DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
SUGIYAMA et al.(US20190265472, of record, see IDS dated 2/13/2024) in view of Uchida et al. (US20150036215).
Regarding claim 1, SUGIYAMA teaches a head-up display for a transport (SUGIYAMA, figs.1-51, paragraph [0001], as an in-vehicle head up display, HUD apparatus…relates to a light source apparatus utilizable as a planar light source and planar lighting which use a solid light-emitting element), comprising:
an imaging unit (see SUGIYAMA, figs.29-30, an imaging unit has been referred as the apparatus 30, light source apparatus 10) for generating an image (SUGIYAMA, paragraph [0118] The image display apparatus 30 is configured by including a light source apparatus, light source module10, and a liquid crystal display element 50 serving as a display element. The image display apparatus 30 is a projector that generates and emits image light based on image data to perform projection display for the windshield; [0119] The liquid crystal display element 50 generates image light based on a display signals and on the illumination light from the light source apparatus 10, and emits the image light to an optical system; paragraph [0148] FIG. 30 shows configuration outlines of the light source apparatus 10, image display apparatus 30 ;paragraph [0202], a main configuration of the light source apparatus 10 according to Embodiment 2 makes it possible to provide, similarly to Embodiment 1, …the image display apparatus 30, which generates preferable image light, and the light source apparatus 10, which generates preferable illumination light, can be provided correspondingly to the characteristics of the HUD apparatus 1 and the liquid crystal display apparatus 50. Furthermore, provided can be the HUD apparatus 1 that can prevent the return external light and has good display characteristics of the virtual images. The light distribution control in the light source apparatus 10 also makes it easy to perform such mounting as to enlarge an area of the image light with respect to the illumination light, paragraph [0125], HUD apparatus 1 is operable based on control…the display controller 31 generates image data for displaying the virtual image 7);
an optical unit (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, an optical unit has been referred as the HUD apparatus 1) for projecting the image by a mirror unit (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, fig.9, a mirror unit has been referred as the light guide 17; paragraph [0116], The display area 4 is an area onto which image light is projected by the HUD apparatus 1 and that corresponds to a range capable of displaying the virtual image 7), wherein the imaging unit (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, apparatus 30) has a folding mirror (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, paragraph [0017], FIG. 9 is a schematic view enlarged showing a reflection surface and a connection surface to explain the light guide 17--- see fig.9, light guide 17 has a folding mirror), wherein the folding mirror (fig.9, light guide 17) is arranged between a light source (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, LED 14) and a display element (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, display panel 52), through which the light source radiates light (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, the light source radiates from the LED 14), at a propagation direction of the light (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, ABR1) that is incident on the folding mirror (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, light guide 17) from the light source (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, LED 14), wherein the folding mirror (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, the guide 17) has microstructures (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, microstructures), wherein the microstructures (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, microstructures) have first mirror surfaces (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, surface172a) that are arranged at a first angle (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, first angle), which deviates from the work angle (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, work angle) of the folding mirror (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, the light guide 17), and are spaced apart from one another to form gaps (see SUGIYAMA, fig.9, a gap have been referred as Lc1+Lr1), wherein second surfaces (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, surface 172b) are arranged in the gaps (see SUGIYAMA, fig.9, Lc1+Lr1) at a second angle (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, fig.41, angle αn);
a polarizer (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, paragraph [0069], polarization conversion element 21) arranged facing the display element on a first side and facing the first mirror surface on a second side (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, polarization conversion element 21 having the polarization of the light directly facing the surface172a) and configured to guide light having a first polarization (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, diffuser 18b) to the display element (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, display panel 52) and light having a second polarization (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, second diffuser 18a) into the gaps (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, Lc1+Lr1); and
a retarder (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, phase plate 16) arranged directly facing the microstructure of the folding mirror (fig.9, the guide 17) and facing the second side of the polarizer (fig.9, polarization conversion element 21) and configured to convert polarization of the light (see annotated image, fig.9, the polarization of the light) guided into the gaps (fig.9, Lc1+Lr1) to the first polarization (fig.9, diffuser 18b), and wherein the light guided into the gaps (fig.9, Lc1+Lr1) is guided in the direction of the display element (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, the direction of the display) after it has passed through the gaps (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, gaps = Lc1+Lr1).
SUGIYAMA does not explicitly teaches wherein a polarizer arranged facing the display element on a first side, and a retarder arranged directly facing the microstructure of the folding mirror.
However, Uchida teaches the analogous head-up display for a transport (Uchida, figs.1-20, abstract, To provide a thin optical sheet having improved efficiency for light utilization, an optical sheet 5 of one mode of the present invention includes, in sequence from a light entry side to a light emission side, a plurality of first prisms 13, a ¼ wavelength plate 11, and a polarized-light separating element 12, the plurality of first prisms 13 each having a first surface 13a through which light enters the first prism and a second surface 13b that reflects the light, having entered the first prism, toward the light emission side, the optical film further including, between the plurality of first prisms in an in-plane direction of the optical film, a second prism 4 that reflects light), and further teaches wherein
a polarizer (Uchida, figs.1-2, paragraphs [0037]-[0057], polarizer 12) arranged facing the display element (Uchida, display element has been referred as the display 3) on a first side, and wherein a retarder (the wavelength plate 11 + phase-difference plate 10) arranged directly facing the microstructure of the folding mirror (the prism array 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of SUGIYAMA with the specific position to have a polarizer arranged facing the display element on a first side, and a retarder arranged directly facing the microstructure of the folding mirror as taught by Uchida for the purpose to reduce the cost of producing an optical product including the optical film (Uchida, paragraph [0009]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
SUGIYAMA et al.(US20190265472, of record, see IDS dated 2/13/2024) in view of Uchida et al. (US20150036215), and further in view of Robinson’275’ et al. (US20180196275, hereafter called Robinson‘275’).
Regarding claim 6, combination SUGIYAMA-Uchida discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and SUGIYAMA further teaches wherein the polarizer (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, polarization conversion element 21) is designed as a reflective polarizer (SUGIYAMA, paragraph [0126], polarization conversion element 21 is composed of ..a reflective film 212), but SUGIYAMA does not explicitly teaches wherein the polarizer is arranged between the folding mirror and the display element, and the retarder is designed as retarders that convert a linear polarization into circular polarization and is arranged between the folding mirror and the polarizer.
However, in the analogous head-up display image device, Robinson‘275’ teaches the head-up display image device (Robinson‘275’, page 7, paragraph [0020], This is advantageously associated with the display being arranged in such a way that the external image deflected by the semi-transparent mirror and the light partially transmitted by the display through the semi-transparent mirror overlap. This allows additional graphic, analogue or digital, visually presented information to be presented via the display, which is superimposed on the external image at the inner, viewer-side deflection surface. This head-up display functionality allows the driver to have the outside image and any additional information in one and the same field of vision when driving under the sun, which improves his decision making ability), and further teaches
wherein the polarizer (Robinson’275’, fig.21B, reflective polarizer 207) is designed as a reflective polarizer (Robinson’275’, paragraph [0134], reflective polarizer 207) and is arranged between the folding mirror (Robinson‘275’, fig.21B, folding mirror has been referred as rear reflector 300 paragraph [0122] rear reflector 300 may comprise facets 302 that are curved and arranged to provide viewing windows from groups of optical windows provided by imaging light sources of the array 15 to the window plane) and the display element (Robinson’275’, fig.2A, element 26; paragraph [0101], viewing window 26 of an autostereoscopic display), and the retarder (Robinson’275’, fig.21A, retarder 630) is designed as retarders that convert a linear polarization into circular polarization (see Robinson’275’, fig.21B, retarder 630 that convert a linear polarization into circular polarization) and is arranged between the folding mirror (Robinson’275’, fig.21B, reflector 300) and the polarizer (Robinson’275’, fig.21B, polarizer 207).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device apparatus of SUGIYAMA to have the polarizer is arranged between the folding mirror and the display element, and the retarder is designed as retarders that convert a linear polarization into circular polarization and is arranged between the folding mirror and the polarizer as taught by Robinson‘275’ for the purpose to increased efficiency of polarization recirculation, reduce the visibility to damage and to reduce color changes with viewing angle (Robinson‘275’, abstract).
Regarding claim 7, combination SUGIYAMA-Uchida-Robinson‘275’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 6 and Robinson‘275’ further teaches wherein the reflecting second surfaces (see annotated image, Robinson’275’, fig.21B, the reflecting second surfaces) form a retroreflector in pairs in each case (see annotated image, Robinson’275’, fig.21B, the reflecting second surfaces form the retroreflector in pairs in each case).
The motivation to combine SUGIYAMA, Uchida and Robinson‘275’ as provided in claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
SUGIYAMA et al.(US20190265472, of record, see IDS dated 2/13/2024) in view of Uchida et al. (US20150036215) and Robinson’275’ et al. (US20180196275, hereafter called Robinson‘275’), and further in view of Robinson et al. (US20130308185, hereafter called Robinson‘185’).
Regarding claim 8, combination SUGIYAMA-Robinson‘275’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 7 and SUGIYAMA further teaches wherein the first mirror surfaces (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, surface172a) have first angles (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, first angles has been referred as the first angle and work angle) that differ from one another (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, which differ from one another), but SUGIYAMA does not explicitly teaches wherein the reflective polarizer has first polarizer surfaces and second polarizer surfaces, which form a retroreflector in pairs in each case.
However, in the analogous head-up display image device, Robinson‘185’ teaches the head-up display image device (Robinson‘185’, figs.1-22, abstract, Disclosed is an imaging directional backlight polarization recovery apparatus including an imaging directional backlight with at least a polarization sensitive reflection component with optional polarization transformation and redirection elements; paragraph [0085], 3D may be viewed when the head of a viewer is approximately centrally aligned. Movement to the side away from the central position may result in the scene collapsing onto a 2D image.), and further teaches
wherein the reflective polarizer (Robinson’185’, fig.20, 205) has first polarizer surfaces (see annotated image, Robinson’185’, fig.20, first polarizer surfaces) and second polarizer surfaces (see annotated image, Robinson’185’, fig.20, second polarizer surfaces), which form a retroreflector (see annotated image, Robinson’185’, fig.20, Retroreflector has first polarizer surfaces and second polarizer surfaces) in pairs in each case (see annotated image, Robinson’185’, fig.20, first polarizer surfaces and second polarizer surfaces are pairs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device apparatus of combination SUGIYAMA-Uchida-Robinson‘275’ to have the reflective polarizer has first polarizer surfaces and second polarizer surfaces, which form a retroreflector in pairs in each case as taught by Robinson‘185’ for the purpose of providing large area illumination from localized light sources for use in 2D, 3D, and/or autostereoscopic display devices (Robinson‘185’, paragraph [0002]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA et al.(US20190265472, of record, see IDS dated 2/13/2024) in view of Uchida et al. (US20150036215), and further in view of WALGENBACH et al. (DE102006062262).
Regarding claim 11, combination SUGIYAMA-Uchida discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, SUGIYAMA does not explicitly teaches wherein the folding mirror and the display element are aligned parallel to each other.
However, in the analogous head-up display image device, WALGENBACH teaches the head-up display image device (WALGENBACH, page 7, paragraph [0020], This is advantageously associated with the display being arranged in such a way that the external image deflected by the semi-transparent mirror and the light partially transmitted by the display through the semi-transparent mirror overlap. This allows additional graphic, analogue or digital, visually presented information to be presented via the display, which is superimposed on the external image at the inner, viewer-side deflection surface. This head-up display functionality allows the driver to have the outside image and any additional information in one and the same field of vision when driving under the sun, which improves his decision making ability), and further teaches
wherein the folding mirror (WALGENBACH, fig.5, deflection surfaces 1, 6) and the display element (WALGENBACH, fig.5, display 5 ) are aligned parallel to each other (WALGENBACH, page 11, paragraph [0042] the display 5 is arranged in a region between two layers,1,6 running parallel to one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device apparatus of combination SUGIYAMA-Uchida to have the position of the folding mirror and the display element are aligned parallel to each other as taught by WALGENBACH for the purpose to allow the driver of the vehicle, in his elevated seating position, to look into the angle mirror device from above and thus access information data from inside the vehicle (WALGENBACH, paragraph [0009]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA et al.(US20190265472, of record, see IDS dated 2/13/2024) in view of WALGENBACH et al. (DE102006062262) and Uchida et al. (US20150036215).
Regarding claim 12, SUGIYAMA teaches a head-up display for a transport (SUGIYAMA, figs.1-51, paragraph [0001], as an in-vehicle head up display, HUD apparatus…relates to a light source apparatus utilizable as a planar light source and planar lighting which use a solid light-emitting element), comprising:
an optical unit (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, an optical unit has been referred as the HUD apparatus 1) for projecting the image by a mirror unit (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, fig.9, a mirror unit has been referred as the light guide 17; paragraph [0116], The display area 4 is an area onto which image light is projected by the HUD apparatus 1 and that corresponds to a range capable of displaying the virtual image 7), wherein the imaging unit (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, apparatus 30) has a folding mirror (SUGIYAMA, fig.29, paragraph [0017], FIG. 9 is a schematic view enlarged showing a reflection surface and a connection surface to explain the light guide 17--- see fig.9, light guide 17 has a folding mirror), wherein the folding mirror (fig.9, light guide 17) is arranged between a light source (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, LED 14) and a display element (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, display panel 52), through which the light source radiates light (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, the light source radiates from the LED 14), at a work angle (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, the work angle) to a propagation direction of the light (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, ABR1) that is incident on the folding mirror (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, light guide 17) from the light source (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, LED 14),
wherein the folding mirror has microstructure that have first mirror surfaces (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, surface172a) arranged at a first angle (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, first angle) that deviates from the work angle (see annotated image, SUGIYAMA, fig.9, work angle) of the folding mirror (SUGIYAMA, fig.9, the light guide 17);
SUGIYAMA does not explicitly teaches wherein the folding mirror and the display element are aligned parallel to each other.
However, in the analogous head-up display image device, WALGENBACH teaches the head-up display image device (WALGENBACH, page 7, paragraph [0020], This is advantageously associated with the display being arranged in such a way that the external image deflected by the semi-transparent mirror and the light partially transmitted by the display through the semi-transparent mirror overlap. This allows additional graphic, analogue or digital, visually presented information to be presented via the display, which is superimposed on the external image at the inner, viewer-side deflection surface. This head-up display functionality allows the driver to have the outside image and any additional information in one and the same field of vision when driving under the sun, which improves his decision making ability), and further teaches
wherein the folding mirror (WALGENBACH, fig.5, deflection surfaces 1, 6) and the display element (WALGENBACH, fig.5, display 5 ) are aligned parallel to each other (WALGENBACH, page 11, paragraph [0042] the display 5 is arranged in a region between two layers,1,6 running parallel to one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device apparatus of SUGIYAMA to have the position of function as taught by WALGENBACH for the purpose to allow the driver of the vehicle, in his elevated seating position, to look into the angle mirror device from above and thus access information data from inside the vehicle (WALGENBACH, paragraph [0009]).
SUGIYAMA does not explicitly teaches wherein the folding mirror has microstructure facing the display element.
However, Uchida teaches the analogous head-up display for a transport (Uchida, figs.1-20, abstract, To provide a thin optical sheet having improved efficiency for light utilization, an optical sheet 5 of one mode of the present invention includes, in sequence from a light entry side to a light emission side, a plurality of first prisms 13, a ¼ wavelength plate 11, and a polarized-light separating element 12, the plurality of first prisms 13 each having a first surface 13a through which light enters the first prism and a second surface 13b that reflects the light, having entered the first prism, toward the light emission side, the optical film further including, between the plurality of first prisms in an in-plane direction of the optical film, a second prism 4 that reflects light), and further teaches
wherein the folding mirror has microstructure (Uchida, figs.1-2, prism array 9) facing the display element (display 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of SUGIYAMA with the specific position of the folding mirror has microstructure facing the display element as taught by Uchida for the purpose to reduce the cost of producing an optical product including the optical film (Uchida, paragraph [0009]).
Response to Amendment / argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, see Remarks Page. 6-10 with respect to the 35 U.S.C.&103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Among the limitations of claim 1 not present in the cited art are the folding mirror has microstructures, wherein the microstructures have first mirror surfaces that are arranged at a first angle, which deviates from the work angle of the folding mirror, and are spaced apart from one another to form gaps, wherein second surfaces are arranged in the gaps at a second angle; a polarizer arranged facing the display element on a first side and facing the first mirror surface on a second side and configured to guide light having a first polarization to the display element and light having a second polarization into the gaps; and a retarder arranged directly facing the microstructures of the folding mirror and facing the second side of the polarizer and configured to convert polarization of the light guided into the gaps to the first polarization, and wherein the light guided into the gaps is guided in the direction of the display element after it has passed through the gaps.In response to applicant's argument(s) of 1
Described in claim 1, combination SUGIYAMA-Uchida teaches all of limitations described in claim 1. Further, Uchida teaches a polarizer (Uchida, figs.1-2, paragraphs [0037]-[0057], polarizer 12) arranged facing the display element (Uchida, display element has been referred as the display 3) on a first side, and wherein a retarder (the wavelength plate 11 + phase-difference plate 10) arranged directly facing the microstructure of the folding mirror (the prism array 9).
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Further, claim 12 requires that the folding mirror has microstructures facing the display element that have first mirror surfaces arranged at a first angle that deviates from the work angle of the folding mirror. As discussed above with respect to claim 1, this is the opposite of Sugiyama.
In response to applicant's argument(s) of 2
Described in the claim 12, SUGIYAMA does not explicitly teaches wherein the folding mirror has microstructures facing the display element.
However, Uchida further teaches (Uchida, figs.1-2) wherein the folding mirror has microstructures facing the display element that have first mirror surfaces arranged at a first angle that deviates from the work angle of the folding mirror. The motivation to combine SUGIYAMA and Uchida as provided in claim 12 is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872