Amendments
This action is in response to amendments filed November 26th, 2025, in which Claims 1, 4, 7, and 8 are amended. No claims have been cancelled nor added. The amendments have been entered, and Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zahedinejad, “Spin Hall nano-oscillator arrays: towards GHz neuromorphics.”
Regarding Claim 1, Zahedinejad teaches an information processing apparatus comprising: an input unit including one or more first antennas that is configured to convert a first high-frequency signal into a first radio wave and emit the first radio wave which propagates in a space, the first high-frequency signal being a microwave signal or a terahertz-wave signal (Zahedinejad, pg. 52, 1st paragraph, “we combined the two microwave signals … the combined signals were then fed to a microwave circulator connected to the RF point of the bias-tee to inject the two microwave signals directly to the SHNO array” where each of “a microwave circulator” and “the SHNO array” are a space which fulfills the claims limitations); an output unit including one or more second antennas that is configured to convert a received second radio wave which propagates in the space into a second high-frequency signal, the second high-frequency signal being a microwave signal or a terahertz-wave signal (Zahedinejad, pg. 52, 1st paragraph, “the output signal was then sent back through the RF port of the bias-tee and then to the third port of the circulator to the LNA before it was captured by SA”); a reservoir unit that is provided between the input unit and the output unit, that includes a plurality of semiconductor elements for modulating the first radio wave which propagates in the space by exhibiting non-linear response to the first radio wave, and that outputs the second radio wave obtained by modulating the first radio wave (Zahedinejad, pg. 51, 3rd-5th paragraphs, “they mapped the input frequencies into two RF signals injected into an antenna close to the STNO chain. The frequences of one or more of the free-running STNOs become phase-locked to one or the other (or both) of the injected RF signals when their frequencies were close to the natural frequency of each STNO” shows the previous work, whereas “Here we want to demonstrate that our 2D SHNO arrays are able to reproduce the same synchronization maps” shows that Zahedinejad uses SHNOs in a reservoir unit to modulate with a non-linear response, see pg. 52, 1st paragraph, “The injected signals
f
A
and
f
B
phase-lock with the SHNOs” and SHNOs are semiconductor elements, see pg. 10, Fig. 1.2 & pg. 58, Fig. 4.2, “CoFeB” “Si”).
Regarding Claim 2, Zahedinejad teaches the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Zahedinejad further teaches wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor elements is a one-dimensional semiconductor (Zahedinejad, pg. 10, Figs. 1.2a,d “SHNO devices,” “nanowire”) or a two-dimensional layered semiconductor (Zahedinejad, pg. 10, Figs. 1.2b,c & 2nd paragraph “NiFe/Pt bilayer” “free layer” “adjacent Ta layer acting as an HM” & pg. 58, Fig. 4.2, “CoFeB” “Si”).
Claim 3, when incorporated into Claim 2, recites wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor elements is a nanowire diode or a two-dimensional layered semi-conductor, which has already been demonstrated to be taught by Zahedinejad via the two-dimensional layered semiconductor alternative limitation (Zahedinejad, pg. 10, Figs. 1.2b,c).
Regarding Claim 4, Zahedinejad teaches the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Zahedinejad further teaches wherein the reservoir unit includes a first region and a second region, wherein a density of the plurality of semiconductor elements in the second region is lower than the density in the first region (Zahedinejad, pg. 52, Fig. 3.8b, where the larger circle has one element and the smaller circle has four elements, thus a first region with lower density than a second region).
Regarding Claim 5, Zahedinejad teaches the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Zahedinejad further teaches wherein the input unit or the output unit includes one or more bowtie antennas (Zahedinejad, pg. 51, 2nd paragraph, “injected into an antenna close” & pg. 10, Fig. 1.2c,d with a bow-tie shape & pg. 11, 1st paragraph, “bow-tie-shaped magnetic nanoconstriction”).
Claim 8 recites precisely the method performed by the apparatus of Claim 1, and is thus rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zahedinejad, “Spin Hall nano-oscillator arrays: towards GHz neuromorphics,” in view of Romera et al., “Vowel recognition with four coupled spin-torque nano-oscillators.”
Regarding Claim 6, Zahedinejad teaches the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Zahedinejad further teaches wherein the output unit converts the second high-frequency signal into a direct current signal (Zahedinejad, pg. 24, 1st paragraph, “The high-frequency change in the resistance results in an oscillating voltage which … drops a DC voltage component” to measure the output).
Zahedinejad does not teach to weight the direct current signal. However, Romera (which teaches the device into which Zahedinejad intends their device to be used as) teaches to convert the second high-frequency signal into a direct current signal (Romera, pg. 7, 2nd paragraph, “Synchronization detection through oscillator rectified voltages … which causes synchronized oscillators to generate a supplementary direct voltage” with 3rd paragraph, “two differential amplifiers (voltage to current)”) and weights the direct current signal (Romera, pg. 7, 3rd paragraph, “then allows detection of whether the oscillator is experiencing synchronization … two differential amplifiers (voltage to current) in parallel. It is followed by a gain stage” where “gain” denotes weights). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to include the rest of the device into which Zahedinejad intends their invention to be used, from Romera, with the reservoir device of Zahedinejad. The motivation to do so is “we want to demonstrate that our 2D SHNO array are able to reproduce the same synchronization maps” and “the proposed approach [of Romera] will be hard to scale up” whereas Zahedinejad’s arrays will be easier (Zahedinejad, pg. 51, 3rd-4th paragraphs).
Regarding Claim 7, the Zahedinejad/Romera combination of Claim 6 teaches the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Romera further teaches a learning circuit that adjusts a magnitude of weighting for the direct current signal, based on teacher data, wherein the input unit adds the weighted direct current signal to the first high-frequency signal (Romera, pg. 9, Extended Data Fig. 1. “applied direct currents” & pg. 6, 2nd column, 1st paragraph, “If we are in the training procedure and the vowel is not properly classified, the online learning algorithm calculates how the four direct currents should be modified to reduce the recognition error”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to include the rest of the device into which Zahedinejad intends their invention to be used, from Romera, with the reservoir device of Zahedinejad. The motivation to do so is “we want to demonstrate that our 2D SHNO array are able to reproduce the same synchronization maps” and “the proposed approach [of Romera] will be hard to scale up” whereas Zahedinejad’s arrays will be easier (Zahedinejad, pg. 51, 3rd-4th paragraphs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed November 26th, 2025 have been fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
All 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, as well as the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, of the previous office action have bene withdrawn due to applicants arguments and amendments.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections of the previous office action have been fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended limitations propagates in a space are not taught by Zahedinejad, by citing the prior art “to inject the two microwave signals directly into the SHNO array,” arguing that injecting directly is different from “propagates in a space.” However, the exact citation identified by the applicant teaches “fed to a microwave circulator” where “circulator” is a space in which the microwave electromagnetic wave propagates. Further, “the SHNO array” is another space in which the microwave electromagnetic wave propagates, see pg. 52, Fig. 3.8(b), the grey area around the neuron elements.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the other dependent and independent claims rely on the same features as argued with respect to Claim 1, and are thus also unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN M SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122