DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the length” on line 5 lacks proper antecedent basis since this is the first time that this feature is being introduced in the claim; accordingly, it is suggested to replace the term “the” in this phrase with the term “a”. The phrase “the barrel” on line 5 lacks proper antecedent basis since this is the first time that this feature is being introduced in the claim; accordingly, it is suggested to amend line 1 to recite “a barrel syringe with a barrel, a plunger flange and a barrel flange”. The phrase “the guide support” on lines 6 and 8 should be amended to recite “the syringe guide support” to match the language used earlier in the claim on line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “The first element” on lines 3, 7 and 12 lack proper antecedent basis since the claim introduces three first elements and this language does not match the language used earlier in the claim when these elements were introduced; line 3 should be amended to recite “the first semi-circular element of the thumb ring”, line 7 should be amended to recite “the first semi-circular element of the first finger ring”, and line 12 should be amended to recite “the first semi-circular element of second finger ring”. The phrase “the second element” on lines 4, 8 and 13 lack proper antecedent basis since the claim introduces three second elements and this language does not match the language used earlier in the claim when these elements were introduced; line 4 should be amended to recite “the second semi-circular element of the thumb ring”, line 8 should be amended to recite “the second semi-circular element of the first finger ring”, and line 13 should be amended to recite “the second semi-circular element of second finger ring”. The phrase “the teeth” on lines 5, 9, and 14 lack proper antecedent basis since the claim introduces three different sets of teeth; line 5 should be amended to recite “the teeth of the first and second semi-circular elements of the thumb ring”, line 9 should be amended to recite “the teeth of the first and second semi-circular elements of the first finger ring”, and line 14 should be amended to recite “the teeth of the first and second semi-circular elements of the second finger ring”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the syringe barrel” on line 2 should be amended to recite “the barrel” since this is the language used in claim 1. The phrase “the user’s” on line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis since this is the first time that this feature is being introduced in the claim; accordingly, it is suggested to replace the term “the” in this phrase with the term “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the syringe barrel” on line 2 should be amended to recite “the barrel” since this is the language used in claim 1. The phrase “the user’s” on line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis since this is the first time that this feature is being introduced in the claim; accordingly, it is suggested to replace the term “the” in this phrase with the term “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the length” on line 5 lacks proper antecedent basis since this is the first time that this feature is being introduced in the claim; accordingly, it is suggested to replace the term “the” in this phrase with the term “a”. The phrase “the barrel” on line 5 lacks proper antecedent basis since this is the first time that this feature is being introduced in the claim; accordingly, it is suggested to amend line 1 to recite “a barrel syringe with a barrel, a plunger flange and a barrel flange”. The phrase “the guide support” on lines 6 and 7 should be amended to recite “the syringe guide support” to match the language used earlier in the claim on line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US Pat 3,388,941) in view of Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212) and Merson et al. (US Pat 11,464,910).
Re claim 1, Marcus discloses a gripping adaptor 12+58 (Fig 1-3) for a barrel syringe with a barrel, a plunger flange and a barrel flange (it is noted that the italicized text constitutes a functional limitation and, therefore, “a barrel syringe” having “a barrel”, “a plunger flange” and “a barrel flange” are not a part of the claimed invention; this limitation is met in view of syringe 18 which has barrel 16, plunger flange 78 and barrel flange 42), comprising a thumb ring 60 (Fig 1-3) removably attachable to the plunger flange (Col 2, Lines 30-31; Col 4, Lines 14-20), a syringe guide support 48 (to the left in Fig 2) removably attachable to the barrel flange (Col 2, Lines 27-29; Col 3, Lines 46-49) and extending partway down a length of the barrel (as seen in Fig 1-3), and a first finger ring 28+40 (to the left in Fig 2) attached to the syringe guide support below the barrel flange (as seen in Fig 2, when rotated 90 degrees counterclockwise, ring 28 would be below barrel flange 42). Marcus does not disclose a second finger ring attached to the guide support below the first finger ring or that the finger rings are size-adjustable.
Peterson, however, teaches a syringe adaptor 10 (Fig 1,3, wherein the wall 16 possessing the rings 38,40 is placed at an angle relative to the barrel 52 of syringe 50 as in Fig 10; comparable to syringe adaptor 12 of Marcus) comprising a syringe guide support 18 (Fig 1,3) removably attachable to a barrel flange 58 (Fig 1) of a barrel syringe 50 (Fig 1), a first finger ring 38 (Fig 1,3) attached to the syringe guide support below the barrel flange (as seen in Fig 10 and annotated Fig A below, when held in an inverted nature to the orientation shown in Fig 10, ring 38 will be below the barrel flange since the entirety of ring 38 will be below the barrel flange), and a second finger receiver 40 (Fig 1,3) attached to the syringe guide support below the first finger receiver (as seen in Fig 10 and annotated Fig A below, when held in an inverted nature to the orientation shown in Fig 10, ring 40 will be below ring 38 since the lower surface of ring 40 is below the lower surface of ring 38); Peterson teaches that the design of their gripping adaptor increases the accuracy in applications where precise and small volumes are needed (Para 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Marcus to replace their syringe adaptor 12 with syringe adaptor 10 of Peterson, which has a second finger ring below the first finger ring, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy in applications where precise and small volumes are needed (Para 3). Peterson does not disclose that the thumb ring and both of the finger rings are size-adjustable.
Merson, however, teaches a thumb ring 110D (Fig 19-21) of a plunger 106 (Fig 19-21) that is size-adjustable (via screw 178; Col 5, Lines 48-57) for the purpose of better engaging the thumb within the ring to enhance the operation and control of the syringe by a single-hand of the user (Col 1, Lines 6-10; Col 1, Lines 49-55; Col 5, Lines 55-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Marcus to include the thumb ring with a screw, making it size-adjustable, as taught by Merson, for the purpose of better engaging the thumb within the ring to enhance the operation and control of the syringe by a single-hand of the user (Col 1, Lines 6-10; Col 1, Lines 49-55; Col 5, Lines 55-57).
In view of Merson, one of ordinary skill in the art would have also found it obvious to modify Peterson’s finger rings (which have been incorporated into Marcus as set forth above) to also by size-adjustable by including a screw in each of the rings for the purpose of better engaging the fingers within the rings to enhance the operation and control of the syringe by a single-hand of the user (Col 1, Lines 6-10; Col 1, Lines 49-55; Col 5, Lines 55-57).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US Pat 3,388,941)/Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212)/Merson et al. (US Pat 11,464,910) in view of Clements (US Pat 5,925,032).
Re claim 2, Marcus discloses that the thumb ring is attached to a thumb ring support base 68 (Fig 2,3) with a plunger flange insertion slot (within ridge 76, as seen in Fig 3; Col 3, Lines 70-73); the thumb ring support base is connected to a thumb ring locking arm 66 (Fig 1,3) with a plunger flange retainer slot (shown but not labeled in Fig 3; Col 3, Lines 61-62 set forth that arm 66 also has a ridge like 76); the syringe guide support is attached to a finger support base 22 (Fig 2,3) with a barrel flange insertion slot (within ridge 24, as seen in Fig 3; Col 2, Lines 64-72); and the finger support base is connected to a finger support locking arm 32 (Fig 3) with a barrel flange retainer slot (within ridge 36, as seen in Fig 3; Col 2, Lines 64-72). Marcus/Peterson/Merson does not disclose that the support bases are hinge connected to their locking arms or that the locking arms have locking tabs.
Clements, however, teaches an adaptor 10 (Fig 1-4) comprising a support base 14 (Fig 1-4) with an flange insertion slot (the open interior of base 14 seen in Fig 1-3, but not labeled) hinge connected (via hinge 21; Col 2, Lines 20-22) to a locking arm 15 (Fig 1-4) with a flange retainer slot 17 (Fig 1-3) and a locking tab 24 (Fig 1-3) for the purpose of holding the adaptor on the flange (Col 1, Lines 30-31. Since this is the same result as Marcus’s connection configuration, the connection configuration of Marcus and the connection configuration of Clements were art recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Marcus to include a hinge connection between the bases and their respective locking arms and to provide each locking arm with a locking tab, as taught by Clements, since it has been held that substituting parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 4, Marcus as modified by Peterson, Merson, and Clements in the rejection of claim 2 above disclose all the claimed features with Peterson teaching that the syringe guide support extends nearly the length of the barrel (as seen in Fig 1) and includes an upwardly curved end 30 (Fig 1) to support and protect a user’s little finger (Para 32). Since the modification to Marcus by Peterson in the rejection of claim 1 above results in assembly 12 being replaced by Peterson’s assembly 10, the motivation cited in claim 1 also applies to this claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US Pat 3,388,941) in view of Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212).
Re claim 6, Marcus discloses a gripping adaptor 12+58 (Fig 1-3) for a barrel syringe with a barrel, a plunger flange and a barrel flange (it is noted that the italicized text constitutes a functional limitation and, therefore, “a barrel syringe” having “a barrel”, “a plunger flange” and “a barrel flange” are not a part of the claimed invention; this limitation is met in view of syringe 18 which has barrel 16, plunger flange 78 and barrel flange 42), comprising a thumb ring 60 (Fig 1-3) removably attachable to the plunger flange (Col 2, Lines 30-31; Col 4, Lines 14-20), a syringe guide support 48 (to the left in Fig 2) removably attachable to the barrel flange (Col 2, Lines 27-29; Col 3, Lines 46-49) and extending partway down a length of the barrel (as seen in Fig 1-3), and a first finger ring 28+40 (to the left in Fig 2) attached to the syringe guide support below the barrel flange (as seen in Fig 2, when rotated 90 degrees counterclockwise, ring 28 would be below barrel flange 42). Marcus does not disclose a second finger ring attached to the guide support below the first finger ring.
Peterson, however, teaches a syringe adaptor 10 (Fig 1,3, wherein the wall 16 possessing the rings 38,40 is placed at an angle relative to the barrel 52 of syringe 50 as in Fig 10; comparable to syringe adaptor 12 of Marcus) comprising a syringe guide support 18 (Fig 1,3) removably attachable to a barrel flange 58 (Fig 1) of a barrel syringe 50 (Fig 1), a first finger ring 38 (Fig 1,3) attached to the syringe guide support below the barrel flange (as seen in Fig 10 and annotated Fig A above, when held in an inverted nature to the orientation shown in Fig 10, ring 38 will be below the barrel flange since the entirety of ring 38 will be below the barrel flange), and a second finger receiver 40 (Fig 1,3) attached to the syringe guide support below the first finger receiver (as seen in Fig 10 and annotated Fig A above, when held in an inverted nature to the orientation shown in Fig 10, ring 40 will be below ring 38 since the lower surface of ring 40 is below the lower surface of ring 38); Peterson teaches that the design of their gripping adaptor increases the accuracy in applications where precise and small volumes are needed (Para 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Marcus to replace syringe adaptor 12 with syringe adaptor 10 of Peterson, which has a second finger ring below the first finger ring, for the purpose of increasing the accuracy in applications where precise and small volumes are needed (Para 3).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US Pat 3,388,941)/Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212) in view of Clements (US Pat 5,925,032).
Re claim 7, Marcus discloses that the thumb ring is attached to a thumb ring support base 68 (Fig 2,3) with a plunger flange insertion slot (within ridge 76, as seen in Fig 3; Col 3, Lines 70-73); the thumb ring support base is connected to a thumb ring locking arm 66 (Fig 1,3) with a plunger flange retainer slot (shown but not labeled in Fig 3; Col 3, Lines 61-62 set forth that arm 66 also has a ridge like 76); the syringe guide support is attached to a finger support base 22 (Fig 2,3) with a barrel flange insertion slot (within ridge 24, as seen in Fig 3; Col 2, Lines 64-72); and the finger support base is connected to a finger support locking arm 32 (Fig 3) with a barrel flange retainer slot (within ridge 36, as seen in Fig 3; Col 2, Lines 64-72). Marcus/Peterson does not disclose that the support bases are hinge connected to their locking arms or that the locking arms have locking tabs.
Clements, however, teaches an adaptor 10 (Fig 1-4) comprising a support base 14 (Fig 1-4) with an flange insertion slot (the open interior of base 14 seen in Fig 1-3, but not labeled) hinge connected (via hinge 21; Col 2, Lines 20-22) to a locking arm 15 (Fig 1-4) with a flange retainer slot 17 (Fig 1-3) and a locking tab 24 (Fig 1-3) for the purpose of holding the adaptor on the flange (Col 1, Lines 30-31. Since this is the same result as Marcus’s connection configuration, the connection configuration of Marcus and the connection configuration of Clements were art recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Marcus to include a hinge connection between the bases and their respective locking arms and to provide each locking arm with a locking tab, as taught by Clements, since it has been held that substituting parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabelman et al. (US Pat 4,465,478) in view of Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212) and Aguilar (US Pat 5,833,668).
Re claim 1, Sabelman discloses a gripping adaptor 10+12 (Fig 1,2) for a barrel syringe with a barrel, a plunger flange and a barrel flange (it is noted that the italicized text constitutes functional language and, therefore, a “barrel syringe” having “a barrel”, “a plunger flange” and “a barrel flange” are not a part of the claimed invention; this limitation is met in view of Fig 1 that shows a barrel syringe having a barrel 14, a barrel flange 22 and a plunger flange (received within holder 30 in Fig 2)), comprising a thumb ring 12+38+36 (Fig 1) removably attachable to the plunger flange (as seen in Fig 1; Col 3, Lines 3-6); a syringe guide support 10 (Fig 1-3) removably attachable to the barrel flange and extending partway down a length of the barrel (as seen in Fig 2; Col 3, Lines 6-7); a first finger retainer 40 (Fig 2, toward the bottom of the page) attached to the syringe guide support below the barrel flange (as seen in Fig 2, the entirety of retainer 40 lies below the entirety of the barrel flange); and a second finger retainer 42 (Fig 2, toward the bottom of the page) attached to the syringe guide support below the first finger ring (as seen in Fig 2, the upper edge of finger retainer 42 is below the upper edge of finger retainer 40). Sabelman does not disclose that the finger retainers are finger rings or that the thumb ring and the finger rings are size-adjustable.
Peterson, however, teaches providing a syringe guide support 10 (Fig 1,10) with finger retainers 38,40 (Fig 1,10) that are rings (as seen in Fig 1,10; Para 32) for the purpose of allowing a user to hold the support without a compression grip (Para 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sabelman to include the finger retainers as rings, as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of allowing the user to hold the support without a compression grip (Para 32). Peterson does not disclose that the thumb ring and the finger rings are size-adjustable.
Aguilar, however, teaches a thumb ring 25+26 (Fig 3,4) that is size-adjustable (Col 9, Lines 9-40-47) for the purpose of accommodating different sized fingers to ensure that even users with small fingers can maintain control of the syringe enough to perform one-handed (Col 4, Lines 32-48; Col 5, Lines 38-43; Col 9, Lines 63-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sabelman to include the thumb ring as one that is size-adjustable, as taught by Aguilar, for the purpose of accommodating different sized fingers to ensure that even users with small fingers can maintain control of the syringe enough to perform one-handed (Col 4, Lines 32-48; Col 5, Lines 38-43; Col 9, Lines 63-65).
In view of Aguilar, one of ordinary skill in the art would have also found it obvious to modify Sabelman/Peterson’s finger rings to also by size-adjustable for the purpose of accommodating different sized fingers to ensure that even users with small fingers can maintain control of the syringe enough to perform one-handed (Col 4, Lines 32-48; Col 5, Lines 38-43; Col 9, Lines 63-65).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabelman et al. (US Pat 4,465,478)/Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212)/Aguilar (US Pat 5,833,668) in view of Clements (US Pat 5,925,032).
Re claim 2, Sabelman discloses that the thumb ring is attached to a thumb ring support base 12 (Fig 2,3) with a plunger flange insertion slot (between holder 30, as seen in Fig 1,2) and that the syringe guide support is attached to a finger support base 20 (Fig 1,2) with a barrel flange insertion slot (as seen in Fig 2). Sabelman/Peterson/Aguilar does not disclose that the thumb ring support base is hinge connected to a thumb ring locking arm with a plunger flange retainer slot and a first locking tab or that the finger support base is hinge connected to a finger support locking arm with a barrel flange retainer slot and a second locking tab.
Clements, however, teaches an adaptor 10 (Fig 1-4) comprising a support base 14 (Fig 1-4) with an flange insertion slot (the open interior of base 14 seen in Fig 1-3, but not labeled) hinge connected (via hinge 21; Col 2, Lines 20-22) to a locking arm 15 (Fig 1-4) with a flange retainer slot 17 (Fig 1-3) and a locking tab 24 (Fig 1-3) for the purpose of holding the adaptor on the flange (Col 1, Lines 30-31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sabelman to include each base with a respective locking arm hinged connected thereto and provide each locking arm with a locking tab, as taught by Clements, for the purpose of holding the bases on their respective flanges (Col 1, Lines 30-31).
Re claim 3, Sabelman as modified by Peterson/Aguilar/Clements in the rejection of claim 2 above discloses all the claimed features with Aguilar teaching that each of the thumb ring, first finger ring and second finger ring comprises first and second semi-circular elements 25,26 (Fig 3,4) open at an end opposite a thumb/first finger ring/second finger ring ring support base 24 (as seen in Fig 3), the first element includes teeth 27 on an outer surface and the second element includes teeth 28 on an inner surface so that the teeth interlock when pressed together, fixing the size of the thumb ring/first finger ring/second finger ring (Col 9, Lines 32-40). Since Aguilar’s size-adjustable ring was introduced into the Sabelman adaptor in the rejection of claim 1 above, the motivation applied to claim 1 also applies to this claim.
Re claims 4 and 5, Sabelman discloses that the syringe guide support extends nearly the length of the barrel (as seen in Fig 2), but does not disclose that the syringe guide support includes an upwardly curved end to support and protect a user’s little finger. Peterson, however, teaches an upwardly curved end 30 (Fig 1,10) to support and protect a user’s little finger (Para 32) for the purpose of ensuring a hand position that increases accuracy in applications where precise and small volumes are needed (Para 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sabelman to include an upwardly curved end to support and protect a user’s little finger, as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of ensuring a hand position that increases accuracy in applications where precise and small volumes are needed (Para 3).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabelman et al. (US Pat 4,465,478) in view of Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212).
Re claim 6, Sabelman discloses a gripping adaptor 10+12 (Fig 1,2) for a barrel syringe with a barrel, a plunger flange and a barrel flange (it is noted that the italicized text constitutes functional language and, therefore, a “barrel syringe” having “a barrel”, “a plunger flange” and “a barrel flange” are not a part of the claimed invention; this limitation is met in view of Fig 1 that shows a barrel syringe having a barrel 14, a barrel flange 22 and a plunger flange (received within holder 30 in Fig 2)), comprising a thumb ring 36 (Fig 1) removably attachable to the plunger flange (as seen in Fig 1; Col 3, Lines 3-6); a syringe guide support 10 (Fig 1-3) removably attachable to the barrel flange and extending partway down a length of the barrel (as seen in Fig 2; Col 3, Lines 6-7); a first finger retainer 40 (Fig 2, toward the bottom of the page) attached to the syringe guide support below the barrel flange (as seen in Fig 2, the entirety of retainer 40 lies below the entirety of the barrel flange); and a second finger retainer 42 (Fig 2, toward the bottom of the page) attached to the syringe guide support below the first finger ring (as seen in Fig 2, the upper edge of finger retainer 42 is below the upper edge of finger retainer 40). Sabelman does not disclose that the finger retainers are finger rings.
Peterson, however, teaches providing a syringe guide support 10 (Fig 1,10) with finger retainers 38,40 (Fig 1,10) that are rings (as seen in Fig 1,10; Para 32) for the purpose of allowing a user to hold the support without a compression grip (Para 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sabelman to include the finger retainers as rings, as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of allowing the user to hold the support without a compression grip (Para 32).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabelman et al. (US Pat 4,465,478)/Peterson et al. (PG PUB 2024/0075212) in view of Clements (US Pat 5,925,032).
Re claim 7, Sabelman discloses that the thumb ring is attached to a thumb ring support base 12 (Fig 2,3) with a plunger flange insertion slot (between holder 30, as seen in Fig 1,2) and that the syringe guide support is attached to a finger support base 20 (Fig 1,2) with a barrel flange insertion slot (as seen in Fig 2). Sabelman/Peterson does not disclose that the thumb ring support base is hinge connected to a thumb ring locking arm with a plunger flange retainer slot and a first locking tab or that the finger support base is hinge connected to a finger support locking arm with a barrel flange retainer slot and a second locking tab.
Clements, however, teaches an adaptor 10 (Fig 1-4) comprising a support base 14 (Fig 1-4) with an flange insertion slot (the open interior of base 14 seen in Fig 1-3, but not labeled) hinge connected (via hinge 21; Col 2, Lines 20-22) to a locking arm 15 (Fig 1-4) with a flange retainer slot 17 (Fig 1-3) and a locking tab 24 (Fig 1-3) for the purpose of holding the adaptor on the flange (Col 1, Lines 30-31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sabelman to include each base with a respective locking arm hinged connected thereto and provide each locking arm with a locking tab, as taught by Clements, for the purpose of holding the bases on their respective flanges (Col 1, Lines 30-31).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PG PUB 2020/0054849 to Venticinque disclose a gripping adaptor comprising multiple finger rings. US Pat 10,973,982 to Keating and US Pat 10,980,945 to Patron Borbolla each disclose size-adjustable thumb rings comprising semi-circular elements that engage with each other fixing the size of the thumb ring.
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783