyimide reads on the claimed polymer wherein X and Y are C1 alkylene substituted with R4, wherein R4 is a C1 alkyl substituted R6, wherein R6 is a halo (claim 10-11); A is a phenylene comprising one R4 C1 alkyl group (when DAP is employed; instant claims 2-5) or A is a group of formula III, wherein R7 and R8 together with the carbon to which they are attached form a fluorene (when BMF is employed; claims 8-9) and/or A is an triptycene (when TTD is employed; claims 6-7); j, k, m, and n are 0 (claim 12); the sum of p and q is 4 (claim 13), wherein each p and q is 2 (instant claim 14-15); s and t are 0 (claim 16).
Zhuang et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Zhuang et al. does not specifically disclose an polymer prepared 6FDA, DAP or BMF, and t-DADB-18C6. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a polyimide copolymer from the reactants 6FDA, DAP, and t-DADB-18C6 based on the invention of Zhuang et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Zhuang et al. suggests that the polyimide copolymer can be prepared from 6FDA, DAP, and t-DADB-18C6 [029-033]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claims 17-22 and 26; the crown ether-containing copolymerized polyimide of Zhuang et al. reads on the claimed polymer when 6FDA, DAP, and t-DADB-18C6 are used, thus comprising at least about 80wt% of a total amount (i.e. 100 wt%) of the structural repeat unit of formula I and II.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767