DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Claims 1and 12 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant’s argument, that by virtue of their dependence from amended claims 1 or 12, claims 2-11 and 13-22 are allowable over the cited references, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1 or 12. Therefore for at least the reasons above presented for claim 1 and 12, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20210168715 A1); hereinafter Huang, in view of Hofström (US 20220361237 A1); hereinafter Hofström.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
sending, by a user equipment (UE), first information to a network device at a first moment ([0195] the UE sends the SR (first information) to the base station in a slot i+1 (first moment));
receiving, by the UE, first indication information from the network device at a second moment ([0195] the UE receives, in a slot I (second moment), the first indication information sent by the base station), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate the UE to skip Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring ([0186] the base station sends the first indication information to the UE, to indicate the UE to skip monitoring the PDCCH in the following first time window); and
determining, by the UE, whether to skip the PDCCH monitoring based on a first duration and a predetermined time ([0186] Referring to FIG. 15, a process in which the UE determines a time window in which the PDCCH is not detected includes the following steps. Paragraphs [0194] and [0196] disclose the UE skips monitoring the PDCCH based on a predetermined time and the first time window (first duration)), wherein the first duration is a duration skipped by the UE for monitoring PDCCH ([0038] the base station sends the first indication information to the UE, to indicate the UE to skip monitoring the PDCCH in the following first time window (first duration));
wherein determining, by the UE, whether to skip the PDCCH monitoring based on the first duration and the predetermined time comprises:
wherein third moment is earlier than the fourth moment (Examiner is mapping the third moment to the end of the first time window, in Fig. 17 it is slot i+6. [0192] 704. The UE monitors a physical downlink control channel PDCCH in a predetermined time after a time location of the scheduling request. Examiner is mapping the fourth moment as the time when the UE starts to monitor the PDCCH in the predetermined time after the SR is sent. [0193] The UE may start to monitor the physical downlink control channel PDCCH in the predetermined time after the time location at which the SR is sent (for example, an X.sup.th slot after a slot in which the SR is located). The X.sup.th slot corresponding to the predetermined time may be a predefined value, or a value configured by the base station, where X≥0. In Fig. 17 the fourth moment is slot i+8, thus, the third moment is earlier than a fourth moment.), the third moment is a moment obtained by adding the first duration to the second moment (Examiner is mapping the second moment as the start of the first time window. In Fig. 17 it is slot i+3. The first duration is the duration of the first time window. The third moment (i+6) is obtained by adding the duration of the time window to the second moment (i+3)), and the fourth moment is a moment obtained by adding the predetermined time to the first moment (Examiner is mapping the first moment to the sending of the SR. [0193] The X.sup.th slot (fourth moment) corresponding to the predetermined time may be a predefined value, or a value configured by the base station, where X≥0. In Fig. 17 the fourth moment is slot i+8. Thus, the fourth moment is a moment obtained by adding the predetermined time to the first moment.).
Huang does not teach wherein the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT), and the first RTT is a RTT for signal transmission between the UE and the network device; and skipping, by the UE, the PDCCH monitoring during a period from the second moment to a fourth moment and performing the PDCCH monitoring after the fourth moment.
However, Hofström, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT) ([0065] It should be noted that the UE 10 may obtain an indication associated with the RTT from the radio network node 12 or from another radio network node, or be preconfigured with the RTT), and the first RTT is a RTT for signal transmission between the UE and the network device ([0076] Action 411. The UE may receive a configuration for configuring the UE 10 to apply the timer, wherein the configuration indicates: a value of the timer, a timer to use and/or a round trip time (RTT) between the radio network node and the UE. The UE may thus be informed of the RTT to the radio network node 12, and the timer may be based on the RTT. The configuration may indicate that the UE 10 should use the timer to avoid monitoring the control channel.); and skipping, by the UE, the PDCCH monitoring during a period from the second moment to a fourth moment (The fourth moment, as established above, is the end of the RTT between the UE and the base station for the scheduling request. [0069] For example, the UE 10 knows that it will not receive PDCCH until the RTT between the radio network node 12 and the UE 10. [0078] Action 413. The UE 10 activates, upon detection of the triggering event occurrence, the timer, wherein the triggering event occurrence comprises transmitting the scheduling request. The timer defines an interval allowing the UE not to monitor the control channel being a PDCCH. Thus, the timer delays the UE to start monitoring the control channel. [0079] Action 414. The UE 10 initiates, upon expiry of the timer, a monitoring of the control channel for one or more transmissions from the radio network node 12. Since the duration of the timer is the RTT, the UE does not monitor the PDCCH from the sending of the SR until the end of the RTT (the fourth moment). Therefore, the UE skips the PDCCH monitoring during a period from the second moment to a fourth moment. Also, in Fig. 5a Hofström discloses the UE may monitor the channel for a short duration after transmitting SR in case of late responses from the base station. [0092] Additionally or alternatively, in the Case 1 or Case 2 the UE 10 may be momentarily reachable by having the UE 10 to stay in active time for a period to make sure that the UE 10 may receive PDCCH, such as late UL grants. This can be done by introducing another timer that is triggered directly after Case 1 or Case 2. When the other timer is running, the UE 10 monitors the PDCCH. An example of this can be seen in FIG. 5a. An example of a name for this other timer may be drx-NTNRTTTimerOffset.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PDCCH skipping methods of Huang to include some of the teachings of Hofström to include the RTT between the UE and the network device when determining when to skip PDCCH monitoring. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 2 Huang and Hofström teach claim 1, and Huang teaches wherein determining, by the UE, whether to skip the PDCCH monitoring based on the first duration and the predetermined time comprises: during the first duration after receiving the first indication information and during the predetermined time after sending the first information, determining, by the UE, to skip the PDCCH monitoring ([0194] 705. When the predetermined time is in the first time window (first duration), the UE skips monitoring the PDCCH from a start location of the first time window (first duration) to a start location of the predetermined time. [0196] 706. When the predetermined time is after the first time window (first duration), the UE skips monitoring the PDCCH in the first time window.); or after the predetermined time which is after sending the first information, determining, by the UE, not to skip the PDCCH monitoring ([0192] 704. The UE monitors a physical downlink control channel PDCCH in a predetermined time after a time location of the scheduling request.).
Huang does not teach wherein the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT).
However, Hofström, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT) ([0065] It should be noted that the UE 10 may obtain an indication associated with the RTT from the radio network node 12 or from another radio network node, or be preconfigured with the RTT).
Hofström also teaches after the first RTT which is after sending the first information, determining, by the UE, not to skip the PDCCH monitoring ([0071] Action 404. Upon expiry of the timer (after the first RTT), the UE 10 then activates monitoring of the control channel such as the PDCCH for one or more transmissions from the radio network node 12. [0072] Action 405. The UE 10 may additionally activate or initiate another timer such as a duration timer, during which the UE monitors for one or more transmissions from the radio network node. The other timer may thus control the time the UE 10 may monitor the control channel for a specific SR response. When this timer expires, the UE should stop monitoring the PDCCH for this particular SR response.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PDCCH skipping methods of Huang to include some of the teachings of Hofström to include the RTT between the UE and the network device when determining when to skip PDCCH monitoring. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 3 Huang teaches wherein the first information comprises a Scheduling Request (SR) ([0191] 703: The UE sends a scheduling request to the base station).
Huang does not teach, and the SR is in a pending state when the first indication information is received.
However, Hofström in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches, and the SR is in a pending state when the first indication information is received ([0069] Action 402. The UE 10 detects or performs the triggering event such as transmitting an SR to the radio network node 12, [0083] Case 1: Embodiments herein allow the UE 10 not to monitor the PDCCH continuously when a scheduling request is pending until a time period of RTT has elapsed. [0067] FIG. 4a is a combined flowchart and signaling scheme according to some embodiments herein. The actions may be performed in any suitable order).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control information transmission method of Huang to include the method for managing monitoring of a control channel for transmissions from a radio network node of Hofström. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 4 Huang and Hofström teach the method of claim 1, but Huang does not teach wherein the first information comprises uplink information in a random access procedure, and the random access procedure is triggered by Beam Failure Recovery (BFR).
However, Hofström teaches, wherein the first information comprises uplink information in a random access procedure, and the random access procedure is triggered by Beam Failure Recovery (BFR) ([0027] Besides CFRA, the UE may transmit a Random Access Preamble not selected by the media access control (MAC) entity among the contention-based Random Access Preambles, e.g., PDCCH ordered random access and beam failure recovery triggered random access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control information transmission method of Huang to include the method for managing monitoring of a control channel for transmissions from a radio network node of Hofström. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 11 Huang and Hofström teach the method of claim 1, but Huang does not teach wherein the network device is one in a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN).
However, Hofström teaches wherein the network device is one in a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) (Fig. 3 [0061] The wireless communication network 1 comprises one or more RANs and one or more CNs. The wireless communication network 1 may use one or a number of different technologies, such as a satellite communication system (LEO, GEO, MEO). Embodiments herein relate to recent technology trends that are of particular interest in satellite communication system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control information transmission method of Huang to include the method for managing monitoring of a control channel for transmissions from a radio network node of Hofström. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 5b; 801 processing circuitry) and a memory (Fig. 5b; 807 memory) being configured to store a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to:
send first information to a network device at a first moment ([0195] the UE sends the SR (first information) to the base station in a slot i+1 (first moment)) and
receive first indication information from the network device at a second moment ([0195] the UE receives, in a slot I (second moment), the first indication information sent by the base station), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate the UE to skip Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring ([0186] the base station sends the first indication information to the UE, to indicate the UE to skip monitoring the PDCCH in the following first time window); and
determine whether to skip the PDCCH monitoring based on a first duration and a predetermined time ([0186] Referring to FIG. 15, a process in which the UE determines a time window in which the PDCCH is not detected includes the following steps. Paragraphs [0194] and [0196] disclose the UE skips monitoring the PDCCH based on a predetermined time and the first time window (first duration)), wherein the first duration is a duration skipped by the UE for monitoring PDCCH ([0038] the base station sends the first indication information to the UE, to indicate the UE to skip monitoring the PDCCH in the following first time window (first duration));
wherein the processor is further configured to:
wherein third moment is earlier than the fourth moment (Examiner is mapping the third moment to the end of the first time window, in Fig. 17 it is slot i+6. [0192] 704. The UE monitors a physical downlink control channel PDCCH in a predetermined time after a time location of the scheduling request. Examiner is mapping the fourth moment as the time when the UE starts to monitor the PDCCH in the predetermined time after the SR is sent. [0193] The UE may start to monitor the physical downlink control channel PDCCH in the predetermined time after the time location at which the SR is sent (for example, an X.sup.th slot after a slot in which the SR is located). The X.sup.th slot corresponding to the predetermined time may be a predefined value, or a value configured by the base station, where X≥0. In Fig. 17 the fourth moment is slot i+8, thus, the third moment is earlier than a fourth moment.), the third moment is a moment obtained by adding the first duration to the second moment (Examiner is mapping the second moment as the start of the first time window. In Fig. 17 it is slot i+3. The first duration is the duration of the first time window. The third moment (i+6) is obtained by adding the duration of the time window to the second moment (i+3)), and the fourth moment is a moment obtained by adding the predetermined time to the first moment (Examiner is mapping the first moment to the sending of the SR. [0193] The X.sup.th slot (fourth moment) corresponding to the predetermined time may be a predefined value, or a value configured by the base station, where X≥0. In Fig. 17 the fourth moment is slot i+8. Thus, the fourth moment is a moment obtained by adding the predetermined time to the first moment.).
Huang does not teach the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT), and the first RTT is a RTT for signal transmission between the UE and the network device; and skipping, by the UE, the PDCCH monitoring during a period from the second moment to a fourth moment and performing the PDCCH monitoring after the fourth moment.
However, Hofström, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT) ([0065] It should be noted that the UE 10 may obtain an indication associated with the RTT from the radio network node 12 or from another radio network node, or be preconfigured with the RTT), and the first RTT is a RTT for signal transmission between the UE and the network device ([0076] Action 411. The UE may receive a configuration for configuring the UE 10 to apply the timer, wherein the configuration indicates: a value of the timer, a timer to use and/or a round trip time (RTT) between the radio network node and the UE. The UE may thus be informed of the RTT to the radio network node 12, and the timer may be based on the RTT. The configuration may indicate that the UE 10 should use the timer to avoid monitoring the control channel.); and skipping, by the UE, the PDCCH monitoring during a period from the second moment to a fourth moment (The fourth moment, as established above, is the end of the RTT between the UE and the base station for the scheduling request. [0069] For example, the UE 10 knows that it will not receive PDCCH until the RTT between the radio network node 12 and the UE 10. [0078] Action 413. The UE 10 activates, upon detection of the triggering event occurrence, the timer, wherein the triggering event occurrence comprises transmitting the scheduling request. The timer defines an interval allowing the UE not to monitor the control channel being a PDCCH. Thus, the timer delays the UE to start monitoring the control channel. [0079] Action 414. The UE 10 initiates, upon expiry of the timer, a monitoring of the control channel for one or more transmissions from the radio network node 12. Since the duration of the timer is the RTT, the UE does not monitor the PDCCH from the sending of the SR until the end of the RTT (the fourth moment). Therefore, the UE skips the PDCCH monitoring during a period from the second moment to a fourth moment. Also, in Fig. 5a Hofström discloses the UE may monitor the channel for a short duration after transmitting SR in case of late responses from the base station. [0092] Additionally or alternatively, in the Case 1 or Case 2 the UE 10 may be momentarily reachable by having the UE 10 to stay in active time for a period to make sure that the UE 10 may receive PDCCH, such as late UL grants. This can be done by introducing another timer that is triggered directly after Case 1 or Case 2. When the other timer is running, the UE 10 monitors the PDCCH. An example of this can be seen in FIG. 5a. An example of a name for this other timer may be drx-NTNRTTTimerOffset.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PDCCH skipping methods of Huang to include some of the teachings of Hofström to include the RTT between the UE and the network device when determining when to skip PDCCH monitoring. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 13 Huang and Hofström teach claim 1, and Huang teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine to skip the PDCCH monitoring during the first duration after receiving the first indication information and during the predetermined time after sending the first information ([0194] 705. When the predetermined time is in the first time window (first duration), the UE skips monitoring the PDCCH from a start location of the first time window (first duration) to a start location of the predetermined time. [0196] 706. When the predetermined time is after the first time window (first duration), the UE skips monitoring the PDCCH in the first time window.); or determine not to skip the PDCCH monitoring after the predetermined time which is after sending the first information ([0192] 704. The UE monitors a physical downlink control channel PDCCH in a predetermined time after a time location of the scheduling request.).
Huang does not teach wherein the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT).
However, Hofström, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the predetermined time is a first Round Trip Time (RTT) ([0065] It should be noted that the UE 10 may obtain an indication associated with the RTT from the radio network node 12 or from another radio network node, or be preconfigured with the RTT).
Hofström also teaches after the first RTT which is after sending the first information, determining, by the UE, not to skip the PDCCH monitoring ([0071] Action 404. Upon expiry of the timer (after the first RTT), the UE 10 then activates monitoring of the control channel such as the PDCCH for one or more transmissions from the radio network node 12. [0072] Action 405. The UE 10 may additionally activate or initiate another timer such as a duration timer, during which the UE monitors for one or more transmissions from the radio network node. The other timer may thus control the time the UE 10 may monitor the control channel for a specific SR response. When this timer expires, the UE should stop monitoring the PDCCH for this particular SR response.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PDCCH skipping methods of Huang to include some of the teachings of Hofström to include the RTT between the UE and the network device when determining when to skip PDCCH monitoring. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 14 Huang teaches wherein the first information comprises a Scheduling Request (SR) ([0191] 703: The UE sends a scheduling request to the base station).
Huang does not teach, and the SR is in a pending state when the first indication information is received.
However, Hofström teaches, and the SR is in a pending state when the first indication information is received ([0069] Action 402. The UE 10 detects or performs the triggering event such as transmitting an SR to the radio network node 12, [0083] Case 1: Embodiments herein allow the UE 10 not to monitor the PDCCH continuously when a scheduling request is pending until a time period of RTT has elapsed. [0067] FIG. 4a is a combined flowchart and signaling scheme according to some embodiments herein. The actions may be performed in any suitable order).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control information transmission method of Huang to include the method for managing monitoring of a control channel for transmissions from a radio network node of Hofström. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 15 Huang and Hofström teach the method of claim 12, but Huang does not teach wherein the first information comprises uplink information in a random access procedure, and the random access procedure is triggered by Beam Failure Recovery (BFR).
However, Hofström teaches, wherein the first information comprises uplink information in a random access procedure, and the random access procedure is triggered by Beam Failure Recovery (BFR) ([0027] Besides CFRA, the UE may transmit a Random Access Preamble not selected by the media access control (MAC) entity among the contention-based Random Access Preambles, e.g., PDCCH ordered random access and beam failure recovery triggered random access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control information transmission method of Huang to include the method for managing monitoring of a control channel for transmissions from a radio network node of Hofström. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 22 Huang and Hofström teach the method of claim 1, but Huang does not teach wherein the network device is one in a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN).
However, Hofström teaches wherein the network device is one in a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) (Fig. 3 [0061] The wireless communication network 1 comprises one or more RANs and one or more CNs. The wireless communication network 1 may use one or a number of different technologies, such as a satellite communication system (LEO, GEO, MEO). Embodiments herein relate to recent technology trends that are of particular interest in satellite communication system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control information transmission method of Huang to include the method for. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a mechanism that improves energy efficiency in the wireless communication network, especially when considering the long propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks. (Hofström; [0035]-[0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Hofström, further in view of Jeon et al. (US 20220110184 A1); hereinafter Jeon.
Regarding claim 5 Huang and Hofström teach claim 4, but they do not explicitly teach further comprising: when determining not to skip the PDCCH monitoring, monitoring, by the UE, a PDCCH scrambled by a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) in a window for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) or when determining to skip the PDCCH monitoring, skipping, by the UE in the window for receiving the RAR, monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI.
Jeon, in the same field of endeavor of power saving techniques in wireless communications, teaches further comprising: when determining not to skip the PDCCH monitoring, monitoring, by the UE, a PDCCH scrambled by a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) in a window for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) or when determining to skip the PDCCH monitoring, skipping, by the UE in the window for receiving the RAR, monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI ([0198] After transmitting a preamble, the UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a PDCCH for the RAR. In the event of a beam failure recovery request, the base station may configure the UE with a separate time window and/or a separate PDCCH in a search space indicated by an RRC message (e.g., recoverySearchSpaceId). The UE may monitor for a PDCCH transmission addressed to a Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) on the search space).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Hofström with the teachings of Jeon to better understand the details of the monitoring of the PDCCH during a random access procedure triggered by a beam failure request. The motivation to do so would have been to determine the DRX active time based on the timers that are started after the preamble and transport block are sent in a two-step random access procedure (Jeon; Abstract).
Regarding claim 6 Huang and Hofström teache claim 4, but they do not teach, wherein the first information comprises a message A (MsgA) in a contention-based 2-step random access procedure, and the MsgA comprises a preamble sequence and a Physical Uplink Shared Charnel (PUSCH) carrying a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI).
Jeon, in the same field of endeavor of power saving techniques in wireless communications, teaches wherein the first information comprises a message A (MsgA) in a contention-based 2-step random access procedure, and the MsgA comprises a preamble sequence and a Physical Uplink Shared Charnel (PUSCH) carrying a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) (Fig. 23 [0325] during the two-step RA procedure, the wireless device may transmit MsgA comprising a first transmission of a preamble and a second transmission of a transport block. The transport block may comprise the C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Hofström with the two-step random access procedure of Jeon so that the first information is a message A. The motivation to do so would have been to determine the DRX active time based on the timers that are started after the preamble and transport block are sent in a two-step random access procedure (Jeon; Abstract).
Regarding claim 7 Jeon teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: when determining not to skip the PDCCH monitoring, monitoring, by the UE in a window for receiving a message B (MsgB). a PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI and a PDCCH scrambled by a MsgB-RNTI or when determining to skip the PDCCH monitoring, skipping, by the UE in the window for receiving the MsgB, monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI and the PDCCH scrambled by the MsgB-RNTI ([0325] The wireless device may monitor the control channel during the MsgB RAR window or while the timer is running. The wireless device may stop monitoring, e.g., if the wireless device may receive, via the downlink control channel and during the msgB RAR window or while the timer is running, at least one PDCCH addressed to (e.g., scrambled with) the C-RNTI and/or msgB-RNTI).
Regarding claim 8 Huang and Hofström teach the method of claim 4, and Hofström teaches wherein the first information comprises a message 3 (Msg 3) in a contention-based 4-step random access procedure ([0041] the triggering event (first information) can be sending a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message scheduled by a RAR grant. (This is a Msg 3)).
Hofström does not explicitly teach and the Msg 3 comprises a PUSCH carrying a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI).
Jeon, in the same field of endeavor of power saving techniques in wireless communications, teaches and the Msg 3 comprises a PUSCH carrying a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) (Fig. 13 [0193] To perform contention resolution, the UE may include a device identifier in the Msg 3 1313 (e.g., a C-RNTI if assigned)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Hofström with the teachings of Jeon so that the first information is a message 3 with a C-RNTI. The motivation to do so would have been to increase the likelihood that the UE does not incorrectly use an identity of another UE (Jeon; [0193]).
Regarding claim 9 Jeon teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: when determining not to skip the PDCCH monitoring, monitoring, by the UE, during operation of a random access contention resolution timer (ra-ContentionResolutionTimer), a PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI or when determining to skip the PDCCH monitoring, skipping, by the UE, during the operation of the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer, monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI ([0194] If a C-RNTI was included in the Msg 3 1313, the base station will address the UE on the PDCCH using the C-RNTI. [0213] The UE may determine a DCI as valid for the UE, in response to CRC checking (e.g., scrambled bits for CRC parity bits of the DCI matching a RNTI value). [0314] The wireless device may determine, based on receiving a contention resolution identifier matched to a wireless device identifier (transmitted via Msg3 1213 or MsgA 1331) detected during the contention resolution timer is running, that the contention resolution is successful).
Regarding claim 16 Huang and Hofström teach claim 15, but they do not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor a PDCCH scrambled by a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTD in a window for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) when determining not to skip the PDCCH monitoring: or skip monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI in the window for receiving the RAR when determining to skip the PDCCH monitoring.
Jeon, in the same field of endeavor of power saving techniques in wireless communications, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor a PDCCH scrambled by a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTD in a window for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) when determining not to skip the PDCCH monitoring: or skip monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI in the window for receiving the RAR when determining to skip the PDCCH monitoring ([0198] After transmitting a preamble, the UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a PDCCH for the RAR. In the event of a beam failure recovery request, the base station may configure the UE with a separate time window and/or a separate PDCCH in a search space indicated by an RRC message (e.g., recoverySearchSpaceId). The UE may monitor for a PDCCH transmission addressed to a Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) on the search space).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Hofström with the teachings of Jeon to better understand the details of the monitoring of the PDCCH during a random access procedure triggered by a beam failure request. The motivation to do so would have been to determine the DRX active time based on the timers that are started after the preamble and transport block are sent in a two-step random access procedure (Jeon; Abstract).
Regarding claim 17 Huang and Hofström teach claim 15, but they do not teach, wherein the first information comprises a message A (MsgA) in a contention-based 2-step random access procedure, and the MsgA comprises a preamble sequence and a Physical Uplink Shared Charnel (PUSCH) carrying C-RNTI.
Jeon, in the same field of endeavor of power saving techniques in wireless communications, teaches wherein the first information comprises a message A (MsgA) in a contention-based 2-step random access procedure, and the MsgA comprises a preamble sequence and a Physical Uplink Shared Charnel (PUSCH) carrying C-RNTI (Fig. 23 [0325] during the two-step RA procedure, the wireless device may transmit MsgA comprising a first transmission of a preamble and a second transmission of a transport block. The transport block may comprise the C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and Hofström with the two-step random access procedure of Jeon so that the first information is a message A. The motivation to do so would have been to determine the DRX active time based on the timers that are started after the preamble and transport block are sent in a two-step random access procedure (Jeon; Abstract).
Regarding claim 18 Jeon teaches the UE of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI and a PDCCH scrambled by a MsgB-RNTI in a window for receiving a message B (MsgB) when determining not to skip the POCCH monitoring: or skip monitoring the PACCH scrambled by the C-RNTI and the PDCCH scrambled by the MsgB-RNTI in the window for receiving the MsgB when determining to skip the POCCH monitoring ([0325] The wireless device may monitor the control channel during the MsgB RAR window or while the timer is running. The wireless device may stop monitoring, e.g., if the wireless device may receive, via the downlink control channel and during the msgB RAR window or while the timer is running, at least one PDCCH addressed to (e.g., scrambled with) the C-RNTI and/or msgB-RNTI).
Regarding claim 19 Huang and Hofström teach the UE of claim 15, and Hofström teaches wherein the first information comprises a message 3 (Msg 3) in a contention-based 4-step random access procedure ([0041] the triggering event (first information) can be sending a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message scheduled by a RAR grant. (This is a Msg 3)).
Hofström does not explicitly teach and the Msg 3 comprises a PUSCH carrying a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI).
Jeon, in the same field of endeavor of power saving techniques in wireless communications, teaches and the Msg 3 comprises a PUSCH carrying a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) (Fig. 13 [0193] To perform contention resolution, the UE may include a device identifier in the Msg 3 1313 (e.g., a C-RNTI if assigned)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Huang and Hofström with the teachings of Jeon so that the first information is a message 3 with a C-RNTI. The motivation to do so would have been to increase the likelihood that the UE does not incorrectly use an identity of another UE (Jeon; [0193]).
Regarding claim 20 Jeon teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the communication unit is further configured to: monitor a PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI during operation of a random access contention resolution timer (ra-ContentionResolution Timer) when determining not to skip the PDCCH monitoring; or skip monitoring the POCCH scrambled by the C-RNTE during the operation of the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer when determining to skip the PDCCH monitoring ([0194] If a C-RNTI was included in the Msg 3 1313, the base station will address the UE on the PDCCH using the C-RNTI. [0213] The UE may determine a DCI as valid for the UE, in response to CRC checking (e.g., scrambled bits for CRC parity bits of the DCI matching a RNTI value). [0314] The wireless device may determine, based on receiving a contention resolution identifier matched to a wireless device identifier (transmitted via Msg3 1213 or MsgA 1331) detected during the contention resolution timer is running, that the contention resolution is successful).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Hofström, further in view of TAHERZADEH BOROUJENI et al. (US 20200413451 A1); hereinafter TAHERZADEH.
Regarding claim 10 Huang and Hofström teach the method of claim 1, but do not teach wherein the first RTT is determined according to position information and ephemeris information the UE, or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a Timing Advance (TA) indicated by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a duration of a Discontinuous Reception uplink HARQ RTT timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL) configured by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to the duration and an RTT offset of the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL configured by the network device.
TAHERZADEH, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically random access in non-terrestrial networks, teaches wherein the first RTT is determined according to position information and ephemeris information the UE, or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a Timing Advance (TA) indicated by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a duration of a Discontinuous Reception uplink HARQ RTT timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL) configured by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to the duration and an RTT offset of the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL configured by the network device (Fig. 3 [0077] For a non-terrestrial gNodeB, a round-trip time (RTT) to a WTRU may be much larger than a RTT in a terrestrial network. RTT may be estimated as, or based on, the distance between a gNodeB and a WTRU, divided by the speed of the light. The distance between a gNodeB and a WTRU may be estimated by the distance of the non-terrestrial gNodeB from Earth and the angle of elevation. [0097] In some implementations, a WTRU may use a combination of information about the type of non-terrestrial gNodeB, a distance from Earth and the elevation angle (which may be signaled explicitly by the gNodeB or estimated by the WTRU) for a more accurate estimation of the minimum RTT in determining the time offset. [0109] In some implementations, the WTRU may also use the geographical position 450 of the airborne or spaceborne vehicle on which the gNodeB resides, in combination with the RTT, to down-select the PRACH preambles).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine RTT based on TAHERZADEH and combine it with the teachings of Huang and Hofström so that the RTT can be determined according to position information and ephemeris information. The motivation to do so would have been to address the impact of non-terrestrial RTT on contention resolution in a contention-based RACH procedure (TAHERZADEH; [0081]).
Regarding claim 21 Huang and Hofström teach the UE of claim 12, but do not teach wherein the first RTT is determined according to position information and ephemeris information the UE, or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a Timing Advance (TA) indicated by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a duration of a Discontinuous Reception uplink HARQ RTT timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL) configured by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to the duration and an RTT offset of the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL configured by the network device.
TAHERZADEH, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically random access in non-terrestrial networks, teaches wherein the first RTT is determined according to position information and ephemeris information the UE, or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a Timing Advance (TA) indicated by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to a duration of a Discontinuous Reception uplink HARQ RTT timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL) configured by the network device or wherein the first RTT is determined according to the duration and an RTT offset of the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL configured by the network device (Fig. 3 [0077] For a non-terrestrial gNodeB, a round-trip time (RTT) to a WTRU may be much larger than a RTT in a terrestrial network. RTT may be estimated as, or based on, the distance between a gNodeB and a WTRU, divided by the speed of the light. The distance between a gNodeB and a WTRU may be estimated by the distance of the non-terrestrial gNodeB from Earth and the angle of elevation. [0097] In some implementations, a WTRU may use a combination of information about the type of non-terrestrial gNodeB, a distance from Earth and the elevation angle (which may be signaled explicitly by the gNodeB or estimated by the WTRU) for a more accurate estimation of the minimum RTT in determining the time offset. [0109] In some implementations, the WTRU may also use the geographical position 450 of the airborne or spaceborne vehicle on which the gNodeB resides, in combination with the RTT, to down-select the PRACH preambles).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine RTT based on TAHERZADEH and combine it with the teachings of Huang and Hofström so that the RTT can be determined according to position information and ephemeris information. The motivation to do so would have been to address the impact of non-terrestrial RTT on contention resolution in a contention-based RACH procedure (TAHERZADEH; [0081]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sebeni (US 20190116552 A1) discloses a power efficient DCI framework where a base station and a UE can negotiate a sleep downlink control information (sDCI) format.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465