DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 14, and 21 have been amended. Claim 16 has been cancelled. Claims 22-24 have been added. Therefore, claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 12, 14-15, and 21-24 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 24, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-8, 12, 14-15, 21, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN214396386U), hereinafter "Li".
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0001, Examiner notes quick-change locking device as a fastening apparatus) for a vehicle (Paragraph 0001, Li indicates an electric vehicle), comprising:
a first fastener (Fig 1, pin 1) fixed to a first structure (Paragraph 0049, Examiner notes limit lock pin 1 connected to a battery pack as fixed to a first structure);
a second fastener (Fig 1, housing 213) coupled (see Figs 1 and 4) to a case (Fig 1, structure 22) fixed (see Figs 1 and 4) to a second structure (Fig 1, structure 211) and configured to have the first fastener (1) inserted (see Figs 1 and 4) therein along a first direction (see Figs 1 and 4);
a fixing unit (Fig 1, balls 3) movably installed (see Figs 1 and 4) in the second fastener (213) and configured to move (see Figs 5-6) in a second direction (see Figs 5-6) that intersects (see Figs 1 and 4-6) the first direction (see Figs 1 and 4), and to selectively limit relative movements (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0045, Examiner notes locked state and an unlocked state as to selectively limit relative movements) of the first fastener (1) and the second fastener (213);
an elevation unit (Fig 1, structure 212) installed (see Figs 1 and 4) in the case (22) and movable up and down (see Figs 1 and 4), and configured to be moved up and down (see Figs 1 and 4) by an external force that is applied from a work tool (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0053, Examiner notes vehicle body power supply so that its working voltage is controlled at about 12V as configured to be moved up and down by an external force that is applied from a work tool); and
a restoration unit (Fig 1, structure 23) installed (see Figs 1 and 4) between the case (22) and the elevation unit (212), the restoration unit (23) being stretchable (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0072, Examiner notes structure 23 is preferably an annular spring as being stretchable) in the first direction (see Figs 1 and 4); and
a detachment prevention unit (Fig 2, structure 24) coupled (see Figs 1 and 4) to the second fastener (213) and configured to prevent (capable of preventing, i.e. this is a functional recitation) the elevation unit (212) from being detached from the case (22) (see Figs 1-2 and 4, Paragraphs 0078-0079, Examiner notes dustproof and shockproof functions as configured to prevent the elevation unit from being detached from the case),
wherein the fixing unit (3) is moved (see Fig 4) to a first location (see Fig 6) in the second fastener (213) as the elevation unit (212) is moved up (see Fig 4) and the restoration unit (23) is compressed (see Fig 4),
wherein the fixing unit (3) is moved (see Fig 1) to a second location (see Fig 5) in the second fastener (213), which is an inner position (see Fig 5) than the first location (see Fig 6) in the second direction (see Figs 5-6), as the elevation unit (212) is moved down (see Fig 1),
wherein the first fastener (1) comprises:
a first body (see Fig 2, Paragraph 0047, Examiner notes a shank of pin 1 with a recessed portion as a first body) inserted (see Figs 1 and 4) into the second fastener (213); and
a trapping part (see Fig 2, Paragraph 0047, Examiner notes recessed portion recessed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction as a trapping part) concavely depressed (see Fig 2) from an outside (see Fig 2) of the first body (see Fig 2),
wherein the second fastener (213) comprises:
a flange (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a flange of housing 213 distal from structure 211 as a flange) coupled to an inner side (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraphs 0078-0079, Examiner notes a portion of the flange of housing 213 having structure 24 disposed between structure 22 and housing 213 as coupled to an inner side) of the case (22);
a second body (see Fig 1, Paragraph 0066, Examiner notes bodies extending from the flange of housing 213 including accommodating cavities as a second body) extended (see Fig 1) from the flange (see Fig 1) in the first direction (see Figs 1 and 4) and configured to have (see Figs 1 and 4) the first body (see Fig 2) inserted (see Figs 1 and 4) therein; and
an accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0066, Examiner notes accommodating cavity as an accommodation part) formed to penetrate (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0066, Examiner notes cavity is formed on the housing 213 as formed to penetrate) the second body (see Fig 1) and configured to support (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0066, Examiner notes accommodating a plurality of the limiting balls 3 as configured to support) the fixing unit (3) that is movable (see Figs 5-6) in the second direction (see Figs 5-6),
wherein the elevation unit (212) comprises:
an elevation member (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a body of structure 212 as an elevation member) disposed to surround (see Figs 1 and 4) the second fastener (213), and installed (see Figs 1 and 4) in a way (see Figs 1 and 4) to be slidable (see Figs 1 and 4) in the first direction (see Figs 1 and 4); and
a guide member (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a portion of the body of structure 212 with portions 2121-2123 as a guide member) disposed between (see Fig 1) the elevation member (see Fig 1) and the second fastener (213) and configured to provide guidance (see Figs 5-6) to a movement (see Figs 5-6) of the fixing unit (3) while operating in conjunction (see Figs 1 and 4-6) with an elevation movement (see Figs 1 and 4) of the elevation member (see Fig 1),
wherein the guide member (see Fig 1) comprises:
a first guide member (Fig 1, portion 2121) concavely depressed (see Fig 6) from an inner side (see Fig 1) of the elevation member (see Fig 1) and configured to dispose (see Figs 4 and 6) the fixing unit (3) at the first location (see Fig 6) in the accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4);
a second guide member (Fig 1, portion 2122) configured to protrude (see Fig 5) from the inner side (see Fig 1) of the elevation member (see Fig 1) and to dispose (see Figs 1 and 5) the fixing unit (3) at the second location (see Fig 5) in the accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4); and
a third guide member (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a shoulder of structure 212 between portions 2121-2122 as a third guide member) disposed between (see Fig 1) the first guide member (2121) and the second guide member (2122) and configured to provide guidance (capable of providing guidance, i.e. this is a functional recitation; see Figs 1 and 4-6) to a movement (see Figs 5-6) of the fixing unit (3) from the first location (see Fig 6) to the second location (see Fig 5), or from the second location (see Fig 5) to the first location (see Fig 6),
wherein the detachment prevention unit (24) comprises:
a coupling part (see Fig 1, Examiner notes structure 24 as a coupling part) having an outer circumference surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a surface of structure 24 in contact with housing 213 as having an outer circumference surface) that is inserted (see Figs 1 and 4) into an inner circumference surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a surface of housing 213 in contact with structure 24 as into an inner circumference surface) of a bottom end (see Figs 1 and 4) of the second body (see Fig 1); and
a detachment prevention member (see Fig 2, Examiner notes projections extending from structure 24 as a detachment prevention member) extending (see Fig 2) from a bottom end (see Fig 2) of the coupling part (see Fig 1) in a radial direction (see Fig 2) and having an upper surface (see Fig 1-2, Examiner notes a surface of projections extending from structure 24 in contact with a surface of projections extending from housing 213 as having an upper surface) coupled (see Figs 1 and 4) to a lower surface (see Fig 1-2, Examiner notes the surface of projections extending from housing 213 in contact with the surface of projections extending from structure 24 as a lower surface) of the second body (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first fastener (1) further comprises an entry guider (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a tapered end of pin 1, i.e. adjacent housing 213 in Fig 2, as an entry guider) extended (see Fig 2) from the first body (see Fig 2) and configured to provide guidance (capable of providing guidance, i.e. this is a functional recitation; see Figs 1 and 4) to the first body (see Fig 2) so that the first body (see Fig 2) enters (see Figs 1 and 4) the second fastener (213).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the entry guider (see Fig 2) is formed (see Fig 2) so that a width (see Fig 2) of the entry guider (see Fig 2) is reduced (see Fig 2) toward an end (see Fig 2, Examiner notes the tapered end of pin 1 as an end) thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4) is formed (see Figs 5-6) so that a width (see Figs 5-6) of the accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4) is reduced toward (see Figs 5-6) an inside (see Figs 5-6) of the second body (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein:
the accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4) includes a plurality of accommodation parts (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0068), and
the plurality of accommodation parts (see Figs 1 and 4) is disposed (see Figs 1 and 4) to be spaced apart (see Figs 1 and 4) from each other (see Figs 1 and 4) along a circumference (see Figs 1 and 4) of the second body (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein as the first body (see Fig 2) is fully inserted (see Fig 1) into the second body (see Fig 1), the accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4) is connected (see Fig 1) to the trapping part (see Fig 2).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the restoration unit (23) is configured to restore the elevation unit (212) to an initial location as the external force applied from the work tool to the elevation unit (212) is released (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0072, Examiner notes after the power is cut off, the reset structure 23 can act as a reverse driving force to make the driven structure 21 move in the opposite direction of the first direction, thereby pushing the driven structure 21 to reset after movement as configured to restore the elevation unit to an initial location as the external force applied from the work tool to the elevation unit is released).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 12 and further teaches wherein both ends (see Figs 1 and 4) of the restoration unit (23) in the first direction (see Figs 1 and 4) come into surface contact (see Figs 1 and 4) with a flange (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes a flange of housing 213 extending radially and engaged with structure 23 as a flange) of the second fastener (213) and the elevation unit (212), respectively.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 14 and further teaches wherein each (see Fig 2) of the both ends (see Figs 1 and 4) of the restoration unit (23) has a semicircle-shaped cross-section form (see Fig 2).
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the elevation unit (212) further comprises
an elevation guide member (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an outer wall of structure 212 extending below a flange engaged with structure 22, i.e. extending distal from structure 211, as an elevation guide member) formed (see Fig 1) to have a form of a groove (see Fig 1, Examiner notes the outer wall of structure 212 extending below the flange engaged with structure 22 as to have a form of a groove) that is concavely depressed (see Fig 2) from an outer circumference surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an outer circumferential surface of the flange of structure 212 engaged with structure 22 as an outer circumference surface) of the elevation member (see Fig 1) toward an inside (see Fig 1) of the elevation member (see Fig 1) in a radial direction (see Fig 1) thereof, the elevation guide member (see Fig 1) extending in a direction parallel (see Fig 1) to the first direction (see Figs 1 and 4), and
wherein a rail part (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a shoulder of structure 22 engaged with the flange of structure 212 as a rail part) that protrudes (see Fig 1) from an inner surface (see Fig 1) of the case (22) is seated (see Fig 1) in the elevation guide member (see Fig 1), to provide guidance (see Figs 1 and 4) to an elevation operation (see Figs 1 and 4) of the elevation member (see Fig 1) with respect to the case (22).
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the accommodation part (see Figs 1 and 4) slantly extends (see Figs 5-6) at a designated angle (see Figs 5-6) from an outer circumference surface (see Figs 1 and 4-6) of the second body (see Fig 1) toward (see Figs 5-6) an inner circumference surface (see Figs 1 and 4-6) of the second body (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein a bottom surface (see Figs 1 and 4, Examiner notes a surface of structure 212 in contact with structure 24 as a bottom surface; Examiner notes a recitation of direction without a frame of reference is relative terminology and can be given little to no patentable weight) of the elevation member (see Fig 1) comes into contact (see Figs 1 and 4) with the detachment prevention member (24) as the restoration unit (23) restores (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0072) the elevation unit (212) to an initial location (see Figs 1 and 4, Paragraph 0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Lin et al. (CN113682192A), hereinafter "Lin".
Regarding claim 22, Li teaches the fastening apparatus (see Figs 1 and 4) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the third guide member (see Fig 1) is rounded with a designated curvature (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Examiner notes the shoulder of structure 212 between portions 2121-2122 extending circumferentially as rounded with designated curvature) but fails to teach which is formed to correspond to a curvature of the fixing unit.
However, Lin teaches it is known to provide wherein the third guide member (see Figs 4-5, Paragraph 0035, Examiner notes a curved portion of locking seat 24 between locking portion 241 and unlocking portion 242 as the third guide member) is formed to correspond (see Figs 4-5) to a curvature (see Fig 5) of the fixing unit (Fig 5, rolling body 25).
Therefore, as evidenced by Lin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third guide member of Li to be formed to correspond to a curvature of the fixing unit as taught by Lin. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to improve controlled movement of the balls.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to amended claim 1 on Pgs 6-8 of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 6, 2026, Applicant respectfully submits that none of these alleged detachment prevention units of Li and Lin shows the above proposed structures of the detachment prevention unit, such as "a coupling part having an outer circumference surface that is inserted into an inner circumference surface of a bottom end of the second body; and a detachment prevention member extending from a bottom end of the coupling part in a radial direction and having an upper surface coupled to a lower surface of the second body". The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Li teaches the claim recitations of amended claim 1 as set forth above.
With respect to newly added claim 23 on Pg 9 of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 6, 2026, Applicant argues the holes penetrating the sidewalls of Li and Lin do not exhibit a slanted angle from the outer circumferential surface of the sidewall, but instead maintain a constant width. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Li teaches the claim recitations of newly added claim 23 as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675