Response to Amendment
This is a Final Office action in response to communications filed on December 22, 2025. Applicant did not amend any claims and did not add any new matter. Applicant added claims 22-24 and cancelled claims 10 and 16-17. Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 18-24 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20050146753 A1 (“Firooz”) in view of US 20150054274 A1 (“Dumusois”) and US 10001403 B2 (“Brouhard”).
In regards to claim 1, Firooz discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers ([0011], “The present systems and methods provide a multi-function printer”) using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids;
scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content ([0013], “Multi-function printer … has … scanning functionality”) in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided, using an erasable ink material, on the plurality of papers by the users;
and erasing, by the MFP, the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers.
Dumusois discloses
using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with … erasable ink”)
and erasing, by the MFP, the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with … erasable ink”).
Firooz and Dumusois are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and printing ink. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise and erasing, by the MFP, the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, as disclosed by Dumusois, to provide fugitive ink for a solvent-borne or UV-curable fugitive ink composition.
Brouhard discloses
a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids (column 4, lines 4-5, “The code … may be generated in a … a UPC format” Examiner notes that UPC is an acronym for universal product code and that a UPC is a type of unique identifier.);
in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided, using an erasable ink material, on the plurality of papers by the users (column 8, lines 65-67, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.);
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids and in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided, using an erasable ink material, on the plurality of papers by the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide UPC-formatted codes and database servers for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 2, Firooz does not disclose wherein the unique identifier comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code or a watermark for uniquely identifying the users.
Brouhard discloses
wherein the unique identifier comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code or a watermark for uniquely identifying the users (column 1, lines 63-65, “the scale may be configured to encode the item in Quick Response (QR) code format”).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the unique identifier comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code or a watermark for uniquely identifying the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a Quick Response (QR) code format for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 3, Firooz does not disclose wherein the one or more user inputs comprise handwritten content of the one or more users.
Dumusois discloses
wherein the one or more user inputs comprise handwritten content of the one or more users ([0036], “Visible indicia (handwritten text) have been written on the substrate”).
Firooz and Dumusois are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and printing ink. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the one or more user inputs comprise handwritten content of the one or more users, as disclosed by Dumusois, to provide visible indicia for a solvent-borne or UV-curable fugitive ink composition.
In regards to claim 4, Firooz does not disclose wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen.
Dumusois discloses
wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with heat sensitive erasable ink”).
Firooz and Dumusois are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and printing ink. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen, as disclosed by Dumusois, to provide fugitive ink for a solvent-borne or UV-curable fugitive ink composition.
In regards to claim 5, Firooz discloses
comparing the scanned content with prestored learning aids ([0014], “Fax functionality … may use printing functionality … for printing received faxes and fax functionality … may receive scanned images from scanning functionality … to be used as outgoing faxes.” Examiner notes that the scanned images may be compared to the received faxes.);
separating the user inputs from the scanned content based on the comparing ([0014], “Fax functionality … may use printing functionality … for printing received faxes and fax functionality … may receive scanned images from scanning functionality … to be used as outgoing faxes.” Examiner notes that the received faxes are inherently separated from the outgoing faxes.);
and storing the user inputs in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users ([0016], “memory may be used to store … data such as … user selected … settings.”).
In regards to claim 6, Firooz does not disclose further comprising facilitating the users to access the scanned content stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users.
Brouhard discloses
further comprising facilitating the users to access the scanned content (column 3, lines 45-47, “The scale … may … access the information … from … a scanned barcode affixed to the item”) stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users (column 3, lines 28-30, “The software application … may … retrieve information” Examiner notes that a software application that retrieves information uses a document management system.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, further comprising facilitating the users to access the scanned content stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a scanned barcode and software application for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 7, Firooz does not disclose further comprising embossing the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users.
Brouhard discloses
further comprising embossing the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users (column 1, lines 63-66, “the scale may be configured to encode the item in Quick Response (QR) code format, Universal Product Code (UPC) format, and/or other encoding that is machine readable.” Examiner notes that a QR code, a UPC code, and other codes may be embossed or raised.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, further comprising facilitating the users to access the scanned content stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users further comprising embossing the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a Quick Response (QR) code format, Universal Product Code (UPC) format, and other encoding that is machine readable for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 8, Firooz discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor ([0013], “printing and scanning functionalities … may be used in conjunction with connected general purpose processor-based device”);
and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to ([0016], “Memory … may be … associated with printer, scanner and/or copier functionality” Examiner notes that computer memory stores processor-executable instructions.): print the learning aids on a plurality of papers ([0011], “The present systems and methods provide a multi-function printer”) using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids;
scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content ([0016], “Multi-function printer … has … scanning functionality”) in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users, using an erasable ink material; and erase the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers.
Dumusois discloses
using an erasable ink ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with … erasable ink”),
using an erasable ink material ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with … erasable ink”); and erase the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with … erasable ink”).
Firooz and Dumusois are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and printing ink. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to print the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, using an erasable ink, using an erasable ink material, and erase the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers, as disclosed by Dumusois, to provide fugitive ink for a solvent-borne or UV-curable fugitive ink composition.
Brouhard discloses
wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids (column 4, lines 4-5, “The code … may be generated in a … a UPC format” Examiner notes that UPC is an acronym for universal product code and that a UPC is a type of unique identifier.)
in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users (column 9, lines 62-63 and column 10, line 12, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.),
upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers (column 8, lines 65-67, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to print the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids, in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users, upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide database servers and a UPC code for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 9, Firooz does not disclose wherein the unique identifier comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code or a watermark for uniquely identifying the users.
Brouhard discloses wherein the unique identifier comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code or a watermark for uniquely identifying the users (column 1, lines 63-65, “the scale may be configured to encode the item in Quick Response (QR) code format”).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to print the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the unique identifier comprises at least one of a Quick Response (QR) code or a watermark for uniquely identifying the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a UPC code for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 11, Firooz does not disclose wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen.
Dumusois discloses
wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with heat sensitive erasable ink”).
Firooz and Dumusois are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and printing ink. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to print the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen, as disclosed by Dumusois, to provide fugitive ink for a solvent-borne or UV-curable fugitive ink composition.
In regards to claim 12, Firooz discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to: compare the scanned content with prestored learning aids ([0014], “Fax functionality … may use printing functionality … for printing received faxes and fax functionality … may receive scanned images from scanning functionality … to be used as outgoing faxes.” Examiner notes that the scanned images may be compared to the received faxes.);
separate the user inputs from the scanned content based on the comparing ([0014], “Fax functionality … may use printing functionality … for printing received faxes and fax functionality … may receive scanned images from scanning functionality … to be used as outgoing faxes.” Examiner notes that the received faxes are inherently separated from the outgoing faxes.);
and store the user inputs in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users ([0016], “memory may be used to store … data such as … user selected … settings.”).
In regards to claim 13, Firooz does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to facilitate the users to access the scanned content stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users.
Brouhard discloses
wherein the processor is configured to facilitate the users to access the scanned content (column 3, lines 45-47, “The scale … may … access the information … from … a scanned barcode affixed to the item”) stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users (column 3, lines 28-30, “The software application … may … retrieve information” Examiner notes that a software application that retrieves information uses a document management system.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to print the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the processor is configured to facilitate the users to access the scanned content stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a scanned barcode for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 14, Firooz does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to emboss the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users.
Brouhard discloses
wherein the processor (column 4, lines 41-42, “the scale … may … be used as a processor for generating code information”) is configured to emboss the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users (column 1, lines 63-66, “the scale may be configured to encode the item in Quick Response (QR) code format, Universal Product Code (UPC) format, and/or other encoding that is machine readable.” Examiner notes that a QR code, a UPC code, and other codes may be embossed or raised.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to print the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the processor is configured to emboss the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a scale, a QR code, and a UPC code for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 15, Firooz discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions stored thereon ([0016], “Memory … may be … associated with printer, scanner and/or copier functionality” Examiner notes that computer memory stores processor-executable instructions.) that when processed by at least one processor, cause a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, to perform operations comprising: printing the learning aids on a plurality of papers ([0011], “The present systems and methods provide a multi-function printer”):
using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprises a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids;
scanning each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs ([0016], “Multi-function printer … has … scanning functionality”) and storing scanned content in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users, using an erasable ink material;
and erasing the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers.
Dumusois discloses
using an erasable ink ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with … erasable ink”),
and erasing the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with … erasable ink”)
Firooz and Dumusois are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and printing ink. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions stored thereon that when processed by at least one processor, cause a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, to perform operations comprising: printing the learning aids on a plurality of papers, and scanning each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, as disclosed by Firooz, using an erasable ink and erasing the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers, as disclosed by Dumusois, to provide fugitive ink for a solvent-borne or UV-curable fugitive ink composition.
Brouhard discloses
wherein each of the plurality of papers comprises a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids (column 4, lines 4-5, “The code … may be generated in a … a UPC format” Examiner notes that UPC is an acronym for universal product code and that a UPC is a type of unique identifier.)
and storing scanned content in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users (column 8, lines 65-67, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.)
upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers (column 8, lines 65-67, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.)
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions stored thereon that when processed by at least one processor, cause a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, to perform operations comprising: printing the learning aids on a plurality of papers, and scanning each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprises a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids, and storing scanned content in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users, upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide UPC codes and database servers for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 18, Firooz does not disclose wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen.
Dumusois discloses
wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen ([0035], “The fugitive ink … reacts with heat sensitive erasable ink”).
Firooz and Dumusois are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and printing ink. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions stored thereon that when processed by at least one processor, cause a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, to perform operations comprising: printing the learning aids on a plurality of papers, and scanning each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the erasable ink material is provided by a heat erasable ink pen, as disclosed by Dumusois, to provide fugitive ink for a solvent-borne or UV-curable fugitive ink composition.
In regards to claim 19, Firooz discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to: compare the scanned content with prestored learning aids ([0014], “Fax functionality … may use printing functionality … for printing received faxes and fax functionality … may receive scanned images from scanning functionality … to be used as outgoing faxes.” Examiner notes that the scanned images may be compared to the received faxes.);
separate the user inputs from the scanned content based on the comparing ([0014], “Fax functionality … may use printing functionality … for printing received faxes and fax functionality … may receive scanned images from scanning functionality … to be used as outgoing faxes.” Examiner notes that the received faxes are inherently separated from the outgoing faxes.);
and store the user inputs in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users ([0016], “memory may be used to store … data such as … user selected … settings”).
In regards to claim 20, Firooz does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to facilitate the users to access the scanned content stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users.
Brouhard discloses
wherein the processor (column 4, lines 41-42, “the scale … may … be used as a processor for generating code information”) is configured to facilitate the users to access the scanned content (column 3, lines 45-47, “The scale … may … access the information … from … a scanned barcode affixed to the item”) stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users (column 3, lines 28-30, “The software application … may … retrieve information” Examiner notes that a software application that retrieves information uses a document management system.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions stored thereon that when processed by at least one processor, cause a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, to perform operations comprising: printing the learning aids on a plurality of papers, and scanning each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the processor is configured to facilitate the users to access the scanned content stored in the DMS upon authentication of the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a scale, a barcode, and a software application for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 21, Firooz does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to emboss the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users..
Brouhard discloses
wherein the processor is configured to emboss the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users (column 1, lines 63-66, “the scale may be configured to encode the item in Quick Response (QR) code format, Universal Product Code (UPC) format, and/or other encoding that is machine readable.” Examiner notes that a QR code, a UPC code, and other codes may be embossed or raised.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions stored thereon that when processed by at least one processor, cause a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, to perform operations comprising: printing the learning aids on a plurality of papers, and scanning each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein the processor is configured to emboss the learning aids with the one or more user inputs for allowing the users to refer to the respective one or more user inputs previously provided by the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide a scale, QR code, and UPC code for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 22, Firooz does not disclose wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users.
Brouhard discloses
wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS (column 8, lines 65-67, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.) in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users (column 4, lines 4-5, “The code … may be generated in a … a UPC format” Examiner notes that UPC is an acronym for universal product code and that a UPC is a type of unique identifier.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers and scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids and in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided, using an erasable ink material, on the plurality of papers by the users, wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide UPC-formatted codes and database servers for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 23, Firooz does not disclose wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users.
Brouhard discloses
wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS (column 8, lines 65-67, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.) in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users (column 4, lines 4-5, “The code … may be generated in a … a UPC format” Examiner notes that UPC is an acronym for universal product code and that a UPC is a type of unique identifier.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, for providing reusable learning aids to users, the MFP comprising: a processor and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to print the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scan each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs and storing scanned content, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids, in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users, upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide database servers and a UPC-formatted code for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
In regards to claim 24, Firooz does not disclose wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users.
Brouhard discloses
wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS (column 8, lines 65-67, “The client may provide an interface to … database servers” Examiner notes that the primary purpose of a database server is to store and manage data.) in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users (column 4, lines 4-5, “The code … may be generated in a … a UPC format” Examiner notes that UPC is an acronym for universal product code and that a UPC is a type of unique identifier.).
Firooz and Brouhard combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of printers and machine readable code systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions stored thereon that when processed by at least one processor, cause a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, to perform operations comprising: printing the learning aids on a plurality of papers, and scanning each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, as disclosed by Firooz, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprises a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids, and storing scanned content in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided on the plurality of papers by the users, upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, wherein the scanned content is stored in the DMS in a DMS profile associated with the unique identifier of the users, as disclosed by Brouhard, to provide UPC-formatted codes and database servers for a system that weighs an item placed on a scale and encodes the weight and other item information into a machine readable code.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant did not amend any claims and did not add any new matter. Applicant added claims 22-24 and cancelled claims 10 and 16-17. Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 18-24 remain pending in this application.
With respect to “Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103”, “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited art fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least these limitations of Claim 1 as originally filed.” (See AMENDMENT AND REPLY UNDER 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, REMARKS, Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Claims 1, 8, and 15, page 8, paragraph 3). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. With respect to claim 1, Firooz discloses a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, Dumusois discloses using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise and erasing, by the MFP, the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, and Brouhard discloses a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids; in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided, using an erasable ink material, on the plurality of papers by the users.
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim
limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 8 (which is almost identical to claim 1), and 15 (which is almost identical to claim 1) as obvious by Firooz in view of Dumusois and Brouhard, are maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2-7, 9, 11-14, and 18-24 are maintained.
Furthermore, MPEP 2141.01(a) discusses obviousness regarding analogous art. Under MPEP 2141.01(a), a reference is analogous to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor (even if it addresses a different problem): or (2) the reference is reasonable pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Examiner notes that combined Firooz, Dumusois, and Brouhard are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 8, and 15 and dependent claims 2-7, 9, 11-14, and 18-24, as obvious over Firooz in view of Dumusois, and Brouhard, are maintained.
With respect to “Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103”, Applicant argues “the cited art fails to disclose, teach, or suggest a ‘plurality of papers [that] comprise a unique identifier’” (See AMENDMENT AND REPLY UNDER 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, REMARKS, Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Claims 1, 8, and 15, page 9, paragraph 1). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. With respect to claim 1, Firooz discloses a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, Dumusois discloses using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise and erasing, by the MFP, the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, and Brouhard discloses a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids; in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided, using an erasable ink material, on the plurality of papers by the users.
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim
limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to modify the system to print the code onto paper instead of displaying the code on a display. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 8 (which is almost identical to claim 1), and 15 (which is almost identical to claim 1) as obvious by Firooz in view of Dumusois and Brouhard, are maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2-7, 9, 11-14, and 18-24 are maintained.
Furthermore, MPEP 2141.01(a) discusses obviousness regarding analogous art. Under MPEP 2141.01(a), a reference is analogous to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor (even if it addresses a different problem): or (2) the reference is reasonable pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Examiner notes that combined Firooz, Dumusois, and Brouhard are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 8, and 15 and dependent claims 2-7, 9, 11-14, and 18-24, as obvious over Firooz in view of Dumusois, and Brouhard, are maintained.
With respect to “Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103”, Applicant argues “the cited art fails to disclose, teach, or suggest a "unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids.” (See AMENDMENT AND REPLY UNDER 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, REMARKS, Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Claims 1, 8, and 15, page 9, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. With respect to claim 1, Firooz discloses a method for providing reusable learning aids to users, the method comprising: printing, by a Multi-Function Printer, MFP, the learning aids on a plurality of papers; scanning, by the MFP, each of the plurality of papers comprising one or more user inputs, and storing scanned content, Dumusois discloses using an erasable ink, wherein each of the plurality of papers comprise and erasing, by the MFP, the erasable ink on each of the plurality of papers upon storing the scanned content in the DMS for reusing the plurality of papers, and Brouhard discloses a unique identifier corresponding to the users of the learning aids; in a Document Management System, DMS, the DMS associated with the MFP, wherein the one or more user inputs are provided, using an erasable ink material, on the plurality of papers by the users.
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim
limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to assign a unique identifier to a specific user for any application (including a learning aid). Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 8 (which is almost identical to claim 1), and 15 (which is almost identical to claim 1) as obvious by Firooz in view of Dumusois and Brouhard, are maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2-7, 9, 11-14, and 18-24 are maintained.
Furthermore, MPEP 2141.01(a) discusses obviousness regarding analogous art. Under MPEP 2141.01(a), a reference is analogous to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor (even if it addresses a different problem): or (2) the reference is reasonable pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Examiner notes that combined Firooz, Dumusois, and Brouhard are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 8, and 15 and dependent claims 2-7, 9, 11-14, and 18-24, as obvious over Firooz in view of Dumusois, and Brouhard, are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejections presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is (571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715