Claims 1 – 17 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faenger, US 20110275358A1.
Faenger teaches the invention, comprising:
receiving an image related to a first application from a first device, the image being captured from a screen of the first device by a camera that is embedded in or attached to a second device, the second device being a vehicle-mounted system in a vehicle [“A camera is attached to the in-vehicle system” [0046]. “(T)arget device B just captures an image of the screen content as the user sees it” [0047]]; and
triggered by the received image from the screen of the first device:
searching the second device for a second application [“(T)arget device B may infer or otherwise ascertain what application is most likely displayed on the screen of source device A] [0048]. “For each identified activity, target device B may search for an application that is able to reproduce this activity” [0049], [0056]], and
running the second application in the second device, by continuing a running or by re-running of a function executed in the first application corresponding to the received image, after the second application is found in the second device [“Once an application is identified as being able to handle the activity, then the activity is performed by the identified application” [0051]. “As an example of how the system of the invention may be used, the system may enable a user who is writing an email on his mobile phone 202 (FIG. 2) to continue writing the email after he gets into the car by using the in-vehicle system204” [0052]].,
wherein the first application and the second application are same applications or are applications of same type [0052].
As per claim 2, Faenger teaches:
wherein searching the second device for the second application comprises:
extracting information related to the first application from the received image by recognizing the received image [0047]; and
searching the second device for the second application on a basis of the extracted information [0048].
As per claim 3, Faenger teaches:
wherein the information related to the first application comprises one or more of: a name of the first application, and an identifier of the first application [0055].
As per claim 4, Faenger teaches:
wherein the information further comprises content presented on the screen of the first device during running of the first application, and the method further comprises,
after the second application is run in the second device, applying, in the second application, the content presented on the screen of the first device during running of the first application [0052].
As per claim 5, Faenger teaches:
wherein searching the second device for the second application comprises:
performing image matching of the received image with images stored in the second device, to search an application corresponding to the stored matched image as the second application [0047].
As per claim 6, Faenger teaches:
the image related to the first application comprises at least one of a screen interface of the first application which is currently running on the first device; a screen interface having the identifier or name of the first application; or a picture having the identifier or name of the first application [0047].
As per claim 7, Faenger teaches:
wherein the first device is a mobile terminal [0052].
As per claim 8, Faenger teaches:
wherein when the second application is not found in the second device, presenting an indication by a presentation unit of the second device, the indication comprising one or more of following: an option regarding whether to download the second application, a notification regarding that the second application is not found, and an option regarding whether to run an alternative application when the second application is not found [0050].
As per claims 9 – 15, they are directed to the apparatus for performing the method set forth in claims 1 – 8. Claim 17 is directed to the non-transitory machine-readable medium for storing the instructions for claim 1. As such, they are rejected for the same reasons as forth for claims 1 – 7.
As per claim 16, it is directed to the device for performing the method set forth in claim 1. As such, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS C LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115