DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claims 1, 3, 13, and 19 are amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner will respond to applicant arguments in order. First, applicant argues that Lim fails to each a separate lithium layer and an electrode composite layer. Applicant argues that the lithium layer of Lim is the electrode itself, without a description of an electrode composite in which the lithium film is to be absorbed. Applicant also claims that the negative electrode of Lim functions as a cathode of the battery cell, and that disposing an anode layer on the negative electrode would short the battery. Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. First, examiner maintains the assertion that Lim teaches both a lithium layer as well as an electrode composite layer, as cited in previous office action Lim teaches both a lithium metal layer (“According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012] Lim figure 1 clearly depicts an electrode stack comprising the described structures.) as well as a lithium composite layer that is directly on the lithium metal layer (“The anode may further include, in addition to the above-described lithium metal anode structure, a negative electrode active material generally used in the art as a negative electrode active material for a lithium battery.” Lim [0075] and “A negative electrode active material generally used in the art may be coated on the surface of the lithium metal anode structure,” Lim [0081]). Secondly, examiner does not find the argument that the anode of Lim is used as a cathode persuasive. Specifically, examiner does not understand how this argument can even be made, as the invention of Lim is clearly cited as a “negative electrode” and thus is clearly not functioning as a positive electrode in a battery. Lim also separately teaches a cathode, that is a different structure from the cited anode (“As shown in FIG. 2, the lithium metal anode structure 10 and the cathode 20 may be directly laminated to assemble a pouch unicell which may be applied in various batteries. Here, in the cathode 20, a positive electrode active material layer 21 may be arranged on both surfaces of the current collector 22, such as aluminum foil.” Lim [0062]) Thus, the first argument by applicant is not considered to be persuasive. The second argument presented by applicant is also not persuasive. Applicant argues that Rangasamy fails to meet the features of claim 1 that require a continuous layer of lithium being disposed onto the separator layer, disposing an electrode composite directly onto the continuous layer of lithium, and pressing the electrode stack. Examiner does not find this persuasive as this is not the original argument provided by examiner. Examiner finds that Lim teaches the deposition of a continuous layer of lithium onto a separator layer (“According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012] Lim figure 1 clearly depicts an electrode stack comprising the described structures.), and relies on Rangasamy to teach the pre-lithiation of the active material layer, which in this case would be the electrode composite layer that is taught by Lim. In conclusion, despite the arguments presented and amendments made, examiner still finds that the combination of Lim and Rangasamy teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as well as claims 13 and 19. Therefore, the rejection is maintained and unchanged other than to account for the amendments made to those claims. Since no arguments are presented regarding the dependent claims other than their dependence on the independent claims, those rejects also remain in place and unchanged. Thus, there is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter present in the claims.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/09/2026, with respect to the objection of claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 3 has been withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13-16,and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20240113394 A1) in view of Rangasamy (US 20220052307 A1)
In regard to the amendment of claim 1, the rejection below is made with the following reasoning: Lim teaches a method of manufacturing a lithium metal layer onto a separator using a pressing method, and using it as a battery electrode. Lim also teaches the coating of an additional layer of active material (electrode composite) on top of its lithium metal layer. Rangasamy teaches a method of forming a battery electrode by pressing a lithium metal layer and an electrode composite together to pre-lithiate the active material. Thus, the combination of the two references would teach each and every element of claim 1, despite neither explicitly teaching the pressing of all three of these layers together (Lim comes closer, but doesn’t explicitly teach pre-lithiation via pressing as Rangasamy does). It would be obvious to combine the two references for the reasoning provided below. The claim has been further amended to specify that the continuous layer of lithium is disposed directly onto the separator of the electrode, that the electrode composite is disposed directly onto the continuous layer of lithium after, and the prelithiated electrode composite is disposed directly onto a current collector layer. Examiner finds that these limitations are all still met, as Lim teaches a continuous layer of lithium disposed on a separator (“According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012] Lim figure 1 clearly depicts an electrode stack comprising the described structures.), and that the electrode composite layer may be coated onto the lithium metal layer in any order, including being coated directly onto the current collector (“For example, a negative electrode active material and a binder with or without a conductive material may be mixed in a solvent to prepare a negative electrode active material composition, then the negative electrode active material composition may be prepared to combine with the lithium metal anode structure by being molded into a certain form, coated on the lithium metal anode structure, or coated on a current collector such as copper foil.” Lim [0081].) By applying the electrode composite layer to the lithium metal layer, the first amendment would be met, and by coating it onto the current collector layer the second would be met.
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches the following elements:
A method for manufacturing a battery electrode, the method comprising: (“According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012])
disposing a continuous layer of lithium directly onto a separator layer of an electrode stack; (“According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012] Lim figure 1 clearly depicts an electrode stack comprising the described structures.)
after disposing the continuous layer of lithium onto the separator layer, disposing an electrode composite of the electrode stack directly onto a surface of the continuous layer of lithium opposite the separator layer; (“The anode may further include, in addition to the above-described lithium metal anode structure, a negative electrode active material generally used in the art as a negative electrode active material for a lithium battery.” Lim [0075] and “A negative electrode active material generally used in the art may be coated on the surface of the lithium metal anode structure,” Lim [0081]. It is implied that if the negative electrode active material is coated on the surface of the lithium metal anode structure, that this would occur after the continuous layer of lithium is disposed.)
and pressing the electrode stack comprising the separator, continuous layer of lithium, and the electrode composite to prelithiate the electrode composite with at least a portion of the continuous layer of lithium. (“The method includes supplying a first continuous web substrate from an unwinder roller to a winder roller. The method further includes supplying a second continuous web substrate comprising a layer of patterned anode material adjacent to the first continuous web substrate. The method further includes winding the first continuous web substrate and the second continuous web substrate together on the unwinder roller such that a surface of the layer of anode material contacts a surface of the layer of lithium metal. The method further includes applying pressure to the first continuous web substrate and the second continuous web substrate to pre-lithiate the patterned anode material,” Rangasamy [0013] and “According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012]. By combining the separator layer, lithium metal layer, and active material layer of Lim with the specific pre-lithiation of active material layer via pressing of Rangasamy, the above limitation would be met.)
and disposing the prelithiated electrode composite directly onto a current collector layer collector (“For example, a negative electrode active material and a binder with or without a conductive material may be mixed in a solvent to prepare a negative electrode active material composition, then the negative electrode active material composition may be prepared to combine with the lithium metal anode structure by being molded into a certain form, coated on the lithium metal anode structure, or coated on a current collector such as copper foil.” Lim [0081]. By coating the current collector with the negative electrode active material, as cited in [0081] this limitation would be met, given the prelithiation of the electrode composite is taught by Rangasamy.)
Rangasamy and Lim are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of methods of manufacturing battery electrodes that include a pressing method and the presence of a lithium metal layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lim, which include a separator layer, lithium metal layer, and active material layer, to specifically pre-lithiate the active material layer via pressing, in order to achieve the beneficial effects of pre-lithiation such as improving rate capability, as taught by Rangasamy (“Anode lithiation or “pre-lithiation” prior to the first cycle charge is a common strategy for compensating active lithium loss. Furthermore, pre-lithiation provides other performance and reliability advantages to Li-ion battery performance. For example, pre-lithiation can decrease Li-ion battery impedance thereby improving rate capability. In addition, for silicon-based anodes, pre-lithiation can mitigate silicon cracking and pulverization by pre-expanding the silicon to enhance anode mechanical stability.”) By modifying Lim with the teachings of Rangasamy regarding the prelithiation of an electrode composite with a lithium layer via pressing, the additional limitations of claims 2-7, 9-11, 13-16, 18, and 19 would all be met as well without requiring and further modification of motivation, other than simple cases of obviousness that are provided on a case by case basis.
Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches all of the following elements:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the separator layer comprises a solid-state electrolyte. (“The separator membrane includes an inorganic layer including a porous substrate and inorganic nanoparticles of a size of 5 nm to 200 nm coated on the porous substrate.” Lim [0039] and “According to another example, the inorganic nanoparticles may include a solid electrolyte material.” Lim [0044])
Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches the following elements:
The method of claim 1 wherein pressing the electrode stack comprises: feeding the electrode stack through a calender press comprising a first roller and a second roller, the first roller oriented above the second roller and separated by a pressing spacing, the pressing spacing based on a thickness of at least one layer of the electrode stack. (Lim figure 3 clearly depicts the electrode stack being fed through a press comprising a first and second roller, where a spacing is determined based on the thickness of the separator and anode going through the pressing apparatus.)
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches all of the following elements:
The method of claim 1 wherein the electrode composite comprises a silicon- containing material, a carbon-based conductive additive,(“A negative electrode active material generally used in the art may include, for example, at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium metal, metal alloyable with lithium, transition metal oxide, non-transition metal oxide, and carbon-based material.” And “When the negative electrode active material and the carbon-based material are used together, oxidation reaction of the silicon-based active material is suppressed,” and “The binder used in the negative electrode active material composition is an ingredient which helps the negative electrode active material to bind to the conductive material,)
Lim is silent on the inclusion of a solid electrolyte in the electrode composition. However, Rangasamy teaches all of the elements of claim 4 not found in Lim:
The method of claim 1 wherein the electrode composite comprises a solid electrolyte, (“In some implementations, the electrolyte infused in cell components 120, 130, and 140 can be comprised of a liquid/gel or a solid polymer and can be different in each.” Rangasamy [0054]. It would be obvious to use a solid electrolyte and a binder as they are among the options taught by Rangasamy for methods to produce the electrode.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode composition of Lim to further include a solid electrolyte, as taught by Rangasamy, as this is a known material used in electrode composite materials in the art, and would therefore have predictable results. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches all of the following elements:
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium is pressed to the electrode composite with a pressure of about 1,500 to 100,000 psi (“A hot rolling is performed, for example, at 30° C. to 90° C., and a cold rolling is performed, for example, at 20° C. to 30° C., and the binding is performed, for example, at a nip pressure of 50 kgf to 1,000 kgf. In the interval in which surface the uniformity is improved, a nip pressure may be in the range of 200 kgf to 500 kgf, and in a case of a hot rolling, even a lower pressure may bring about an improved binding strength.” Lim [0068]. The range provided by Lim converts to 711-14223 psi, which overlaps the claimed range.)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of ------50-1000kgf (711-14223 psi) for the pressure applied during the formation overlaps the claimed range of 1500-100,000 psi for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Lim is silent on the following elements:
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium is pressed to the electrode composite for a duration of between 0.01 and 60 minutes.
However, Rangasamy teaches all of the elements of claim 6 that are not found in Lim:
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium is pressed to the electrode composite for a duration of between 0.01 and 60 minutes. (“In one aspect, the period of time is sufficient to substantially or completely lithiate the prefabricated electrode. In one example, the period of time is within a range from about 1 minute to about 72 hours,” Rangasamy [0066])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of ------1 minute to 72 hours for the duration of time to complete the pre-lithiation overlaps the claimed range of between 0.1 and 60 minutes for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Since Lim does not provide a specific amount of time for its rolling process, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of using the time provided by Rangasamy, given that there is already sufficient motivation for combining the two methods, and they are within the same field of rolling methods for electrode materials.
Regarding claim 7, Lim teaches all of the following elements:
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium has a thickness in the range of 0.1 to 20 microns. (“On both surfaces of rolled lithium thin film manufactured by Honjo (Japan) (thickness 20 μm)” Lim [0113])
Regarding claim 9, Lim is silent on the following elements:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: casting the continuous layer of lithium upon a carrier foil; and removing the carrier foil from the continuous layer of lithium after the pressing of the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite.
However, Rangasamy teaches all of the elements of claim 9 that are not found in Lim:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: casting the continuous layer of lithium upon a carrier foil; and removing the carrier foil from the continuous layer of lithium after the pressing of the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite. (“It is also noted here that a flexible substrate or web as used within the implementations described herein can typically be characterized in that it is bendable. The term “web” can be synonymously used to the term “strip” or the term “flexible substrate.” For example, the web as described in implementations herein can be a foil.” Rangasamy [0043] And “The carrier substrate can include any material suitable for carrying and transferring the lithium metal to an electrode structure. The carrier substrate can be a flexible substrate or web, which can be used in roll-to-roll coating system.” Rangasamy [0057].)
In this case, it would be obvious to use a foil as the substrate for the lithium metal, as it is one of the options provided in the prior art. It would additionally be obvious to use copper foil, as specified in claim 10, as this is also taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 10, Lim is silent on the following elements:
The method of claim 9 wherein when the carrier foil comprises a copper foil.
However, Rangasamy teaches all of the elements of claim 10 that are not found in Lim:
The method of claim 9 wherein when the carrier foil comprises a copper foil. (“In one example, the carrier substrate is a copper foil substrate.” Rangasamy [0057]). See above for motivation.
Regarding claim 11, Lim is silent on the following elements:
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium comprises a passivation layer adjacent to the electrode composite, the passivation layer remaining after pressing the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite.
However, Rangasamy teaches all of the elements of claim 11 that are not found in Lim:
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium comprises a passivation layer adjacent to the electrode composite, the passivation layer remaining after pressing the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite. (“In some implementations, after separation, a passivation layer is present on the lithiated anode portion of the pre-lithiated electrode. The passivation layer can be a lithium oxide, lithium hydroxide, and/or lithium carbonate passivation layer. The passivation layer can be removed from the pre-lithiated electrode or can remain on the pre-lithiated electrode as a protective film.” Rangasamy [0069]. It would be obvious to modify Lim to include a passivation layer which remains after the pre-lithiation as this is one of the options taught by the prior art.)
Regarding claim 13, Lim teaches the following elements:
A solid-state electrochemical cell comprising: a first electrode; a solid-state electrolyte adjacent the first electrode; and a second electrode adjacent the solid-state electrolyte (“A lithium secondary battery according to an example may include: an anode including the lithium metal anode structure; a cathode arranged opposite the anode; and an electrolyte arranged between the anode and the cathode.” Lim [0073] and “A lithium salt-containing non-aqueous electrolyte consists of a non-aqueous electrolyte and lithium. As the non-aqueous electrolyte, a non-aqueous electrolyte, a solid electrolyte, and an inorganic solid electrolyte are used.” Lim [0099])
wherein the second electrode is prelithiated by disposing a continuous layer of lithium directly onto the solid-state electrolyte; (“As shown in FIG. 9, a lithium metal battery 11 includes a cathode 13, an anode 12 including a lithium metal anode structure, and a separator membrane 14.” Lim [0109]. In this case, the separator membrane, functions as the solid-state electrolyte. See above claims for how the separator of Lim includes a solid state electrolyte. The lithium metal anode structure is the continuous layer of lithium onto the solid-state electrolyte. As described above for claim 1, the lithium metal structure is being disposed directly onto the separator layer.)
after disposing the continuous layer of lithium onto the separator layer, disposing the second electrode directly onto a surface of the continuous layer of lithium opposite the solid-state electrolyte; (As described in claim 1, the coating of negative electrode active material functions as the second electrode deposited onto the layer of lithium opposite the solid state electrolyte/separator. Additionally, “second electrode”, which is the negative electrode active material layer of Lim, is disposed directly onto the continuous layer of lithium.)
wherein the prelithiated second electrode is disposed directly onto a current collector layer (“For example, a negative electrode active material and a binder with or without a conductive material may be mixed in a solvent to prepare a negative electrode active material composition, then the negative electrode active material composition may be prepared to combine with the lithium metal anode structure by being molded into a certain form, coated on the lithium metal anode structure, or coated on a current collector such as copper foil.” Lim [0081]. By coating the current collector with the negative electrode active material, as cited in [0081] this limitation would be met, given the prelithiation of the electrode composite is taught by Rangasamy, and the negative electrode active material layer of Lim is considered the second electrode.)
Lim is silent on the following elements of claim 13. Specifically, Lim is silent on the pressing of the active material to prelithiate it with the lithium metal layer. However, by combining with Rangasamy, as described in claim 1, the limitations would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation:
and pressing the solid-state electrolyte, continuous layer of lithium, and the second electrode. (“The method includes supplying a first continuous web substrate from an unwinder roller to a winder roller. The method further includes supplying a second continuous web substrate comprising a layer of patterned anode material adjacent to the first continuous web substrate. The method further includes winding the first continuous web substrate and the second continuous web substrate together on the unwinder roller such that a surface of the layer of anode material contacts a surface of the layer of lithium metal. The method further includes applying pressure to the first continuous web substrate and the second continuous web substrate to pre-lithiate the patterned anode material,” Rangasamy [0013] and “According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012]. By combining the separator layer, lithium metal layer, and active material layer of Lim with the specific pre-lithiation of active material layer via pressing of Rangasamy, the above limitation would be met.)
The motivation and modification to meet the limitations of independent claim 13 is the same as that for claim 1, as shown above.
Regarding claim 14, Lim teaches all of the following elements:
The solid-state electrochemical cell of claim 13 wherein the second electrode is dry laminated through a calender press comprising a first roller and a second roller, the first roller oriented above the second roller and separated by a pressing spacing. (Lim figure 3 clearly depicts the electrode stack being fed through a press comprising a first and second roller, where a spacing is determined based on the thickness of the separator and anode going through the pressing apparatus. There is no liquid used in this process, and therefore it would be a dry lamination.)
Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches all of the following elements:
The solid-state electrochemical cell of claim 13 wherein at least a portion of the continuous layer of lithium is absorbed into the second electrode composite to prelithiate the second electrode. (By using the method of Lim modified by Rangasamy, the lithium would be absorbed to prelithiate the second electrode, as this is the entire purpose of Rangasamy’s invention and pressing process. Thus, if the electrode active layer and lithium metal layer were pressed together at the same force as described in instant invention (see above claim 5), then lithium ions would be absorbed and the second electrode would be prelithiated.)
Regarding claim 16, Lim teaches all of the following elements:
The solid-state electrochemical cell of claim 13 wherein the continuous layer of lithium has a thickness in the range of 0.1 to 20 microns before dry laminating. (“On both surfaces of rolled lithium thin film manufactured by Honjo (Japan) (thickness 20 μm)” Lim [0113])
Regarding claim 19, Lim teaches the following elements:
A method for manufacturing a battery electrode, the method comprising: (“According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012])
disposing a continuous layer of lithium directly onto a separator layer (“According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012] Lim figure 1 clearly depicts an electrode stack comprising the described structures.)
after disposing the continuous layer of lithium directly onto the separator, disposing an electrode composite of an electrode stack directly onto a surface of the continuous layer of lithium opposite the separator layer, (“The anode may further include, in addition to the above-described lithium metal anode structure, a negative electrode active material generally used in the art as a negative electrode active material for a lithium battery.” Lim [0075] and “A negative electrode active material generally used in the art may be coated on the surface of the lithium metal anode structure,” Lim [0081]. As described in response to arguments and in claim 1, the coating of the lithium metal layer with the negative electrode active layer of Lim meets the amended limitations of this claim, as it is disposed directly onto the continuous layer of lithium, which is disposed directly onto the separator.)
the electrode stack comprising the electrode composite, the separator layer, the continuous layer of lithium between the electrode composite and the separator layer, and a current collector; (“A lithium secondary battery according to an example may include: an anode including the lithium metal anode structure; a cathode arranged opposite the anode; and an electrolyte arranged between the anode and the cathode.” Lim [0073] and “A lithium salt-containing non-aqueous electrolyte consists of a non-aqueous electrolyte and lithium. As the non-aqueous electrolyte, a non-aqueous electrolyte, a solid electrolyte, and an inorganic solid electrolyte are used.” Lim [0099] and “The lithium metal anode 11 may have lithium thin films 11a on both surfaces of the current collector 11b such as copper foil pressed by, for example, a roll pressing.” Lim [0036]. Thus, Lim teaches the inclusion of a current collector in its electrode stack.)
Lim is silent on the following elements of claim 19. Specifically, Lim is silent on the pressing of the active material to prelithiate it with the lithium metal layer. However, by combining with Rangasamy, as described in claim 1, the limitations would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation:
wherein the electrode stack is compressed to at least absorb a portion of the continuous layer of lithium into the electrode composite during the compression to prelithiate the electrode composite. (“The method includes supplying a first continuous web substrate from an unwinder roller to a winder roller. The method further includes supplying a second continuous web substrate comprising a layer of patterned anode material adjacent to the first continuous web substrate. The method further includes winding the first continuous web substrate and the second continuous web substrate together on the unwinder roller such that a surface of the layer of anode material contacts a surface of the layer of lithium metal. The method further includes applying pressure to the first continuous web substrate and the second continuous web substrate to pre-lithiate the patterned anode material,” Rangasamy [0013] and “According to still another aspect, there is provided a method of manufacturing the lithium metal anode structure including: binding the separator membrane on at least one surface of the lithium metal anode using a roll or a press,” Lim [0012]. By combining the separator layer, current collector, lithium metal layer, and active material layer of Lim with the specific pre-lithiation of active material layer via pressing of Rangasamy, the above limitation would be met.)
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20240113394 A1) in view of Rangasamy (US 20220052307 A1) and further in view of Liu (CN 113451543 A).
Regarding claim 8, Lim and Rangasamy are silent on the following elements:
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium comprises a lithium alloy, the pressing of the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite transferring at least a portion of lithium ions of the lithium alloy to the electrode composite.
However, Liu teaches all of the elements of claim 8 that are not found in Lim or Rangasamy. Specifically, Liu teaches the inclusion of a lithium alloy in a lithium material layer used for pre-lithiation.
The method of claim 1 wherein the continuous layer of lithium comprises a lithium alloy, the pressing of the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite transferring at least a portion of lithium ions of the lithium alloy to the electrode composite. (“Wherein, the lithium layer material includes: at least one of metal lithium foil, metal lithium powder, and lithium alloy.” Liu [36] and “A lithium layer is covered on the solid electrolyte layer, and pressure is applied to the surface of the covered electrode for compaction, so that the solid electrolyte layer and the lithium layer are tightly bonded to obtain the pre-lithiated solid lithium ion battery pole piece.” Liu [21])
Liu and Rangasamy are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of electrode materials containing pre-lithiation layers using a lithium material to transfer lithium ions from the lithium material to an electrode material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lithium layer or Rangasamy to comprise the lithium alloy of Liu, as they are both known materials used for the same function in similar inventions. Therefore, all it would require is a simple substitution of one known material for another and The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.). It would then be obvious to apply this modification to Lim as the purpose of the original combination with Rangasamy is to obtain the benefits of pre-lithiation.
The limitations of claim 17 would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 17, Lim and Rangasamy are silent on the following elements:
The solid-state electrochemical cell of claim 13 wherein the continuous layer of lithium includes a lithium alloy.
However, Liu teaches all of the elements of claim 17 that are not found in Lim or Rangasamy. Specifically, Liu teaches the inclusion of a lithium alloy in a lithium material layer used for pre-lithiation.
The solid-state electrochemical cell of claim 13 wherein the continuous layer of lithium includes a lithium alloy. (“Wherein, the lithium layer material includes: at least one of metal lithium foil, metal lithium powder, and lithium alloy.” Liu [36] and “A lithium layer is covered on the solid electrolyte layer, and pressure is applied to the surface of the covered electrode for compaction, so that the solid electrolyte layer and the lithium layer are tightly bonded to obtain the pre-lithiated solid lithium ion battery pole piece.” Liu [21])
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20240113394 A1) in view of Rangasamy (US 20220052307 A1) and further in view of Huang (US 20200176755 A1)
Regarding claim 12, modified Lim teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Lim and Rangasamy are silent on the following elements of claim 12:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring a state of lithiation of the electrode composite during the pressing of the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite; and adjusting, based on the monitoring of the state of lithiation of the electrode composite,
a parameter of the pressing of the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite.
Rangasamy does teach the adjustment of pressing parameters in order to optimize results, but doesn’t explicitly state that there is monitoring occurring in real-time during the process (“With the principles of the present disclosure, a quantity of lithium transferred to the electrode can be controlled by adjusting the time (duration of contact between the lithium metal film and the surface of the prefabricated electrode), pressure applied, and/or temperature.” Rangasamy [0066])
However, Huang teaches live monitoring of a pre-lithiation process, thus, when combined with the pre-lithiation methods of Rangasamy, would meet all of the limitations of claim 12:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring a state of lithiation of the electrode composite during the pressing of the continuous layer of lithium to the electrode composite; and adjusting, based on the monitoring of the state of lithiation of the electrode composite, (“Therefore, the period of time during which the lithium ions migrate to the host material 13 via the pre-lithiating separator 310 can be monitored and controlled to achieve a desire pre-lithiation of the anode 11.” Huang [0030])
Rangasamy and Huang are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of pre-lithiation methods for electrode materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rangasamy to monitor the pre-lithiation process in real-time, as taught by Huang, in order to most effectively optimize the adjustments made to pre-lithiation parameters, such as duration, pressure applied, or temperature. By monitoring in real time, this could be done more efficiently rather than waiting until after each manufacturing process and performing tests after the fact. Additionally, Rangasamy does not say that they are not monitoring the pre-lithiation process, so it is entirely possible that it is already occurring. It would be obvious to apply these modifications to Lim since the motivation to modify with the pre-lithiation method of Rangasamy is already established.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20240113394 A1) in view of Rangasamy (US 20220052307 A1) and further in view of Bernhard (US 20220263145 A1).
Regarding claim 22, modified Lim teaches all of the elements of claim 19, as shown above. Lim and Rangasamy are silent on the following elements of claim 22:
The method for manufacturing the battery electrode of claim 19 wherein the electrode composite comprises a range of 1% to 15% prelithiation.
However, Bernhard teaches all of the elements of claim 22 that are not found in Rangasamy or Lim:
The method for manufacturing the battery electrode of claim 19 wherein the electrode composite comprises a range of 1% to 15% prelithiation. (“The degree of prelithiation α1 of silicon is preferably from 5 to 50%, more preferably from 7 to 46%, particularly preferably from 8 to 30% or from 10 to 44% and most preferably from 10 to 20%” Bernhard [0027])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of ------10 to 20% for the degree of lithiation of the electrode material overlaps the claimed range of 1-15% lithiation for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Bernhard are Rangasamy are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of electrode materials being pre-lithiated to facilitate the flow of lithium ions into the electrode active material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rangasamy to achieve the specific range of pre-lithiation taught by Bernhard in order to achieve more stable electrochemical cycling behavior and a high initial capacity (“Compared to the batteries of the comparative examples, the batteries of the examples according to the invention surprisingly display a more stable electrochemical cycling behavior and also a high initial capacity.” Bernhard [0135]). Additionally, Rangasamy already teaches adjusting its pre-lithiation parameters in order to achieve optimal results (“With the principles of the present disclosure, a quantity of lithium transferred to the electrode can be controlled by adjusting the time (duration of contact between the lithium metal film and the surface of the prefabricated electrode), pressure applied, and/or temperature.” Rangasamy [0066]), so it would be obvious even within the teachings of Rangasamy to achieve a desirable degree of lithiation. It would be obvious to apply these modifications to Lim since the motivation to modify with the pre-lithiation method of Rangasamy is already established.
No further modification or motivation would be required to meet the limitations of claim 23, as the range of pre-lithiation taught by Bernhard overlaps the ranges provided in both claims 22 and 23, and the reasoning would be the same for both claims.
Regarding claim 23, modified Lim teaches all of the elements of claim 19, as shown above. Lim and Rangasamy are silent on the following elements of claim 23:
The method for manufacturing the battery electrode of claim 19 wherein the electrode composite comprises a range of 15% to 30% prelithiation.
However, Bernhard teaches all of the elements of claim 23 that are not found in Lim or Rangasamy:
The method for manufacturing the battery electrode of claim 19 wherein the electrode composite comprises a range of 15% to 30% prelithiation. (“The degree of prelithiation α1 of silicon is preferably from 5 to 50%, more preferably from 7 to 46%, particularly preferably from 8 to 30% or from 10 to 44% and most preferably from 10 to 20%” Bernhard [0027])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of ------10 to 20% for the degree of lithiation of the electrode material overlaps the claimed range of 15-30% lithiation for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The following references were discovered in an updated search and were considered to be relevant, but were not used in rejection since previous rejection was maintained:
Kang (US 20200075989 A1)—teaches a method of forming a negative electrode in which a lithium metal layer is coated onto a separator (“The method of coating the prepared lithium dispersion on the separator may preferably be performed by spray drying.” Kang [0036], and where a pre-lithiated negative electrode active material layer is then coated onto the lithium metal layer (“Next, the lithium metal powder coating layer formed on one side of the transfer film is brought into contact with the negative electrode active material layer, followed by rolling to form a composite of lithium and the negative electrode active material. Preferably, the negative electrode active material may comprise a metalloid oxide.” Kang [0039]) and “According to the present invention, when applying the negative electrode, which includes the composite of lithium and the negative electrode active material in the negative electrode active material layer, to the lithium secondary battery, the pre-lithiation in which the negative electrode active material forms an alloy with lithium is proceeded as the battery starts to operate.” Kang [0012])
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752