DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “temperature adjuster” in claims 1 and 12 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “adjuster" coupled with functional language “…configured to increase…” or “…for increasing…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “temperature adjuster" has been described in Paragraph 0044 as a heater.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US2021/0162899A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Spillner, in view of FURUI et al (US2020/0391634A1 newly cited) herein set forth as FURUI, and further in view of VAN DEN BOS (US2024/0230429A1 newly cited) herein set forth as VAN DEN BOS.
Regarding claim 1, Spillner discloses a control system (#48, referring to Paragraph 0076 cited: “…a temperature control system 48 of a surface temperature-controlling device 10 according to the invention. The temperature control system 48 is used for heating or cooling air before it is introduced into the air inlets 18 of the air-distributing layer 14.…”) for controlling a temperature of a mounting portion (#100, fig.1) upon which
an arm of a passenger rests, the control system (#48, referring to Paragraph 0076 cited: “…a temperature control system 48 of a surface temperature-controlling device 10 according to the invention. The temperature control system 48 is used for heating or cooling air before it is introduced into the air inlets 18 of the air-distributing layer 14.…”) comprising:
the mounting portion (#100, fig.1) upon which the arm of the passenger rests;
a temperature adjuster (#10, fig.1, refer to Paragraph 0010 cited: “…The surface temperature-controlling device can be designed as a cooling device or a heating device or a combined cooling/heating device…”) provided to the mounting portion (#100, fig.1) and configured to increase a temperature (refer to Paragraph 0010 above) of a surface (#12 and #14, fig.1) of the mounting portion (#100, fig.1).
Spillner does not disclose a body temperature sensor provided to the mounting portion and configured to measure a temperature of the arm of the passenger in contact with the mounting portion;
a surface temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion; and
a controller configured to control an output of the temperature adjuster based on a difference between the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion measured by the surface temperature sensor and the temperature of the arm of the passenger measured by the body temperature sensor.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI discloses a surface temperature sensor (#5, refer to Paragraph 0064 cited below) configured to measure the temperature of the surface (refer to “the surface temperature” in Paragraph 0064 cited below) of the mounting portion (refer to Paragraph 0064 cited: “…First temperature sensor 5 shown in FIG. 2 detects the surface temperature of the seat surface material heated by the first heat generator…”); and
a controller (#4, refer to Paragraph 0069 cited below) configured to control an output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited below) based on a difference between the temperature (refer as “a heating temperature zone” in Paragraph 0069 cited below) of the surface of the mounting portion (refer as the intended warming area, Examiner note: since mounting portion is already disclosed by Spillner above) measured by the surface temperature sensor and the temperature of the arm of the passenger refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…Controller 4 controls the current applied to each of first-first heating element 23, first-second heating element 24, first-third heating element 34, and first-fourth heating element 35 as the first heat generator in a manner such that a heating temperature zone of these heating elements is a direct heat transfer temperature zone close to the occupant's body temperature.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with a surface temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion; and a controller configured to control an output of the temperature adjuster based on a difference between the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion measured by the surface temperature sensor and the temperature of the arm of the passenger measured by the body temperature sensor, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a more comfortable warming experience to the user and avoid possible sensation of burning due to the huge temperature different from the heating element and the user body temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
However, FURUI only discloses that the body temperature is not detected by a sensor, instead FURUI preset such value into the controller (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited above in the obviousness statement). Therefore, FURUI does not disclose a body temperature sensor provided to the mounting portion and configured to measure a temperature of the arm of the passenger in contact with the mounting portion.
In the similar field of thermal heating and warming comfort, VAN DEN BOS discloses the teaching to obtain real time body temperature to better control and understand the comfort condition of the user (Refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…Knowing the PMV, the PPD can directly be calculated. One of the ways to determine the PMV is by direct measurement, using an integrating sensor…”).
VAN DEN BOS does not specifically disclose a body temperature sensor provided to the mounting portion and configured to measure a temperature of the arm of the passenger in contact with the mounting portion.
However, when Spillner, in view of FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS’s teaching, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Spillner’s control system with a body temperature sensor provided to the mounting portion and configured to measure a temperature of the arm of the passenger in contact with the mounting portion, just as taught by VAN DEN BOS’s teaching of a direct reading of temperature is better in control and comfortability (Refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…Knowing the PMV, the PPD can directly be calculated. One of the ways to determine the PMV is by direct measurement, using an integrating sensor…”).
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Spillner does not explicitly disclose a start signal output device configured to output a signal for starting an operation of the temperature adjuster.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI discloses a start signal output device (#4, fig.2, refer to the output arrow from #4 to heating elements) configured to output a signal (refer to the output arrow from #4 to heating elements) for starting an operation (#7, fig.2) of the temperature adjuster (#21-25 and #31-35, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with a start signal output device configured to output a signal for starting an operation of the temperature adjuster, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a better control to the heating, such that a more comfortability and better user experience for the user.
Regarding claim 8, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger is greater than or equal to the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to maximally control the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the arm of the passenger becomes the same as the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI discloses when the temperature of the arm of the passenger (refer as “body temperature” cited in Paragraph 0069) is greater than or equal to the temperature of the surface (refer to “the surface temperature” in Paragraph 0064 cited above) of the mounting portion (refer to Paragraph 0064 cited: “…First temperature sensor 5 shown in FIG. 2 detects the surface temperature of the seat surface material heated by the first heat generator…”), the controller is configured to maximally control (refer to the “upper limit” cited in Paragraph 0069 below) the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above) until the temperature of the arm of the passenger (refer as “body temperature” cited in Paragraph 0069) becomes the same (refer as the heating element temperature is reaching body temperature as discussed in paragraph 0069) as the temperature of the surface (refer to “the surface temperature” in Paragraph 0064 cited above) of the mounting portion (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger is greater than or equal to the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to maximally control the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the arm of the passenger becomes the same as the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a better control to the heating, such that a more comfortability and better user experience for the user.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Spillner does not disclose wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger is less than or equal to the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster so that the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI discloses wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger (refer as “body temperature” cited in Paragraph 0069) is less than or equal to the temperature of the surface (refer to “the surface temperature” in Paragraph 0064 cited below) of the mounting portion (refer as the intended warming area, Examiner note: since mounting portion is already disclosed by Spillner above), the controller (#4, refer to Paragraph 0069 cited above) is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited below) so that the temperature of the surface (refer to “the surface temperature” in Paragraph 0064 cited below) of the mounting portion (refer as the intended warming area, Examiner note: since mounting portion is already disclosed by Spillner above) reaches a preset target set temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…Controller 4 controls the current applied to each of first-first heating element 23, first-second heating element 24, first-third heating element 34, and first-fourth heating element 35 as the first heat generator in a manner such that a heating temperature zone of these heating elements is a direct heat transfer temperature zone close to the occupant's body temperature.…” and Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger is less than or equal to the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster so that the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a better control to the heating, such that a more comfortability and better user experience for the user.
Regarding claim 12, Spillner discloses a control method (refer to fig.1, #48, referring to Paragraph 0076 cited: “…a temperature control system 48 of a surface temperature-controlling device 10 according to the invention. The temperature control system 48 is used for heating or cooling air before it is introduced into the air inlets 18 of the air-distributing layer 14.…”) for controlling a temperature of a mounting portion (#100, fig.1) of a vehicle (refer to “interior of a vehicle” cited in Paragraph 0055 below) upon which an arm (refer to armrest cited in Paragraph 0055 below) of a passenger (refer to fig.1 and Paragraph 0055 cited: “…FIG. 1 shows a rest 100 designed as an armrest, which is installed in the interior of a vehicle. The rest 100 comprises a surface temperature-controlling device 10, which is partially shown. The surface temperature-controlling device 10 is used to temperature-control a surface of the rest…”).
Spillner does not disclose the control method comprising: receiving a signal for starting an operation of a temperature adjuster for increasing a temperature of a surface of the mounting portion upon which the arm of the passenger rests; comparing a temperature of the arm of the passenger with the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion to determine an output of the temperature adjuster; and increasing a temperature of the temperature adjuster to a preset target set temperature.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI discloses the control method (refer to fig.2) comprising: receiving a signal (#7, fig.2) for starting an operation of a temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in fig.2);
comparing a temperature of the arm of the passenger (refer as “body temperature” in Paragraph 0069 cited below) with the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion (refer as heat transfer temperature zone in paragraph 0069 below) to determine an output of the temperature adjuster (refer to the limits on temperature output of the heating element, such as “the lower limit of the temperature” and “the upper limit” in paragraph 0069 below); and increasing a temperature of the temperature adjuster to a preset target set temperature (refer as increase to the temperature target that close to the body temperature) (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The occupant is warmed at a temperature close to the body temperature. Accordingly, the heating temperature zone of first-first heating element 23, first-second heating element 24, first-third heating element 34, and first-fourth heating element 35 is the direct heat transfer temperature zone. By setting the direct heat transfer temperature zone close to occupant's body temperature, the occupant does not feel too hot, and comfort can be enhanced. The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control method with the control method comprising: receiving a signal for starting an operation of a temperature adjuster for increasing a temperature of a surface of the mounting portion upon which the arm of the passenger rests, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a more comfortable warming experience to the user and avoid possible sensation of burning due to the huge temperature different from the heating element and the user body temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
However, FURUI only discloses that the body temperature is not detected by a sensor, instead FURUI preset such value into the controller (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited above in the obviousness statement). Therefore, FURUI does not disclose a body temperature sensor provided to the mounting portion and configured to measure a temperature of the arm of the passenger in contact with the mounting portion.
In the similar field of thermal heating and warming comfort, VAN DEN BOS discloses the teaching to obtain real time body temperature to better control and understand the comfort condition of the user (Refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…Knowing the PMV, the PPD can directly be calculated. One of the ways to determine the PMV is by direct measurement, using an integrating sensor…”).
VAN DEN BOS does not specifically disclose a body temperature sensor provided to the mounting portion and configured to measure a temperature of the arm of the passenger in contact with the mounting portion.
However, when Spillner, in view of FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS’s teaching, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Spillner’s control method with a body temperature sensor provided to the mounting portion and configured to measure a temperature of the arm of the passenger in contact with the mounting portion, just as taught by VAN DEN BOS’s teaching of a direct reading of temperature is better in control and comfortability (Refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…Knowing the PMV, the PPD can directly be calculated. One of the ways to determine the PMV is by direct measurement, using an integrating sensor…”).
Claims 3-4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US2021/0162899A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Spillner, in view of FURUI et al (US2020/0391634A1 newly cited) herein set forth as FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS (US2024/0230429A1 newly cited) herein set forth as VAN DEN BOS, and further in view of Rodriguez, Jr. (US5285961 newly cited) herein set forth as Rodriguez.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Spillner further discloses control switches (refer to “control switch” annotated in fig.1) can be placed on the mounting portion (#100, fig.1) and output a signal to the controller system (#48, referring to Paragraph 0076 cited: “…a temperature control system 48 of a surface temperature-controlling device 10 according to the invention. The temperature control system 48 is used for heating or cooling air before it is introduced into the air inlets 18 of the air-distributing layer 14.…”).
Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein the start signal output device is configured to recognize a tilt of a tilt portion.
In the similar field of control for heating and cooling, Rodriguez discloses wherein the start signal output device (#12 and #14, fig.2) is configured to recognize a tilt of a tilt portion (#11 and #13, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with wherein the start signal output device is configured to recognize a tilt of a tilt portion, just as taught by Rodriguez, in order to provide the wide range of adjustment and also virtually easily confirm what is the setting is by observing the amount of tilt.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Spillner, FURUI, VAN DEN BOS and Rodriguez discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, in claim 3 rejection the limitation “…the start signal output device is configured to output a signal to the controller…” is already disclosed.
Spillner does not disclose the start signal output device is configured to output a signal indicating a stage of the tilt of the tilt portion and is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster based on the stage of the tilt of the tilt portion; the controller is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster based on the stage of the tilt of the tilt portion.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI further discloses the controller (#4, refer to Paragraph 0069 cited above) is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above) based on the setting provided (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with the controller is configured to control the output of the temperature based on the setting provided, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a more comfortable warming experience to the user and avoid possible sensation of burning due to the huge temperature different from the heating element and the user body temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
FURUI does not discloses the start signal output device is configured to output a signal indicating a stage of the tilt of the tilt portion and is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster based on the stage of the tilt of the tilt portion.
In the similar field of control for heating and cooling, Rodriguez discloses wherein the start signal output device (#12 and #14, fig.2) is configured to output a signal indicating a stage of the tilt of the tilt portion (#11 and #13, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with the start signal output device is configured to output a signal indicating a stage of the tilt of the tilt portion and is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster based on the stage of the tilt of the tilt portion, just as taught by Rodriguez, in order to provide the wide range of adjustment and also virtually easily confirm what is the setting is by observing the amount of tilt.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Spillner does not disclose determining whether to manually adjust the temperature of the temperature adjuster after the determining of the output of the temperature adjuster, wherein, when the temperature of the temperature adjuster is manually adjusted, the output of the temperature adjuster is determined based on a stage of a signal received from a sensor detecting that a part of the mounting portion is tilted.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI further discloses determining whether to manually adjust (refer to paragraph 0003 cited: “…In the initial mode, a heating temperature of the first heater unit is set higher than a heating temperature of the second heater unit. In the steady mode, the heating temperature of the first heater unit is set lower than the heating temperature of the second heater unit, and the heating temperature of the second heater unit is set lower than the heating temperature of the third heater unit …”) the temperature (refer as “heating temperature” cited in Paragraph 0003 above) of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above, or “heating unit” in Paragraph 0003 cited above) after the determining of the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above, or “heating unit” in Paragraph 0003 cited above), wherein, when the temperature of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above, or “heating unit” in Paragraph 0003 cited above) is manually adjusted (refer to “high” and “low” temperature in Paragraph 0003 above), the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above, or “heating unit” in Paragraph 0003 cited above) is determined based on a stage of a signal received from a sensor (refer to temperature sensor #5 and #6 in fig.2) detecting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control method with determining whether to manually adjust the temperature of the temperature adjuster after the determining of the output of the temperature adjuster, wherein, when the temperature of the temperature adjuster is manually adjusted, the output of the temperature adjuster is determined based on a stage of a signal received from a sensor, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a more comfortable warming experience to the user and avoid possible sensation of burning due to the huge temperature different from the heating element and the user body temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
FURUI does not disclose a sensor detecting that a part of the mounting portion is tilted.
In the similar field of control for heating and cooling, Rodriguez discloses wherein the start signal output device (#12 and #14, fig.2) is configured to output a signal indicating a stage of the tilt of the tilt portion (#11 and #13, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control method a sensor detecting that a part of the mounting portion is tilted, just as taught by Rodriguez, in order to provide the wide range of adjustment and also virtually easily confirm what is the setting is by observing the amount of tilt.
Claims 5-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US2021/0162899A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Spillner, in view of FURUI et al (US2020/0391634A1 newly cited) herein set forth as FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS (US2024/0230429A1 newly cited) herein set forth as VAN DEN BOS, and further in view of Akhbari et al (US2019/0354238A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Akhbari.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein the start signal output device includes at least one of a proximity sensor configured to recognize a distance between the mounting portion and the arm of the passenger or a pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure at which the arm of the passenger presses the mounting portion.
In the similar field of signal output device, Akhbari discloses wherein the start signal output device (#100, fig.1) includes at least one of a proximity sensor (#102, fig.1) configured to recognize a distance between the mounting portion (#104, fig.1) and the arm of the passenger (#112 and #113, fig.1) or a pressure sensor (#102, fig.1) configured to measure a pressure (refer to “ADC output” in fig.1) at which the arm of the passenger (#112 and #113 in fig.1) presses the mounting portion (#104, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with wherein the start signal output device includes at least one of a proximity sensor configured to recognize a distance between the mounting portion and the arm of the passenger or a pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure at which the arm of the passenger presses the mounting portion, as taught by Akhbari, in order to provide a much more appealing capactive sensing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in term of looks and reliability (refer to paragraph 0002 cited: “…Capacitive sensing has proven to be much more appealing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in terms of looks and reliability...”).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Spillner, FURUI, VAN DEN BOS and Akhbari discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 5, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the start signal output device is the pressure sensor, the controller is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster based on a degree of pressure at which the passenger presses a part of the mounting portion on which the pressure sensor is located.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI further discloses the controller (#4, refer to Paragraph 0069 cited above) is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above) based on the setting provided (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with the controller is configured to control the output of the temperature based on the setting provided, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a more comfortable warming experience to the user and avoid possible sensation of burning due to the huge temperature different from the heating element and the user body temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
FURUI does not disclose a degree of pressure at which the passenger presses a part of the mounting portion on which the pressure sensor is located.
In the similar field of signal output device, Akhbari further discloses wherein, a degree of pressure (refer to “ADC output” in fig.1) at which the passenger presses (#112 and #113 in fig.1) a part of the mounting portion (#104, fig.1) on which the pressure sensor (#102, fig.1) is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with a degree of pressure at which the passenger presses a part of the mounting portion on which the pressure sensor is located, as taught by Akhbari, in order to provide a much more appealing capactive sensing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in term of looks and reliability (refer to paragraph 0002 cited: “…Capacitive sensing has proven to be much more appealing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in terms of looks and reliability...”).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Spillner, FURUI, VAN DEN BOS and Akhbari discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 5, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the start signal output device is the proximity sensor, the proximity sensor is configured to transmit a signal indicating that the arm of the passenger is detected within a preset distance to the controller, and the controller is configured to activate the temperature adjuster.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI further discloses the controller (#4, refer to Paragraph 0069 cited above) is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above) based on the setting provided (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with the controller is configured to control the output of the temperature based on the setting provided, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a more comfortable warming experience to the user and avoid possible sensation of burning due to the huge temperature different from the heating element and the user body temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
FURUI does not disclose when the start signal output device is the proximity sensor, the proximity sensor is configured to transmit a signal indicating that the arm of the passenger is detected within a preset distance.
In the similar field of signal output device, Akhbari further discloses the proximity sensor (#102, fig.1) is configured to transmit a signal indicating that the arm of the passenger (#112 and #113, fig.1) is detected within a preset distance (refer to the distance of #104 to the passenger in fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with the proximity sensor is configured to transmit a signal indicating that the arm of the passenger is detected within a preset distance, as taught by Akhbari, in order to provide a much more appealing capactive sensing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in term of looks and reliability (refer to paragraph 0002 cited: “…Capacitive sensing has proven to be much more appealing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in terms of looks and reliability...”).
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Spillner does not disclose wherein the signal for starting the operation of the temperature adjuster is a signal received from at least one of a pressure sensor configured to detect a pressure applied to a part of the mounting portion.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI further discloses the controller (#4, fig.2 and refer to Paragraph 0069 cited above) is configured to control the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above and in fig.2) based on the sensor (#5 and #6, fig.2) provided (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control method with wherein the signal for starting the operation of the temperature adjuster is a signal, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a more comfortable warming experience to the user and avoid possible sensation of burning due to the huge temperature different from the heating element and the user body temperature (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
FURUI does not disclose a degree of pressure at which the passenger presses a part of the mounting portion on which the pressure sensor is located.
In the similar field of signal output device, Akhbari further discloses wherein, a degree of pressure (refer to “ADC output” in fig.1) at which the passenger presses (#112 and #113 in fig.1) a part of the mounting portion (#104, fig.1) on which the pressure sensor (#102, fig.1) is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with a pressure sensor configured to detect a pressure applied to a part of the mounting portion, as taught by Akhbari, in order to provide a much more appealing capactive sensing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in term of looks and reliability (refer to paragraph 0002 cited: “…Capacitive sensing has proven to be much more appealing than mechanical switches and rotary encoders, both in terms of looks and reliability...”).
Claims 9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US2021/0162899A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Spillner, in view of FURUI et al (US2020/0391634A1 newly cited) herein set forth as FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS (US2024/0230429A1 newly cited) herein set forth as VAN DEN BOS, and further in view of Martini et al (US2012/0323461A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Martini.
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger becomes the same as the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to perform a Proportional-integral control (PI control) on the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature.
However, Claim 8 rejection already discloses the monitoring of the temperature of the arm of the passenger and the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, also the controller is configured to adjust the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature, but only does not discloses the use of a Proportional-integral control (PI control).
In the similar field of control heater on car, Martini discloses wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger becomes the same (refer as the “magnitude” cited in Paragraph 0040 below) as the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to perform a Proportional-integral control (PI control) (refer to “a non-linear proportional control scheme” cited in paragraph 0040 cited below) on the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature (refer to Paragraph 0040 cited: “…The magnitude of the heater performance scalar corresponding to the difference between the preferred minimum coolant temperature and the coolant temperature may be determined using a non-linear proportional control scheme, a proportional-integral control scheme, or another control scheme. FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary heater performance scalar 630 in relation to a preferred minimum coolant temperature 610 and a coolant temperature 620 as a function of the present vehicle runtime 640 for an internal combustion engine 40 employed in a hybrid powertrain system 20. The magnitude of the heater performance scalar ramps in from an initially high value and changes as a function of the difference between the preferred minimum coolant temperature 610 and the coolant temperature for the present vehicle runtime 620.…”) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger becomes the same as the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to perform a Proportional-integral control (PI control) on the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature, as taught by Martini, in order to provide an effective controlled temperature flux between the heat generation and the passenger, such that would use lesser energy and more efficient warming of the passenger.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the output of the temperature adjuster includes:
However, Claim 12 rejection already discloses the monitoring of the temperature of the arm of the passenger and the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, also the controller is configured to adjust the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature, but only does not discloses the use of a Proportional-integral control (PI control).
In the similar field of control heater on car, Martini discloses the use of a Proportional-integral control (PI control) for temperature monitoring and control (refer to Paragraph 0040 cited: “…The magnitude of the heater performance scalar corresponding to the difference between the preferred minimum coolant temperature and the coolant temperature may be determined using a non-linear proportional control scheme, a proportional-integral control scheme, or another control scheme. FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary heater performance scalar 630 in relation to a preferred minimum coolant temperature 610 and a coolant temperature 620 as a function of the present vehicle runtime 640 for an internal combustion engine 40 employed in a hybrid powertrain system 20. The magnitude of the heater performance scalar ramps in from an initially high value and changes as a function of the difference between the preferred minimum coolant temperature 610 and the coolant temperature for the present vehicle runtime 620.…”) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control method with wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger becomes the same as the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to perform a Proportional-integral control (PI control) on the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature, as taught by Martini, in order to provide an effective controlled temperature flux between the heat generation and the passenger, such that would use lesser energy and more efficient warming of the passenger.
Regarding claim 15, the modification of Spillner, FURUI, VAN DEN BOS and Martini discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 14, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger is higher than the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the output of the temperature adjuster is maximally controlled until the temperature of the arm of the passenger reaches the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion.
In the similar field of heater control on a seat, FURUI further discloses when the temperature of the arm of the passenger (refer as “body temperature” cited in Paragraph 0069) is greater than or equal to the temperature of the surface (refer to “the surface temperature” in Paragraph 0064 cited above) of the mounting portion (refer to Paragraph 0064 cited: “…First temperature sensor 5 shown in FIG. 2 detects the surface temperature of the seat surface material heated by the first heat generator…”), the controller is configured to maximally control (refer to the “upper limit” cited in Paragraph 0069 below) the output of the temperature adjuster (refer as “heating element” in Paragraph 0069 cited above) until the temperature of the arm of the passenger (refer as “body temperature” cited in Paragraph 0069) becomes the same (refer as the heating element temperature is reaching body temperature as discussed in paragraph 0069) as the temperature of the surface (refer to “the surface temperature” in Paragraph 0064 cited above) of the mounting portion (refer to Paragraph 0069 cited: “…The lower limit of the temperature close to the occupant's body temperature is, for example, 33° C. The upper limit is, for example 39° C., preferably 37° C., and further preferably 35° C. However, other limits are acceptable as long as the temperature limit can prevent a low-temperature burn and maintain a comfortable warming condition.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with wherein, when the temperature of the arm of the passenger is greater than or equal to the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, the controller is configured to maximally control the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the arm of the passenger becomes the same as the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, as taught by FURUI, in order to provide a better control to the heating, such that a more comfortability and better user experience for the user.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US2021/0162899A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Spillner, in view of FURUI et al (US2020/0391634A1 newly cited) herein set forth as FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS (US2024/0230429A1 newly cited) herein set forth as VAN DEN BOS, and further in view of Stetson (US2018/0185191A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Stetson.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Spillner does not discloses wherein the body temperature sensor is spatially separated from a portion where the temperature adjuster is disposed by being surrounded by a heat insulating layer.
In the field of sensor placement in a heater element, Stetson discloses wherein the body temperature sensor (#20, fig.6A) is spatially separated from a portion where the temperature adjuster (#10, fig.6A) is disposed by being surrounded by a heat insulating layer (#12, fig.6A, refer to Paragraph 0026 cited: “…The heating element 10, cloth 12, and temperature sensor 20 will be held against the eyelid with a 100 g beanbag. This will also serve to insulate the temperature sensor from the outside environment, allowing for more accurate temperature readings.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control system with wherein the body temperature sensor is spatially separated from a portion where the temperature adjuster is disposed by being surrounded by a heat insulating layer, as taught by Stetson, in order to provide a better temperature reading such that better and more accurate temperature reading.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US2021/0162899A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Spillner, in view of FURUI et al (US2020/0391634A1 newly cited) herein set forth as FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS (US2024/0230429A1 newly cited) herein set forth as VAN DEN BOS, further in view of Martini et al (US2012/0323461A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Martini, and further in view of Ueda et al (US11318862B2 newly cited) herein set forth as Ueda.
Regarding claim 16, the modification of Spillner, FURUI, VAN DEN BOS and Martini discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 15, Spillner does not explicitly disclose wherein the PI control is performed on the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature after the temperature of the arm of the passenger reaches the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion.
However, Claim 15 rejection already discloses wherein the PI control is performed on the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, but only does not discloses a preset target set temperature after the temperature of the arm of the passenger reaches the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion.
In the similar field of heating and cooling control in the vehicle, Ueda discloses the use of a second target temperature after the first target is reach (refer to claim 1 cited: “…the second information indicates that the target temperature when the remaining capacity is equal to or higher than the first remaining capacity threshold is a second target temperature which is higher than the first target temperature, and the controller is configured to execute a first heating process to heat the battery to the first target temperature using the heater, … and the obtained temperature is lower than the first target temperature, and execute a second heating process to heat the battery to the second target temperature using the heater…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control method with the use of second target temperature to control heating, just as taught by Ueda, in order to provide further required heating or extra heating, such that higher temperature can be achieved.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spillner (US2021/0162899A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Spillner, in view of FURUI et al (US2020/0391634A1 newly cited) herein set forth as FURUI, further in view of VAN DEN BOS (US2024/0230429A1 newly cited) herein set forth as VAN DEN BOS, and further in view of Okamoto et al (US2012/0234932A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Okamoto.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Spillner, FURUI and VAN DEN BOS discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Spillner does not explicitly disclose comparing the temperature of the arm of the passenger with the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion again after a predetermined time elapses since the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion has risen to a preset target set temperature.
However, Claim 12 rejection already discloses the monitoring of the temperature of the arm of the passenger and the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion, also the controller is configured to adjust the output of the temperature adjuster until the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion reaches a preset target set temperature, but only does not discloses a predetermined time elapses since the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion has risen to a preset target set temperature.
Regarding limitation that “…a predetermined time elapses since the temperature of the surface of the mounting portion has risen to a preset target set temperature …”, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art that monitor the temperature different between the surface of the mounting portion and the arm of the passenger, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 IIa),
In the similar field of heating control in a vehicular compartment, Okamoto discloses the use of predetermined time elapses (refer to Paragraph 0019 cited: “…a vehicular heating system which adjusts a heating element surface member temperature of a radiative heater which warms a passenger in accordance with temperature information inside the passenger compartment, in which vehicular heating system, before a predetermined time elapses from when heating by the vehicular heating system is turned ON or at the time of elapse, the heating element surface member temperature is controlled based on a setting for which a first upper threshold value where the passenger will not suffer high temperature burn injuries is set and which is set to increase proportionally or in a monotone functional way in accordance with temperature information inside the passenger compartment at below that upper threshold value, and, after a predetermined time elapses from when heating by the vehicular heating system is turned ON, the heating element surface member temperature is controlled to not more than a second upper threshold value where the passenger will not suffer low temperature burn injuries.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Spillner’s control method with the use of predetermined time elapses, as taught by Okamoto, in order to reduce the read cycle of the sensor and processing capability requirement, such that would reduce manufacturing cost and increase the life span of the sensors and processing capability.
Conclusion
/Yeongjuen Thong/
Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3761