DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 and 5 should be corrected as indicated/noted below in the next response to the office action. For examining purposes, the claims below will be relied upon.
3. (Previously Presented) A computer monitor comprising an infinity glass screen and adjustable LED light bulbs, placed inside the computer monitor, wherein a computer connected to said monitor and controls said monitor comprises an app to turn the LED lights on and off. (Typo with the underline. This should not be underlined as it’s “Previously Presented” – see 9/5/25 amendment).
5. (Currently Amended) A tablet comprising an infinity glass screen and adjustable LED light bulbs, placed inside the tablet, wherein the tablet comprises an app to turn the LED lights on and off. (A “t” should be added at the end of “table”, however the wherein portion should not be underlined as it was previously presented – see 9/5/25 amendment).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens (US 2022/0373160 A1 - relying on provisional 63/190914) in view of O’Brien (US 2013/0043788 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stephens et al. teaches a smart phone(paragraph [0038] discloses smartphone comprising an infinity glass screen (enhanced infinity mirror 100; see paragraph [0038]) and adjustable LED light bulbs (LEDs; see paragraph [0008] where controllable LEDs are disclosed), placed inside the phone display (see paragraph [0015-0016] where display 220 is disclosed)
Stephens et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the smartphone comprises an app to turn the LED lights on and off, however O’Brien teaches a smartphone and smartphone display [0042] “invention provides a mobile app for controlling the lighting devices from a smartphone. A user may download and install the mobile app onto their phone. To operate the LED light of the invention, the user performs, for example, a touch-screen gesture within the mobile app.”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Stephens et al. to include an app to turn the LED lights on and off as taught by O’Brien as an alternative way of controlling the operation of the light emitting diodes.
Regarding claim 3, Stephens et al. teaches an electronic display [computer monitor] comprising an infinity glass screen ([0008] Each of the different interchangeable infinity mirror chambers may include an infinity mirror with an embedded strip, grid, or other set of controllable LEDs, lasers, or other illumination sources (e.g., display screens)) and adjustable LED light bulbs (LEDs; see paragraph [0008] where controllable LEDs are disclosed), placed inside the electronic display [computer monitor] (see paragraph [0015] where the components and/or circuitry for the enhanced infinity mirror may be housed in the interchangeable base, paragraph [0016] discloses the interchangeable base 120 may include a set of physical controls 210, a display 220 and paragraph [0020] discloses a user device (e.g., a smartphone, smartwatch, tablet, desktop computer, remote control, etc.) may execute an application that presents the same or similar menu system as the interchangeable base 120 on a separate display of the user device)
Stephens et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a computer monitor comprises an app to turn the LED lights on and off, however O’Brien teaches a computer which comprises a screen/monitor [0042] “invention provides a mobile app for controlling the lighting devices from a computer. A user may download and install the mobile app onto their phone. To operate the LED light of the invention, the user performs, for example, a touch-screen gesture within the mobile app.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Stephens et al. to include an app to turn the LED lights on and off as taught by O’Brien as an alternative way of controlling the operation of the light emitting diodes.
Regarding claim 5, Stephens et al. teaches a tablet (see paragraph [0020] where a user device (e.g., a smartphone, smartwatch, tablet, desktop computer, remote control, etc.) is disclosed)
comprising an infinity glass screen (see paragraph [0008] where each of the different interchangeable infinity mirror chambers may include an infinity mirror with an embedded strip, grid, or other set of controllable LEDs, lasers, or other illumination sources (e.g., display screens)) and adjustable LED light bulbs (LEDs; see paragraph [0002] where infinity mirror may include a set of light emitting diodes ("LEDs")), placed inside the tablet (see [0015] where the components and/or circuitry for the enhanced infinity mirror may be housed in the interchangeable base. And paragraph [0016] where the interchangeable base 120 may include a set of physical controls 210, a display 220. And further see paragraph [0020] where a user device (e.g., a smartphone, smartwatch, tablet, desktop computer, remote control, etc.) may execute an application that presents the same or similar menu system as the interchangeable base 120 on a separate display of the user device).
Stephens et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the tablet comprises an app to turn the LED lights on and off, however O’Brien teaches a smartphone and smartphone display [0042] “invention provides a mobile app for controlling the lighting devices from a smartphone. A user may download and install the mobile app onto their phone. To operate the LED light of the invention, the user performs, for example, a touch-screen gesture within the mobile app.”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Stephens et al. to include an app to turn the LED lights on and off as taught by O’Brien as an alternative way of controlling the operation of the light emitting diodes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant states that it would not have been obvious as a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art of record, Stephens et al. (US 2022/0373160 A1 (relying on provisional application 63/190,914) infinity screen and O’Brien (US 2013/0043788 A1), which teaches using an app to turn on LED lights on smart phone. Applicant does not specifically point out or explain but merely states that it’s not obvious to combine the prior art of record. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Prior art of record, Stephens et al. teaches controllable LEDs in paragraph [0008] of the specification. Since the LEDs are controllable, an alternative way of controlling the LEDs would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. And controlling the LEDs with an app, as taught by O’Brien, is merely an obvious design choice and one way that the controllable LEDs can be controlled. Therefore, claims 1, 3 and 5 remain rejected as unpatentable over Stephens (US 2022/0373160 A1 - relying on provisional 63/190914) in view of O’Brien (US 2013/0043788 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsai (US 20190208665 A1) teaches an app for a smart phone to control operation LEDs.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875