DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application is a Continuation of PCT/CN2020/096404 (filed 06/16/2020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHORYAEV et al. (WO 2020146820 A1, hereinafter KHORYAEV, NOTE: corresponding US 20220116089 A1 is being used for rejection citation purposes, in view of Manolakos et al. (US 20200235877 A1, hereinafter Manolakos).
Regarding claim 1, KHORYAEV teaches a method for configuring a resource for a positioning-purpose reference signal, applicable for a terminal, comprising (in general, see fig. 2B in view of fig. 1B and their corresponding paragraphs for “UL PRS Features”; see also fig. 2A in view of fig. 1A for additional relevant information):
receiving resource configuration information of a plurality of positioning-purpose reference signals sent by a network device (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 122 along with at least para. 84-88 and fig. 1B, “…At operation 252, the operational control flow 250 causes the gNB to preconfigure set of UL PRS Resources…”);
wherein the resource configuration information is at least configured to indicate positions of frequency domain resources of the positioning-purpose reference signals transmitted by the terminal (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 123 along with para. 85 and fig. 1B, “…the UE to transmit UL PRS generated using PRS Sequence ID on UL PRS Resources…”).
KHORYAEV does not specifically teach
the frequency domain resources of at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals are at different frequency domain positions of one positioning frequency layer,
and
the frequency domain resources on the positioning frequency layer are a set of frequency spectrum resources for transmission of the positioning-purpose reference signals;
wherein the frequency domain resources of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals being at different frequency domain positions of one positioning frequency layer comprises:
frequency domain starting positions of physical resource blocks (PRBs) of resources for the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals being different,
and
bandwidths occupied by the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals at the positioning frequency layer being different;
wherein the frequency domain resources of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals do not overlap.
Manolakos teaches (in general, see fig. 4 and its paragraphs 194-206, “...uplink PRS configurations 400 and 401 describe some of multiple different possible configurations for an uplink PRS. Each of the uplink PRS configurations may show, for example, a set of time-frequency resources which include multiple resource elements...”)
the frequency domain resources of at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals are at different frequency domain positions of one positioning frequency layer (Manolakos, see at least para. 197 and fig. 4, “...In some cases, the set of time-frequency resources may be, for example, one or more symbol periods 425 spanning a set of subcarriers 420 (e.g., as shown in uplink PRS configuration 400), or a full resource block (e.g., as may be shown in uplink PRS configuration 401)...”),
and
the frequency domain resources on the positioning frequency layer are a set of frequency spectrum resources for transmission of the positioning-purpose reference signals (Manolakos, see at least fig. 4, for a non-limiting example, see configuration 401, note that configuration 400 could also apply);
wherein the frequency domain resources of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals being at different frequency domain positions of one positioning frequency layer comprises:
frequency domain starting positions of physical resource blocks (PRBs) of resources for the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals being different (Manolakos, see at least fig. 4, for example, either one or both of configuration 400 or configuration 401, note that each or any of the PRS has its starting position),
and
bandwidths occupied by the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals at the positioning frequency layer being different (Manolakos, see at least fig. 4, for example, either one or both of configuration 400 or configuration 401, note that each or any of the PRS has its starting position at its frequency),
wherein the frequency domain resources of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals do not overlap (Manolakos, see at least fig. 4, for example, either one or both of configuration 400 or configuration 401, note that each or any of the PRS has its starting position at its frequency without overlapping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Manolakos into KHORYAEV for increasing accuracy for the PRS measurements.
Regarding claim 3, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches a spectrum resource of the positioning frequency layer is a licensed spectrum resource or an unlicensed spectrum resource. (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 122 along with para. 100 and 141, the UEs 301 and the RAN nodes 311 communicate data over licensed spectrum and unlicensed spectrum)
Regarding claim 4, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches
receiving the resource configuration information of the plurality of positioning-purpose reference signals sent by the network device comprises:
receiving resource configuration information of a plurality of positioning reference signals (PRSs) sent by the network device (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 122 along with para. 98-100, for one example, but not limited to, UL PRS resource may be described by parameters);
or
receiving resource configuration information of a plurality of sounding reference signals (SRSs) for positioning sent by the network device.
Regarding claim 5, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches
determining antenna ports for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 100-101, “…3. Number of antenna ports per PRS resource, for example, 1 or 2;…”),
or antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals,
or the antenna ports and the antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals;
wherein, the antenna ports for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals are different (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 100-101, “…Number of antenna ports per PRS resource, for example, 1 or 2;…”),
or the antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals are different,
or both the antenna ports and the antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals are different.
Regarding claim 6, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches
determining the antenna ports for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals comprises: determining the antenna ports for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals according to indexes of first antenna ports for the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals indicated by the resource configuration information (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 100-101 in view of para. 117, “…Number of antenna ports per PRS resource, for example, 1 or 2;…”, NOTE: antenna ports are indexed by “antenna port IDs”; Manolakos, see at least 124-125),
or, determining the antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals comprises: determining the antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals according to indexes of first antenna panels for the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals indicated by the resource configuration information;
or, determining the antenna ports and the antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals comprises: determining the antenna ports and the antenna panels for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals according to the indexes of the first antenna ports and the indexes of the first antenna panels for the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals indicated by the resource configuration information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Manolakos into KHORYAEV for increasing accuracy for the PRS measurements.
Regarding claim 7, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches the resource configuration information is further configured to
indicate indexes of first transmission-reception points (TRPs) for the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 53 and 75, e.g. “…Unambiguous identification of TRPs/gNBs with the large set of IDs;…”),
or indicate identifiers of first physical cells for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals,
or indicate the indexes of the first transmission-reception points (TRPs) for the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals and the identifiers of the first physical cells for transmitting the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals.
Regarding claim 8, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches the resource configuration information comprises quasi co-location (QCL) information, and the QCL information is configured to indicate beam information of the terminal for transmitting each positioning-purpose reference signal in the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals; wherein the QCL information comprises indexes of beam information reference signals and one or more of identifiers of second antenna ports for transmitting the beam information reference signals, identifiers of second antenna panels for transmitting the beam information reference signals, identifiers of second transmission-reception points (TRPs) for transmitting the beam information reference signals, and identifiers of second physical cells for transmitting the beam information reference signals. (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 63 along with para. 73 and 113, “…by more sophisticated PRS resource configuration and support of multiple PRS resources, each associated with unique ID identifying specific transmission point or beam. The beams transmitted from the same geographical point can be marked as quasi collocated—with signaled QCL type…”)
Regarding claim 9, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches the resource configuration information is further configured to indicate a transmission power corresponding to the index of each first antenna port in a case that the positioning-purpose reference signals are uplink sounding reference signals (SRSs) for positioning. (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 83 and 90, e.g. transmit power allocation)
Regarding claim 10, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos teaches reporting measurement results of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals respectively by different measurement reports in response to a demand of reporting the measurement results of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals to the network device; or reporting measurement results of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals by one measurement report in response to a demand of reporting the measurement results of the at least two of the positioning-purpose reference signals to the network device. (KHORYAEV, see at least para. 68 and/or 102, e.g. measurements and reporting; Manolakos, para. 171, e.g. measurements reporting)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Manolakos into KHORYAEV for increasing accuracy for the PRS measurements.
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 11 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of claim 1. For example, it would be a network device of claim 11 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the terminal of claim 1. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19, in view of claim 11 above, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 3, 4, 5+6, 7, 8, 9, and 10, respectively.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1 except this claim is in apparatus claim format.
To be more specific, KHORYAEV in view of Manolakos also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising processor, transceiver, and memory (KHORYAEV, see at least fig. 12), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding at least one of the independent claims 1, 11, and 20, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YEE F LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465