DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annis et al. (9,742,081) in view of Okamoto et al. (2014/0106619).
With regard to claim 1, Annis teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 4 lines 40-46: “A detachable header housing 130 for a header connector assembly 100, comprising an outer shell 130 with a shield member, wherein the header housing 130 with a shield member (described in column 4 lines 40-46) is detachably assembled, attached, or mounted onto an inner housing 132… and wherein the inner housing 132 remains connected to an electrical device 102”.
Annis does not teach: “wherein when the header housing is detachably assembled, attached, or mounted onto the inner housing, the header housing is one of being locked and unlocked onto the inner housing, wherein the inner housing is located within the header housing when the header housing is attached onto the inner housing”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Okamoto teaches, as shown in figure 1: “wherein when the header housing 1 is detachably assembled, attached, or mounted onto the inner housing 14, the header housing 1 is one of being locked and unlocked onto the inner housing 14, wherein the inner housing 14 is located within the header housing 1 when the header housing 1 is attached onto the inner housing 14”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Okamoto with the invention of Annis in order to fix the header housing to the inner housing (Okamoto, paragraph 21).
With regard to claim 2, Annis as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The detachable header housing for the header connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Annis also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the inner housing 132 is attached to a main body 130 containing at least one of a set of terminals 126, a power assembly, and a high voltage interlock loop (HVIL) assembly”.
With regard to claim 3, Annis as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The detachable header housing for the header connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Annis also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the inner housing 132 is connected to an electrical device 102”.
With regard to claim 4, Annis as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The detachable header housing for the header connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Annis also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the inner housing 132 holds at least one metal contact or pin 112”.
With regard to claim 5, Annis as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The detachable header housing for the header connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Annis also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the header housing 130, when requiring service, repair or replacement, is detachable or removable from the inner housing 132, while maintaining the connection of the inner housing 132 to the electrical device 102”.
With regard to claim 6, Annis as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The detachable header housing for the header connector assembly according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Annis also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the header housing 130, after having been serviced, repaired or replaced, is attachable, or capable of being assembled or mounted back onto the inner housing 132, while maintaining the connection of the header connector assembly to the electrical device 102”.
With regard to claim 7, Annis as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The detachable header housing for the header connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Annis also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 4 lines 40-46: “wherein the header housing 130 with the shield member, shields or seals the inner housing from electromagnetic interference (EMI) (column 4 lines 40-46 teaches the header housing having shielding), external damage, either due to physical impact or environmental contaminants”.
With regard to claim 8, Annis as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The detachable header housing for the header connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Annis also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 4 lines 40-46: “wherein the header housing 130 with the shield member prevents damage to the inner housing during transport or other function thereof from physical impact or environmental contaminants (column 4 lines 40-46 teaches the header housing being made of metal, which would protect the inner housing 132 from physical impact)”.
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (2022/0337007) in view of Okamoto et al. (2014/0106619).
With regard to claim 11, Chen teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “A method for detaching a header housing 1 for a header connector assembly 100, comprising the steps of: detaching or removing a header housing 1 with a shield member 13 from a metal case 400… removing said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 from an inner housing 2 of said header connector assembly 100… and maintaining connection of said inner housing to an associated or corresponding electrical device.
Chen does not teach unlocking and thereafter removing said header housing from the inner housing or “said inner housing located within said header housing”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Okamoto teaches, as shown in figure 1, unlocking and thereafter removing said header housing 1 from the inner housing 14 and “said inner housing 14 located within said header housing 1”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Okamoto with the invention of Annis in order to fix the header housing to the inner housing when connected (Okamoto, paragraph 21).
With regard to claim 16, Chen teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “A method for attaching a detachable header housing 1 for a header connector assembly 100, comprising the steps of: attaching a header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto a metal case 400… assembling… said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto an inner housing 2 of said header connector assembly 100… and maintaining connection of said inner housing 2 to an associated or corresponding electrical device 3”.
Chen does not teach lockably assembling or locking said header housing onto the inner housing or “said inner housing located within said header housing”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Okamoto teaches, as shown in figure 1, lockably assembling or locking said header housing 14 onto the inner housing 1 and “said inner housing 14 located within said header housing 1”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Okamoto with the invention of Annis in order to fix the header housing to the inner housing when connected (Okamoto, paragraph 21).
Claims 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (2022/0337007) in view of Okamoto et al. (2014/0106619) and Neumann et al. (2021/0340894).
With regard to claim 12, Chen as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The method for detaching said header housing of said header connector assembly according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Chen also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein said step of detaching or removing said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 from said metal case 400… when said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 requires service, repair or repair, while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 2 to said associated or corresponding electrical device 3”.
Neither Chen nor Okamoto teach: “includes a step of unscrewing at least a bolt joining said header housing and said metal case”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Neumann teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and described in paragraphs 33 and 38, the step of detaching or removing said header housing 32 with said shield member 34 and 36 from said metal case 18 “includes a step of unscrewing at least a bolt 30 joining said header housing 32 and said metal case 18”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Neumann with the invention of Chen as modified by Okamoto in order to removably hold the header housing on the metal case (Neumann, paragraph 38).
With regard to claim 13, Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann teaches: “The method for detaching said header housing from said inner housing according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Neumann teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and described in paragraph 33: “wherein said step of unlocking or removing said header housing 32 from said inner housing 14 of said header connector assembly 10 includes a step of unlatching a latch member 64 of said inner housing 14 of said header connector assembly 10 from another latch member 30 of said header housing 32, while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 14 to said associated electrical device 18”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Neumann with the invention of Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann in order to removably hold the header housing on the metal case (Neumann, paragraph 38).
With regard to claim 14, Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann teaches: “The method for detaching said header housing from said inner housing according to claim 13”, as shown above.
Neumann teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and described in paragraph 33: “wherein said step of unlatching said latch member 64 of said inner housing 14 of said header connector assembly 10 from said another latch member 30 of said header housing 32 includes a step of depressing or unlocking said latch member 64 of said inner housing 14 of said header connector assembly 10 from said another latch member 30 of said header housing 32, while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 14 to said associated or corresponding electrical device 18”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Neumann with the invention of Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann in order to removably hold the header housing on the metal case (Neumann, paragraph 38).
With regard to claim 15, Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann teaches: “The method for detaching said header housing from said header connector assembly according to claim 14”, as shown above.
Neumann teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and described in paragraphs 31, 33, and 38: “wherein said step of depressing or unlocking said latch member 64 of said inner housing 14 from said another latch member 30 of said header housing 32 includes a step of dislodging, with the use of a tool (paragraph 38 teaches the another latch member being a screw, which is known to use a screwdriver to latch and unlatch), said latch member 64 of said inner housing 14 of said header connector assembly 10 from said another latch member 30 of said header housing 32, while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 14 to said associated or corresponding electrical device (paragraph 31 teaches the connection of the inner housing to an electrical device in the system covered by 18)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Neumann with the invention of Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann in order to removably hold the header housing on the metal case (Neumann, paragraph 38).
With regard to claim 17, Chen as modified by Okamoto teaches: “The method for attaching said header housing for said header connector assembly according to claim 16”, as shown above.
Chen also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein said step of attaching said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto said metal case 400… while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 2 to said associated or corresponding electrical device 3”.
Neither Chen nor Okamoto teach the method including “includes a step of connecting a latch member of said inner housing with another latch member of said header housing”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Neumann teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and described in paragraphs 33 and 38, the method including “the step of connecting a latch 64 of said inner housing 32 with another latch member 30 of said header housing 32”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Neumann with the invention of Chen as modified by Okamoto in order to removably hold the header housing on the metal case (Neumann, paragraph 38).
With regard to claim 18, Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann teaches: “The method for attaching said header housing for said header connector assembly according to claim 17”, as shown above.
Chen also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein said step of attaching a header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto a metal case 400… when said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 requires service, repair or repair, while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 2 to said associated or corresponding electrical device 3”.
Neumann also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and described in paragraphs 33 and 38, the step of attaching said header housing 32 with said shield member 34 and 36 to said metal case 18 “includes a step of screwing at least a bolt 30 for joining said header housing 32 with said metal case 18”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Neumann with the invention of Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann in order to removably hold the header housing on the metal case (Neumann, paragraph 38).
With regard to claim 19, Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann teaches: “The method for attaching said header housing for said header connector assembly according to claim 17”, as shown above.
Chen also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein said step of attaching said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto a metal case 400, includes a step of attaching a serviced, repaired, replaced or new header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto said metal case 400, while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 2 to said associated or corresponding electrical device 3”.
With regard to claim 20, Chen as modified by Okamoto and Neumann teaches: “The method for attaching said header housing for said header connector assembly according to claim 18”, as shown above.
Chen also teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein said step of assembling or mounting said header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto an inner housing 2, includes a step of assembling or mounting a serviced, repaired, replaced or new header housing 1 with said shield member 13 onto said inner housing of said header connector assembly 100, while maintaining said connection of said inner housing 2 to said associated or corresponding electrical device 3”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to claims 1, 11, and 16, the Applicant argues that the cited inner housing and header housing in the secondary reference are not assembled so that the inner housing is located within the header housing that has a shield member. However, the secondary reference does teach the housing 14 located within the header housing with shield member 1.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831