DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 12 is withdrawn; claims 1-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 21 January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under Lu have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sliwa.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patil et al (U.S. 2014/0142398). Patil discloses (par. 0083) a first coil (0277) at a location within the catheter and electrically insulated by the catheter (par. 0083), the first coil configured to output signals to determine a position of the first coil within a body of a patient (par. 0309); and a second coil (0277) along an outside of the catheter, the second coil comprising a wire wound around the catheter such that the second coil defines at least two windings, the second coil including an uninsulated portion (par. 0293) of a predetermined number of windings configured to contact tissue within the body of the patient and output 1) electrocardiogram (ECG) signals (par. 0080), and 2) signals indicative of voltages corresponding to tissue impedance from a magnetic field through body tissues and/or fluids (par. 0448-0453).
Regarding claim 2, Patil discloses (par. 0309) the second coil is additionally configured to output signals for determining the position of the second coil within the body.
Regarding claim 3, Patil discloses (Figure 28) the predetermined number of windings includes at least two.
Regarding claim 4, Patil discloses (par. 0288) the first coil and the second coil are coaxial with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Patil discloses (Figure 29) the second coil extends over at least a portion of the first coil.
Regarding claim 6, Patil discloses (Figure 29) the second coil extends within the span of the first coil.
Regarding claim 7, Patil discloses (par. 0084) a processor in communication with the second coil for receiving signals indicative of voltages corresponding to impedance from the magnetic field through body tissues and/or fluids, and analyzing the received signals to determine the body tissues and/or fluids proximate to the sensor.
Regarding claim 8, Patil discloses (par. 0359) a processor in communication with the second coil for receiving ECG signals for constructing an electroanatomical map of the body traveled by the catheter.
Regarding claim 9, Patil discloses (par. 0083) the second coil includes one or more wires wound helically around the catheter such that there are at least two windings.
Regarding claim 10, Patil discloses (par. 0083) the at least two windings are at a predetermined distance from each other for avoiding short circuiting between the windings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al (U.S. 2014/0142398). Patil discloses the claimed invention except for the predetermined distance between the at least two windings is at least 0.5 mm It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a distance between the windings of this range, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792