DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to the set of claims received on 16 December 2022. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings received on 16 December 2022 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (International Publication WO 2021/130372) in view of Dwyer et al. (U.S. Patent 6,706,072).
Regarding claims 1-6, Naylor et al. disclose (as to part of claim 1) a method of installing a cement restrictor component (150) during performance of a direct anterior approach orthopaedic surgical hip replacement procedure (see Figure 6, and page 12, lines 12-23) on a patient's femur (110) comprising sliding an elongated shaft (136) of an insertion instrument (131) through an elongated bore (172) of a proximal guide instrument (160), the insertion instrument having a handle (132) on its proximal end (i.e. end defining 132) and the proximal guide instrument having an elongated post (164) through which the bore extends and a neck (i.e. neck defined by portion of 160 defining 190, see Figure 4A) extending medially from the elongated post (see page 10, line 32 – page 11, line 7, and page 13, lines 21-24), securing (i.e. via screw thread 137) the cement restrictor component onto a distal end (134) of the insertion instrument so as to slidably capture the proximal guide instrument on the elongated shaft between the handle of the insertion instrument and the cement restrictor component (see page 14, lines 11-26), advancing the cement restrictor component through a surgically-prepared proximal end (110) of the patient's femur and into an intramedullary canal (i.e. canal receiving 400 as best seen in Figure 7) of the patient's femur (see page 14, lines 11-26), sliding the proximal guide instrument along the shaft of the insertion instrument (see page 10, line 32 – page 11, line 7, and page 13, lines 21-24), and sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the cement restrictor component is advanced distally into the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur to a desired depth (see page 10, line 32 – page 11, line 7, page 13, lines 21-24, and page 14, lines 11-26), wherein (as to claim 2) the method further comprises unsecuring the cement restrictor component from the distal end of the insertion instrument once the cement restrictor component has been advanced to the desired depth, and sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the distal end of the insertion instrument is advanced proximally out of the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur (see page 15, lines 4-17), wherein (as to claim 3) securing the cement restrictor component onto the distal end of the insertion instrument comprises threading the cement restrictor component onto a threaded end (i.e. onto 134 via 137) of the shaft of the insertion instrument (see page 8, lines 12-20), wherein (as to claim 4) a superior end (i.e. end defining 176) of the post of the proximal guide instrument defines a planar surface (i.e. top-most surface as best seen in Figure 4E), the shaft of the insertion instrument has a depth stop (138) secured thereto at a location (i.e. location as best seen in Figure 3) between the handle of the insertion instrument and the distal end of the insertion instrument, a distal surface (i.e. surface defined by 139) of the depth stop defines a planar surface (i.e. surface as best seen in Figure 3), and sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the cement restrictor component is advanced distally into the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur to the desired depth comprises sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument until the planar surface of the depth stop engages the planar surface of the proximal guide instrument (see page 10, lines 17-20), wherein (as to claim 5) the cement restrictor component comprises a cement restrictor trial component, and sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument comprises sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the cement restrictor trial component is advanced distally into the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur to the desired depth (see column 13, line 26 – column 14, line 9), and wherein (as to claim 6) the cement restrictor component comprises a cement restrictor implant component, and sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument comprises sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the cement restrictor implant component is advanced distally into the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur to the desired depth (see page 14, line 11 – page 15, line 2) (see Figures 2-7, and page 8, line 12 – page 15, line 22).
Naylor et al. disclose the proximal guide instrument being generally the same size and shape as a proximal part of a femoral prosthesis (see page 9, lines 19-26); however, fail to explicitly disclose wherein (as to the remainder of claim 1) the post and the neck of the proximal guide instrument are frictionally secured in the surgically-prepared proximal end of the patient's femur.
Dwyer et al. teach securing a femoral prosthesis (10) within a femur via a press fit (i.e. which inherently uses friction) (see Figure 4, and column 6, lines 28-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the method of Naylor et al. with wherein the post and the neck of the proximal guide instrument are frictionally secured in the surgically-prepared proximal end of the patient's femur in view of Dwyer et al. in order to provide a well-known, obvious means for ensuring a secure, reversible engagement between the proximal guide instrument and the patient’s femur to maintain the desired axial alignment of the insertion instrument to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 8-11, Naylor et al. disclose (as to part of claim 8) a method of installing a cement restrictor implant component (150) during performance of a direct anterior approach orthopaedic surgical hip replacement procedure (see Figure 6, and page 12, lines 12-23) on a patient's femur (110) comprising sliding an elongated shaft (136) of an insertion instrument (131) through an elongated bore (172) of a proximal guide instrument (160), the insertion instrument having a handle (132) on its proximal end (i.e. end defining 132) and the proximal guide instrument having an elongated post (164) through which the bore extends and a neck (i.e. neck defined by portion of 160 defining 190, see Figure 4A) extending medially from the elongated post (see page 10, line 32 – page 11, line 7, and page 13, lines 21-24), securing (i.e. via screw thread 137) the cement restrictor implant component onto a distal end (134) of the insertion instrument so as to slidably capture the proximal guide instrument on the elongated shaft between the handle of the insertion instrument and the cement restrictor implant component (see page 14, lines 11-26), advancing the cement restrictor implant component through a surgically-prepared proximal end (110) of the patient's femur and into an intramedullary canal (i.e. canal receiving 400 as best seen in Figure 7) of the patient's femur (see page 14, lines 11-26), sliding the proximal guide instrument along the shaft of the insertion instrument (see page 10, line 32 – page 11, line 7, and page 13, lines 21-24), sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the cement restrictor implant component is advanced distally into the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur to a desired depth (see page 10, line 32 – page 11, line 7, page 13, lines 21-24, and page 14, lines 11-26), and unsecuring the cement restrictor implant component from the distal end of the insertion instrument once the cement restrictor implant component has been advanced to the desired depth so as to implant the cement restrictor implant component at the desired depth (see page 15, lines 4-17), wherein (as to claim 9) the method further comprises sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the distal end of the insertion instrument is advanced proximally out of the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur (see page 15, lines 4-17), wherein (as to claim 10) securing the cement restrictor implant component onto the distal end of the insertion instrument comprises threading the cement restrictor implant component onto a threaded end (i.e. onto 134 via 137) of the shaft of the insertion instrument (see page 8, lines 12-20), and wherein (as to claim 11) a superior end (i.e. end defining 176) of the post of the proximal guide instrument defines a planar surface (i.e. top-most surface as beset seen in Figure 4E), the shaft of the insertion instrument has a depth stop (138) secured thereto at a location (i.e. location as best seen in Figure 3) between the handle of the insertion instrument and the distal end of the insertion instrument, a distal surface (i.e. surface defined by 139) of the depth stop defines a planar surface (i.e. surface as best seen in Figure 3), and sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument such that the cement restrictor implant component is advanced distally into the intramedullary canal of the patient's femur to the desired depth comprises sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument until the planar surface of the depth stop engages the planar surface of the proximal guide instrument (see page 10, lines 17-20) (see Figures 2-7, and page 8, line 12 – page 15, line 22).
Naylor et al. disclose the proximal guide instrument being generally the same size and shape as a proximal part of a femoral prosthesis (see page 9, lines 19-26); however, fail to explicitly disclose wherein (as to the remainder of claim 8) the post and the neck of the proximal guide instrument are frictionally secured in the surgically-prepared proximal end of the patient's femur.
Dwyer et al. teach securing a femoral prosthesis (10) within a femur via a press fit (i.e. which inherently uses friction) (see Figure 4, and column 6, lines 28-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the method of Naylor et al. with wherein the post and the neck of the proximal guide instrument are frictionally secured in the surgically-prepared proximal end of the patient's femur in view of Dwyer et al. in order to provide a well-known, obvious means for ensuring a secure, reversible engagement between the proximal guide instrument and the patient’s femur to maintain the desired axial alignment of the insertion instrument to yield predictable results.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (International Publication WO 2021/130372) in view of Dwyer et al. (U.S. Patent 6,706,072), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above respectively, further in view of Bagga et al. (U.S. Patent 7,544,196).
Naylor et al. disclose wherein the insertion instrument is capable of being made from a suitable alloy (see page 9, lines 5-7); however, Naylor et al. in view of Dwyer et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument comprises bowing the shaft of the insertion instrument during advancement of the cement restrictor (implant) component.
Bagga et al. teach the use of an instrument (e.g. a catheter or a reamer) capable of being use do deliver a material to an anatomical structure, wherein the instrument is capable of being made from a shape memory alloy (i.e. nitinol) such that the catheter is flexible for maneuvering through the anatomical structure (see column 7, line 56 – column 8, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the method of Naylor et al. in view of Dwyer et al. with wherein sliding the shaft of the insertion instrument relative to the secured proximal guide instrument comprises bowing the shaft of the insertion instrument during advancement of the cement restrictor (implant) component in view of Bagga et al. in order to provide a well-known, obvious means for maneuvering the insertion instrument through the intramedullary canal to precisely deliver the cement restrict (implant) component to the desired location to yield predictable results.
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naylor et al. (International Publication WO 2021/130372) in view of Bagga et al. (U.S. Patent 7,544,196).
Naylor et al. disclose (as to part of claim 13) an orthopaedic surgical system (see Figures 2 and 4A-4E) capable of being used in a direct anterior approach orthopaedic surgical hip replacement procedure (see Figure 6, and page 12, lines 12-23) on a patient's femur (110) comprising a proximal guide instrument (160) having an elongated post (164) having a bore (172) formed therein, the bore extending from a superior end (i.e. end defining 176) of the elongated post to an inferior end (i.e. end defining 174) of the elongated post and having a common diameter (i.e. smaller diameter of defined between 174 and 176) throughout its entire length, and a neck (i.e. neck defined by portion of 160 defining 190, see Figure 4A) extending medially from the elongated post, an insertion instrument (131) having a handle (132) at its proximal end (i.e. end defining 132) a threaded distal end (134), and an elongated shaft (136) extending distally away from the handle to the threaded distal end, the elongated shaft having a diameter (i.e. diameter as best seen in Figure 3) that is capable of being slidingly received in the bore of the proximal guide instrument (see page 8, lines 17-20), and a cement restrictor component (150) capable of being threaded onto the threaded distal end of the insertion instrument (see page 8, lines 12-20), wherein (as to claim 16) the cement restrictor component is capable of comprising a cement restrictor trial component (see column 13, line 26 – column 14, line 9), wherein (as to claim 17) the cement restrictor component comprises a cement restrictor implant component (see page 14, line 11 – page 15, line 2), and wherein (as to claim 18) the superior end of the post of the proximal guide instrument defines a planar surface (i.e. top-most surface as best seen in Figure 4E), the elongated shaft of the insertion instrument has a depth stop (138) secured thereto at a location (i.e. location as best seen in Figure 3) between the handle of the insertion instrument and the threaded distal end of the insertion instrument, and a distal-most surface (i.e. surface defined by 139) of the depth stop defines a planar annular surface (i.e. surface as best seen in Figure 3) having a diameter that is larger than the common diameter of the bore of the proximal guide instrument (i.e. so that 138 does not enter 176)
Naylor et al. disclose the claimed invention except for wherein (as to the remainder of claim 13) the elongate shaft is flexible, wherein (as to claim 14) the flexible elongated shaft is constructed of a superelastic metal, and wherein (as to claim 15) the flexible elongated shaft is constructed of a nickel titanium alloy.
Bagga et al. teach the use of an instrument (e.g. a catheter or a reamer) capable of being use do deliver a material to an anatomical structure, wherein the instrument is capable of being made from a shape memory alloy (i.e. nitinol, which is a superelastic material) such that the catheter is flexible for maneuvering through the anatomical structure (see column 7, line 56 – column 8, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the method of Naylor et al. with wherein the elongate shaft is flexible, wherein the flexible elongated shaft is constructed of a superelastic metal, and wherein the flexible elongated shaft is constructed of a nickel titanium alloy in view of Bagga et al. in order to provide a well-known, obvious means for maneuvering the insertion instrument through the intramedullary canal to precisely deliver the cement
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Garner (U.S. Patent 5,078,746) disclose an orthopedic surgical system comprising a proximal guide instrument, an insertion instrument, and a cement restrictor component.
/LARRY E WAGGLE, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775