DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the Amendment/Remarks filed 05/26/2026.
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 14, 16- 18, have been amended; support for claim 1, and 14 is found in partially amended deletions of claims 3-5 and 16-19. And paragraph [0029] f the instant specification, claims 9 have been amended to better clarify the invention.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN212323095U), in further view of Kim et al.(US2013/0011699A1).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a battery cover assembly [Abstract], comprising: an electrode post (rivet (3) [0172] fig. 1), comprising a base plate portion (rivet (3) [0172] fig. 1), a top cover (cover plate (1) [Wang, 0172]), defining an assembly hole ([Wang, 0315-0331] fig. 3), wherein the post portion rivet (3) extends through the assembly hole ([Wang, 0325-0326] fig.3); a sealing member (sealing rubber ring (4) [Wang, 0172]), sleeving an outside of the post portion (rivet (3) passes through rubber ring (4) thereby sleeving and abutting the post or rivet (3) [Wang, 0289-0292]) and abutting against the top cover (sealing ring (4) by rivet (3) extrusion deforms to seal between gasket (6) and cover plate (1) [Wang, 0215-0217] Where extruding through the hole in gasket (6) and cover plate 1 sealing ring (4) would abut cover plate (1)).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a boss portion arranged on a side of the base plate portion and a post portion arranged on the boss.
In the same field of endeavor Kim discloses battery cover assembly (cap plate (20) fig. 2) and further teaches a boss portion arranged on a side of the base plate portion (see annotated fig. 4) and a post portion (pillar part (31a) [0047]) arranged on the boss (first rivet 31 may include the pillar part 31a, the rivet flange part 31b connected to the pillar part 31a, [0047] see annotated fig. 4).
(Kim, annotated fig. 4)
Therefore it would be obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use rivet (31) of Kim [0047] for the rivet (3) of Wang because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.) and at the time of the invention rivets were known to be used as a terminals.
Examiner notes annotation of “rivet (3,31)” means where the reference refers to rivet (3) in the combination rivet (31) has been substituted.
Modified Wang discloses the sealing member abutting the boss portion, the first flange part 31b of the first terminal part 30 may have a stepped structure (or boss portion) [Kim 0045]), and gasket (34) surrounds rivet (31) [Kim, 0042] and gasket (34) or sealing rubber ring (4) from extrusion deforms in the combination, and abuts rivet (31) on the boss portion as illustrated above in annotated fig. 4 above.
a lower plastic (lower insulating plastic (6) [0284] fig. 1, disposed between the top cover and the current collecting plate (fig. 1), the lower plastic defines a through hole (lower insulating gasket 6 fig. 1), a wall of the through hole is arranged with a flange (stage (61) [Wang, 0322-0323] fig. 1); it would be obvious design choice to arrange a top surface of the flange being coplanar with a top surface of the boss portion to seal the post and without any new or unexpected results the change in form or shape is an obvious engineering design choice. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
a terminal, fixedly connected to an end portion of the post portion (the terminal 2 is connected with the rivet (3, 31, post) by means of laser welding [0293-0297]), the terminal defines a position limiting slot (hole in terminal (2) fig. 1), an end portion of the post portion (rivet(3,31) has a position limiting portion (the end length of rivet (3,31) is position limiting, as shown in Wang fig. 4, rivet (3,31) is flush with terminal (2)) which engages with the position limiting slot (the terminal 2 is connected with the rivet 3 by means of laser welding [0296-0297]), a position of the position limiting portion is limited inside the position limiting slot (end length of Rivet (3,31) passes through the hole in terminal (2) fig. 4).
As to claim 2, modified Wang discloses, the sealing member comprises a first sealing portion and a second sealing portion; the first sealing portion and the second sealing portion extend across and are connected with each other (See modified Wang annotated fig. 3);
(Modified Wang, annotated fig. 3)
the second sealing portion is received in the assembly hole and abuts against a wall of the assembly hole and the post portion (Rivet (3,31) passes through rubber ring (4) [0234-0235]…rubber ring (4) deforms into the hole of cover plate (1) [0215-0217] providing abutting of the post portion and assembly hole.)
Modified Wang discloses the first sealing portion is disposed between the boss portion and the top cover; Kim gasket (34) or sealing rubber ring (4) from extrusion deforms in the combination, disposed between the boss portion and the top cover as shown in exploded view of Kim annotated fig. 2 below.
(Exploded view of Kim, annotated fig. 2)
As to claim 3, Wang discloses, wherein the current collecting plate (collector plate (8) [0172]) is arranged on a first side of the top cover (fig. 1 as exemplified by fig. 1 of the instant specification) and is welded to the base plate portion (the rivet (3,31) and the current collecting plate 8 can be connected by ultrasonic welding or laser welding [0292-0293] fig. 1).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, modified Wang discloses, wherein the boss portion (see Kim annotated fig. 4 above) and the post portion (pillar part (31a) [Kim, 0047]) extend through the lower plastic (lower insulating plastic (6) [Wang, 0284] fig. 1), and the sealing member abuts against the lower plastic. (rivet (3,31) from bottom to top passes through the lower insulating gasket 6, sealing rubber ring 4, cover plate 1, upper insulating gasket 5 and terminal 2 for riveting, [Wang, 0325-0326] fig. 1)
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, modified Wang discloses, the boss portion (rivet (3,31) is received in a receiving groove (hole in stage (61)) defined in the flange (stage (61)) Wang fig. 1; the sealing member (sealing rubber ring (4)) is received in the through hole and abuts against a surface of the boss portion adjacent to the top cover and a surface of the flange adjacent to the top cover [Wang, 0323-0326] fig. 1.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, modified Wang discloses, the sealing member (sealing rubber ring (4)) abuts against the wall of the through hole and the post portion (sealing rubber ring 4 by rivet (3,31) extrusion to deform to seal between the lower insulating gasket 6 and cover plate 1. [0215-0217] Whereby rubber ring 4 sealing by extrusion between insulating gasket (6) and cover plate (1) would abut against the wall of the through hole, and where rivet (3, 31) passes through insulating gasket (6) and sealing rubber ring 4 [0325-0326] would provide abutting a post portion.), and the flange abuts against the boss portion (the shape of the second sinking platform 61 (flange) is matched with the shape of the sealing rubber ring 4. [0228-0229]...rivet (3,31) passes through the sealing rubber ring (4) [0325-0326], therefore the boss portion of rivet(3,31) would abut the flange (61) fig. 1.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, modified Wang discloses, the sealing member seals a gap between the boss portion and the flange. (rivet (3, 31) from bottom to top passes through the lower insulating gasket 6, sealing rubber ring 4, [0325-0326] fig. 1…the sealing rubber ring 4 is fully contacted with the second sinking platform 61 (flange) in the lower insulating gasket 6, so as to seal the cover plate 1 and the lower insulating gasket 6. [0329-0331] Where the rivet(3,31) having a boss portion passing through the sealing rubber ring (4) which is sealed to platform (61) or flange would seal a gap between the boss portion and the flange.
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Wang discloses comprising an upper plastic (upper insulating gasket 5 [0326]… upper insulating gasket 5 is made of PP or other non-metal material [0260]), sleeving the outside of the post portion [0310-0312] and disposed on a second side of the top cover, wherein the upper plastic abuts against the post portion and the top cover (fig. 1).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, Wang discloses the top cover defines a shallow slot (first sunken 11 on the cover plate 1 [0276]), the upper plastic (gasket (5)) is arranged with a protrusion (the upper insulating gasket 5 is formed with a lug boss 51 [0320]), the protrusion is received in the shallow slot lug boss 51 surrounded by the upper insulating gasket 5 is installed in the first sunken 11 [0308-0309]) and abuts against the post portion (rivet(3,31) passes thru gasket (5) which contains lug boss (51) [0310-0312] which provides abutting ) and a wall of the shallow slot (upper insulating gasket 5 of the lug boss 51 surrounded by the upper insulating gasket 5 is installed in the first sunken 11 [0308-0309], Wang fig. 1).
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, Wang discloses the upper plastic (gasket 5) abuts against the terminal (2) ([0292] fig. 1)
As to claim 11, The rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Wang discloses a position of the position limiting portion (the end length of rivet (3,31) is limited inside the position limiting slot (hole in terminal (2) fig. 1 [0296-0299])
As to claim 12, The rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Wang discloses the terminal is arranged with the anti-rotation boss (edge portion of terminal (2) fig. 1) , the upper plastic defines the anti-rotation slot that is engaged with the anti-rotation boss (The shape of the terminal 2 is matched with the shape of the area surrounded by the lug boss 51 of the upper insulating gasket 5 [0263-0264]), the anti-rotation boss is received in the anti-rotation slot (fig. 1).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, modified Wang discloses the electrode post (Rivet 3, 31) is configured as an integrally formed structure. (As illustrated in fig. 1 the electrode post (Rivet 3, 31) is an integrally formed structure as exemplified by fig. 1 of the instant specification [0297-0298].
As to claim 14, Both Wang and Kim provide embodiments for a cylindrical battery [Wang, 0203], and Kim, the battery 100 may have various shapes such as a square shape or a cylindrical shape [Kim, 0035]. And further disclose;
an electrode post (rivet (3) [0172] fig. 1), comprising a base plate portion (rivet (3) [0172] fig. 1), a top cover (cover plate (1) [Wang, 0172]), defining an assembly hole ([Wang, 0315-0331] fig. 3), wherein the post portion 9rivet (3) extends through the assembly hole ([Wang, 0325-0326] fig.3); a sealing member (sealing rubber ring (4) [Wang, 0172]), sleeving an outside of the post portion (rivet (3) passes through rubber ring (4) thereby sleeving and abutting the post or rivet (3) [Wang, 0289-0292]) and abutting against the top cover (sealing ring (4) by rivet (3) extrusion deforms to seal between gasket (6) and cover plate (1) [Wang, 0215-0217] Where extruding through the hole in gasket (6) and cover plate 1 sealing ring (4) would abut cover plate (1)).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a boss portion arranged on a side of the base plate portion and a post portion arranged on the boss.
In the same field of endeavor Kim discloses battery cover assembly (cap plate (20) fig. 2) and further teaches a boss portion arranged on a side of the base plate portion (see annotated fig. 4) and a post portion (pillar part (31a) [Kim, 0047]) arranged on the boss (first rivet 31 may include the pillar part 31a, the rivet flange part 31b connected to the pillar part 31a, [Kim 0047] see annotated fig. 4).
(Kim, annotated fig. 4)
Therefore it would be obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use rivet (31) of Kim [0047] for the rivet (3) of Wang because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.) and at the time of the invention rivets were known to be used as a terminals.
Examiner notes annotation of “rivet (3,31)” means where the reference refers to rivet (3) in the combination rivet (31) has been substituted.
Modified Wang discloses the sealing member abutting the boss portion, the first flange part 31b of the first terminal part 30 may have a stepped structure (or boss portion) [Kim 0045]), and gasket (34) surrounds rivet (31) [Kim, 0042] and gasket (34) or sealing rubber ring (4) from extrusion deforms in the combination, and abuts rivet (31) on the boss portion as illustrated above in annotated fig. 4 above.
A lower plastic (lower insulating plastic (6) [0284] fig. 1, disposed between the top cover and the current collecting plate (fig. 1), the lower plastic defines a through hole (lower insulating gasket 6 fig. 1), a wall of the through hole is arranged with a flange (stage (61) [Wang, 0322-0323] fig. 1); it would be obvious design choice to arrange a top surface of the flange being coplanar with a top surface of the boss portion to seal the post and without any new or unexpected results the change in form or shape is an obvious engineering design choice. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
a terminal, fixedly connected to an end portion of the post portion (the terminal 2 is connected with the rivet (3, 31, post) by means of laser welding [0293-0297]), the terminal defines a position limiting slot (hole in terminal (2) fig. 1), an end portion of the post portion (rivet(3,31) has a position limiting portion (the end length of rivet (3,31) is position limiting, as shown in Wang fig. 4, rivet (3,31) is flush with terminal (2)) which engages with the position limiting slot (the terminal 2 is connected with the rivet 3 by means of laser welding [0296-0297]), a position of the position limiting portion is limited inside the position limiting slot (end length of Rivet (3,31) passes through the hole in terminal (2) fig. 4).
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Both Wang and Kim provide embodiments for a cylindrical battery [Wang, 0203], and Kim, the battery 100 may have various shapes such as a square shape or a cylindrical shape [Kim, 0035]. And further disclose;
the sealing member comprises a first sealing portion and a second sealing portion; the first sealing portion and the second sealing portion extend across and are connected with each other (See modified Wang annotated fig. 3);
(Modified Wang, annotated fig. 3)
the second sealing portion is received in the assembly hole and abuts against a wall of the assembly hole and the post portion (Rivet (3,31) passes through rubber ring (4) [Wang, 0234-0235]…rubber ring (4) deforms into the hole of cover plate (1) [Wang, 0215-0217] providing abutting of the post portion and assembly hole.)
Modified Wang discloses the first sealing portion is disposed between the boss portion and the top cover; Kim gasket (34) or sealing rubber ring (4) from extrusion deforms in the combination, disposed between the boss portion and the top cover as shown in exploded view of Kim annotated fig. 2 below.
(Exploded view of Kim, annotated fig. 2)
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, Both Wang and Kim provide embodiments for a cylindrical battery [Wang, 0203], and Kim, the battery 100 may have various shapes such as a square shape or a cylindrical shape [Kim, 0035]. And further teach;
wherein the current collecting plate (collector plate (8) [Wang, 0172] is arranged on a first side of the top cover (fig. 1 as exemplified by fig. 1 of the instant specification) and is welded to the base plate portion (the rivet (3,31) and the current collecting plate 8 can be connected by ultrasonic welding or laser welding [Wang, 0292-0293] fig. 1).
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, Both Wang and Kim provide embodiments for a cylindrical battery [Wang, 0203], and Kim, the battery 100 may have various shapes such as a square shape or a cylindrical shape [Kim, 0035]. And further disclose;
the boss portion (see Kim annotated fig. 4 above) and the post portion (pillar part (31a) [Kim, 0047]) extend through the lower plastic, and the sealing member abuts against the lower plastic. (rivet (3,31) from bottom to top passes through the lower insulating gasket 6, sealing rubber ring 4, cover plate 1, upper insulating gasket 5 and terminal 2 for riveting, [Wang, 0325-0326] fig. 1)
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Both Wang and Kim provide embodiments for a cylindrical battery [Wang, 0203], and Kim, the battery 100 may have various shapes such as a square shape or a cylindrical shape [Kim, 0035]. And further disclose;
the boss portion (rivet (3,31) is received in a receiving groove (hole in stage (61)) defined in the flange (stage (61)) Wang fig. 1; the sealing member (sealing rubber ring (4)) is received in the through hole and abuts against a surface of the boss portion adjacent to the top cover and abut against a surface of the flange adjacent to the top cover [Wang, 0323-0326] fig. 1.
and
the sealing member (sealing rubber ring (4)) abuts against the wall of the through hole and the post portion (sealing rubber ring 4 by rivet (3,31) extrusion to deform to seal between the lower insulating gasket 6 and cover plate 1. [0215-0217] Whereby rubber ring 4 sealing by extrusion between insulating gasket (6) and cover plate (1) would abut against the wall of the through hole, and where rivet (3, 31) passes through insulating gasket (6) and sealing rubber ring 4 [0325-0326] would provide abutting a post portion.), and the flange abuts against the boss portion (the shape of the second sinking platform 61 (flange) is matched with the shape of the sealing rubber ring 4. [0228-0229]...rivet (3,31) passes through the sealing rubber ring (4) [0325-0326], therefore the boss portion of rivet(3,31) would abut the flange (61) fig. 1.
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Both Wang and Kim provide embodiments for a cylindrical battery [Wang, 0203], and Kim, the battery 100 may have various shapes such as a square shape or a cylindrical shape [Kim, 0035]. And further disclose;
comprising an upper plastic (upper insulating gasket 5 [0326]… upper insulating gasket 5 is made of PP or other non-metal material [0260]), sleeving the outside of the post portion [0310-0312] and disposed on a second side of the top cover, wherein the upper plastic abuts against the post portion and the top cover (fig. 1).
As to claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated, Both Wang and Kim provide embodiments for a cylindrical battery [Wang, 0203], and Kim, the battery 100 may have various shapes such as a square shape or a cylindrical shape [Kim, 0035]. And further disclose;
the top cover defines a shallow slot (first sunken 11 on the cover plate 1 [Wang, 0276]), the upper plastic (gasket (5)) is arranged with a protrusion (the upper insulating gasket 5 is formed with a lug boss 51 [Wang, 0320]), the protrusion is received in the shallow slot lug boss 51 surrounded by the upper insulating gasket 5 is installed in the first sunken 11 [Wang, 0308-0309]) and abuts against the post portion (rivet(3,31) passes thru gasket (5) which contains lug boss (51) [Wang, 0310-0312] which provides abutting ) and a wall of the shallow slot (upper insulating gasket 5 of the lug boss 51 surrounded by the upper insulating gasket 5 is installed in the first sunken 11 [Wang, 0308-0309], Wang fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, page 8, Wang and Kim fail to disclose an electrode post including a boss portion that the top surface of the boss portion (12) and the top surface of the flange (52) are co-planar. The office notes there is no evidence in the record teaching this shape provides unexpected results and in lieu of such evidence and in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). In the present case it would be obvious for one skilled in the art to arrange a top surface of the flange being coplanar with a top surface of the boss portion to seal the post and the change in form or shape is an obvious engineering design choice. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qin et al. (EP3367494A1) Battery cover assembly with boss portion.
Shi et al. (CN209133545U) Cover plate with fixed boss.
Xu et al. (US2023/0117900A1) Battery with terminal post with snap fit.
Zhang et al.(CN215184251U) Battery with terminal post with snap fit structure on cover plate.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728