This communication is in response to application No. 18/083,274 Corner Module Apparatus for Vehicle; filed on 12/16/2022, with a Request for Continued Examination filed on 1/23/2026. Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15, . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quatrano (US 2020/0317269 A1) in view of Ameye (GB 2582640 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Quatrano discloses;
A corner module apparatus for a vehicle, comprising: (Quatrano describes a vehicle for conventional driving on a motorway.)
a suspension, including a first arm (suspension link 205, Fig. 3) and a second arm (Fig.3 shows a lower mount for a second, lower swingarm) that are spaced a distance apart from each other;
a camber drive module (the camber drive module includes motor 255, the motor fixture and the motor driven shaft 210; Fig. 4), fixed at a non-zero setting angle relative to a steering axis of steering system such that it rotates with the steering system during steering, and configured to generate a drive power ; (Quatrano does not specify the mounting angle of the camber drive module. However, as the camber drive module translates the drive of the electric motor into rotational motion of the camber adjusting linkage (220), the orientation of the motor may be selected as any desired angle, about the rotation axis (265) of the linkage (220). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a non-zero setting angle for the camber drive module, since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results, rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.)
a link module (assembly 200; Fig. 4) configured to be supplied with the drive power from the camber drive module, to reciprocate the first arm or the second arm, and to adjust a camber angle of a wheel (wheel 225). (Paragraph 43 describes camber adjustment through the movement of suspension link 205.)
Quatrano does not disclose a drive power generator or steering system as part of a vehicle corner module, however Ameye teaches;
a drive power generator configured to provide drive power to a wheel; (in-wheel electric motor 16; Fig. 1, Ameye)
a steering system (arm 12 rotatably mounted to interface 11; Fig. 1, Ameye) configured to support the suspension, to be rotated relative to a vehicle body, and to adjust a steering angle of the wheel; (Ameye describes a steering system mounted to a vehicle frame, which supports a wheel end structure consisting of the vehicle suspension system. Page 4, line 31 to Page 5, line 2)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Quatrano to include a steering system configured to support the suspension along with a drive power generator, to be rotated relative to a vehicle body, and to adjust a steering angle of the wheel as taught by Ameye, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle wheel modules. As disclosed by Ameye, it is well known for a steering system to be configured to support the suspension along with a drive power generator, to be rotated relative to a vehicle body, and to adjust a steering angle of the wheel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Quatrano to include a steering system configured to support the suspension along with a drive power generator, to be rotated relative to a vehicle body, and to adjust a steering angle of the wheel as taught by Ameye, as such a modification would provide the ability to provide individual wheel steering control to each vehicle
wheel.
Quatrano fixes the camber drive module (motor 265) to the vehicle frame structure in order to adjust the mounting point of the first arm and thereby adjust the camber of the wheel. Ameye affixes the mounting point for the first arm on the steering system. The modification of Quatrano based on Ameye would relocate the camber drive module, along with the first arm mounting point, to the steering system structure (arm 12; Ameye) such that the camber drive module would rotate with the steering system during steering. Further, with this modification;
the link module (assembly 200; Quatrano, Fig. 4) and the camber drive module (the camber drive module includes motor 265, the motor fixture and the motor driven shaft 210; Quatrano, Fig. 4) are entirely supported on and rotate with the steering system (arm 12 rotatably mounted to interface 11; Ameye, Fig. 1), and
wherein camber adjustment is performed independently of vertical displacement of the wheel or steering angle. (camber adjustment occurs at the mounting point of the upper arm (205 of Quatrano) to the steering arm structure (12 of Ameye).)
wherein camber drive module (the camber drive module includes motor 255, the motor fixture and the motor driven shaft 210; Quatrano, Fig. 4), and the link module (assembly 200; Quatrano, Fig. 4) are mounted to and housed within a second steering main body (mounting arm 12; Ameye, Fig. 1) of the steering system that rotates about the steering axis, wherein the camber drive module comprises a motor holder (motor housing; Quatrano, Fig. 4) disposed inside the second steering main body and fixed to an inner surface of the second steering main body, (The combination of the steering and suspension structure of Ameye, as modified by the addition of the camber adjustment mechanism of Quatrano would mount the camber drive module and the link module within the second steering main body. The second steering main body of Ameye, as illustrated in fig. 24, consists of two parallel, vertical structures. Such a combination would have placed the motor holder between the vertical structures of the second steering main body. Mounting the motor holder to an inner surface of this second steering main body structure would have been within the abilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.)
Regarding Claim 2, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the link module comprises:
a thread rod (worm screw 210; Fig. 1, 5) configured to be supplied with the drive power from the camber drive module and to be rotated about a central axis thereof; and
a camber wheel (arm 220) connected to the thread rod and configured to reciprocate along a direction of a rotation of the thread rod and to push or pull the first arm (link 205) or the second arm toward a width direction of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 3, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the camber wheel comprises:
a first conversion unit (worm wheel 215) provided on one side of the camber wheel body and configured to convert a rotational motion of the thread rod (worm screw 210) into a rotational motion of the camber wheel body; (The worm wheel 215 is affixed to shaft 265 which is pinned to lever arm 220. The rotation of the threaded rod is transferred to the worm wheel and the shaft causing the rotation of the lever arm.)
a second conversion unit (arm 220) provided on another side of the camber wheel body, connected to the first arm (suspension link 205) or the second arm, and configured to convert the rotational motion of the camber wheel body into a reciprocating motion of the first arm or the second arm. (The camber wheel, consisting of the worm wheel 215, shaft 265 and lever arm 220, pivots about axis B centered on shaft 265 to transfer the rotation energy of the threaded rod to the linear movement at the end of the lever 220.)
Quatrano does not disclose the camber wheel body rotatable about the steering system, however the modification of Quatrano by Ameye would locate the camber wheel within the steering system and make it rotatable about the steering system.
Regarding Claim 4, Quatrano discloses;
wherein a thread gear (threads 250; Fig. 4) that is rotated together with the thread rod is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the thread rod, and
wherein the first conversion unit (worm wheel 215) comprises:
a first conversion gear (teeth 260 on wheel 215; Fig. 4) that protrudes from the camber wheel body and is coupled to the thread gear by being engaged therewith.
Regarding Claim 5, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the thread gear (threads 250 on screw 210) is formed in the shape of a worm gear, and
the first conversion gear (teeth 260 on wheel 215) is formed in the shape of a worm wheel. (Paragraph 41 describes the screw 210 and wheel 215 as a worm screw and worm wheel.)
Regarding Claim 6, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the first conversion unit (worm wheel 215) further comprises:
a deviation preventer configured to prevent the thread gear from deviating from the first conversion gear. (Deviation prevention is performed by the common mounting structure of the gear and the worm screw as demonstrated by the dashed lines of Fig. 4. The screw gear has a fixed, perpendicular relationship to the cross-shaft which mounts the worm gear.)
Regarding Claim 9, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the second conversion unit (arm 220) comprises:
a pair of second conversion bodies (arms 220 and 275; Fig. 4, paragraph 48) extending from the camber wheel body, and spaced a distance apart from each other with the first arm (suspension link 205; Fig. 1) or the second arm in between; and
a second conversion member (pin 290; Fig. 4, paragraph 49) configured to rotatably, with respect to the second conversion body, support an end portion of the first arm or the second arm.
Regarding Claim 10, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the link module further comprises:
a pivot nut (ball bearing contained in housing; Fig. 4), configured to support the thread rod. (The threaded rod (worm screw 210) is supported by the mounting structure of the worm gear and screw as demonstrated by the dashed lines of Fig. 4. The far end of the worm screw is located in this housing by a ball bearing unit.)
Quatrano does not disclose that the pivot nut (worm screw support) is rotatable with respect to the steering system. However, the modification of Quatrano based on the teachings of Ameye would result in the pivot nut being located on the link structure and rotating with the steering function of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 11, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the pivot nut comprises:
a pivot insertion portion (ball bearing) into which an end portion of the thread rod is rotatably inserted; and
a pivot stationary portion (ball bearing outer race) extending from the pivot insertion portion and fixed to the steering system. (Quatrano, Fig. 4 discloses a double row ball bearing to support the far end of the motor driven worm screw. The inner race supports the worm screw and rotates within the outer race which is located in the housing structure. With the modifications resulting from Ameye, the housing rotates with the steering arm.)
Regarding Claim 12, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the pivot nut further comprises:
a pivot bearing provided between the thread rod and the pivot insertion portion and configured to rotatably, with respect to the pivot insertion portion, support the thread rod. (Quatrano discloses a ball bearing supporting the worm screw rather than a plain metal or bushing type of bearing. It would have been a simple substitution to replace the ball bearing or Quatrano with a bushing type of bearing as both bearings support and locate a rotating shaft. Further, such a modification would be expected to yield predictable results, namely that the worm screw would continue to function as intended, and transfer drive to the worm gear. Additionally, the subject specification does not provide any critically or specific reasons for the use of a bushing rather than a ball bearing.)
Regarding Claim 13, Quatrano discloses;
wherein a stopper (housing; Fig. 4) preventing the thread rod from deviating from the camber drive module and the pivot nut is disposed on the thread rod. (Quatrano prevents the threaded rod (worm screw) from deviating from the camber drive and the pivot nut by trapping the screw in the housing between the motor and the end of the housing as demonstrated by the dashed lines in Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 14, Quatrano discloses a housing containing a bearing (functioning as a stopper) which is larger in diameter than the thread rod. This housing and bearing assembly limits the lengthwise movement of the rod. While the threaded rod passes through and is supported by the bearing, it does not appear to contain a mechanism which couples the bearing to the threaded rod in the manner described in the Specification and Figures. However, a circlip or other types of expanding clips (C-clips / Snap rings or E-clips) which coincide with a groove in a shaft are well known in the art. These types of clips are a larger diameter than the shaft to which they are affixed and limit the ultimate movement of the threaded shaft. They are also removable from the end of the shaft.
Regarding Claim 15, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the camber drive module comprises:
a camber motor (motor 255; Fig. 4);
a motor holder (motor housing; Fig. 4) fixed at a setting angle to the steering system and configured to support the camber motor; and
a deceleration module, installed inside the motor holder, configured to transfer the rotational force of the camber motor to the thread rod. (Quatrano, paragraph 46 and Fig. 4, describe the electric motor as drivably connected to the worm screw. The deceleration module is this connection.)
Regarding Claim 20, Quatrano discloses;
a camber control unit comprising at least one processor (computer 105; Paragraph 33), configured to control operation of the camber drive module to vary the camber angle in the direction of canceling out a slope of the wheel when the vehicle drives in a circle. (Paragraphs 22-23 describe the computer operation to adjust the camber angle. Paragraph 30-31 describe effects of adjusting the camber angle. Paragraph 42 describes the adjustment of wheel camber for the purpose of reducing wheel slope when the vehicle turns.)
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quatrano (US 2020/0317269 A1) in view of Ameye (GB 2582640 A) and further in view of Rogers (US 2018/0201319 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Quatrano discloses a worm screw and worm wheel which necessarily takes the form of a reduction gear, the worm screw being much smaller than the worm wheel, but does not disclose a first or second speed reduction gear. However Rogers teaches;
a first speed reduction gear (gear 459; Fig. 4B) connected to an output shaft of the camber motor (motor 451, Fig. 4B), thereby being rotated; and
a second speed reduction gear (gear 459) coupled to the first speed reduction gear by being engaged therewith.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Quatrano to include a first speed reduction gear connected to an output shaft of the camber motor and a second speed reduction gear coupled to the first speed reduction gear by being engaged therewith as taught by Rogers, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to electric motor driven, screw type camber adjusters. As disclosed by Rogers, it is well known for a camber adjuster to include a first speed reduction gear connected to an output shaft of the camber motor and a second speed reduction gear coupled to the first speed reduction gear by being engaged therewith. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Quatrano to include a first speed reduction gear connected to an output shaft of the camber motor and a second speed reduction gear coupled to the first speed reduction gear by being engaged therewith as taught by Rogers, as such a modification would provide the ability to compactly mount the electric motor next to the camber adjusting thread rod. (Paragraph 100 and Fig. 4B, Rogers)
Regarding Claim 17, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the first speed reduction gear (worm screw 210) and the second speed reduction gear (worm wheel 215) are disposed in such a manner that central axes thereof are not aligned with each other. (Fig. 4 demonstrates that the axes of the two gears are perpendicular.)
Regarding Claim 18, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the first speed reduction gear (worm screw 210) is a worm gear, and the second speed reduction gear (worm wheel 215) is a worm wheel.
Regarding Claim 19, Quatrano discloses;
wherein the first speed reduction gear is a hypoid pinion gear, and the second speed reduction gear is a hypoid ring gear. (The worm screw 210 and the worm wheel 215 disclose a hypoid gear arrangement where the input and output axes do not intersect and are not parallel.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7;
wherein the deviation preventer comprises: a pair of deviation prevention members extending from the camber wheel body, and spaced a distance apart from each other with the first conversion gear in between.
Regarding Claim 8;
wherein the deviation prevention members are disposed with inner surfaces of the deviation prevention members facing an outer circumferential surface of the thread rod.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that a combination of the camber adjustment mechanism of Quatrano and the steerable wheel structure of Ameye fails to teach or suggest a structure in which the camber drive module, containing a motor holder, would be located inside a second steering main body and fixed to an inner surface of this second steering main body. However, the second steering main body, as illustrated in figs. 1, 2, and 24 of Ameye, consists of two vertical structures, while the camber drive motor holder of Quatrano is fixed to a stationary structure from which a force can be applied in order to move the suspension arm. A combination of Quatrano and Ameye would therefore necessarily affix the camber drive motor holder to the second steering main body. The opening between the two vertical structures of Ameye would suggest an obvious location in which to mount the camber drive motor holder, such that the drive force of the motor would be translated into movement of the camber adjustment mechanism. This combination would have been within the abilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Quatrano (US 2021/0053622 A1) discloses a similar adjust
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612
February 25, 2026