Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DAO et al. (Patent No: US 2020/0112907 A1), hereinafter, DAO.
Regarding Claim 1, DAO teaches,
A method for acquiring network side analysis data, applicable to a User Equipment (UE) and comprising: -Fig. 6, 7; Paragraph [0303] (Fig. 6, 7 show UE(101) in communication with different network components and acquiring network analysis data from Network Data Analysis Function (NWDAF(105)). [0303] recites, “The NWDAF can provide network QoS data analytics based on one or more of the UE Route Information, Application QoS Level, Potential QoS Change Notification Configuration, PDU Session Context…”)
transmitting, by the UE, a first network data analysis request to a network data analysis function through a user plane according to routing information of the network data analysis function; -Paragraph [0302, 0331, 0411] ([0302] recites, “The AMF can handle the UE request for network QoS information, transfer the network QoS information request from the UE to the NWDAF; transfer the network QoS information from the PCF to the UE; and/or track the UE location based on UE Route Information.”[0331] recites, “the Nd4 reference point may be implemented by a direct logical link between the UE 101 and the NWDAF 803, or by indirect interfaces, for example via the (R)AN 102 and the AMF 103.”)
wherein the routing information comprises an Internet protocol (IP) address or a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the network data analysis function. -Paragraph [0389]([0389] recites, “the SMF 104 may include the address of NWDAF 105 in operation 1065. The SMF 104 may include the address (e.g. IP address), or FQDN (fully qualified domain name), or ID of NWDAF 105 as Notification Target address. Then when the UE location is available, the AMF 103 may notify the NWDAF 105 the UE location.”)
the first network data analysis request comprises filtering information for a requested analysis, and the filtering information comprises at least one of a slice identifier, an application identifier, or target time period information of the requested analysis; -Paragraph [0355] ([0355] teaches, “The requested PDU Session Information may include one or more of following information: UE ID (e.g. SUPI, GPSI, SUCI), a group of UE (e.g. represented by Internal Group ID, External Group ID), PDU Session ID, resource type of PDU session (which could be, e.g. GBR, delay critical GBR, non-GBR), IP address used for the PDU Session, packet filters of the PDU Session, Application ID, DNAI that the UPF 805 sends packets of PDU session to the DN 806, QoS information of the PDU session.”)
and receiving first network side analysis data from the network data analysis function directly, the first network side analysis data being analysis data generated by the network data analysis function. -Paragraph [0331-0332] ([0331-0332] recites, “the Nd4 reference point may be implemented by a direct logical link between the UE 101 and the NWDAF 803, or by indirect interfaces, for example via the (R)AN 102 and the AMF 103…. in some embodiments, the NWDAF 803 may send QoS and/or QoE reports to the AMF 103 via the Nd6 reference point. The AMF 103 may forward the QoS and/or QoE reports to the (R)AN 102 over the N2 interface. Then the (R)AN 102 may forward the QoS and/or QoE reports to the UE 101 by using a radio control channel of the air interface.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that NWDAF may send analysis data to the UE directly through Nd4 reference point as that is the direct logical link between UE and NWDAF as stated above)
Regarding Claim 2, DAO teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
DAO further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first network side analysis data corresponds to an analysis identifier of the first network side analysis data. -Paragraph [0152, 0155] ([0152] recites, “The NWDAF may perform data analysis to provide statistical and/or predicted network QoS information to the UE and/or the associated AF according to the current and future locations of the UE (in other words, the prediction of QoS parameters in the future locations). The NWDAF may need one or more of the following information in order to perform data analysis:” [0155] recites, “additional input information of the current PDU Session from the SMF, including one or more of PDU Session type (e.g. IPv4, IPv6, Ethernet), network slicing information (e.g. S-NSSAI), RAT type, DNN, Application ID, current UE location, Current QoS setting in RAN (e.g. from RAN QoS Profile for UL and DL), and whether the packet redundant transmission in the (R)AN and/or the CN is used or not.” As explained above data analysis may correspond to different parameters, e.g., network slice, application ID etc.)
Regarding Claim 3, DAO teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
DAO further teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the analysis identifier of the first network side analysis data comprises at least one of: load analysis of a slice, service experience analysis of a slice or an application, network performance analysis, data congestion level analysis, or quality of service (QoS) change analysis. -Paragraph [0019, 0314, 0345] ([0019] recites, “The method includes determining and storing a potential QoS change notification configuration (PQCNC) indicative of network QoS information for a plurality of locations along a planned or predicted route to be traversed by the vehicle. The method includes transmitting network QoS information as defined by the PQCNC toward one or more of: the UE; an application in the network which cooperates with the UE for assisting driving of the vehicle; a network data analytics function (NWDAF) operating in the network; and another function operating in the network.” [0314] recites, “NWDAF 803 to provide a prediction of network function resource utilization (such as resource utilization percentage of (R)AN nodes and UPF nodes, and physical links of the transport layer). The NMF 801 may also request the NWDAF 803 to provide potential congestion times during the day and the length of congestion in network functions (including user plane functions (e.g., UPF 805 and (R)AN nodes 102), and control plane functions (e.g., AMF 103, SMF 104). The NWDAF 803 predicts the network function resource utilization based on reported network entity data from other network entities.”[0345] recites, “the NWDAF function 803 may send the network load information to the AMF 103 via the Nd6 reference point, and then the AMF may forward the network information to some selected UE 101 via the N1 reference point.”)
Regarding Claim 4, DAO teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
DAO further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first network data analysis request comprises at least one of: a UE identifier for requesting network data analysis; an analysis identifier of the first network side analysis data; filtering information for a requested analysis; or analysis report limitation. -Paragraph [0329] ([0329] recites, “The UE 101 may send QoS and/or QoE reports to the NWDAF 803 over the Nd4 reference point. The reports from the UE 101 may include an identifier of the UE, such as UE identifiers defined example in the 3GPP document TS 23.501 (SUPI, GPSI), the information of PDU session such as PDU session type (IP PDU Session, Ethernet PDU Session, or Unstructured PDU Session), packet flow description, DNN, start and end time of PDU session, information of QoS flows (such as packet filters of a packet filter sets of QoS flows).”
Claim 10 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
DAO further teaches,
A User Equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver, configured to receive -Fig. 1; Paragraph [0086] ([0086] recites, “… In other examples, the ED 52 may be device that couples to the network infrastructure over a radio interface, such as a mobile phone, smart phone or other such device that may be classified as a User Equipment (UE)…… Specific devices may utilize all of the components shown or only a subset of the components, and levels of integration may vary from device to device. Furthermore, a device may contain multiple instances of a component, such as multiple processors, memories, transmitters, receivers, etc….”)
Claim 11 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 2 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2. Claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 12 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 4 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over DAO in view of DAO et al. (Patent No: US 2019/0394279 A1), hereinafter, DAO2.
Regarding Claim 7, DAO teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, DAO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: determining, by the UE, a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session parameter using the first network side analysis data; determining, by the UE, an access network using the first network side analysis data; determining, by the UE, an access mode using the first network side analysis data; determining, by the UE in a case where a service needs to be initiated, QoS requirement for the service according to the first network side analysis data; or selecting, by the UE in a case where cell selection is performed, a cell to be accessed according to the first network side analysis data.
However, in an analogous invention, DAO2 teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: determining, by the UE, a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session parameter using the first network side analysis data; -Paragraph [0005] ([0005] recites, “a policy that allows the UE 52 to select one or more specific routes over which to send data of multiple quality of service (QoS) flows of a common protocol data unit (PDU) session and/or data of a QoS flow to the AS, including without limitation, an access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) policy, a quality of service (QoS) policy that allows the UE 52 to send and/or receive data packets with predefined QoS parameters and/or a policy that allows the UE 52 to send and/or receive data with a specific charging rate and/or consumption limit, including without limitation, a spending policy.”
determining, by the UE, an access network using the first network side analysis data; -Paragraph [0099] ([0099] recites, “ the PCF 201, with input from the NWDAF for, by way of non-limiting example, obtaining statistical and/or analytical information of various network parameters, including without limitation, network traffic load, network slice traffic load, resource utilization, traffic distribution in different network locations, quality of experience (QoE), UE mobility information, UE behavior information and/or QoS, includes one or more of such new information elements as information elements of the various UE policies either alone or in combination with each other and/or with other information elements including, without limitation, S-NSSAI, RAT, application ID and/or a packet filter descriptor to provide, guidance to the UE 52 to optimize its access of the best available network resources.” As explained above, with the network analysis data from NWDAF, UE can have access to the best available network)
determining, by the UE, an access mode using the first network side analysis data; -Paragraph [0047] ([0047] recites, “In another embodiment, the at least one information element is contained in at least one of the URSP rule and a component of a route selection descriptor of the URSP rule, the component comprising at least one of a session continuity (SSC) mode, a network slice selection, a data network name (DNN) selection, and a non-seamless off-load indication and/or an access type preference.”)
determining, by the UE in a case where a service needs to be initiated, QoS requirement for the service according to the first network side analysis data; -Paragraph [0005] ([0005] recites, “a policy that allows the UE 52 to select one or more specific routes over which to send data of multiple quality of service (QoS) flows of a common protocol data unit (PDU) session and/or data of a QoS flow to the AS, including without limitation, an access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) policy, a quality of service (QoS) policy that allows the UE 52 to send and/or receive data packets with predefined QoS parameters and/or a policy that allows the UE 52 to send and/or receive data with a specific charging rate and/or consumption limit, including without limitation, a spending policy.” As explained above, based on the network analysis data and policy, UE determines which route to take to send data meeting the QoS requirements)
or selecting, by the UE in a case where cell selection is performed, a cell to be accessed according to the first network side analysis data. -Paragraph [0099] (As explained in the paragraph, based on the NWDAF data related “to statistical and/or analytical information of various network parameters, including without limitation, network traffic load, network slice traffic load, resource utilization, traffic distribution in different network locations, quality of experience (QoE)” UE might select appropriate cell to access and maximize efficiency.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “QUALITY OF SERVICE INFORMATION NOTIFICATION TO USER EQUIPMENT, USERS, AND APPLICATION SERVER” proposed by DAO with the concept of DAO2 to include “determining, by the UE, a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session parameter using the first network side analysis data; determining, by the UE, an access network using the first network side analysis data; determining, by the UE, an access mode using the first network side analysis data; determining, by the UE in a case where a service needs to be initiated, QoS requirement for the service according to the first network side analysis data; or selecting, by the UE in a case where cell selection is performed, a cell to be accessed according to the first network side analysis data.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimize operation of user equipment in wireless communication network [0002].
Regarding Claim 8, DAO and DAO2 combination teach the limitations of Claim 7.
Although implicit, DAO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 7, wherein determining, by the UE, the PDU session parameter using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) to obtain corresponding PDU session parameters; and selecting the PDU session parameter used by the UE from the corresponding PDU session parameters using the first network side analysis data; wherein determining, by the UE, the access network using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, an access network discovery and selection policy to determine corresponding access networks; and selecting the access network accessed by the UE from the corresponding access networks using the first network side analysis data; and wherein determining, by the UE, the access mode using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, a path selection policy to obtain corresponding access modes; and determining whether to adopt 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network access or near field communication access from the corresponding access modes using the first network side analysis data.
However, in an analogous invention DAO2 teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein determining, by the UE, the PDU session parameter using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) to obtain corresponding PDU session parameters; -Paragraph [0006] ([0006] recites, “The URSP may govern how a UE 52 to determine how to route outgoing traffic, such as, without limitation, by establishing a new PDU session, routing to an established PDU session, off-loading to a non-3GPP AN outside a PDU session and/or to select a network slice identified by one or more single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI, collectively NSSAI”)
and selecting the PDU session parameter used by the UE from the corresponding PDU session parameters using the first network side analysis data; -Paragraph [0092] ([0092] recites, “… In one such example, the NEF 96 can act much like a proxy between an application server outside the illustrated network and NFs such as the Policy Control Function (PCF) 201, the SMF 92 and the AMF 90, so that the external application server can provide information that may be of use in the setup of the parameters associated with a data session….” As explained above, PCF integrated with NWDAF sends to UE through one or more network functions parameters corresponding to PDU for the data session )
wherein determining, by the UE, the access network using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, an access network discovery and selection policy to determine corresponding access networks; -Paragraph [0005] ([0005] recites, “…,a UE route selection policy (URSP), a policy that allows the UE 52 to discover and/or select an appropriate access network (AN), including without limitation, an access network discovery & selection policy (ANDSP), a policy that allows the UE 52 to send a large amount of data to an application server (AS) in the data network 88 (DN)…”
and selecting the access network accessed by the UE from the corresponding access networks using the first network side analysis data; -Paragraph [0099] ([0099] recites, “the PCF 201, with input from the NWDAF for, by way of non-limiting example, obtaining statistical and/or analytical information of various network parameters, including without limitation, network traffic load, network slice traffic load, resource utilization, traffic distribution in different network locations, quality of experience (QoE), UE mobility information, UE behavior information and/or QoS, includes one or more of such new information elements as information elements of the various UE policies either alone or in combination with each other and/or with other information elements including, without limitation, S-NSSAI, RAT, application ID and/or a packet filter descriptor to provide, guidance to the UE 52 to optimize its access of the best available network resources.” UE receives network related statistical data of different parameters from NWDAF and selects the best available network resources)
and wherein determining, by the UE, the access mode using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, a path selection policy to obtain corresponding access modes; -Paragraph [0005] ([0005] recites, “The PCF 201 may manage and/or optimize one or more policies that govern UE operation, including without limitation, a policy that allows the UE 52 to select one or multiple routes over which to send and/or receive data, including without limitation, a UE route selection policy (URSP), a policy that allows the UE 52 to discover and/or select an appropriate access network (AN) …”)
and determining whether to adopt 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network access or near field communication access from the corresponding access modes using the first network side analysis data. -Paragraph [0006-0007] ([0006-0007] recites, “The URSP may govern how a UE 52 to determine how to route outgoing traffic, such as, without limitation, by establishing a new PDU session, routing to an established PDU session, off-loading to a non-3GPP AN outside a PDU session and/or to select a network slice identified by one or more single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI, collectively NSSAI). The ANDSP may govern how a UE 52 to select non-3GPP ANs and/or decide how to route traffic between a selected 3GPP AN and a non-3GPP AN”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “QUALITY OF SERVICE INFORMATION NOTIFICATION TO USER EQUIPMENT, USERS, AND APPLICATION SERVER” proposed by DAO with the concept of DAO2 to include “determining, by the UE, the PDU session parameter using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, a UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) to obtain corresponding PDU session parameters; and selecting the PDU session parameter used by the UE from the corresponding PDU session parameters using the first network side analysis data; wherein determining, by the UE, the access network using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, an access network discovery and selection policy to determine corresponding access networks; and selecting the access network accessed by the UE from the corresponding access networks using the first network side analysis data; and wherein determining, by the UE, the access mode using the first network side analysis data comprises: performing, by the UE, a path selection policy to obtain corresponding access modes; and determining whether to adopt 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network access or near field communication access from the corresponding access modes using the first network side analysis data.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimize operation of user equipment in wireless communication network [0002].
Regarding Claim 9, DAO teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, DAO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: acquiring, by the UE, a UE policy from a second network function; and performing, by the UE, matching on and/or using the UE policy according to the first network side analysis data.
However, in an analogous invention, DAO2 teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: acquiring, by the UE, a UE policy from a second network function; -Paragraph [0216] ([0216] recites, “…Alternatively, in some non-limiting examples, the AMF 90 may include the UBDTP (or URSP) in a UE configuration update procedure for transparent UE policy delivery to the UE 52, such as is disclosed at least in 3GPP TS 23.502 and in particular clause 4.2.4.3 thereof.” The second network function AMF provide updated UE policy to UE)
and performing, by the UE, matching on and/or using the UE policy according to the first network side analysis data. -Paragraph [0138-0142] ([0138-0139] recites, “Each URSP rule contains a list of route selection descriptors each of which has, in addition to a route selection descriptor precedence value that determines the priority of the route selection descriptor, one or more of location information element and/or time information element that respectively determine the location(s) and/or the time period(s) to apply the route selection descriptor. In some examples, the route selection descriptor may comprise one or more of the following components: a session and service continuity (SSC) mode that indicates that traffic of a matching application will be routed via a PDU session supporting SSC mode….” )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “QUALITY OF SERVICE INFORMATION NOTIFICATION TO USER EQUIPMENT, USERS, AND APPLICATION SERVER” proposed by DAO with the concept of DAO2 to include “acquiring, by the UE, a UE policy from a second network function; and performing, by the UE, matching on and/or using the UE policy according to the first network side analysis data.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimize operation of user equipment in wireless communication network [0002].
Claim 15 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Claim 16 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 9 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 9. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 9.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475