Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “grippes” (ln 10) should be replaced by “grippers”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: “comprise” (ln 1) should be replaced by “comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Driving unit” in claims 1, 5, 11, & 20
“Pressing unit” in claims 6, 16, & 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, applicant uses the phrase “electric spring” (ln 22) which is not a well understood term of the art and applicant does not provide sufficient information in the disclosure or claims to clarify the scope of this term
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinugawa (JP 2015048194 A).
Regarding claim 1, the gripping apparatus of Kinugawa teaches gripping a gripping object provided with a head unit (8+9), in which a fitting groove is formed (Annotated Fig 7), comprising:
a base unit (32) made of a frame, plate, box, or a combination thereof;
a first gripper (31S) including a first distal end unit bent corresponding to the fitting groove (Annotated Fig 7), wherein a separation distance of the first distal end unit is adjusted at the base unit, and a plurality of first grippers facing each other are provided (Fig 7);
a second gripper (31L) located outside the first gripper and including a second distal end unit bent toward a lower edge of the gripping object (Fig 6), wherein a separation distance of the second distal end unit is adjusted at the base unit, and a plurality of a second grippers facing each other are provided (Fig 6);
an adjusting unit (40S + 40L + 41) provided in the base unit and for adjusting a separation distance of the first distal end units of the plurality of first grippers and a separation distance of the second end units of the plurality of second grippers (Fig 5-8);
and a vertical driving unit (39a & 39b) for manipulating the adjusting unit (Pg 5 body 8).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the gripping apparatus of Kinugawa teaches a sliding unit (Annotated Fig 8) provided between the first gripper and the adjusting unit and between the second gripper and the adjusting unit, and including a ball bearing or an LM guide unit for supporting sliding of the first gripper and the second gripper.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, the gripping apparatus of Kinugawa teaches the gripping object comprises a probe card with a chip or a FOUP with a wafer (Pg 2 body 5 ln 1-4; Fig 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, the autonomous driving robot of Kinugawa comprises a driving vehicle (Pg 10 Body 1, Fig 1-4) for transporting a gripping object provided with a head unit (8 + 9) having a fitting groove (Annotated Fig 7) from a first place to a second place;
and a gripping apparatus provided in the driving vehicle and for gripping the gripping object (Fig 5-7), wherein the gripping apparatus comprises,
a base unit made of a frame, plate, box, or a combination thereof (32);
a first gripper (31S) including a first distal end unit bent corresponding to the fitting groove (Annotated Fig 7 above), wherein a separation distance of the first distal end unit is adjusted at the base unit, and a plurality of first grippers facing each other are provided (Fig 7);
a second gripper (31L) located outside the first gripper and including a second distal end unit bent toward a lower edge of the gripping object (Fig 6), wherein a separation distance of the second distal end unit is adjusted at the base unit, and a plurality of second grippers facing each other are provided (Fig 6);
an adjusting unit (40S + 40L + 41) provided in the base unit and for adjusting a separation distance of the first distal end units of the plurality of first grippers and a separation distance of the second distal end units of the plurality of second grippers (Fig 5-8);
and a vertical driving unit (39a & 39b) for manipulating the adjusting unit (Pg 5 body 8).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, the autonomous driving robot of Kinugawa teaches a sliding unit (Annotated Fig 8 above) provided between the first gripper and the adjusting unit and between the second gripper and the adjusting unit, and including a ball bearing or an LM guide unit for supporting sliding of the first gripper and the second gripper (Fig 8),
wherein the gripping object comprises a FOUP with a wafer or a probe card with a chip (Pg 2 body 5 ln 1-4; Fig 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 would be allowed if applicant removes “electric” from “electric spring” (ln 22).
Claim 2-8 and 12-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-3 & 12-13 require the combination of a vertical driving unit for manipulating the adjusting unit and the first gripper is provided at the base unit to be capable of axial rotation, sliding in a horizontal direction, or both axial rotation and sliding in a horizontal direction, wherein any one of the base unit and the first gripper is provided with a first shaft supporting axial rotation of the first gripper, and the first shaft passes through the other one so that the first shaft moves in a horizontal direction and axially rotates, wherein any one of the base unit and the second gripper is provided with a second shaft, and the second shaft is connected to the other one so that the second gripper is provided at the base unit to be capable of axial rotation.
Claims 4-5 & 14-15 require the combination of an adjusting unit provided in the base unit and for adjusting a separation distance of the first distal end units of the plurality of first grippers and a separation distance of the second end units and the adjusting unit comprising a first and second block member with tapers. CN 105345834 A discloses a driving unit using adjusting blocks to manipulate the second set of grippers but not the first set. It would require hindsight reconstruction to incorporate adjusting blocks that move the first set of grippers.
Claims 6-8 & 16-18 require a pressing unit provided outside the plurality of first grippers to press in a direction, in which the plurality of first grippers are approached, and for pressing with a pressing force lower than a pressing force of the adjusting unit to allow movement of the first grippers by the adjusting unit. The gripping apparatus of Kinugawa teaches a pressing unit (30S) but in a direction, in which the plurality of first grippers are retracted (Fig 8; Pg 5 body 6).
Claim 20 requires the combination of at least one of the claims above and is in independent form.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 105345834 A discloses an adjustable clamping claw with two sets of grippers controlled by a vertical driving unit and tapered moving blocks.
US Patent 8,061,748 B2 discloses a robot gripper with two sets of grippers controlled by a vertical driving unit.
CN 111844096 A discloses a robot gripper with two sets of grippers controlled by a vertical driving unit.
CN 114380047 A discloses a robot gripper with two sets of grippers.
PGPub US 2013/0088031 A1 discloses a gripping apparatus with horizontal and axial movement for the fingers and a vertical screw drive system.
CN 107972056 A discloses a gripping robot hand with two sets of fingers and a vertical drive unit.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619