DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 20, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1 and 7-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-6 are canceled by the applicant. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn by applicant’s election with traverse filed on November 19, 2025. Claim 16 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 20, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are not fully persuasive. Regarding the applicant’s arguments:
The 112b rejection of Claim 1 previously set forth is overcome by applicant’s amendments: The examiner agrees, and it is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1 and 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 9 and 10, the phrase "in particular" which is exemplary language and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carbonell (US 2022/0339,736 A1):
Regarding Claim 1: Carbonell teaches a method for engraving a texture on a physical object (“method for laser making a graphic on an object” Abstract) by a laser beam (“laser beam ” [0005]) emitted by a laser head through a galvanometer (“galvanometer” [0057]) integrated in a multi axis machine tool (“laser system” Abstract) , wherein the laser head is movable at least in three axes (X, Y, Z) (the laser system has a stage “being configuring for moving across the x-y and/or the z directions” [0017]) comprising: providing an image (“raster graphics” [0002]) representing the texture (“texture” [0075), wherein the image includes a plurality of pixels (“typically a raster graphic represents a rectangular grid of pixels” [0002]), each pixel having a given characteristic chosen from the group of grey scale, positional information and color information (“each pixel of the graphic has a specific color value that is measured in a grayscale, and the controller controls the power or the speed of the laser according to the color of each pixel, such that the energy transferred on the surface on each point of the object may vary according to the corresponding pixel value” [0002]);
defining a first group (“Vector Group 1” [0067] created from the raster graphic via a “known bit-map to vectorization algorithm,” [0076]) of pixels having the same characteristic (“adjacent pixels of similar color or greyscale values, and group them” [0076] accordingly) ;
defining a second group (“Vector Group 2” [0067] created from the raster graphic via a “known bit-map to vectorization algorithm,” [0076]) of pixels having the same but different characteristics as the first group of pixels(“adjacent pixels of similar color or greyscale values, and group them” [0076] accordingly such that the first vector group will contain pixels with adjacent characteristics that are distinct from those of other groups (i.e. distinct from Vector Group 1);
(See Table 2 & 3 Vector group 1);
assigning to the second group of pixels a fixed second set of machine parameters different from the first machine parameters (See Table 2& 3 Vector Group 2);
emitting the laser beam on the physical object to engrave a texture on a first patch region ( “a region where the laser output must affect, e.g. discolor, the surface of an object,” [0075]) of the physical object using the first set of parameters; and thereafter, emitting the laser beam on the physical object to engrave a texture (“texture” [0075)on a second patch (“another region where the laser output must not affect the surface of the object” [0075] and where the machining parameters of the laser must be set to 0) region of the physical object using the second set of parameter ( the marking of the object is a achieved by “controlling the moving means for setting on the surface of the object a trajectory and a speed of the laser output according to each vector [group])”
Regarding Claim 7: Carbonell further teaches that the type of the set of machining parameters (marking intensity corresponding to a greyscale level from Table 1, Vector Speed from Tabel 2, and Vector Power from Table 3) for at least two groups of the pixels are different (See Table 2 & 3 Vector Group 1 and 2)
Regarding Claim 8: Carbonell further teaches that the laser machining parameter is one or more of the following: laser source, laser impact density, number of impacts, laser impact overlapping, hatching distance, laser spot size, laser beam shaping parameters including top hat and Gaussian, laser beam polarization parameter, laser wavelength, laser power, laser pulse repetition rate, laser pulse duration and laser burst mode parameters (the laser machining parameters correspond to each vector groups and include marking intensity corresponding to a greyscale level from Table 1, Vector Speed from Table 2, and Vector Power from Table 3)
Regarding Claim 9: Carbonell further teaches that the engraving is conducted in a group- by-group manner, in which all pixels of a first group are machined and then all pixels of a second group are machined (the order of vector groups is consecutive as “a particular vector group and a subsequent vector group that follows the particular vector groups in said series” Claim 2)
Regarding Claim 16: Carbonell further teaches that the sets of machining parameters assigned to the first and second groups comprise the same types of machining parameters and differ from each other in the value of at least one of said machining parameters (the laser machining parameters correspond to each vector groups and include marking intensity corresponding to a greyscale level from Table 1, Vector Speed from Table 2, and Vector Power from Table 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carbonell (US 2022/0339,736 A1 in view of Conseil (US 2016/0207141 A1):
Regarding Claim 10: Carbonell further teaches that the machining parameters must be adapted in accordance to the assigned set of machining parameter to the corresponding groups (the laser machining parameters correspond to each vector groups and include marking intensity corresponding to a greyscale level from Table 1, Vector Speed from Table 2, and Vector Power from Table 3)
Carbonell does not teach that the surface of the object can be divided into a plurality of patches and the engraving is conducted in a patch-by-patch manner
However, Conseil does teach a method for engraving a texture on a physical object via laser beam (“laser ablation method” [0051]) in which the surface of the object can be divided into a plurality of patches (“the entire workpiece surface can be partitioned into [a plurality of] patches” [0056]) and the engraving is conducted in a patch-by-patch manner (with “repositioning movements for every patch” [0051] which indicates that the patches are machined in a consecutive manner)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Carbonell such that the method also includes dividing the surface into a plurality of patches and machining occurs in a combination of patch by patch and group by group manner in order to reduce the overall “machining time of a workpiece” [0051])
Regarding Claim 11: Carbonell does not teach that the engraving is conducted in a patch-by-patch manner and a group-by group manner
However, Conseil does teach a method for engraving a texture on a physical object via laser beam (“laser ablation method” [0051]) in which the surface of the object can be divided into a plurality of patches (“the entire workpiece surface can be partitioned into [a plurality of] patches” [0056]) and the engraving is conducted in a patch-by-patch manner (with “repositioning movements for every patch” [0051] which indicates that the patches are machined in a consecutive manner)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Carbonell such that the method also includes dividing the surface into a plurality of patches and machining occurs in a combination of patch by patch and group by group manner in order to reduce the overall “machining time of a workpiece” [0051])
Conclusion
/SOLAN OLIVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761