DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant response, filed on October 22nd, 2025, elects Inventions I, Species AI, Species BI, and Species CI with traverse. Therefore, claims 5-6, 20 and 21 are not examined in this present office action due to being drawn to a non-elected invention/species.
Applicant elects with traverse that Species AII is encompassed by Species AI, examiner acknowledges this argument and agrees, therefore, the election of Species AI or AII is moot, and both claims 2 and 3 will be examined in the present office action.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-11, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by over Feridun et al, US 20190326591 A1 (as cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Feridun discloses a method for coating lithium-containing cathode surfaces, by simultaneously sublimating solid CO2 and condensing atmospheric water vapor onto the surfaces, allowing the CO2 to react with the lithium for a time sufficient to create a lithium carbonate film on the surface [Feridun, 0031], as shown in figure 1 of Feridun, wherein a cathode particle (Feridun, 12; figure 1), comprised of a nickel-based cathode material depicted at LiNixMnyCozO2, indicating a 1:2 molar ratio of lithium and oxygen, with CO2 gas and water condensation at the particles surface [Feridun, 0044]. The water condensation is caused by the cold substrate which condenses the water vapor in the atmosphere [Feridun, 0043]. The method for producing the water resistant cathodes include mixing and heating the mixture to a temperature for a time sufficient to cause the lithium carbonate coating [Feridun, 0030], the reaction atmosphere may be ambient or controlled (closed, semi-sealed, or sealed) [Feridun, 0045], and humidity levels between 1% to 100% are suitable [Feridun, 0062], indicating predetermined time, temperature, pressure and humidity for the reaction of the cathode materials.
Regarding Claim 2, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the cathode materials are comprised of lithium, manganese, nickel, cobalt and oxygen [Feridun, 0091] and precursor materials are combined to synthesize LiaNixMnyCozO2, where x, y, and z all satisfy 0 < x, y, z, < 1.0 [Feridun, 0092] a specific example of a cathode material given is LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.2O2 [Feridun, 0091], wherein x+y+z = 1, corresponding to a+b+c = 1 of the claim.
Regarding Claim 3, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein examples of exemplary cathode powders are NMC type cathode materials, consisting of nickel, cobalt, manganese, lithium and oxygen, including NMC 111, NMC 523, NMC 622, NMC 811 and combinations thereof [Feridun, 0091].
Regarding Claim 7, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in an embodiment, utilizing a sealed system, the vapor pressure of the dry ice is 5.73MPa and the ambient temperature is above the sublimation temperature of dry ice, the vapor pressure of the CO2 is naturally high which creates a faster reaction between the condensed H2O and CO2, in which the gaseous CO2 reactions with ionic lithium to generate the solid phase lithium carbonate on the powder surfaces [Feridun, 0065].
Regarding Claim 8, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein ambient temperatures can be utilized, anything above 0 °C is suitable [Feridun, 0063], when the dry ice condenses and freezes the water vapor on the cathode particle surfaces, the ice melt, such as when establishing equilibrium with ambient temperature, and dissolves the lithium on the cathode surface to form the lithium carbonate [Feridun, 0064].
Regarding Claim 10, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a feature of the method disclosed by Feridun is exposing a cathode surface containing impurities to carbon dioxide for a time and temperature sufficient to convert the impurities into a lithium carbonate coating [Feridun, 0025], an advantage to this method is the entire exterior surfaces of the cathode particles are contacted with carbon dioxide [Feridun, 0026]. Further, an embodiment of Feridun that utilizes a sealed system, wherein the vapor pressure of the dry ice is 5.73MPa and the ambient temperature is above the sublimation temperature of dry ice, the vapor pressure of the CO2 is naturally high which creates a faster reaction between the condensed H2O and CO2, in which the gaseous CO2 reactions with ionic lithium to generate the solid phase lithium carbonate on the powder surfaces [Feridun, 0065].
Regarding Claim 11, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein under atmospheric conditions, CO2 draws atmospheric humidity and water vapor condensation occurs, with a humidity level between 1% to 100%, this level of water condensation enriches the surface of lithium species on the cathode surface, wherein surface conversion to Li2CO3 occurs [Feridun, 0062].
Regarding Claim 14, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a benefit of the method is solid cathode particles are contacted with solid carbon dioxide to provide a means for leveraging in situ original surface lithium to produce the carbonate coating [Feridun, 0046]. The method allows for the lithium from the cathode material to react with both water and carbon dioxide [Feridun, 0060]. No additional lithium is added to the cathode material, only the lithium already present on the material is utilized [Feridun, 0091], therefore, indicating the cathode material is untreated prior to exposure to the carbon dioxide and water vapor.
Regarding Claim 16, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Table 1 shows the results of the cathode material, including CO2 treated, from vacuum drying overnight [Feridun, 0098]. Further, Feridun discloses the state of the art protocols include water content evaporation without filter, including vacuum drying [Feridun, 0019], indicating the common practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feridun et al, US 20190326591 A1 (as cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Yoshida, US 20140087270 A1 (as cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 4, Feridun teaches on the method of claim 1, but is silent to teach on the nickel-based cathode material comprises one or more of a coated or uncoated metal oxide comprising LiNiO2, LiNi1-yCoyO2, LiNi1-yMnyO2 (0≤Y<1), Li(NiaCobMno)O4 (0<a<2, 0<b<2, 0<c<2, a+b+c=2), LiMn2-zNizO4, Li(NiaCobAlc)O2(0<a<1,0<b<1, 0<c<1, a+b+c=1) or a combination thereof.
Yoshida teaches a coated active material and a lithium solid state battery [Yoshida, 0021], wherein the cathode active material is not particularly limited, but includes oxide cathode active material represented by the general formula LixMyOz, wherein M is a transition metal element and at least one preferably selected from Co, Mn, Ni, V, and Fe, x=0.02 to 2.2, y=1 to 2, and z=1.4 to 4, and can also include cathode active materials such as LiCoO2, LiMnO2, LiNiO2, LiVO2, LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2, LiMn2O4, and Li (Ni0.5Mn1.5)O4 [Yoshida, 0029].
Yoshida and Feridun are considered analogous arts in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Feridun to include the oxide cathode active material as taught by Yoshida, because such modification would result in a cathode active material with a high-capacity [Yoshida, 0029].
Regarding Claim 17, Feridun teaches the method of claim 1, but is silent to teach on the method further comprising washing of the lithium carbonate coated cathode.
Yoshida teaches a coated active material and a lithium solid state battery [Yoshida, 0021], wherein the coating layer contains and Li ion conductive oxide and further contains lithium carbonate [Yoshida, 0032]. Example 6 of Yoshida the coated active material is poured into 100 mL of pure water, filtered and dried [Yoshida, 0081], corresponding to the washing of the lithium carbonate coated cathode as required by the claim.
Yoshida and Feridun are considered analogous arts in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Feridun to include the washing step taught in Yoshida because such modification would result in decreased reaction resistance [Yoshida, 0094].
Regarding Claim 18, Feridun teaches the method of claim 1, but is silent to teach on the lithium carbonate coated cathode being combined with one or more suitable binders, solid electrolytes and conductive additive to form a cathode for an electrochemical cell.
Yoshida teaches a cathode active material layer containing at least the cathode active material a solid electrolyte material, a conductive material and a binder [Yoshida, 0048].
Yoshida and Feridun are considered analogous arts in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the coated lithium carbonate cathode material as taught by Feridun to be included in the cathode for an electrochemical cell as taught by Yoshida because it is well-known in the art to use a cathode active material in a cathode for an electrochemical cell. Further, a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 19, Feridun teaches the method of claim 1, but is silent to teach on integrating the lithium carbonate coated cathode with an anode and a separator to for a functioning electrochemical cell.
Yoshida, teaches a power generating element (Yoshida, 20; figure 2) of a lithium solid state battery comprising a cathode active material layer (Yoshida, 11; figure 2), an anode active material layer (Yoshida, 12; figure 2), and a solid electrolyte layer (Yoshida, 13; figure 2) between the cathode and anode [Yoshida, 0045].
Yoshida and Feridun are considered analogous arts in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the coated lithium carbonate cathode material as taught by Feridun to be included in the cathode and further integrated into the lithium solid state battery as taught by Yoshida because it is well-known to use a cathode in a functioning electrochemical cell. Further, a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143, I, B).
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Feridun et al, US 20190326591 A1 (as cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 9, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a preferable mixing temperature is 19 °C and above [Feridun, 0069].
Moreover, according to MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lieinside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim,541F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990).
Regarding Claim 15, Feridun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the coating obtained by the conversion method of Feridun has a thickness varying between 1 to 10 nm [Feridun, 0074].
Moreover, according to MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lieinside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feridun et al, US 20190326591 A1 (as cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Tei et al, JP 2009272051 A (as cited in IDS and English translation provided for citation).
Regarding Claim 12, Feridun teaches the method of claim 1, but is silent to teach on the nickel-based cathode material being coated with a lithium-containing layer prior to exposure to carbon dioxide and water vapor.
Tei teaches an all-solid state battery with a positive electrode [Tei, 0004], wherein an insulator, lithium carbonate, is interposed between the positive and negative electrodes [Tei, 0005]. The positive electrode (Tei, 1; figure 4) is formed on a positive electrode current collector (Tei, 11; figure 4) using a LiCoO2 film, corresponding to the lithium-containing layer of the claim, which is an oxide containing lithium, then the positive electrode layer is exposed to air or carbon dioxide gas, which reacts with the LiCoO2 to form the Li2CO3 insulating film on the surface of the positive electrode [Tei, 0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Feridun to include the Li oxide film at taught by Tei because such modification would provide reduced interface resistance [Tei, 0012].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Feridun teaches the method of claim 12, wherein a feature of the invention of Feridun is converting LiOH on cathode particle surfaces to a lithium carbonate film [Feridun, 0029], further, almost all the NMC cathode particles have surface lithium impurities, including Li2O, LiOH, LiHCO3, Li2CO3, and only suitable lithium species are converted to the Li2CO3 [Feridun, 0093]. There is also the possibility of adding fluorine additives that will for a thin LiF component to the surface structure [Feridun, 0105].
Conclusion
/LILIAN ALICE ODOM/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722