DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action has been issued in response to the amendment filed on May 20, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-20 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered. Rejections have been maintained where arguments were not persuasive. Also, new rejections based on the amended claims have been set forth. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-10 and 12-20 are rejected, and this action is made FINAL, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, in relation to claims 1 and 10, that the prior art of record fails to disclose or teach the main features of “the dynamic balancer surrounds two flywheel energy storage modules circumferentially” and “a pivoting motion of the dynamic balancer with respect to the carrier drives the two flywheel energy storage modules to pivot with respect to the dynamic balancer, such that one of the two flywheel energy storage modules changes a travelling direction of the at least one deflection wheel through the at least one deflection assembly”.
Newly relied upon prior art Beard (US 9,120,511) discloses the limitation: a dynamic balancer (31) (Fig.6) surrounds the two flywheel energy storage modules (36) circumferentially (Fig.2-3); wherein a pivoting motion of a dynamic balancer (31) with respect to the carrier drives the two flywheel energy storage modules (36) to pivot with respect to the dynamic balancer (31) (Figs.4-6), such that one of the two flywheel energy storage modules (36) changes a travelling direction of the at least one deflection wheel through the at least one deflection assembly (Col.7, Lines 19-33 and 47-57).
The rejections of claims 1 and 10 are based on the combination of Ellis in view of Palti and Beard as seen in the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis (US 2021/0170897) in view of Palti (US 2010/0282528) and Beard (US 9,120,511).
Claims 1 and 10: Ellis teaches a charging system (Fig.2), configured to charge an electric vehicle (Par.24; Via port 115) (Fig.1), comprising:
a plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) (Par.24) (Fig.1), wherein each of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) comprises:
a carrier (110) (Par.24); and
at least one energy storage set (105) comprising two flywheel energy storage modules (Par.23); and
an operation center (charging hub/200) comprising a charging station and a controller which is in communication connection with the plurality of movable energy storage devices (105) (Par.27 and 31);
wherein the controller is configured for instructing at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (105) to move to the charging station for the charging station to charge the at least one energy storage set (Par.23 and 49), or
the controller is configured for instructing at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (105) to move to the electric vehicle for the at least one energy storage set to charge the electric vehicle (Par.22 and 50-51);
wherein each of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) further comprises: at least one deflection wheel, located at a side of the carrier (110), wherein the carrier (110) is movable with respect to the operation center through the at least one deflection wheel (Fig.2) (Par.22 and 24; Wheels on the trailer that allow movement of the trailer.).
Ellis does not explicitly teach a dynamic balancer disposed on the carrier; the two flywheel energy storage modules disposed on the dynamic balancer and dynamically balanced with respect to the carrier through the dynamic balancer; wherein each of the two flywheel energy storage modules comprises a casing, a shaft, and a flywheel, the casing is disposed on the dynamic balancer, the shaft is disposed in the casing, the flywheel is disposed on the shaft and rotatable in the casing by taking the shaft as a rotation axis, the flywheels of the two flywheel energy storage modules have opposite rotation directions, substantially a same absolute value of angular velocity, and substantially a same absolute value of angular acceleration.
Palti teaches a dynamic balancer (60) disposed on a carrier (101) (Par.58); two flywheel energy storage modules (72 and 74) disposed on the dynamic balancer (60) and dynamically balanced with respect to the carrier (101) through the dynamic balancer (60) (Par.58-59); each of the two flywheel energy storage modules (72 and 74) comprises a casing (rotating frame), a shaft (2), and a flywheel, the casing (rotating frame) is disposed on the dynamic balancer (60), the shaft (2) is disposed in the casing (rotating frame), the flywheel is disposed on the shaft (2) and rotatable in the casing (rotating frame) by taking the shaft as a rotation axis (Fig.7) (Par.58-59), the flywheels of the two flywheel energy storage modules (72 and 74) have opposite rotation directions (76 and 78) (Fig.7), substantially a same absolute value of angular velocity, and substantially a same absolute value of angular acceleration (Par.58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Palti in the system of Ellis to have had added to the carrier stabilization with respect to undesired movements or changes in orientation (Par.59); and have had prevented a gyro effect thereby reducing effects on the maneuverability of the carrier (Par.58).
The combination of Ellis in view of Palti does not explicitly teach wherein the two flywheel energy storage modules are not coaxial with each other; wherein the dynamic balancer surrounds the two flywheel energy storage modules circumferentially; at least one deflection assembly, connected to and located between the at least one deflection wheel and the casing of the at least one of the two flywheel energy storage modules; wherein a pivoting motion of the dynamic balancer with respect to the carrier drives the two flywheel energy storage modules to pivot with respect to the dynamic balancer, such that one of the two flywheel energy storage modules changes a travelling direction of the at least one deflection wheel through the at least one deflection assembly.
Beard teaches two flywheel energy storage modules (402A-402B) (Col.3, Lines 8-10) not coaxial to each other (Fig.4);
wherein a dynamic balancer (31) (Fig.6) surrounds the two flywheel energy storage modules (36) circumferentially (Fig.2-3);
a movable energy storage device comprising: at least one deflection wheel, located at a side of a carrier (200) (Fig.2, wheels of the vehicle), wherein the carrier (200) is movable with respect to a location through the at least one deflection wheel (Col.2, Lines 34-36);
at least one deflection assembly, connected to and located between the at least one deflection wheel (Wheels of the vehicle) and the casing of least one of two flywheel energy storage modules (36) (Fig.7) (Col.2, Lines 32-41; The system (102) including the two flywheels (36) is mechanically coupled to the vehicle and rotates the vehicle.);
wherein a pivoting motion of a dynamic balancer (31) with respect to the carrier drives the two flywheel energy storage modules (36) to pivot with respect to the dynamic balancer (31) (Figs.4-6), such that one of the two flywheel energy storage modules (36) changes a travelling direction of the at least one deflection wheel through the at least one deflection assembly (Col.7, Lines 19-33 and 47-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Beard in the combination of Ellis in view of Palti to have had improved vehicle handling and have had improved forward acceleration out of a turn (Col.7, Lines 49-57).
Claims 3 and 12: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as disclosed above. Ellis does not explicitly teach wherein a dynamic balancer is pivotably disposed on the carrier, the casings of the two flywheel energy storage modules are pivotably disposed on the dynamic balancer, and a pivoting axis of the dynamic balancer with respect to the carrier is in non-parallel with each of pivoting axes of the casings of the two flywheel energy storage modules with respect to the dynamic balancer.
Palti teaches wherein the dynamic balancer (60) is pivotably disposed on the carrier (101), the casings of the two flywheel energy storage modules (72 and 74) are pivotably disposed on the dynamic balancer (60), and a pivoting axis of the dynamic balancer (60) with respect to the carrier (101) is in non-parallel with each of pivoting axes of the casings of the two flywheel energy storage modules (72 and 74) with respect to the dynamic balancer (60) (Par.58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Palti in the system of Ellis to have had prevented a gyro effect thereby reducing effects on the maneuverability of the carrier (Par.58).
Claim 7: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Ellis teaches wherein the controller is configured to receive a charging request of the electric vehicle, and the charging request comprises a charging requirement (location) of the electric vehicle (Par.97); the controller sends a dispatch instruct comprising the charging requirement to the at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) based on the charging request so that the at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) moves to the electric vehicle to charge the electric vehicle (Par.97).
Claim 16: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claim 10 as disclosed above. Ellis teaches a charging method of an electric vehicle, comprising:
sending a charging request to a controller of an operation center (Fig.4) by an electric vehicle, wherein the charging request comprises a charging requirement (location) of the electric vehicle (Par.97); and sending a dispatch instruct to at least one movable energy storage device (100/MCU) by the controller according to the charging request so that the at least one movable energy storage device (100/MCU) moves to the electric vehicle and charges the electric vehicle (Par.94), wherein the dispatch instruct comprises the charging requirement (location)(Par.97).
Claim 20: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Ellis teaches wherein the dispatch instruct further comprises a time point for charging, the at least one movable energy storage device (100/MCU) moves to the electric vehicle and begins to charge the electric vehicle at the time point for charging, and the controller puts the at least one movable energy storage device (100/MCU) on a charging schedule (Par.30 and 109; Charging of an electric vehicle can be reserved from a movable energy storage device at a given location for a specific block of time.).
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis (US 2021/0170897) in view of Palti (US 2010/0282528) and Beard (US 9,120,511) as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, and further in view of Youn (US 2019/0389518) and Meng et al. (US 2021/0331666).
Claims 5-6 and 14-15: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claims 3 and 12 as disclosed above. Ellis teaches wherein each of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) further comprises a processing module (master control) (Par.25), each of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) is in communication connection with the controller through the processing module, the processing module transmits a current location of the carrier (110) to the controller every specific time period (Par.22 and 48-50).
The combination of Ellis in view of Palti does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of movable energy storage devices further comprises a handle coupled to the dynamic balancer so as to drive the pivoting motion of the dynamic balancer with respect to the carrier; and the handle is moved to drive the pivoting motion of the dynamic balancer with respect to the carrier after the processing module receives the deflection instruction.
Youn teaches wherein the movable energy storage device (Fig.1) comprises a handle (300) coupled to the dynamic balancer (200) so as to drive the pivoting motion of the dynamic balancer (200) with respect to the carrier (body) (Par.39); wherein the movable energy storage device further comprises a processing module (controller) and the handle (300) is moved to drive the pivoting motion of the dynamic balancer (200) with respect to the carrier (body) after the processing module receives a deflection instruction (Par.55; Deflection instruction from a driver rotating the handle.) (Par.59-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Youn in the combination of Ellis in view of Palti to have had a steering device to accurately control a desired moving direction of the movable energy storage device (Par.39).
The combination of Ellis in view of Palti, Beard and Youn does not explicitly teach the processing module transmits a current speed to the controller, the controller selectively transmits a deflection instruction to the processing module based on the current location and the current speed.
Meng teaches a plurality of movable energy storage devices (Fig.5) comprising a processing module (control device) transmitting a current speed to a controller (Par.16-17 and 25), the controller selectively transmits a deflection instruction to the processing module (control device) based on the current location and the current speed (Par.23 and 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meng in the combination to have had navigated the movable energy storage device along an optimal path (Par.23) by controlling movement with speed and direction signals (Par.25) thereby safely autonomously driving the devices.
Claims 8-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis (US 2021/0170897) in view of Palti (US 2010/0282528) and Beard (US 9,120,511) as applied to claims 1, 7 and 16 above, and further in view of Braunstein (US 2023/0168684).
Claim 8: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claim 7 as disclosed above. Ellis does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices compares a current capacity of the at least one energy storage set with the charging requirement of the dispatch instruct, and the at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices moves to the electric vehicle or send a charging request to the controller based on a comparison result.
Braunstein teaches at least one of a plurality of movable energy storage devices (104) (Fig.1) compares a current capacity of at least one energy storage set (112) with a charging requirement of a dispatch instruct, and the at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (104) moves to an electric vehicle (102) (Par.88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Braunstein in the system of Ellis to have had considered energy consumption/levels of the movable energy storage device prior to dispatching it for discharge (Par.88) thereby preventing a movable energy storage device from becoming fully discharged (Par.115).
Claim 9: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Ellis teaches wherein each of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) further comprises an inverter (Par.25); wherein the at least one energy storage set (105) of the at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100) obtains electricity from the charging station (Par.23 and 28); the at least one energy storage set (105) of the at least one of the plurality of movable energy storage devices (100/MCU) provides electricity for the electric vehicle through the inverter (Par.24-25).
Ellis does not explicitly teach further comprising an energy storage type charging pile.
Braunstein teaches an energy storage type charging pile (210) (Par.78) (Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Braunstein in the system of Ellis to have had a location where the movable energy storage devices and the electric vehicles can recharge their respective batteries (Par.78).
Claim 17: Ellis in view of Palti and Beard teach the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Ellis does not explicitly teach wherein after sending the dispatch instruct to the at least one movable energy storage device by the controller, further comprising:
comparing the charging requirement of the dispatch instruct with a current capacity of at least one energy storage set of the at least one movable energy storage device by the at least one movable energy storage device; and moving the at least one movable energy storage device to the electric vehicle or sending another charging request to the controller by the at least one movable energy storage device based on a comparison result.
Braunstein teaches after sending a dispatch instruct to at least one movable energy storage device (104) by a controller (118), further comprising: comparing a charging requirement with a current capacity of at least one energy storage set (112) of the at least one movable energy storage device (104) by the at least one movable energy storage device (104) (Par.43, 115 and 119); and moving the at least one movable energy storage device (104) to the electric vehicle (102) (Par.116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Braunstein in the system of Ellis to have had considered energy consumption/levels of the movable energy storage device prior to dispatching it for discharge (Par.88) thereby preventing a movable energy storage device from becoming fully discharged (Par.115).
Claim 18: Ellis in view of Palti, Beard and Braunstein teach the limitations of claim 17 as disclosed above. Ellis teaches wherein after moving the at least one movable energy storage device (100/MCU) to the electric vehicle, further comprising: moving the at least one movable energy storage device (100/MCU) to a charging station of the operation center to obtain electricity after the electric vehicle is charged (Par.50-51 and 63).
Claim 19: Ellis in view of Palti, Beard and Braunstein teach the limitations of claim 17 as disclosed above. Ellis does not explicitly teach wherein after sending the another charging request to the controller by the at least one movable energy storage device based on the comparison result, further comprising: instructing the at least one movable energy storage device to move to a charging station of the operation center so as to obtain electricity by the controller; and sending the dispatch instruct to another movable energy storage device by the controller.
Braunstein teaches after sending another charging request to the controller (118) by the at least one movable energy storage device (104) based on the comparison result, further comprising: instructing the at least one movable energy storage device (104) to move to a charging station (210) so as to obtain electricity by the controller (118) (Par.81 and 89); and sending the dispatch instruct to another movable energy storage device (104) by the controller (118) (Par.117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Braunstein in the system of Ellis to have had charged a depleted movable energy storage device (Par.79); and have had identified a different movable energy storage device to fulfill a charging request when the first movable energy storage device selected cannot complete the request without becoming fully discharged (Par.116-117).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Kuralt (US 2005/0181703) teaches rotation of a flywheel storage module (30) changes the travelling direction of at least one deflection wheel (24) (Par.39) (Fig.6); and Johnson et al. (US 5,499,940) teaches flywheels (74 and 90) maintain momentum to turn the wheels of a vehicle (11) (Col.5, Lines 34-43), do not explicitly teach alone or in combination:
“the at least one deflection assembly comprises a first deflection member and a second deflection member, the first deflection member is connected to the casing of one of the two flywheel energy storage modules and is rotatably connected to the dynamic balancer, the second deflection member is rotatably disposed on the carrier, the at least one deflection wheel is rotatably disposed on the second Page 3 of 13 deflection member, and a rotation motion of the first deflection member with respect to the dynamic balancer selectively abuts on the second deflection member so as to change the travelling direction of the at least one deflection wheel through a rotation motion of the second deflection member”, as disclosed in claims 4 and 13 in combination with all additional elements of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Gutsche (US 2008/0223636) discloses flywheels rotating at opposite directions while having the same absolute value of angular velocity and the same absolute value of angular acceleration (Par.24).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859