DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 02/28/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 10 have been amended, claims 16-18 have been cancelled, claims 19-20 have been added, and claims 4, 9, and 13 remain withdrawn. Thus, claims 1-14 and 19-20 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 02/28/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmiston et al (US 20140364941 A1), herein referenced to as “Edmiston” in view of Johnson et al (US 20130204288 A1), herein referenced to as “Johnson” and Ahonen et al (US 20130041390 A1), herein referenced to as “Ahonen” have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The applicant amended claims 1 and 10 to further recite “and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member to the framework, the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre-formed solid structure”. The examiner agrees that the combination of references do not teach the amended claim limitations. The examiner specifically agrees that the filler material relied upon of Ahonen is not a pre-formed solid structure.
Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Edmiston in view of Johnson and Martinez (US 20040098028 A1).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre-formed solid structure” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmiston et al (US 20140364941 A1), herein referenced to as “Edmiston” in view of Johnson et al (US 20130204288 A1), herein referenced to as “Johnson” and Martinez (US 20040098028 A1), herein referenced to as “Martinez”.
Claim 1
Edmiston discloses: A medical device system (see Figs. 1-12, [0091]) configured to occlude an opening 5 (see Figs. 8-11, [0096]) in a heart the LAA is within the heart, the medical device system (see Figs. 1-12) comprising: a delivery system 100 (see Fig. 4, [0091]) including a handle 106 (see Fig. 4, [0091]) and a catheter 102 (see Fig. 4, [0091]); and an implant 20 (see Figs. 4 and 8-11, [0091]) removably coupled (see Fig. 11, 20 is removably coupled from 102, [0103]) to the catheter 102, the implant 20 including: a framework 24 + 26 (see Figs. 1-12, especially Fig. 2, [0079]) including a hub 54 (see Figs. 1-12, [0083]) with frame segments 24 + 26 extending radially (see Fig. 2, 24 and 26 extend radially from 54, [0083]) from the hub 54; and a tissue growth member 28 (see Figs. 1-12, [0079]) attached (see [0079], 24 has 28 attached to it) to the framework 24 + 26, the tissue growth member 28 extending radially (see Fig. 1A, 28 extends radially along 24) along the framework 24 + 26 such that the tissue growth member 28 extends to define an outer layer portion 32 (see Figs. 1A-1B, [0081]) and an inner layer portion 30 (see Figs. 1A-1B, [0081]), the framework 24 + 26 coupled (see Figs. 1A-1B, 30 is attached to the struts of 24) to the inner layer portion 30, the tissue growth member 28 extending with multiple voids porous characteristics of 30 and pores of 32a-c (see [0081] and [0082]) defined therein.
Edmiston does not explicitly disclose: the tissue growth member including a filler material configured to temporarily fill the multiple voids of the tissue growth member; wherein the tissue growth member and the filler material comprise oxidation formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member to the framework, the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure.
However, Johnson in a similar field of invention teaches an intravascular occlusion device (see Figs. 3-4B) with a tissue growth member 60 (see Figs. 4A-4B) extending with multiple voids 62 (see Figs. 4A-4B). Johnson further teaches: the tissue growth member 60 including a filler material 64 (see Figs. 4A-4B, [0048]) configured to temporarily fill (see [0048], 64 is erodible, hence it temporarily fills pores 62) the multiple voids 62 of the tissue growth member 60.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edmiston to incorporate the teachings of Johnson and have a medical device system with the tissue growth member including a filler material configured to temporarily fill the multiple voids of the tissue growth member. Motivation for such can be found in Johnson as this allows for some nourishment to surrounding tissues, while initially providing a substantial barrier to flow and then allowing preferential eroding over time while keeping an upper limit to an increase in porosity (see [0048]).
The combination of Edmiston and Johnson does not explicitly teach: wherein the tissue growth member and the filler material comprise oxidation formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member to the framework, the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure.
However, Martinez in a similar field of invention teaches a vasoocclusive device 10 (see Figs. 1-4) with a framework 13 (see Figs. 1-4) with a tissue growth material 12 (see Figs. 1-4, see [0023]-[0024], hydrogel with sufficient porosity to permit cellular ingrowth) and a filler material (see [0023], 12 impregnated, grafted, bound to deliver therapeutic compounds, proteins, etc.). Martinez further teaches: wherein the tissue growth member 12 and the filler material (see [0023], 12 impregnated, grafted, bound to deliver therapeutic compounds, proteins, etc.) comprise oxidation (see [0029], crosslinking of the monomer via reduction-oxidation, hence oxidation forms, and uses UV radiation as well) formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member 12 to the framework 13 (see Figs. 1-2, 12 attached to 13), the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure (see [0029]-[0032], 12, the hydrogel with filler material which is oxidizes is a pre-formed solid structure that is dried and attached to 13, as seen in Figs. 1-2, this then allows the hydrogel to expand in-vivo later).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Edmiston and Johnson to incorporate the teachings of Martinez and teach a medical device system with the tissue growth member and the filler material comprise oxidation formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member to the framework, the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure. Motivation for such can be found in Martinez as this allows the tissue growth member to dry down to a smaller dimension than it is untreated, allowing it to fit more easily in a catheter (see [0032]) and additionally this can control the rate of expansion in vivo (see [0031]).
Claim 2
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. The combination of Edmiston and Johnson further teaches: wherein the filler material 62 (Johnson) is configured to fill the multiple voids (as combined the multiple voids of Edmiston is filled within the filler material 64 of Johnson as shown in Fig. 4B of Johnson resulting in the entire extent of the multiple voids of Edmiston, which includes the pores in outer layers 32 to be filled through completely, which includes the outer surface of the outer layer portions) defined along an outer surface outer surface of 32 (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B) of the outer layer portion 32 (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B).
Claim 3
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device system of claim 2, see 103 rejection above. The combination of Edmiston and Johnson further teaches: wherein the filler material 62 (Johnson) is configured to fill the multiple voids (as combined the multiple voids of Edmiston is filled within the filler material 64 of Johnson as shown in Fig. 4B of Johnson resulting in the entire extent of the multiple voids of Edmiston, which includes the pores in outer layers 32 to be filled through completely, which includes the portions below the outer surface of the outer layer portion) defined in portions below the outer surface outer surface of 32 (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B) of the outer layer portion 32 (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B).
Claim 5
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Johnson further teaches: wherein the filler material 64 comprises a bio- dissolvable material (see [0048], biodegrading).
Claim 6
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Johnson further teaches: wherein the bio-dissolvable material 64 comprises a bio-absorbable material (see [0051], bio-absorbable).
Claim 7
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Edmiston further discloses: wherein the outer layer portion 32 comprises multiple ePTFE layers 32a-c (see Fig. 1B, [0081], one or more layers of ePTFE material).
Claim 8
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Edmiston further discloses: wherein the tissue growth member 28 comprises a polyurethane material (see Fig. 1B, 30 comprises polyurethane foam, 30 is a part of 28).
Claim 10
Edmiston discloses: A medical device 20 (see Figs. 4 and 8-11, [0091]) configured to be percutaneously delivered to a heart with a catheter 102 (see Fig. 4, [0091]) of a medical device delivery system 100 (see Fig. 4, [0091]), the medical device 20 comprising: a framework 24 + 26 (see Figs. 1-12, especially Fig. 2, [0079]) including a hub 54 (see Figs. 1-12, [0083]) with frame segments 24 + 26 extending radially (see Fig. 2, 24 and 26 extend radially from 54, [0083]) from the hub 54; and a tissue growth member 28 (see Figs. 1-12, [0079]) attached (see [0079], 24 has 28 attached to it) to the framework 24 + 26, the tissue growth member 28 extending radially (see Fig. 1A, 28 extends radially along 24) along the framework 24 + 26 such that the tissue growth member 28 extends to define an outer surface outer surface of 28 adjacent to 32a (see Figs. 1A-1B, [0081]) and an inner surface inner surface of 28 adjacent to 30 (see Figs. 1A-1B, [0081]), the framework 24 + 26 coupled (see Figs. 1A-1B, 30 is attached to the struts of 24) to the inner surface inner surface of 28 adjacent to 30 of the tissue growth member 28, the tissue growth member 28 extending with multiple voids porous characteristics of 30 and pores of 32a-c (see [0081] and [0082]) defined therein.
Edmiston does not explicitly disclose: the tissue growth member including a filler material configured to temporarily fill the multiple voids of the tissue growth member; wherein the tissue growth member and the filler material comprise oxidation formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member to the framework, the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure.
However, Johnson in a similar field of invention teaches an intravascular occlusion device (see Figs. 3-4B) with a tissue growth member 60 (see Figs. 4A-4B) extending with multiple voids 62 (see Figs. 4A-4B). Johnson further teaches: the tissue growth member 60 including a filler material 64 (see Figs. 4A-4B, [0048]) configured to temporarily fill (see [0048], 64 is erodible, hence it temporarily fills pores 62) the multiple voids 62 of the tissue growth member 60.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Edmiston to incorporate the teachings of Johnson and have a medical device with the tissue growth member including a filler material configured to temporarily fill the multiple voids of the tissue growth member. Motivation for such can be found in Johnson as this allows for some nourishment to surrounding tissues, while initially providing a substantial barrier to flow and then allowing preferential eroding over time while keeping an upper limit to an increase in porosity (see [0048]).
The combination of Edmiston and Johnson does not explicitly teach: wherein the tissue growth member and the filler material comprise oxidation formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member to the framework, the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure.
However, Martinez in a similar field of invention teaches a vasoocclusive device 10 (see Figs. 1-4) with a framework 13 (see Figs. 1-4) with a tissue growth material 12 (see Figs. 1-4, see [0023]-[0024], hydrogel with sufficient porosity to permit cellular ingrowth) and a filler material (see [0023], 12 impregnated, grafted, bound to deliver therapeutic compounds, proteins, etc.). Martinez further teaches: wherein the tissue growth member 12 and the filler material (see [0023], 12 impregnated, grafted, bound to deliver therapeutic compounds, proteins, etc.) comprise oxidation (see [0029], crosslinking of the monomer via reduction-oxidation, hence oxidation forms, and uses UV radiation as well) formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member 12 to the framework 13 (see Figs. 1-2, 12 attached to 13), the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure (see [0029]-[0032], 12, the hydrogel with filler material which is oxidizes is a pre-formed solid structure that is dried and attached to 13, as seen in Figs. 1-2, this then allows the hydrogel to expand in-vivo later).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Edmiston and Johnson to incorporate the teachings of Martinez and teach a medical device with the tissue growth member and the filler material comprise oxidation formed thereto; and wherein, upon attachment of the tissue growth member to the framework, the tissue growth member with the filler material and the oxidation formed thereto is a pre- formed solid structure. Motivation for such can be found in Martinez as this allows the tissue growth member to dry down to a smaller dimension than it is untreated, allowing it to fit more easily in a catheter (see [0032]) and additionally this can control the rate of expansion in vivo (see [0031]).
Claim 11
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device of claim 10, see 103 rejection above. The combination of Edmiston and Johnson further teaches: wherein the filler material 62 (Johnson) is configured to fill the multiple voids (as combined the multiple voids of Edmiston is filled within the filler material 64 of Johnson as shown in Fig. 4B of Johnson resulting in the entire extent of the multiple voids of Edmiston, which includes the pores in outer layers 32 to be filled through completely, which includes the outer surface of the outer layer portions) defined along the outer surface outer surface of 28 adjacent to 32a (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B) of the tissue growth member 28 (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B).
Claim 12
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device of claim 11, see 103 rejection above. The combination of Edmiston and Johnson further teaches: wherein the filler material 62 (Johnson) is configured to fill the multiple voids (as combined the multiple voids of Edmiston is filled within the filler material 64 of Johnson as shown in Fig. 4B of Johnson resulting in the entire extent of the multiple voids of Edmiston, which includes the pores in outer layers 32 to be filled through completely, which includes the portions below the outer surface of the outer layer portion) defined in portions below the outer surface outer surface of 28 adjacent to 32a (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B) of the tissue growth member 28 (Edmiston, see Fig. 1B).
Claim 14
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device of claim 10, see 103 rejection above. Johnson further teaches: wherein the filler material 64 comprises a bio- dissolvable material (see [0048], biodegrading).
Claim 19
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Martinez further teaches: wherein the pre-formed solid structure 12 (see Figs. 1-4) comprises a hydrophilic structure (see [0036], hydrophilic hydrogel).
Claim 20
The combination of Edmiston, Johnson, and Martinez teaches: The medical device of claim 10, see 103 rejection above. Martinez further teaches: wherein the pre-formed solid structure 12 (see Figs. 1-4) comprises a hydrophilic structure (see [0036], hydrophilic hydrogel).
Conclusion
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771