RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S AMENDMENT
1. Applicants amendment filed on 01/12/26 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 21-30 are pending.
Claims 21-30 read on a method of increasing angiogenesis in a patient comprising administering ex-vivo expanded population of gamma delta T cells are under consideration in the instant application.
The following new grounds of rejection is necessitated by the amendments filed on 01/12/26
4. Claims 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 20240148828 and US Patent Application 20230408523 in view of US Patent Application 20220135678, Benzaid et al ( Cancer Research, 2019,v.79,no13, Abstract 934) , US Patent Application 20230063829
US Patent Application ‘828 teaches a method of treating a patient comprising administering to the patient ex-vivo expanded population of gamma delta T cells. US Patent Application ‘828 teaches that the culture medium for expanding gamma delta T cells comprises IL2 or IL-15 ( see entire document, paragraphs 0004, 0026,0027, 0048, 0049, 0068, 0138, 0214, 0390, )
US Patent Application ‘523 teaches a method of treating a patient comprising administering to the patient ex-vivo expanded population of gamma delta T cells US Patent Application ‘523 teaches that the culture medium for expanding gamma delta T cells comprises IL2 or IL-15 ( see entire document, paragraphs 0008-0010, 0031, 138, 0159 0211)
US Patent Application ‘828 and US Patent Application ‘523 do not explicitly teach identifying patient suffering from non-cancerous degenerative disorder, generating CAR-T cells from said gamma delta T and co-culturing gamma delta T in the presence of MSCs or condition medium from MSCs.
US Patent Application’ 678 teaches the use of CAR-T cell immunotherapy for treatment of non-cancerous degenerative disorder in a patient ( see entire document, paragraphs 0089
Benzaid et al., teach a method of generating CAT T cells from gamma delta T cells comprising transducing gamma delta T cells with nucleic acid encoding CAR that can be used for immunotherapy ( see entire document, Abstract inparticular))
US Patent Application’ 829 teaches co-culturing gamma delta T cells with MSCs enhances gamma delta T cells survival and immunotherapy potential ( see entire document paragraph 0038 in particular)
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify a patient suffering from generative disorder, generate gamma delta CAR-T from gamma delta T cells taught by US Patent Application ‘828 and US Patent Application ‘523 and co-culture them in the presence of MSCs with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that generated gamma delta T cells can be used for immunotherapy in a patient suffering from degenerative disorder from and that survival and immunotherapy potential of said cells can be increase by co-culturing in the presence of MSCs.
Claims 23-30 are included because it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to : (i) identify an optimal source of obtaining MSCs; (ii) means of obtaining gamma delta T cells Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 part II A.
It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious).
It is noted that though US Patent Application ‘828 and US Patent Application ‘523 do not explicitly teaches a method of increasing angiogenesis in a patient said functional properties would be an inherent/obvious properties of the claimed method of administering to the patient ex-vivo expanded population of gamma delta CAR-T cells because the claimed and recited gamma delta T cells are essentially the same.
If the prior art structure (ex vivo expanded population of gamma delta CAR-T cells) is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. For example in Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO, 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed. Cir. 1999); the following was noted. “Artisans of ordinary skill may not recognize the inherent characteristics or functioning of the prior art. However, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. “ The Court further held that “this same reasoning holds true when it is not a property but an ingredient which is inherently contained in the prior art”. See MPEP 2112.02. Also, see Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Laboratories, Inc. 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CA FC 2001); Ex parte Novitski 26 USPQ 1389 (BPAI 1993); Mehl/Biophile International Corp. V. Milgraum, 52 USPQ2d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO, 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
When a claim recites using an old composition or structure (e.g. ex vivo expanded population of gamma delta T cells) and the use is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure (treting a degerative conditions) then the claim is anticipated. See MPEP 2112.02. Also, see Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Laboratories, Inc. 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CA FC 2001); Ex parte Novitski 26 USPQ 1389 (BPAI 1993); Mehl/Biophile International Corp. V. Milgraum, 52 USPQ2d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO, 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
From the combined teaching of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
5. Claims 21-30 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application Nos. US 20240216472; US 20240100160 in view of US Patent Application 20220135678, Benzaid et al ( Cancer Research, 2019,v.79,no13, Abstract 934) , US Patent Application 20230063829.
Claims of copending Application Nos. US 20240216472; US 20240100160 ; each recited a method of treating a patient comprising administering to the patient ex vivo expanding population of gamma delta T cells.
US Patent Application’ 678 teaches the use of CAR-T cell immunotherapy for treatment of non-cancerous degenerative disorder in a patient ( see entire document, paragraphs 0089
Benzaid et al., teach a method of generating CAT T cells from gamma delta T cells comprising transducing gamma delta T cells with nucleic acid encoding CAR that can be used for immunotherapy ( see entire document, Abstract inparticular))
US Patent Application’ 829 teaches co-culturing gamma delta T cells with MSCs enhances gamma delta T cells survival and immunotherapy potential ( see entire document paragraph 0038 in particular)
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify a patient suffering from generative disorder generate gamma delta CAR-T from gamma delta T cells recited in claims of co-pending applications Nos. US 20240216472; US 20240100160 and co-culture them in the presence of MSCs with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that generated gamma delta T cells can be used for immunotherapy in a patient suffering from degenerative disorder from and that survival and immunotherapy potential of said cells can be increase by co-culturing in the presence of MSCs.
It is noted that though claims of copending Application Nos. Nos. US 20240216472; US 20240100160 do not explicitly recited a method of treating a degenerative condition, said functional properties would be an inherent/obvious properties of the claimed method of administering to the patient ex-vivo expanded population of gamma delta CAR-T cells because the claimed and recited gamma delta CAR-T cells are essentially the same.
When a claim recites using an old composition or structure (e.g. ex vivo expanded population of gamma delta T cells) and the use is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure (treting a degerative conditions) then the claim is anticipated. See MPEP 2112.02. Also, see Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Laboratories, Inc. 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CA FC 2001); Ex parte Novitski 26 USPQ 1389 (BPAI 1993); Mehl/Biophile International Corp. V. Milgraum, 52 USPQ2d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO, 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
6. No claim is allowed.
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609(B)(2)(i). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Gregory Emch can be reached on 571/ 272-8149.
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644