DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the amendment request/REMARKS correspondence filed on 09/02/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al (US20210274535) in view of Bagheri et al (US20230397191).
Regarding claim 1, Yi teaches a first node for wireless communications, comprising:
monitoring a control channel candidate scheduling a first cell in a first search space set ([0061]-[0065], [0072], [0074], [0085], [0235]-[0236], discloses that the wireless device (receiver) monitors a set of PDCCH candidates (control channel candidates), in search space sets, based on RRC configuration; this includes association with CORESETs and aggregation levels, and monitoring based on DCI formats—matching standard terminology used in the claim);
But Yi fails to teach a first receiver, receiving a first information block and a second information block; wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for the first cell, the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell, and the second information block is used to indicate the first search space set; the second information block comprises at least a first field set in the first field set and a second field set, and the second field set comprises a first field subset; when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell; when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset; when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell; when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell.
However, Bagheri teaches
a first receiver ([0047], transceiver),
receiving a first information block ([0057], [0064], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], RRC configuration message—CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, PCell/SCell configuration) and a second information block (([0057]-[0065], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], DCI (format 1_0, 1_1, 2_4) & disclosure of reception and use of multiple information blocks—particularly in the form of RRC configurations like CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, Separate PDCCH/DCI configurations across PCell and SCell-P; indicates cross carrier scheduling, configures which cell schedules which CORESET/search space);
wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for the first cell ([0057-[0065], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], PCell (primary cell), the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell ([0057]-[0064], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], PCell configures SCell-P to scheduling itself or vice versa (cross-carrier scheduling), and the second information block is used to indicate the first search space set ([0058]-[0060], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], DCI format (DCI 1_0 etc) associated with CORESET/search space) & (Furthermore—Cross-carrier scheduling logic via CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, a scheduling cell includes other cells it schedules-The second information block (DCI) defines the search space/CORESET for scheduling, may refer to search space set group index, span or timer);
the second information block comprises a first field set, or comprises the first field set and a second field set ([0059], [0065]-[0068], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091] fields like CORESET ID, search space ID, scheduling delay, timer, and the second field set comprises a first field subset ([0060]-[0061], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091] second field set comprises the first field subset—additional fields such as DCI format UL/DL assignment delta_offset) & (([0058]-[0065], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091]—maps to configuration infor for how and when the UE monitors a search space; these define specific control parameters enabling UL-CI or PDCCH monitoring adaptation; multiple information blocks indicate in search space set, second DCI carrying scheduling information and link this with search space monitoring on a particular cell(s), DCI format or field sets and multiple information blocks, field subsets relevant to configuring search space and CORESET associations for PDCCH monitoring, in context of multiple cells (primary and secondary (target cells), cross carrier scheduling tailored based on specific field subsets);
when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell ([0058]-[0059], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091] a first search space is associated with a first CORESET in the SCell-P and the second search space is associated with a second CORESET in the PCell; this shows that in the absence of specific fields (first field set), the default monitoring (first search space set) is done on SCell-P (second cell));
when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset ([0064], [0068]. [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], a field in CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig lists all the search space indices…or CORESET indices…; field in the second information block (first field subset) define cross-carrier capability, and target field (specific DCI format supported or CORESET mapping) determines behavior; Further states: a search space might be associated with two CORESETs a rule may define which candidates—the decision logic about which CORESET (and hence which cell) the search space belongs to matches claim logic using the presence of a specific field (target field));
when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell (([0064], [0068], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], a search space might be associated with two CORESETs…a first CORESET in PCell and a second CORESET in SCell-P…”…”indicates that PCell may be scheduled via both self-scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling…”; this states the presence of the target field in the second info block (field enabling dual-CORESET mapping, activates a split control candidate set—some on PCell and others on SCell-P);
and when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell ([0064], [0068], [0045], [0068], [0075], [0082], [0091], in a search space is not configured with two CORESETs, and the creoss-carrier support fields (target field) is absent—the search space is only tied to the first cell; if the two CORESETs are not associated with different CORESET pool indices…then PCell…may be scheduled via both…if not only on one).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 2, Yi fails to teach the first node wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells), or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 3, Yi fails to teach the first node wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 4, Yi teaches the first node comprising:
the first receiver, receiving a first signaling ([0106], [0125] receiver receiving signaling) and
But Yi fails to disclose
the first transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell;
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal;
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value.
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value;
However, Bagheri teaches—
the first transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell ([0047], transceiver);
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 5, Yi fails to teach the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored; or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field.
However Bagheri teaches the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells); or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 6, Yi fails to teach for wireless communications, comprising: a second node a second transmitter, transmitting a first information block and a second information block; wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for a first cell, the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell, and the second information block is used to indicate a first search space set; the second information block comprises at least a first field set or comprises the first field set and a second field set, and the second field set comprises a first field subset; when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell; when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset; when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell; when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell.
However, Bagheri teaches
a second transmitter ([0047], transceiver), transmitting a first information block ([0057], [0064] RRC configuration message—CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, PCell/SCell configuration) and a second information block (([0057]-[0065], DCI (format 1_0, 1_1, 2_4) & disclosure of reception and use of multiple information blocks—particularly in the form of RRC configurations like CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, Separate PDCCH/DCI configurations across PCell and SCell-P; indicates cross carrier scheduling, configures which cell schedules which CORESET/search space);
wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for the first cell ([0057-[0065], PCell (primary cell), the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell ([0057]-[0064], PCell configures SCell-P to scheduling itself or vice versa (cross-carrier scheduling), and the second information block is used to indicate the first search space set ([0058]-[0060], DCI format (DCI 1_0 etc) associated with CORESET/search space) & (Furthermore—Cross-carrier scheduling logic via CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, a scheduling cell includes other cells it schedules-The second information block (DCI) defines the search space/CORESET for scheduling, may refer to search space set group index, span or timer);
the second information block comprises a first field set or comprises the first field set and a second field set ([0059], [0065]-[0068], fields like CORESET ID, search space ID, scheduling delay, timer, and the second field set comprises a first field subset ([0060]-[0061] second field set comprises the first field subset—additional fields such as DCI format UL/DL assignment delta_offset) & (([0058]-[0065]—maps to configuration infor for how and when the UE monitors a search space; these define specific control parameters enabling UL-CI or PDCCH monitoring adaptation; multiple information blocks indicate in search space set, second DCI carrying scheduling information and link this with search space monitoring on a particular cell(s), DCI format or field sets and multiple information blocks, field subsets relevant to configuring search space and CORESET associations for PDCCH monitoring, in context of multiple cells (primary and secondary (target cells), cross carrier scheduling tailored based on specific field subsets);
when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell ([0058]-[0059], a first search space is associated with a first CORESET in the SCell-P and the second search space is associated with a second CORESET in the PCell; this shows that in the absence of specific fields (first field set), the default monitoring (first search space set) is done on SCell-P (second cell));
when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset ([0064], [0068], a field in CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig lists all the search space indices…or CORESET indices…; field in the second information block (first field subset) define cross-carrier capability, and target field (specific DCI format supported or CORESET mapping) determines behavior; Further states: a search space might be associated with two CORESETs a rule may define which candidates—the decision logic about which CORESET (and hence which cell) the search space belongs to matches claim logic using the presence of a specific field (target field));
when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell (([0064], [0068], a search space might be associated with two CORESETs…a first CORESET in PCell and a second CORESET in SCell-P…”…”indicates that PCell may be scheduled via both self-scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling…”; this states the presence of the target field in the second info block (field enabling dual-CORESET mapping, activates a split control candidate set—some on PCell and others on SCell-P);
when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell ([0064], [0068], in a search space is not configured with two CORESETs, and the creoss-carrier support fields (target field) is absent—the search space is only tied to the first cell; if the two CORESETs are not associated with different CORESET pool indices…then PCell…may be scheduled via both…if not only on one).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 7, Yi fails to teach the second node wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells), or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 8, Yi fails to teach the second node wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 9, Yi teaches the second node comprising:
the second transmitter receiver, transmitting a first signaling ([0106], [0125] receiver receiving signaling) and
But Yi fails to disclose
the second transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell;
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal;
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value.
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value;
However, Bagheri teaches—
the second transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell ([0047], transceiver);
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 10, Yi fails to teach the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored; or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field.
However Bagheri teaches the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells); or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 11, Yi teaches a method for wireless communications, comprising:
monitoring a control channel candidate scheduling a first cell in a first search space set ([0235]-[0236], discloses that the wireless device (receiver) monitors a set of PDCCH candidates (control channel candidates), in search space sets, based on RRC configuration; this includes association with CORESETs and aggregation levels, and monitoring based on DCI formats—matching standard terminology used in the claim);
But Yi fails to teach a first receiver, receiving a first information block and a second information block; wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for the first cell, the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell, and the second information block is used to indicate the first search space set; the second information block comprises at least a first field set in the first field set and a second field set, and the second field set comprises a first field subset; when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell; when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset; when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell; when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell.
However, Bagheri teaches
receiving a first information block ([0057], [0064] RRC configuration message—CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, PCell/SCell configuration) and a second information block (([0057]-[0065], DCI (format 1_0, 1_1, 2_4) & disclosure of reception and use of multiple information blocks—particularly in the form of RRC configurations like CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, Separate PDCCH/DCI configurations across PCell and SCell-P; indicates cross carrier scheduling, configures which cell schedules which CORESET/search space);
wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for the first cell ([0057-[0065], PCell (primary cell), the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell ([0057]-[0064], PCell configures SCell-P to scheduling itself or vice versa (cross-carrier scheduling), and the second information block is used to indicate the first search space set ([0058]-[0060], DCI format (DCI 1_0 etc) associated with CORESET/search space) & (Furthermore—Cross-carrier scheduling logic via CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, a scheduling cell includes other cells it schedules-The second information block (DCI) defines the search space/CORESET for scheduling, may refer to search space set group index, span or timer);
the second information block comprises a first field set or comprises the first field set and a second field set ([0059], [0065]-[0068], fields like CORESET ID, search space ID, scheduling delay, timer, and the second field set comprises a first field subset ([0060]-[0061] second field set comprises the first field subset—additional fields such as DCI format UL/DL assignment delta_offset) & (([0058]-[0065]—maps to configuration infor for how and when the UE monitors a search space; these define specific control parameters enabling UL-CI or PDCCH monitoring adaptation; multiple information blocks indicate in search space set, second DCI carrying scheduling information and link this with search space monitoring on a particular cell(s), DCI format or field sets and multiple information blocks, field subsets relevant to configuring search space and CORESET associations for PDCCH monitoring, in context of multiple cells (primary and secondary (target cells), cross carrier scheduling tailored based on specific field subsets);
when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell ([0058]-[0059], a first search space is associated with a first CORESET in the SCell-P and the second search space is associated with a second CORESET in the PCell; this shows that in the absence of specific fields (first field set), the default monitoring (first search space set) is done on SCell-P (second cell));
when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset ([0064], [0068], a field in CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig lists all the search space indices…or CORESET indices…; field in the second information block (first field subset) define cross-carrier capability, and target field (specific DCI format supported or CORESET mapping) determines behavior; Further states: a search space might be associated with two CORESETs a rule may define which candidates—the decision logic about which CORESET (and hence which cell) the search space belongs to matches claim logic using the presence of a specific field (target field));
when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell (([0064], [0068], a search space might be associated with two CORESETs…a first CORESET in PCell and a second CORESET in SCell-P…”…”indicates that PCell may be scheduled via both self-scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling…”; this states the presence of the target field in the second info block (field enabling dual-CORESET mapping, activates a split control candidate set—some on PCell and others on SCell-P);
and when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell ([0064], [0068], in a search space is not configured with two CORESETs, and the creoss-carrier support fields (target field) is absent—the search space is only tied to the first cell; if the two CORESETs are not associated with different CORESET pool indices…then PCell…may be scheduled via both…if not only on one).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 12, Yi fails to teach the method wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells), or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 13, Yi fails to teach the method wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 14, Yi teaches the method comprising:
the first receiver, receiving a first signaling ([0106], [0125] receiver receiving signaling) and
But Yi fails to disclose
the first transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell;
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal;
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value.
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value;
However, Bagheri teaches—
the first transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell ([0047], transceiver);
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 15, Yi fails to teach the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored; or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field.
However Bagheri teaches the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells); or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 16, Yi fails to teach a method for wireless communications, comprising: a second node a second transmitter, transmitting a first information block and a second information block; wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for a first cell, the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell, and the second information block is used to indicate a first search space set; the second information block comprises at least a first field set in the first field set and a second field set, and the second field set comprises a first field subset; when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell; when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset; when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell; and when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell.
However, Bagheri teaches
transmitting a first information block ([0057], [0064] RRC configuration message—CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, PCell/SCell configuration) and a second information block (([0057]-[0065], DCI (format 1_0, 1_1, 2_4) & disclosure of reception and use of multiple information blocks—particularly in the form of RRC configurations like CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, Separate PDCCH/DCI configurations across PCell and SCell-P; indicates cross carrier scheduling, configures which cell schedules which CORESET/search space);
wherein both the second information block and the first information block are for the first cell ([0057-[0065], PCell (primary cell), the first information block indicates that a scheduling cell of the first cell comprises a second cell ([0057]-[0064], PCell configures SCell-P to scheduling itself or vice versa (cross-carrier scheduling), and the second information block is used to indicate the first search space set ([0058]-[0060], DCI format (DCI 1_0 etc) associated with CORESET/search space) & (Furthermore—Cross-carrier scheduling logic via CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig, a scheduling cell includes other cells it schedules-The second information block (DCI) defines the search space/CORESET for scheduling, may refer to search space set group index, span or timer);
the second information block comprises at least a first field set in the first field set and a second field set ([0059], [0065]-[0068], fields like CORESET ID, search space ID, scheduling delay, timer, and the second field set comprises a first field subset ([0060]-[0061] second field set comprises the first field subset—additional fields such as DCI format UL/DL assignment delta_offset) & (([0058]-[0065]—maps to configuration infor for how and when the UE monitors a search space; these define specific control parameters enabling UL-CI or PDCCH monitoring adaptation; multiple information blocks indicate in search space set, second DCI carrying scheduling information and link this with search space monitoring on a particular cell(s), DCI format or field sets and multiple information blocks, field subsets relevant to configuring search space and CORESET associations for PDCCH monitoring, in context of multiple cells (primary and secondary (target cells), cross carrier scheduling tailored based on specific field subsets);
when the second information block does not comprise the first field subset, the first search space set is on the second cell ([0058]-[0059], a first search space is associated with a first CORESET in the SCell-P and the second search space is associated with a second CORESET in the PCell; this shows that in the absence of specific fields (first field set), the default monitoring (first search space set) is done on SCell-P (second cell));
when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset, whether the second information block comprises a target field is used to determine whether a first search space set comprises a control channel candidate on the second cell, and the target field belongs to the first field subset ([0064], [0068], a field in CrossCarrierSchedulingConfig lists all the search space indices…or CORESET indices…; field in the second information block (first field subset) define cross-carrier capability, and target field (specific DCI format supported or CORESET mapping) determines behavior; Further states: a search space might be associated with two CORESETs a rule may define which candidates—the decision logic about which CORESET (and hence which cell) the search space belongs to matches claim logic using the presence of a specific field (target field));
when the second information comprises the target field, the first search space set comprises a first control channel candidate set and a second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set is on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set is on the second cell (([0064], [0068], a search space might be associated with two CORESETs…a first CORESET in PCell and a second CORESET in SCell-P…”…”indicates that PCell may be scheduled via both self-scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling…”; this states the presence of the target field in the second info block (field enabling dual-CORESET mapping, activates a split control candidate set—some on PCell and others on SCell-P); and
when the second information block comprises at least one field in the first field subset and the second information block does not comprise the target field, the first search space set is on the first cell ([0064], [0068], in a search space is not configured with two CORESETs, and the creoss-carrier support fields (target field) is absent—the search space is only tied to the first cell; if the two CORESETs are not associated with different CORESET pool indices…then PCell…may be scheduled via both…if not only on one).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 17, Yi fails to teach the method wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein the second field set also comprises a reference field, the reference field is a field other than the first field subset in the second field set, the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set, the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells), or the reference field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the second cell in the first search space set, and the target field indicates a number of control channel candidate(s) on the first cell in the first search space set; or, the target field indicates that the first search space set comprises control channel candidate(s) on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 18, Yi fails to teach the method wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity;
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell.
However, Bagheri teaches the first node wherein one field in the first field set comprised in the second information block indicates a first identity;
when the first search space set is on the first cell, an identity of the first search space set on the first cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set is on the second cell, an identity of the first search space set on the second cell is equal to the first identity ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the first search space set comprises the first control channel candidate set and the second control channel candidate set, the first control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the first cell, and the second control channel candidate set belongs to a search space set identified by the first identity on the second cell ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 19, Yi teaches the method comprising:
the second transmitter receiver, transmitting a first signaling ([0106], [0125] receiver receiving signaling) and
But Yi fails to disclose
the second transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell;
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal;
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value.
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value;
However, Bagheri teaches—
the second transceiver, operating a first signal on the first cell ([0047], transceiver);
the first signaling occupies a control channel candidate in the first search space set; the first signaling schedules the first signal ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells);
when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the second cell, the first signaling comprises a first field, and a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to the first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
wherein the operating action is transmitting, or the operating action is receiving; the first information block indicates a first value ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Regarding claim 20, Yi fails to teach the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored; or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field.
However Bagheri teaches the first node wherein when the control channel candidate in the first search space set occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, a value of the first field in the first signaling is equal to 0, or, the first field in the first signaling is ignored ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells); or,
whether the first signaling comprises the first field is related to whether a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell or on the second cell, when a control channel candidate occupied by the first signaling is on the first cell, the first signaling does not comprise the first field ([0059]-[0063], information block(s) and search space set indication, a first DCI field (specific DCI format) includes an indication of a search space set which is mapped to a information block(s), the first field set would then correspond to a field in this DCI that selects the search space set; A second information block (a second DCI or part of the same DCI) that includes a second field set—reference/target field representing candidates on one cell (PCell/SCell-P) – second information block indicating a number of candidates split across multiple cells).
Yi and Bagheri are considered analogous because they are from the same field of scheduling wireless communications, particularly flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine Yi and Bagheri in order to yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI.
Yi teaches a general system where control information may be used to schedule communications between a wireless device and a base station. Furthermore, Bagheri teaches dual scheduling configuration with particular focus on information blocks and cross carrier scheduling. Combining the references of Yi and Bagheri would yield a system and method that supports flexible scheduling of control channels across multiple cells, particularly the dynamic selection of a search space set for location DCI. The motivation for combining these references is in decreasing unnecessary UE monitoring overhead, more efficient use of control resources and decreased power consumption and latency due to misalignment between the scheduler and control channel monitoring by enabling dynamic determination of which cell the UE should monitor for control channels, based on real-time signaling that reflects scheduling intent and capability.
Response to Arguments
First, Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment/REMARKS, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Second, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 vis-à-vis 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the Examiner’s reliance on these references remains supported.
First, the Applicant asserts that Yi merely teaches “generic control channel monitoring” and lacks the dynamic determination of the search space set’s location based on the presence or absence of specific fields within a “second information block”. However, this characterization is not accurate.
Yi explicitly discloses dynamic monitoring of search spaces and control channel candidates that depends on configuration information and conditions conveyed by higher-layer signaling and DCI-level fields. For example, Yi describes “A UE monitors a first or second search space set based on configuration parameters in RRC signaling and DCI” ([0061]-[0065], [0072], [0074], [0085]). Yi further teaches that the determination of which search space to monitor may depend on the presence or absence of specific DCI fields or configuration parameters indicating whether cross-carrier scheduling is enabled or which CORESET applies. Thus Yi, performs monitoring that is context-dependent and driven by field-level presence/absence or configuration parameters, consistent with Claim 1’s “monitoring a control channel candidate scheduling a first cell in a first search space set.”
While Yi may use standard DCI formats, its teaching of conditional monitoring behavior depending on signaling and configuration satisfies the claimed monitoring limitation. The Applicant’s distinction that Yi does not “inspire this specific context-dependent monitoring” is a matter of intended use or implementation detail, not a patentable structural difference.
Second, the Applicant’s argument that Begheri’s DCI cannot be equated to the claimed “second information block” is also unpersuasive. Bagheri teaches a DCI including multiple fields (e.g DCI formats 1_0, 1_1, 2_4) that carry indicators for cross-carrier scheduling and CORESET mappings ([0045], [0068], [0075, [0082], [0091]). A field structure where the presence or absence of specific indicators or bits (e.g. carrier indicator field, CORESET index, control resource set field) determines which search space or CORESET us used for control channel monitoring. This corresponds directly to the claim’s “second information block” containing a “first field subset” and “target field” where the presence or absence of such field determines which cell’s search space (first or second) is used.
While Applicant contends that an RRC-level Information Element (IE) is different from DCI (a PHY-level message), this is a matter of protocol layering rather than substance. Bagheri’s DCI explicitly conveys configuration that dynamically alters which CORESET or search space the UE monitors, precisely reflecting the claim’s “second information block is used to indicate the first search space set.”
Further, Bagheri’s conditional logic (e.g. when a carrier indicator field is present, use the CORESET of the second cell; when absent, use that of the primary cell”) inherently performs the same presence-based conditional behavior as described in the claim. Therefore, even if the “second information block” is framed at a different protocol layer, Bagheri’s DCI provides equivalent functionality for indicating the search space set based on field presence/absence. This meets the claim under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419