DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges the response received 28 May 2026. Claim 12 is withdrawn; claims 1-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As an initial matter, the Examiner acknowledges as pointed out by the Applicant that the previous response to arguments referred to a Sliwa reference that was not relied upon for the rejection. The Examiner regrets any confusion for this mistake; the Patil reference is the only one relied upon for the prior art rejection, at the sections referred to in the action.
The Applicant argues (page 4, “Remarks”) “Patil does not disclose or suggest "a second coil along an outside of the catheter, the second coil comprising a wire wound around the catheter such that the second coil defines at least two windings, the second coil including an uninsulated portion of a predetermined number of windings configured to contact tissue within the body of the patient" as recited in Claim 1.”
The Examiner refers to previously cited par. 0277, where Patil discloses “a conductor wire or multiple conductor wires may be wrapped on an outside surface of the core wire and encased within an external hypotube or within a polymeric material (e.g. heat shrink, or extruded polymer).” This clearly points out that one or more coils may be placed on the outside of the catheter structure and within an insulation (polymeric material). In the previously cited par. 0083, Patil discloses insulated portions on the outer surface spaced apart from uninsulated portions.
The Applicant further argues (page 6, “Remarks”) “there are gaps of tens or even hundreds of paragraphs between some of the cited passages, and Applicant disputes that the foregoing paragraphs in Patil are even conceptually connected as an actual embodiment for comparison to the Claims. The cited paragraphs in Patil above are bereft of reference characters or specific reference numbers in the drawings and these paragraphs do not even mention the drawings (with the exception of paragraph [0277] which references FIGs. 2-3 without reference numbers).”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assessment of Patil. Par. 0083 is part of the Summary section, while par. 0277+ further explain one or more embodiments of the larger system, as is common in patent literature. Patil discloses (par. 0268) “Exemplary delivery devices that can be incorporated into an overall system will now be described.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patil et al (U.S. 2014/0142398). Patil discloses (par. 0083) a first coil (0277) at a location within the catheter and electrically insulated by the catheter (par. 0083), the first coil configured to output signals to determine a position of the first coil within a body of a patient (par. 0309); and a second coil (0277) along an outside of the catheter, the second coil comprising a wire wound around the catheter such that the second coil defines at least two windings, the second coil including an uninsulated portion (par. 0293) of a predetermined number of windings configured to contact tissue within the body of the patient and output 1) electrocardiogram (ECG) signals (par. 0080), and 2) signals indicative of voltages corresponding to tissue impedance from a magnetic field through body tissues and/or fluids (par. 0448-0453).
Regarding claim 2, Patil discloses (par. 0309) the second coil is additionally configured to output signals for determining the position of the second coil within the body.
Regarding claim 3, Patil discloses (Figure 28) the predetermined number of windings includes at least two.
Regarding claim 4, Patil discloses (par. 0288) the first coil and the second coil are coaxial with each other.
Regarding claim 5, Patil discloses (Figure 29) the second coil extends over at least a portion of the first coil.
Regarding claim 6, Patil discloses (Figure 29) the second coil extends within the span of the first coil.
Regarding claim 7, Patil discloses (par. 0084) a processor in communication with the second coil for receiving signals indicative of voltages corresponding to impedance from the magnetic field through body tissues and/or fluids, and analyzing the received signals to determine the body tissues and/or fluids proximate to the sensor.
Regarding claim 8, Patil discloses (par. 0359) a processor in communication with the second coil for receiving ECG signals for constructing an electroanatomical map of the body traveled by the catheter.
Regarding claim 9, Patil discloses (par. 0083) the second coil includes one or more wires wound helically around the catheter such that there are at least two windings.
Regarding claim 10, Patil discloses (par. 0083) the at least two windings are at a predetermined distance from each other for avoiding short circuiting between the windings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al (U.S. 2014/0142398). Patil discloses the claimed invention except for the predetermined distance between the at least two windings is at least 0.5 mm It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a distance between the windings of this range, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792