DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/14/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 11, 13-14, 17, 19-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 5-6, 9-10, 15-16 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 7-10) about amended Claim 1, Examiner disagrees because Mochizuki (‘758) discloses the claimed language:
1) wherein the cover member is detachably mounted on the first lamp device and the second lamp device { Fig.2 item 13 (or 21) is detachable from the structure relating to the two lamps (see marks below)},
2) a gap is provided between the cover member and the first lamp device, and between the cover member and the second lamp device {Fig.2 (see marks below)}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 11, 13-14, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochizuki (JP2010137758, hereafter Mochizuki) in view of Takeo et al. (JP2020038181, hereafter Takeo).
Regarding claim 1, Mochizuki (‘758) discloses that A mounting structure of an object detection device for detecting objects to a vehicle body { Fig.1; Fig.2 item 22 (radar); page 1 line 4 in abstract (millimeter-wave radar 22); page 3 lines 15-16 (radar 22 that detects an object in front of the vehicle) }, the mounting structure comprising:
a first lamp device mounted on a side of the vehicle body { Fig.2 item 16; page 3 lines 10-11 (light source units 16 and 17, each provide with, light source 18, a reflector 19, projection lens 20)};
a second lamp device mounted on the side of the vehicle body and disposed below the first lamp device {Fig.1 item 17 is below item 16; Fig.2 item 17 below item 16; page 3 lines 10-11 (light source units 16 and 17, each provide with, light source 18, a reflector 19, projection lens 20)};
a connection member that connects between a lower end of the first lamp device and an upper end of the second lamp device in an up-down direction { Fig.2 (see marks below)}; and
a cover member that covers the object detection device {Fig.2 items 22 (radar), 23 (design part), 13, 21 (cover); page 1 abstract lines 4 (radar 22), 8 (millimeter-wave radar 22 is shielded by the design part 23); page 3 lines 8 (front cover 13), 14 (lens portion 21),},
wherein
the object detection device is disposed between the first lamp device and the second lamp device in the up-down direction {Fig.1; Fig.2 items 16-17 (light source units), 22 (radar); page 1 abstract line 4 (millimeter-wave radar 22); page 3 lines 10-11 (light source units 16 and 17, each provide with, light source 18, a reflector 19, projection lens 20)},
wherein the cover member is detachably mounted on the first lamp device and the second lamp device { Fig.2 item 13 (or 21) is detachable from the structure relating to the two lamps (see marks below)},
a gap is provided between the cover member and the first lamp device, and between the cover member and the second lamp device {Fig.2 (see marks below)}.
However, Mochizuki (‘758) does not disclose “the object detection device is mounted on a side of a front surface of the connection member and is disposed in a space formed by the cover member and the connection member”. In the same field of endeavor, Takeo (‘181) discloses that
the object detection device is mounted on a side of a front surface of the connection member and is disposed in a space formed by the cover member and the connection member {Fig.2 items 30 (radar), 60 (radar cover), see marks below for connector; page 3 lines 11 (the radar devices 30), 10 from bottom (The radar cover 60)},
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sensor part in Mochizuki (‘758) with the teachings of Takeo (‘181) {install radar in a space formed between front side of a connector and a radar cover} to install radar in a space formed between front side of a connector and a radar cover. Doing so would avoid impact by heat generated from the light source, avoid dependency on the processing accuracy of vehicle body panel, secure high mounting accuracy of the radar device, and easy manage the irradiation direction of the radar so as to achieve sufficiently exhibiting the desired performance of the radar device , as recognized by Takeo (‘181) { page 1 abstract line 2 (sufficiently exhibiting the desired performance of the radar device); page 2 lines 28 (he radar device is hardly affected by heat generated from the light source), 31-33 (fixed to the housing of the lamp unit capable of managing the irradiation direction of the radar, the mounting position and the mounting angle of the radar device do not depend on the processing accuracy of the vehicle body panel, high mounting accuracy of the radar device can be secured)}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Mochizuki (‘758) and Takeo (‘181) discloses that in the mounting structure of the object detection device to the vehicle body
the cover member covers at least a part of the object detection device on a side in a first direction, which is an object detection direction {see Mochizuki (‘758) Fig.2 items 13 and 21 in the direction that items 22 and 23 detect objects; page 3 lines 8 (front cover 13), 14 (lens portion 21), 15-17 (radar 22 that detects an object in front of the vehicle, an opaque design portion 23 that shields the millimeter wave radar 22 from the front of the vehicle body 1) for the “object detection direction” }.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claims 1 and 3, the combination of Mochizuki (‘758) and Takeo (‘181) discloses that in the mounting structure of the object detection device to the vehicle body,
a surface of the cover member on the side in the first direction is disposed to be a continuous surface with at least one of a surface of the first lamp device on the side in the first direction and a surface of the second lamp device on the side in the first direction { see Mochizuki (‘758) Fig.2 item 13 and 21 cover items 16, 17, 22, and 23 ; page 3 lines 15-17 (radar 22 that detects an object in front of the vehicle, an opaque design portion 23 that shields the millimeter wave radar 22 from the front of the vehicle body 1) for “object detection direction}.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claims 1 and 3, the combination of Mochizuki (‘758) and Takeo (‘181) discloses that in the mounting structure of the object detection device to the vehicle body,
the cover member is detachably mounted on the connection member { see Mochizuki (‘758) Fig.2 item 13 (or 21) is detachable from the connection structure (see marks below and Fig.2 with marks for the “connection member” in the rejections of claims 1-2)}.
Regarding claim 8, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 7. Accordingly, claim 8 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 7, shown above.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Mochizuki (‘758) and Takeo (‘181) discloses that in the mounting structure of the object detection device to the vehicle body,
the first lamp device comprises a first light source and a first housing that accommodates the first light source { see Mochizuki (‘758) Fig.2 (see mark below); page 3 lines 10-11 (light source units 16 and 17, each provide with, light source 18, a reflector 19, projection lens 20)},
the second lamp device comprises a second light source and a second housing that accommodates the second light source { Fig.2 (see mark below); page 3 lines 10-11 (light source units 16 and 17, each provide with, light source 18, a reflector 19, projection lens 20)}, and
the connection member is formed integrally with at least one of the first housing and the second housing { Fig.2 (see mark below) }.
Regarding claims 13-14, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 11. Accordingly, claims 13-14 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 11, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Mochizuki (‘758) and Takeo (‘181) discloses that in the mounting structure of the object detection device to the vehicle body,
the first lamp device comprises a first light source and a first outer member that covers at least a side in a first direction, which is an object detection direction, of the first light source { see Mochizuki (‘758) Fig.2 items 16 (light source units), 18 (light source), and 20 (projection lens 20). Item 20 covers the side in the object detect direction (see mark below); page 3 lines 10-11 (light source units 16 and 17, each provide with, light source 18, a reflector 19, projection lens 20)},
the second lamp device comprises a second light source and a second outer member that covers at least a side in the first direction of the second light source { see Mochizuki (‘758) Fig.2 items 17 (light source units), 18 (light source), and 20 (projection lens 20). Item 20 covers the side in the object detect direction (see mark below); page 3 lines 10-11 (light source units 16 and 17, each provide with, light source 18, a reflector 19, projection lens 20)}, and
the connection member is formed integrally with at least one of the first outer member and the second outer member { see Mochizuki (‘758) Fig.2 (see mark below)}.
Regarding claims 19-20, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 17. Accordingly, claims 19-20 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 17, shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US11,858,429 discloses that “wherein the cover member is detachably mounted on the first lamp device and the second lamp device” {Fig.1 items 3 (front cover), 22 (radar), 51, 52 (light housing); col.3 lines 7-8 (a front cover which is detachably connected to the support body); col.4 lines 31 (a radar sensor 22), 52-53 (housings 51, 52 for accommodating the head lights.) } and “a gap is provided between the cover member and the first lamp device, and between the cover member and the second lamp device” {Fig.1 gaps between item 3 and items 51 and 52}, which further support the rejection of claim 1.
/YONGHONG LI/Examiner, Art Unit 3648