DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed January 6, 2026 is not approved as the applicant cited in the terminal disclaimer is not cited exactly as cited on the Application Data Sheet, in its entirety. It is noted that the Application Data Sheet was updated on February 4, 2026 to correct the applicant. Please resubmit the terminal disclaimer with the correct applicant.
It should be noted that applicant is not required to pay another disclaimer fee as set forth in 37 CFR 1.20(d) when submitting a replacement or supplemental terminal disclaimer.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10 are examined.
Claim 4 and 9 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous objections, 35 U.S.C 112 (b) and 103 rejections, and double patenting rejections; therefore, the objections and rejections are withdrawn. However, see new objections, updated 35 U.S.C 112 (b) and 103 rejections, and updated double patenting rejections (due to the not approved terminal disclaimer), necessitated by amendment.
Priority
Claims 1-3 and 5 contain subject matter directed to “styrene triblock copolymer gel”, which is not present the priority documents (US Application 16/868,776 and 17/742,721 and Provisional Applications 62/844,253 and 62/844,296); therefore, the earliest priority date for claims 1-5 is December 19, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
References in the specification include U.S. Pat No. 4,923,474, 5,728,168, 5,830,237, 5,507,834, 5,443,525, and 5,728,168 are recited in ¶ [0007], (US Patent No.) 11,179,252 is recited in ¶ [00011], and US Patent No. 6,552,109 is recited in ¶ [00038].
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1, line 9 - “said sidewalls” should read “said fabric sidewalls” for claim language consistency
claim 6, line 9 – “and fabric sidewalls” should read “and said fabric side walls”
claim 6, line 9 - “said sidewalls” should read “said fabric sidewalls” for claim language consistency
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “said fabric sidewalls” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as “fabric sidewalls”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janusson (US 6,485,776 A1) in view of Møller, henceforth Moller (US 5772864) and Laghi (US 2006/0111485 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Janusson discloses a method of making a thermoplastic gel liner (c. 1, L. 55-60 – a process for forming a liner having a fabric outer cover and silicone elastomer coating) comprising:
molding an elastomeric gel (silicone elastomer #232) over the mandrel (c. 15, L. 26-49 - male die #252 into #232)
forming fabric sidewalls (fabric #101) over the elastomeric gel creating a composite (c. 14, L. 65 - c. 15, L. 12 - #101 formed around #232) wherein the composite further comprises an open upper end, a closed bottom end, and said fabric sidewalls having a thickness (c. 4, L. 51-59 – prosthetic suction liner #10 formed using process described and formed of elastic material #12 and fabric layer #14; FIG. 1 shows the #10 having an open upper end, a closed distal end area #16, and a thickness) wherein said sidewalls further comprise an inner layer of elastomeric gel having a gel thickness (c. 15, L. 3-6 - #232 corresponding to #12 shown in FIG. 1; FIG. 1 depicts the #12 has a thickness).
Janusson does not disclose modifying a mandrel surface using the method selected from the group consisting of rolling, chemical etching, electro-erosion, electrodeposition, laser micro melting, shot blasting, shot peening, and pinwheeling.
Moller discloses a method of manufacturing an implantable medical device (c. 4, L 10-14), where modifying a mandrel surface (c. 4, L 13- 18 – mandrel upon which the device is formed) using the method selected from the group consisting of chemical etching (c. 6, L 32-35 – chemical etching to remove surface imperfections and burrs), electrodeposition (c. 4, L. 37-40 – electro-depositing performed on molded wax pattern; c. 6, L 21-25 – electro-discharge machining), laser micro melting, (c. 6, L 26-27 – micro-machining, such as by using layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine the molding process of Janusson with the chemical etching, electro-depositing, or laser micro machining in Moller to create voids or grooves into which is deposited the prosthesis-forming material or medium, thereby forming the prosthesis and to produce high quality micro-devices without subjecting the preform material to the mechanical forces required to bend, shape or cut-away the preform and form the final device (c. 4, L 18-28).
Janusson discloses silicone elastomer layer with hollow microspheres (c. 5, L. 21-28). However, Janusson do not discloses said elastomeric gel has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters.
Analogous art Laghi discloses thermoplastic elastomers for skin contact applications (¶ [0008]-[0009]) wherein said elastomeric gel has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters (¶ [0044] – forming microcraters on the thermoplastic elastomer with average depth of 0.0183 mm – 0.1434 mm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of making a liner as disclosed in Janusson with the method of forming the microcraters in the claimed range in order to provide a desired tactile feel, and/or to optimize surface characteristics, mechanical properties or other characteristics of the liner (¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Janusson discloses the method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of claim 6 (see claim objection section). Modified Janusson further discloses wherein the thickness of the sidewalls is between 3 and 12 millimeters (Janusson Table 1 and FIG. 9 show the thickness of the posterior area, i.e. fabric, is 3 mm).
Regarding claim 8, modified Janusson discloses the method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of claim 6 (see claim objection section). Modified Janusson further discloses wherein the gel thickness at the bottom end is between 3 and 15 millimeters (Janusson Table 1 and FIG. 6 show the thickness at the anterior area, i.e. elastomer, is 6 mm).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janusson (US 6,485,776) in view of Moller (US 5772864) and Laghi (US 2006/0111485 A1), as applied to claim 6, in further view of Leung (US 2021/0000621 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Janusson discloses the method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of claim 6 (see claim objection section). Modified Janusson does not disclose wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing silicone against a textured surface after the molding but before cooling.
Leung discloses a sleeve for mounting a prosthetic unit (¶ [0004]) and process of manufacture (¶ [0011]). The composite sleeve is made of an outer layer of fabric and middle layer of thermoplastic silicone (¶ [0010]).
Leung further discloses wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing the elastomeric gel against a textured surface (¶ [0010-0011] – inner layer made with perforations; thermoplastic silicone is stretchable and sandwiched between outer and inner layers) after the molding but before cooling (¶ [0010-0011] – sleeve is placed in a positive mold, removed, and allowed to cool). Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of modified Janusson with the method of forming the perforations against a positive mold as described in Leung in order to form channels and perforations that allow moisture to escape the sleeve (¶ [0009]).
Claims 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janusson (US 6,485,776 A1) in view of Chen (US 6552109 B1, from instant specification), Moller (US 5772864), and Laghi (US 2006/0111485 A1).
Regarding claim 1, it is noted that the claim recites the same limitations as claim 6, except that the elastomeric gel is specifically styrene triblock copolymer gel, an elastomeric gel. Janusson discloses a method of making a thermoplastic gel liner (c. 1, L. 55-60 – a process for forming a liner having a fabric outer cover and silicone elastomer coating) comprising:
molding an elastomeric gel (silicone elastomer #232) over the mandrel (c. 15, L. 26-49 - male die #252 into #232)
forming fabric sidewalls (fabric #101) over the styrene triblock copolymer gel creating a composite (c. 14, L. 65 - c. 15, L. 12 - #101 formed around #232) wherein the composite further comprises an open upper end, a closed bottom end, and said fabric sidewalls having a thickness (c. 4, L. 51-59 – prosthetic suction liner #10 formed using process described and formed of elastic material #12 and fabric layer #14; FIG. 1 shows the #10 having an open upper end, a closed distal end area #16, and a thickness) wherein said sidewalls further comprise an inner layer of elastomeric gel having a gel thickness (c. 15, L. 3-6 - #232 corresponding to #12 shown in FIG. 1; FIG. 1 depicts the #12 has a thickness).
Janusson does not disclose the elastomeric gel is a styrene triblock copolymer gel.
Analogous art Chen discloses gelatinous elastomer compositions (c. 1, L. 40-52) useful as molded shape articles for use in medical and sport health care, such use include cushions for splints and braces (c. 10, L. 34-49).
Chen further discloses the elastomeric gel is a styrene triblock copolymer gel (c. 3, L. 33-42 – liner triblock copolymers poly(styrene-ethylene-ethylene-propylene-styrene), poly(styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the elastomeric gel in Janusson with the recited liner styrene triblock copolymers in Chen as the gel compositions exhibit high dimensional stability, crack, tear, craze, and creep resistance, excellent tensile strength and high elongation, among other advantages (c. 1, L. 40-52).
Janusson does not disclose modifying a mandrel surface using a method selected from the group consisting of rolling, chemical etching, laser engraving, computer numerical control engraving, electro-erosion, electrodeposition, laser micro melting, shot blasting, shot peening, and pinwheeling.
Moller discloses a method of manufacturing an implantable medical device (c. 4, L 10-14), where modifying a mandrel surface (c. 4, L 13- 18 – mandrel upon which the device is formed) using the method selected from the group consisting of chemical etching (c. 6, L 32-35 – chemical etching to remove surface imperfections and burrs), electrodeposition (c. 4, L. 37-40 – electro-depositing performed on molded wax pattern; c. 6, L 21-25 – electro-discharge machining), laser micro melting, (c. 6, L 26-27 – micro-machining, such as by using layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine the molding process of Janusson with the chemical etching, electro-depositing, or laser micro machining in Moller to create voids or grooves into which is deposited the prosthesis-forming material or medium, thereby forming the prosthesis and to produce high quality micro-devices without subjecting the preform material to the mechanical forces required to bend, shape or cut-away the preform and form the final device (c. 4, L 18-28).
Janusson discloses silicone elastomer layer with hollow microspheres (c. 5, L. 21-28). However, Janusson do not discloses said elastomeric gel has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters.
Analogous art Laghi discloses wherein said elastomeric gel has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters (¶ [0044] – forming microcraters on the thermoplastic elastomer with average depth of 0.0183 mm – 0.1434 mm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of making a liner as disclosed in Janusson with the method of forming the microcraters in the claimed range in order to provide a desired tactile feel, and/or to optimize surface characteristics, mechanical properties or other characteristics of the liner (¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Janusson discloses the method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of claim 1. Modified Janusson further discloses wherein the thickness of the fabric sidewalls is between 3 and 12 millimeters (Janusson Table 1 and FIG. 9 show the thickness of the posterior area, i.e. fabric, is 3 mm).
Regarding claim 3, modified Janusson discloses the method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of claim 1. Modified Janusson further discloses wherein the gel thickness at the bottom end is between 3 and 15 millimeters (Janusson Table 1 and FIG. 6 show the thickness at the anterior area, i.e. elastomer, is 6 mm).
Claims 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janusson (US 6,485,776 A1) in view of Chen (US 6552109 B1, from instant specification), Moller (US 5772864), and Laghi (US 2006/0111485 A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Leung (US 2021/0000621 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Janusson discloses the method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of claim 1. Modified Janusson does not disclose wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing silicone against a textured surface after the molding but before cooling.
Leung discloses a sleeve for mounting a prosthetic unit (¶ [0004]) and process of manufacture (¶ [0011]). The composite sleeve is made of an outer layer of fabric and middle layer of thermoplastic silicone (¶ [0010]).
Leung further discloses wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing the elastomeric gel against a textured surface (¶ [0010-0011] – inner layer made with perforations; thermoplastic silicone is stretchable and sandwiched between outer and inner layers) after the molding but before cooling (¶ [0010-0011] – sleeve is placed in a positive mold, removed, and allowed to cool). Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of modified Janusson with the method of forming the perforations against a positive mold as described in Leung in order to form channels and perforations that allow moisture to escape the sleeve (¶ [0009]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 5-8 and 10 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1-5 of Application No. 17/742,721. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim 6-8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. copending Application No. 17/742,721, henceforth ‘721 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the silicone in ‘721 is a elastomeric gel.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 6-10, as previously mentioned in the claim objection section, claims 7-10 will be read as depending on claim 6. Claims 1-5 of ‘721 recite the same limitations and overlapping ranges with the instant claims.
Instant Application (18/083,658)
Co-pending Application (17/742,721)
6. A method of making a thermoplastic gel liner comprising:
modifying a mandrel surface using the method selected from the group consisting of sandblasting, rolling, chemical etching, laser engraving, computer numerical control
engraving, electro-erosion, electrodeposition, laser micro melting, shot blasting, shot peening,
and pinwheeling;
molding an elastomeric gel over the mandrel;
forming fabric sidewalls over the elastomeric gel creating a composite wherein the composite further comprises an open upper end, a closed bottom end, and said fabric sidewalls having a thickness wherein said sidewalls further comprise an inner layer of elastomeric gel having a gel thickness wherein said elastomeric gel has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters
1. A method of making a silicone liner comprising:
modifying a mandrel surface using the method selected from the group consisting of rolling, chemical etching, laser engraving, computer numerical control engraving, electroerosion, electrodeposition, laser micro melting, shot blasting, shot peening, and pinwheeling;
molding silicone over the mandrel;
forming fabric sidewalls over the silicone creating a composite wherein the composite further comprises an open upper end, a closed bottom end, and fabric sidewalls having a thickness wherein said sidewalls further comprise an inner layer of silicone having a silicone thickness wherein said silicone has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters.
7. The method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of Claim 6 wherein the thickness of the
sidewalls is between 3 and 12 millimeters.
2. The method of making a silicone liner of Claim 1 wherein the thickness of the sidewalls
is between 1.5 and 3 millimeters.
8. The method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of Claim 6 wherein the gel thickness at the bottom end is between 3 and 15 millimeters.
3. The method of making a silicone liner of Claim 1 wherein the silicone thickness at the bottom end is between 3 and 12 millimeters.
10. The method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of Claim 6 wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing the elastomeric gel against a textured surface after the molding but before cooling.
5. The method of making a silicone liner of Claim 1 wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing silicone against a textured surface after molding but before cooling.
Claim 1-3 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 17/742,721 (‘17/742,721) in view of Chen (US 6552109 B1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claims 1-5, claims 1-5 of ‘721 recite the same limitations and overlapping ranges with the instant claims, except it uses silicone.
Instant Application (18/083,658)
Co-pending Application (17/742,721)
6. A method of making a thermoplastic gel liner comprising:
modifying a mandrel surface using the method selected from the group consisting of sandblasting, rolling, chemical etching, laser engraving, computer numerical control
engraving, electro-erosion, electrodeposition, laser micro melting, shot blasting, shot peening,
and pinwheeling;
molding an styrene triblock copolymer gel over the mandrel;
forming fabric sidewalls over the styrene triblock copolymer gel creating a composite wherein the composite further comprises an open upper end, a closed bottom end, and said fabric sidewalls having a thickness wherein said sidewalls further comprise an inner layer of styrene triblock copolymer gel having a gel thickness wherein said styrene triblock copolymer gel has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters
1. A method of making a silicone liner comprising:
modifying a mandrel surface using the method selected from the group consisting of rolling, chemical etching, laser engraving, computer numerical control engraving, electroerosion, electrodeposition, laser micro melting, shot blasting, shot peening, and pinwheeling;
molding silicone over the mandrel;
forming fabric sidewalls over the silicone creating a composite wherein the composite further comprises an open upper end, a closed bottom end, and fabric sidewalls having a thickness wherein said sidewalls further comprise an inner layer of silicone having a silicone thickness wherein said silicone has microcraters having a depth between 0.0100 and 0.0195 millimeters.
2. The method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of Claim 1 wherein the thickness of the
sidewalls is between 3 and 12 millimeters.
2. The method of making a silicone liner of Claim 1 wherein the thickness of the sidewalls
is between 1.5 and 3 millimeters.
3. The method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of Claim 1 wherein the gel thickness at the bottom end is between 3 and 15 millimeters.
3. The method of making a silicone liner of Claim 1 wherein the silicone thickness at the bottom end is between 3 and 12 millimeters.
5. The method of making a thermoplastic gel liner of Claim 1 wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing the styrene triblock copolymer gel against a textured surface after the molding but before cooling.
5. The method of making a silicone liner of Claim 1 wherein the microcraters are further formed by compressing silicone against a textured surface after molding but before cooling.
‘721 does not recite a styrene triblock copolymer gel.
Analogous art Chen discloses gelatinous elastomer compositions (c. 1, L. 40-52) useful as molded shape articles for use in medical and sport health care, such use include cushions for splints and braces (c. 10, L. 34-49).
Chen further discloses the elastomeric gel is a styrene triblock copolymer gel (c. 3, L. 33-42 – liner triblock copolymers poly(styrene-ethylene-ethylene-propylene-styrene), poly(styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the silicone in ‘721 with the recited liner styrene triblock copolymers in Chen as the gel compositions exhibit high dimensional stability, crack, tear, craze, and creep resistance, excellent tensile strength and high elongation, among other advantages (c. 1, L. 40-52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The arguments pertain to Dignam. Moller is cited to teach the new amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5002572 A discloses mold textured by means of laser etching, ion milling, or chemical etching
US 20190142574 A1 discloses methods of preparing medical implants where a mandrel surface may be sandblasted
US 11602445 B2 (same inventor) discloses a mandrel that has been sandblasted
WO 2023/220151 A1 (same inventor) discloses a method of making a silicone liner
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754