DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
01/23/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 10, 13,15, 16 are amended.
Applicant's arguments filed have been reviewed and fully considered.
Regarding rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C §103, based on further consideration and search as necessitated by amendments, Examiner finds arguments are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would not arrive at the claimed invention using the combination of prior art by CARUSO (US 20160223436 Al) in view of MILLAR (US 20230314391 Al), as applied to claims examined in previous office action (Final Rejection, dated 10/01/2025). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s attention to requirements for forming a proper prima facie case for obviousness, but respectfully disagrees and asserts that the combination of MILLAR with CARUSO to render the claimed invention obvious was proper as applied to claim limitations presented for examination. Specifically, CARUSO and MILLAR are directed to the same technical field as Applicant’s claimed invention, which would make it reasonable for one of ordinary skill to see relevant combinations that would have a reasonable expectation of success in solving the identified problem. Applicant’s arguments of fluid-path connectivity, communication between system components, and positioning of accessory components have been considered fully with detailed responses presented below, based on currently amended claim limitations which necessitated further search and evaluation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over CARUSO (US 20160223436 A1) in view of SHALOM (US 20160209382 A1), and further in view of MILLAR (US 20230314391 A1).
With respect to Claims 1 and 15, CARUSO teaches:
A gas detection system, comprising: a gas detection device comprising a housing, (CARUSO is in same technical field, teaching gas detection system and housing, Abstract: “a gas detection system (5) including a housing (10)”, and FIGs. 1A-B.)
a control system comprising a processor system and a memory system in communicative connection with the processor system, (CARUSO teaches control system with processor and memory system, FIG. 1C with [0034]: “pneumatic system 60 can be in operative, bi-directional communication with a control module 120” and FIG. 1C, element 130 “Microprocessor 130” in FIG. 1C.)
one or more gas sensors within the housing in communicative connection with the control system, (CARUSO teaches gas sensors in a cartridge located within housing, [0003]: “gas detection system including a housing having an inlet in fluid communication with an atmosphere and configured to detect and measure a gas species in the atmosphere using a gas sensor” and [0026]: “insertion of the cartridge 37 into the analyzer 25 through an opening or door 30 in the housing 10”; teaches communication between analyzer and control system, FIG. 1C with [0036]: “control module 120 can also be in operative bi-directional communication with the analyzer 25”; Examiner interprets “communicative connection” using plain meaning as transfer of information over a communication channel, as taught by reference.)
wherein each of the one or more gas sensors is independently responsive to a gas analyte, (CARUSO teaches multiple sensors, FIG. 2 with [0026]: “Each measurement tube 38 can be configured to detect one of a variety of different gases including, but not limited to, combustible gases, VOC, NH.sub.3, AsH3, CO2, CO, Cl2, C2H6, HCl, HCN, HF, PH3, H2S, CH4, NO, NO2, O3, O2, C7H16, COCl2, C3H8, SO2, Ammonia, Ethane, Methane, Pentane, and Propane, benzene, toluene, and others depending on the reactants contained within the tube 38”; Examiner interprets “independently responsive” using plain meaning as ability to discern a particularly gas analyte, analogous to the “each tube” being configured to “detect one”, as taught by reference.)
an inlet via which gas to be sampled from an environment to be tested enters the housing to come into contact with the one or more gas sensors, (CARUSO teaches fluid connection to environment to be tested such that gas sample comes into contact with gas sensor in housing, FIG. 1C, element 40 “remote sampling hose”, element 20 “Inlet” with [0027]:”to detect a gas in the environment, such as by a cartridge 37 loaded into the analyzer 25, the pump 15 can draw an air sample from the atmosphere through the inlet 20 into the housing 10 and direct at least a portion of the air sample towards the analyzer 25”.)
and a pump system in fluid connection with the inlet and in fluid connection with the one or more gas sensors, (CARUSO teaches pneumatic pumping system connected to inlet with flow to gas sensors, FIG 1C, element 60, element 15 “Pump”, element 20 “Inlet, with ; and FIG. 5 schematic with [0027]: “for the gas sensor to detect a gas in the environment, such as by a cartridge 37 loaded into the analyzer 25, the pump 15 can draw an air sample from the atmosphere through the inlet 20 into the housing 10 and direct at least a portion of the air sample towards the analyzer 25”; Examiner notes from above, gas sensors are within analyzer.)
the gas detection device further comprising an input system in communication with the control system (CARUSO teaches a user input connected with controller, FIG. 1C with [0038] “gas detection system 5 can also include a power supply 140, user interface 145 having one or more inputs 150…communication system 160 in bi-directional communication with the control module 120”; Examiner interprets “input system” to mean, with guidance of specification [0037], any general input component.; CARUSO teaches accessory device, FIG. 1C element “37”, cartridge”, in communication with controller via element 25 “analyzer”.)
CARUSO does not teach:
an input system in communication with the control system via which data including identification data for at least one of
each of one or more associated accessory devices, which are
configured to be positioned external to the housing and to be placed in fluid connection with the inlet to provide a transport path configured to extend between the environment to be tested and the inlet, and through which gas from the environment to be tested flows from the environment to be tested to the inlet as a result of a pressure gradient created by the pump system, and
an associated combination of accessory devices, which is configured to
be positioned external to the housing to be placed in fluid connection with the inlet of the gas detection device and to provide a transport path configured to extend between the environment to be tested and the inlet, and through which gas from the environment to be tested flows from the environment to be tested to the inlet as a result of the pressure gradient created by the pump system, is communicated to the control system, and
an accessory device identification system in communicative connection
with the control system of the gas detection device to receive data including identification data for at least one of
(i) each of the one or more associated accessory devices and
(ii) the associated combination of accessory devices,
the accessory device identification system comprising a database comprising reference identification data for at least one of
(i) each of a plurality of accessory devices and each
(ii) of a plurality of combinations of accessory devices,
and characterization data for at least one of
(i) each of the plurality of accessory devices and
(ii) each of the plurality of combinations of accessory devices
an identification software algorithm executable to compare the identification data received with the reference identification data to identify the at least one of
(i) each of the one or more associated accessory devices and
(ii) the associated combination of accessory devices, and
an analysis software algorithm which is executable to perform an analysis based at least in part upon the characterization data, and to provide in real time a determination of the analysis to the control system,
an analysis software algorithm which is executable to perform an analysis based at least in part upon the characterization data, and to provide a determination of the analysis to the control system,
wherein the control system controls the gas detection device based, at least in part, on the determination of the analysis.
SHALOM teaches at least:
an input system in communication with the control system via which data including identification data for
each of one or more associated accessory devices, which are
configured to be positioned external to the housing and to be placed in fluid connection with the inlet to provide a transport path configured to extend between the environment to be tested and the inlet, and through which gas from the environment to be tested flows from the environment to be tested to the inlet as a result of a pressure gradient created by the pump system, is communicated with the control system, (SHALOM is in same technical field, [0001]: “generally in the field of sensing techniques for detection and identification of substances in ambient surroundings, on surfaces of objects, inside closed items or in fluids”, directed to gas detection housing with gas inlet, Abstract: “device may comprise a housing, an opening in the housing for passage of sample material therethrough, a sensing unit located in the housing and an array of sensing elements configured and operable to interact with sample material in the vicinity thereof…sample path defined in the housing between the opening and the sensing unit is used for facilitating flow of the sample material towards the sensing unit. A gas inlet assembly provided in the housing is configured for providing a predetermined supply of the sample”; SHALOM teaches limitations in at least (i), accessory device positioned external to housing, FIG. 2, element 44 “accessory” with [0074]: “sample inlet 12”, and [0020]: “sample collection accessory configured to connect to an opening of the device is used to collect and heat a stream of air/gas (sample material) and pass it through the opening into the device…sample collection accessory may include one or more substance sensing elements”; SHALOM further drawing air from environment through accessory and into device, FIG.s 3I, 5A, with [0084]: “as the piston 27p is drawn away from the suction/injection port 23t negative pressure conditions evolve inside the gas chamber 23r causing suction of ambient air through the opening 12p of the sample inlet 12.”; and communication with accessory device for identification and data transfer, FIG. 2 with [0074]: “interfacing accessory device 44…for collection of sample material/vapors…accessory device 44 is also configured to establish electrical connection with device 10 through a connector 12c provided in, or near, the sample inlet 12. An electrical connector 42 provided in the accessory device 44 is used to establish the electrical connection.” and [0075]: “control unit 45 may be thus configured and operable to identify connection of the accessory device 44 to the device 10 once the electrical connection is established therebetween via the electrical connectors 42 and 12c, and, whenever needed, pass electric signals thereover to the accessory device 44 to carry out sample collection via the accessory device 44.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CARUSO to include an input system in communication with the control system via which data including identification data for at least one of (i) each of one or more associated accessory devices configured as described above, and (ii) an associated combination of accessory devices configured as described above, is communicated with the control system, such as that of SHALOM because this would be an obvious way to optimize the function and broaden the applications possible for the device and method of CARUSO. One of ordinary skill would see the obvious connections between the inventions of CARUSO and SHALOM and be motivated to include the fluid communication component that allows a fluid path from an environment to be tested through an external accessory into a gas detection system and communicative control of accessory devices as taught by SHALOM to expand the capacity of the device and method of CARUSO for a broader range and applicability for accurate gas detection and identification.
MILLAR teaches:
an accessory device identification system in communicative connection
with the control system of the gas detection device to receive data including identification data for at least one of
(i) each of the one or more associated accessory devices and
(ii) the associated combination of accessory devices, (MILLAR is in same
technical field, [0002]: “relates to gas analyzers, and in particular, to a hand-portable gas analyzer”; MILLAR teaches exchangeable accessories positioned external to detection device, in fluid connection, [0010]: “gas sensing module for a gas analyzer includes a housing; a pneumatic chamber; a first pneumatic port fluidly connected to the pneumatic chamber” and detailed fluid path in [232] and [263]; and modules in in communicative connection with control system, FIG. 1, with [0068]: “sensor module 22 can be communicatively and/or electrically connected to the controller 50” and [0087]: “Sensor module 22c is shown as disposed external to housing”; MILLAR teaches at least (i), control system receiving data including identification data for each of the one or more associated accessory devices, FIG.3 with [0079]: “gas analyzer 14…sensor ports 20, sensor modules 22a-22d” with [0094]: “unique module ID can be stored in the programmable module circuitry 56 of the sensor module 22 with which the unique module ID is uniquely associated” where module ID is detected, FIG. 5 with [0129]: “sensor module is detected in step 504, method 500 moves to step 506 and the analyzer controller determines whether a unique module ID is saved on the sensor module identified in step 504…analyzer controller can send a request to the sensor module inquiring as to the unique module ID of that sensor module…sensor module can send an answer back to the analyzer…providing the unique module ID…analyzer controller detects that an accessory is connected…can determine if it is possible to obtain the unique module ID from that remote accessory…control circuitry can determine if it can obtain the unique module ID from the remote accessory”; Examiner interprets “accessory device” as analogous to reference “modules”.)
the accessory device identification system comprising a database comprising reference identification data for at least one of
(i) each of a plurality of accessory devices and each
(ii) of a plurality of combinations of accessory devices, (MILLAR teaches
accessory device identification system and storage of multiple unique module IDs for identification of sensor modules, teaching at least (i), [0097]: “Analyzer controller 50 can save the unique module IDs in the memory of analyzer controller 50.” and [0098]: “unique sensor module ID, sample data, and parameter data can be saved by the external computing device 54 and/or other computing device for later retrieval. Upon retrieval, the unique sensor module ID can be used to identify (e.g., by a table or other archive) information regarding the sensor module 22 and/or transducer utilized to generate the data.”; Examiner interprets “database comprising reference data” as analogous to reference to reference of storing ID information in [0098].)
and characterization data for at least one of
(i) each of the plurality of accessory devices and
(ii) each of the plurality of combinations of accessory devices (MILLAR
teaches storage of characterization data for at least limitation (i), FIG.4 with [0118]: “data stored in the programmable module circuitry…can further include information regarding the calibration status and/or history of that module, such as the date of the last calibration, the elapsed time since the last calibration, the period of operation since the last calibration, etc….can be further configured to store characterization data for its respective module…characterization data can provide information regarding the nature of that module, such as the parameter that that module is configured to generate data for, etc.”; Examiner interprets, as above, reference term “module” as analogous to claim limitation of “accessory device”, reasoned by reference Abstract: “modules can include gas sensors”.)
an identification software algorithm executable to compare the identification data received with the reference identification data to identify the at least one of
(i) each of the one or more associated accessory devices and
(ii) the associated combination of accessory devices, (MILLAR teaches
identification software algorithm for identification verification for at least limitation (i), teaching comparative association analysis of received module ID data with stored module ID data, [0007]: “method includes detecting, by an analyzer controller of a gas analyzer, a first sensor module of the gas analyzer, the first sensor module configured to generate first parameter data regarding a gas received by the gas analyzer; receiving, by the analyzer controller, a first unique module identifier of the first sensor module; and associating, by the control circuitry, the first unique module identifier with the first parameter data generated by the first sensor module, thereby generating first associated parameter data.”)
an analysis software algorithm which is executable to perform an analysis based at least in part upon the characterization data, and to provide a determination of the analysis to the control system, (MILLAR teaches analysis based on sensor module characterization data, [0080]: “Analyzer controller 50 can include logic hardware and further firmware, software, and/or other logic instructions”; [0098]: “Upon retrieval, the unique sensor module ID can be used to identify (e.g., by a table or other archive) information regarding the sensor module 22 and/or transducer utilized to generate the data”; MILLAR teaches analysis using characterization data, as above, [0118]; Examiner interprets “perform an analysis based at least in part upon characterization data” to be referencing analysis directed to identification of accessory devices, analogous to reference teaching of identification of “sensor module”.; MILLAR teaches communication of data with control system, as above.)
wherein the control system controls the gas detection device based, at least in part, on the determination of the analysis. (MILLAR teaches basic controller function, FIG.3 with [0089]: “Analyzer controller 50 can output control signals to any of the electronic components, including, without limitation, sensor modules 22a-22d, transmission circuitry 52, sensor port 20, and/or user interface 18”; MILLAR teaches such control based on analysis of data, [0099]: “analyzer controller 50 can prevent gas analyzer 14 from operating to generate parameter data until each sensor module 22 of the gas analyzer 14 is associated with a unique module ID” and [0109]: “Analyzer controller 50 is configured to perform any of the functions discussed herein, including receiving an output from any sensor referenced herein, detecting any condition or event referenced herein, and controlling operation of any components referenced herein” or, in a specific example, [0119]: “analyzer controller 50 can provide data generated by a first one of sensor modules…to a second one of sensor modules…to facilitate data generation by the second one of the sensor modules”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CARUSO, as modified by SHALOM and taught above, to include an accessory device identification system in communicative connection with the control system of the gas detection device to receive data including identification data for at least one of
(i) each of the one or more associated accessory devices and (ii) the associated combination of accessory devices; the accessory device identification system comprising a database comprising reference identification data for at least one of (i) each of a plurality of accessory devices and each (ii) of a plurality of combinations of accessory devices; and characterization data for at least one of (i) each of the plurality of accessory devices and (ii) each of the plurality of combinations of accessory devices; an identification software algorithm executable to compare the identification data received with the reference identification data to identify the at least one of (i) each of the one or more associated accessory devices and (ii) the associated combination of accessory devices, and an analysis software algorithm which is executable to perform an analysis based at least in part upon the characterization data, and to provide a determination of the analysis to the control system, wherein the control system controls the gas detection device based, at least in part, on the determination of the analysis, such as that of MILLAR because it would be an obvious way to make manage and optimize the interchangeable accessory modules taught by SHALOM to modify and improve the invention of CARUSO. One of ordinary skill would reasonably understand the similarity in the inventions of CARUSO, SHALOM and MILLAR and find it motivating to including he detailed steps of MILLAR to better control and optimize the modules of SHALOM in the system and method taught aby CARUSO, and would have a reasonable expectation of success in a resulting method and system for efficient, portable and accurate gas detection.
With respect to Claims 2 and 16, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 15.
MILLAR further teaches:
wherein the determination of the analysis comprises at least one of
compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with the gas detection device,
compatibility of one associated accessory device with another associated accessory device,
compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with a location,
compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with a user,
compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with the environment to be tested,
a state of connection of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices to the inlet,
a parameter of operation of the gas detection device for use with the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices,
a recommendation for changing at least one associated accessory device, and
a change in operation of gas detection device. (MILLAR teaches at least the determination of analysis comprises a state of connection of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices, where connections are [0010]: “Mounting the gas sensing module simultaneously forms a pneumatic connection via the first and second pneumatic ports, a mechanical connection, and an electrical connection via the electrical connector.”; and determination of module connection, [0120]: “Analyzer controller 50 is configured to determine the presence of and assign identifiers to each module present in gas analyzer 14 whenever gas analyzer 14 is powered on. The new identifier generated on power up can overwrite any previous identifier stored on the programmable module circuitry of that module. As such, modules can be swapped between various gas analyzers 14 without concern that identifiers will conflict between various ones of modules present in gas analyzer 14.”; Examiner notes description of how data is transferred to identify modules is presented above in Claim 1. Examiner interprets “accessory devices” as above, analogous to reference “gas sensing module”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify a gas detection system and method as disclosed by CARUSO as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR with a determination analysis step comprising the state of connection of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices to the inlet, as further taught by MILLAR because information regarding proper and/or expected connectivity would result in an improved ability to understand data received, or why data would not be forthcoming from a particular expected sensor and would also provide real-time information regarding whether or not a system pump should or should not be activated. One of ordinary skill would be motivated by this further teaching of MILLAR to ascertain an established state of connectivity as part of the system that includes accessory components such as those taught by SHALOM and MILLAR as taught above, with particular attention to SHALOM teaching accessory fluid connection between environment and device through an inlet, as an obvious way to improve method and system of CARUSO to make a more accurate and reliable measurement for determining a gas analyte.
With respect to Claims 3 and 17, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 16.
MILLAR further teaches:
wherein at least a portion of the accessory device identification system is distributed on a device other than the gas detection device which is in communicative connection with the gas detection device. (MILLAR teaches identification of connected modules using a device other than the gas detection device, [0097]: “Analyzer controller 50 can save the unique module IDs in the memory of analyzer controller 50.”; and FIG. 3, with [0098]: “analyzer controller 50 can later transmit the unique sensor module ID, sample data, and the parameter data to the external computing device 54…unique sensor module ID, sample data, and parameter data can be saved by the external computing device 54 and/or other computing device for later retrieval.”; Examiner interprets “in communicative connection” to be analogous to reference of “for later retrieval”, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as transfer of information/data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify a gas detection system and method as disclosed by CARUSO as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR to include that at least a portion of the accessory device identification system is distributed on a device other than the gas detection device which is in communicative connection with the gas detection device, as further taught by MILLAR because it would be understood as a reasonable process for improving record keeping and security. One of ordinary skill would also be motivated to store accessory identification data on multiple devices as a way to expand the use of such data for use in additional applications of the gas detection devise, and to pre-empt any data loss that could be incurred in the case of a malfunction of the detection unit. This obvious combination would also satisfy any record keeping compliance issues that may exist in a specific application or use of a gas detection device in the field.
With respect to Claims 4 and 18, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 16.
MILLAR further teaches:
wherein the database is stored in the memory system of the control system. (MILLAR teaches accessory information database stored in memory, as above [0097]: “Analyzer controller 50 can save the unique module IDs in the memory of analyzer controller 50.”; Examiner interprets “stored in the memory system” as analogous to reference “save by the external computing device”, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify a gas detection system and method as disclosed by CARUSO as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR to include that the database is stored in the memory system of the control system because storing important accessory device information in multiple places would avoid unnecessary data loss, and by storing this data on the controller, allow for fast access in determination of connectivity for various accessory devices in real time. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the additional teaching of MILLAR, for storage of accessory database in a control system memory, in a gas detection system/method as disclosed by CARUSO as modified to include fluidic and data communication connections with externally positioned accessory devices as taught be SHALOM to achieve the claimed invention.
With respect to Claims 5 and 19, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 16.
MILLAR further teaches:
wherein each of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices includes an identifier in operative connection therewith, the identifier is indicative of the data including the identification data. (MILLAR teaches, an identifier for connected accessory modules, where identifier is indicative of the data, [0006]: “analyzer controller is configured to receive a first unique module identifier for the first sensor module; and associate the first unique module identifier with the parameter data generated by the first sensor module, thereby generating first associated parameter data.”; Examiner interprets “the data including the identification data” as analogous to reference “associate the first unique module identifier with the parameter data generated by the first sensor module” to mean controller makes an association between the unique accessory identification information and parameter data generated by that accessory.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify a gas detection system and method as disclosed by CARUSO as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR to include wherein each of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices includes an identifier in operative connection therewith, the identifier is indicative of the data including the identification data, such as further disclosed by MILLAR because the information identifying a specific accessory would allow for validation of parameter data generated by an accessory device. One of ordinary skill would see the advantage of coupling accessory device identification with gas identification data generated by an accessory to confirm accuracy and reliability for gas analyte detection.
With respect to Claims 6 and 20, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 16.
CARUSO further teaches:
the gas detection device further comprises a sensing system in operative connection with the input system, (CARUSO teaches sensing system operatively connected with input, FIG. 1C, depicting connections between input of sampled gas, element 20 “inlet”-element 40 “remote sampling hose”, and between element 25 “analyzer”-element 37 “cartridge” with element 120, and [0034]: “pneumatic system 60 can be in operative, bi-directional communication with a control module 120”, [0036]: “control module 120 can also be in operative bi-directional communication with the analyzer 25. In some implementations, an information element 39 can be positioned on the cartridge 37”)
the sensing system comprising a sensor to measure a property of the pump system which varies upon attachment of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices to the inlet, (CARUSO teaches control and variation of pumping function, FIG. 1C, element 110 “sensor”, defined in [0037]: “high flow branch 70 can include a pressure sensor 110”, and with [0035]: “flow through the pneumatic system 60 can be controlled by changing the speed of the pump 15…controlling the speed of the pump motor to regulate the flow rate…flow channels can be opened and closed…to change the number of flow channels through one or both orifices 85, 95 in order to achieve a particular ratio and flow rate”; and [0042]:”system 5 can periodically perform one or more self-checks to verify the readiness and integrity of various components of the system…whether or not the remote sampling hose 40 is coupled to the inlet 20”; Examiner interprets “measure a property of the pump system” as analogous to reference language of “remote sampling bypass”, and “perform one or more self-checks…whether or not remote sample hose is coupled to inlet”.)
data of the property of the pump system being used in at least one of: identifying the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices, (CARUSO teaches pump system data used for identifying a connected accessory, [0042]:”system 5 can periodically perform one or more self-checks to verify the readiness and integrity of various components of the system”; Examiner interprets “identifying the one of more associated accessory devices” as analogous to reference “verify readiness and integrity of various components”.)
wherein the reference identification data comprises the data of the property of the pump system, determining a state of attachment of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices, or determining a state of functionality of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices. (CARUSO teaches, as above, identification data for pump to determine both state of component attachment and state of functionality, FIG. 1C with [0042]: “self-checks to verify the readiness and integrity of various components of the system”)
With respect to Claim 7, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 2.
CARUSO does not teach:
wherein each of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices includes an identifier in operative connection therewith which is indicative of the data including the identification data.
MILLAR teaches:
wherein each of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices includes an identifier in operative connection therewith which is indicative of the data including the identification data. (MILLAR teaches, as above, identification method for input sensor devices, and device identification data communicated with controller, along with other data provided by the sensor device, [0006] and FIG.3 with [0098]; MILLAR teaches details for confirmation of sensor module identification, [0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify a gas detection system and method as disclosed by CARUSO as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR to include that each of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices includes an identifier in operative connection therewith which is indicative of the data including the identification data, such as that further disclosed by MILLAR, because this step would be an improvement to the method/system as a way to improve record keeping and better facilitate accurate data analysis. One of ordinary skill would see the benefit of including specific sensor/device identity information simultaneously with acquired sensor data to ensure proper pairing, configuration of device/sensor, and allow for better analysis of data acquired by the sensor/device. One of ordinary skill would see the approach of MILLAR as an obvious improvement to the system and method of CARUSO as modified with external accessory devices taught by SHALOM, as a way to provide more reliable and accurate information regarding gas detection data.
With respect to Claim 8, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 2.
CARUSO further teaches:
the gas detection device further comprises a sensing system in connection with the control input system, (CARUSO teaches, as above, detector/sensor/input devices connected to main system/controller, FIG. 1C with [0036]: “control module 120 can also be in operative bi-directional communication with the analyzer 25…an information element 39 can be positioned on the cartridge 37”; CARUSO teaches cartridge with gas sensor as part of data input system [0029]: “gas measurement can be performed by a gas sensor, such as a gas sensor on a cartridge 37”)
the sensing system comprising a sensor to measure a property of the pump system which varies upon attachment of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices to the inlet, (CARUSO teaches sensing system with sensor to measure pump system properties, as above, [0037]: “high flow branch 70 can include a pressure sensor 110”, and with [0035]: “flow through the pneumatic system 60 can be controlled by changing the speed of the pump 15…controlling the speed of the pump motor to regulate the flow rate…flow channels can be opened and closed…to change the number of flow channels through one or both orifices 85, 95 in order to achieve a particular ratio and flow rate”)
the data of the property of the pump system being used in at least one of: identifying the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices, (CARUSO teaches pump system involved in at least identifying one or more associated accessory devices, [0031]: “cartridge 37 can be exposed to at least a portion of the air sample drawn by the pump…resistance to flow through the cartridge 37 can depend on what chemicals are present within the measurement tube…each tube 38 can require a particular flow rate therethrough…to ensure an accurate reading by the analyzer 25”; and [0042]: ”system 5 can periodically perform one or more self-checks to verify the readiness and integrity of various components of the system”.)
wherein the reference identification data comprises the data of the property of the pump system, determining a state of attachment of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices, or determining a state of functionality of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices. (CARUSO teaches information regarding state of attachment, as above, [0042].)
With respect to Claim 9, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 5.
CARUSO further teaches:
wherein the identifier comprises an RFID tag and the gas detection device comprises an RFID reader. (CARUSO teaches use of RFID method for identification of system components, [0036]: “control module 120 can also be in operative bi-directional communication with the analyzer 25…information element 39 can be a radiofrequency identification (“RFID”) tag”)
With respect to Claim 10, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1.
CARUSO further teaches:
the control system is configured to, at least one of,
provide information to a user of the determination of the analysis via a user interface of the gas detection device, which is in connection with the processor system,
adjust the operation of the gas detection device at least in part on the basis of the determination of the analysis,
lock the gas detection device at least in part on the basis of the determination of the analysis. (CARUSO teaches at least a control system configured to provide information to the a user of the determination of the analysis via a user interface of the gas detection device, which is in connection with the processor system, [0038]: “control module 120 can run one or more software programs to oversee, manage, and/or coordinate the measurement, evaluation and analysis functions of the analyzer to make the data acquired useful for a user in terms of analysis and reporting.”; Examiner interprets “provide information to a user” to be analogous to reference “make the data acquired useful for a user”. )
With respect to Claim 11, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1.
CARUSO does not teach:
the identification software algorithm, and the analysis software algorithm are stored in the memory system and the identification software algorithm, and the analysis software algorithm are executable by the processor system.
MILLAR further teaches:
the identification software algorithm, and the analysis software algorithm are stored in the memory system (MILLAR teaches identification software algorithm for identification verification teaching comparative association analysis of received module ID data with stored module ID data, as above, [0007]; MILLAR teaches storing in memory, [0080]: “analyzer controller 50 can include control circuitry 51 and memory 53 in communication with the control circuitry, the memory storing program instructions executable by the control circuitry to carry out any of the functions referenced herein”; and Table 1, listing various sensor module ID values, with [0102]: “data of Table 1 can be transmitted from the portable gas analyzer device 14 to the external computing device 54 for long-term storage.” )
the identification software algorithm, and the analysis software algorithm are executable by the processor system. (MILLAR teaches executable instructions to perform analysis based on sensor module characterization data, [0080]: “Analyzer controller 50 can include logic hardware and further firmware, software, and/or other logic instructions”; [0098]: “Upon retrieval, the unique sensor module ID can be used to identify (e.g., by a table or other archive) information regarding the sensor module 22 and/or transducer utilized to generate the data”; MILLAR teaches analysis using characterization data, as above, [0118]; Examiner interprets “perform an analysis based at least in part upon characterization data” to be referencing analysis directed to identification of accessory devices, analogous to reference teaching of identification of “sensor module”; MILLAR teaches communication of data with control system, as above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CARUSO, as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR, and taught above, to include the identification software algorithm, and the analysis software algorithm are stored in the memory system and the identification software algorithm, and the analysis software algorithm are executable by the processor system, such as that further disclosed by MILLAR because it would be seen as advantage for managing and optimizing a plurality of interchangeable accessory modules, such as taught by SHALOM to modify and improve the invention of CARUSO. One of ordinary skill would reasonably understand the similarity in the inventions of CARUSO, SHALOM and MILLAR and find it motivating to including the detailed steps in using and storing unique identity information for connected accessory devices. This would have a reasonable expectation of success in a resulting portable gas detection method and system with improved efficiency and accuracy.
With respect to Claim 12, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1.
CARUSO further teaches:
analysis software algorithm are stored in one or more devices other than the gas detection device (CARUSO teaches storing data analysis instructions, FIG. 1C, with [0038]: “control module 120…configured to receive, process, store and command the various components of the system 5 during operation…can run one or more software programs to oversee, manage, and/or coordinate the measurement, evaluation and analysis functions of the analyzer to make the data acquired useful for a user in terms of analysis and reporting”; and [0039]:”control module 120 can include a memory 135 that can store electronic data such as…cartridge identification information…any other information related to the system 5…can include computer storage media…used to store computer-readable instructions, software, data structures, program modules, and other data which can be accessed by the system 5”)
CARUSO does not teach:
the database, the identification software algorithm, are stored in one or more devices other than the gas detection device wherein each of the one or more devices is in communication with the gas detection device.
MILLAR further teaches:
the database, the identification software algorithm, are stored in one or more devices other than the gas detection device wherein each of the one or more devices is in communication with the gas detection device. (MILLAR teaches accessory information database stored in memory, as above [0097]: “Analyzer controller 50 can save the unique module IDs in the memory of analyzer controller 50”; MILLAR teaches communication among system components, coordinated by analyzer controller, generally, for example, [0068]: “Sensor module 22 is operatively connected to the controller 50 of gas analyzer 14. For example, sensor module 22 can be communicatively and/or electrically connected to the controller 50.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CARUSO, as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR, and taught above, to include the database, the identification software algorithm, are stored in one or more devices other than the gas detection device wherein each of the one or more devices is in communication with the gas detection device, such as that further disclosed by MILLAR because it would be understood as an improved way to manage and optimize multiple unique interchangeable accessory modules, such as taught by SHALOM to modify and improve the invention of CARUSO. One of ordinary skill would reasonably understand the similarity in the inventions of CARUSO, SHALOM and MILLAR and find it motivating to include the detailed steps taught by MILLAR in combination with the system/method of CARUSO and the plurality of accessories taught by SHALOM with the detailed method of storing unique identity information for connected accessory devices as taught by MILLAR to result in a more robust and reliable portable gas detection method and system with improved efficiency and accuracy.
With respect to Claim 13, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 11.
CARUSO does not teach:
the determination of the analysis comprises at least one of
compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with the gas detection device,
the compatibility of one associated accessory device with another associated accessory devices device,
compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with a location, compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with a user,
compatibility of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices with the environment to be tested,
a state of connection of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices to the inlet,
a parameter of operation of the gas detection device for use with the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices,
a recommendation for changing at least one associated accessory device, and a change in operation of the portable gas detection device.
MILLAR teaches at least:
the determination of the analysis comprises a state of connection of the one or
more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices to the inlet (MILLAR teaches analysis of data from connected accessory modules to determine a state of connection, [0120]: “Analyzer controller 50 is configured to determine the presence of and assign identifiers to each module present in gas analyzer 14 whenever gas analyzer 14 is powered on…new identifier generated on power up can overwrite any previous identifier stored on the programmable module circuitry of that module. As such, modules can be swapped between various gas analyzers 14 without concern that identifiers will conflict between various ones of modules present in gas analyzer 14.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify CARUSO, as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR, and taught above, to include the determination of the analysis comprises at least a state of connection of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices to the inlet, such as that further disclosed by MILLAR because detailed configuration information about connected components would provide a more reliable communication with component(s) and ensure clear understanding of any subsequent data received from a component. One of ordinary skill would see the detailed method of MILLAR would be an obvious improvement for management of a plurality of connected accessories as taught by SHALOM in modification of the system/method taught by CARUSO to result in improved confidence and reliability of a portable gas detection system.
With respect to Claim 14, CARUSO in view of SHALOM, and further in view of MILLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1.
CARUSO teaches
a management system comprising a management processor system, a management communication system configured to be in communicative connection with a gas monitoring system of an entity which comprises the gas detection device, and a management memory system in operative connection with the management processor system, (CARUSO teaches management system/method for gas detection device, including processor and communication components, as a control module, [0009]: “memory may temporarily or permanently store instructions that cause at least one processor to perform one or more of the operations described herein”; and FIG. 1C with [0038]: “control module 120 is configured to receive, process, store and command the various components of the system 5 during operation…run one or more software programs to oversee, manage, and/or coordinate the measurement, evaluation and analysis functions of the analyzer to make the data acquired useful for a user in terms of analysis and reporting…combine data for logging and analysis…also use its evaluating circuit 125 to perform periodic system housekeeping functions and self-tests.”)
CARUSO does not teach:
the management memory system having stored therein an algorithm executable by the management processor system to at least one of track usage of or manage the gas detection device and at least one of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices.
MILLAR teaches:
the management memory system having stored therein an algorithm executable by the management processor system to at least one of track usage of or manage the gas detection device and at least one of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory devices. (MILLAR teaches detailed management of gas detection device/system components and function, FIG.s 4-5, depicting system management of gas analyzer, with [0127]: “FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating method 500 of managing a device, such as a portable gas analyzer, such as gas analyzer 14”; and FIG. 3, depicting “analyzer controller 50” as a component within “gas analyzer 14”, with flowchart depicting management of gas analyzer FIG. 5. with [0080]: “analyzer controller 50 can include one or more of a microprocessor…digital signal processor (DSP)”, MILLAR teaches communication scheme, FIG. 5, “controller, 504 (Detect Sensor Module Connection), 506(Unique Module ID…?), 508(Receive and Store…ID), followed by “measurement phase” steps 514 (receive), 516 (associate…Module ID…), 518(Transmit…)”; MILLAR teaches management of memory, where memory is in communicative connection with system controller, as above, FIG. 5, with [0080]: “analyzer controller 50 can include control circuitry 51 and memory 53 in communication with the control circuitry, the memory storing program instructions executable by the control circuitry to carry out any of the functions referenced herein”, with executable instructions for tracking system and connected modules, [0080]: “Analyzer controller 50 can include logic hardware and further firmware, software, and/or other logic instructions”; and [0007]: “method includes detecting, by an analyzer controller of a gas analyzer, a first sensor module of the gas analyzer, the first sensor module configured to generate first parameter data regarding a gas received by the gas analyzer; receiving, by the analyzer controller, a first unique module identifier of the first sensor module; and associating, by the control circuitry, the first unique module identifier with the first parameter data generated by the first sensor module, thereby generating first associated parameter data.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify CARUSO, as modified by SHALOM and MILLAR, and taught above, to include the management memory system having stored therein an algorithm executable by the management processor system to at least one of track usage of or manage the gas detection device and at least one of the one or more associated accessory devices or the associated combination of accessory device because the organized sequential management system of MILLAR would be understood as an effective way to enhance the ability of a gas detection system to more accurately identify accessories/sensor components, asconfigured and attached as taught by SHALOM. One of ordinary skill would understand and be motivated to make the obvious combination of the teaching of MILLAR with the system and methods of CARUSO as modified by SHALOM as a way to provide a more reliable identification of connected modules associated with the system that would allow for more informed analysis of any subsequent data collected by sensors in accessory modules. This improvement in component identification would be understood by one of ordinary skill as important, as taught by MILLAR (see, for example [0139]) because knowing an accurate sensor module identity allows confidence and integrity in ascertaining accuracy of data, and allows for comparative tracking over time, as well as efficient exchange of components for application in specific environments or when dealing with specific gas analyte detection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BELSKI (US 20160209386 A1) – teaches a general approach to modular gas monitoring system with accessories that can be exchanged with range of technological environment applications.
BONNE (US20080282765A1) – teaches a gas sensor specifically with details regarding sample flow path in relation to position of modular sensors including pumping methods for sample gas handling and self-calibration of sensors controlled by system.
JI (CN 211374643 U) – teaches portable sensing unit with an attached auxiliary gas supply device for environmental monitoring, with sampling pump and central processing unit and a communication device; device integrates related devices required for analyzing the gas concentration together for ease in field detection of the gas concentration.
MO (KR 20190045032 A) – teaches a portable gas sampler and detector general methods and control techniques for sample acquisition and analysis.
PAVEY (US 20170248514 A1) – teaches multiple techniques and methods, including systems and devices for chemical vapour sensing, including multiple exchangeable sensing receptors; replacement sensing components.
WEI (US 8516908 B2) – teaches a multiple approaches to gas sampling system and methods, with remote sampling.
/TONI D SAUNCY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857